Book Now: Champlung Sari Hotel

Very good
From 998 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10
Recommended by 85% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (998)Booking.com Reviews (558)
7.6
/
10
Very good
From 998 reviews
Cleanliness7.4
Facilities7.7
Location8.4
Room comfort and quality7.7
Service7.6
Value for money7.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (998)
All room types
Showing 906 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Jared from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in January 2019
Nice place and good breakfast”
The monkey's were fun at first but eventually, I wanted them to be gone. You have to be weary if you have a plastic bag or are carrying a water bottle on your back. If you go to the pool or just want to hang out it doesn't feel as safe. I had a monkey bare it's teeth at me a few times trying to get to my room because it was licking the moss on the wall. The rooms have old key locks that are annoying. You even have to lock yourself in with the key, you can't turn the deadbolt. It's a pretty setting. The rooms are large and spacious.
Reviewed January 17, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Sally from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2019
Good location ”
Hotel is conveniently located next to the Sacred Monkey Forest. Mini mart right at the front and shops and restos all within walking distance. Hotel had a weird smell, bed wasn’t too comfy and the shower wasn’t great. You get what you pay for so it’s fine for the price.
Reviewed January 10, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Geoffrey from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
Quiet location”
While the rooms are a bit dated (a common thing in Bali) they are very spacious and clean. A good breakfast selection to enjoy while watching the monkeys through the windows. Staff are excellent and a minor issue we had on arrival fixed straight away. (No fridge in the room). Just off Monkey Forest Rd so easy access to restaurants and shopping.
Reviewed December 01, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Rodelle from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017
Great location”
Monkeys are all over the hotel. I didn’t even have to go to the Monkey Forest anymore as you’ll literally see them everywhere. The hotel has a very cozy, earthy feel to it. The staff are warm and friendly. I enjoyed the pool and the food in the restaurant was alright too. The location is perfect! 7-11 is right outside of the hotel. Lots of restaurants, spas and gift shops nearby. Will definitely recommend.
Reviewed August 16, 2018
7.2
Very good
Sandra from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019
Staff were always helpful & willing to assist with any request”
Delux Rooms on the side of hotel next to breakfast area are run down & really need renovation. However the rooms located past reception on arrival are rather good. Staff were at all times friendly polite & happy to assist with anything including changing our rooms to one of the newer. Monkeys roam but if you’re a sensible person & listen to what not to do they will be a problem & can be quite entertaining.
Reviewed January 12, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Rodel from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
good”
we enjoy our stay for 2nights , clean friendly staff and lots of monkey arounds
Reviewed January 02, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Lena from Norway
Family with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
Central hotel.”
Nice place,in middle of Ubud. Cheap,clean and friendly staff. Lots of monkeys,but cool.
Reviewed December 31, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Nathanael from Finland
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 8 nights in December 2018
Great place to stay, wonderful staff, super relaxing”
I was in Champlung for 8 days and it was totally serene. My room was fantastic. Comfortable bed, good a/c and a totally blissful atmosphere. If you like monkeys, there are plenty of them traipsing around ready to swipe your unattended water bottle right from under you. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. The pools are also lovely.
Reviewed December 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Justin from South Africa
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Amazing place to stay”
Pros - Fantastic breakfast, rooms are clean, fresh crispy linen amazing location. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely pool area, great for family's with kids. Will most certainly return. Cons - lots of monkey but they made for great entertainment and we enjoyed them. Lots of staff walking around protecting guests from the monkeys.
Reviewed May 02, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Andreas from Estonia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Excellent”
Bathroom needs cleaning. Hot water ran out at quarter of bath tub. A lot of monkeys on the premises. They are fun to watch. Some mornings they can wake you up early. Not every morning. Outside area is large and beautiful. Would stay again.
Reviewed March 05, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Karl from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
So much more than a place to stay”
Booked deliberately because the hotel is literally right next to the Monkey Forest. The monkeys delivered the goods and made our stay at Champlung Sari so much more than just a place to stay, they were naughty but adorable. We stayed in a twin room overlooking the river with its own lightly furnished balcony. I spent most of my time out there watching the monkeys. The room was large and the bed comfy. Nice bathroom, although a little tired, bathtub was a welcome feature and the shower had ballistic water pressure. The grounds are lovely and within them two pools which are refreshing but poolside is short on sun loungers. I really like this hotel and given the attractive price for our stay would come back again without hesitation.
Reviewed February 22, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Susan from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Beautiful property”
The property here is just gorgeous has two pools and the grounds are incredible . The staff is very lovely and always have a smile on her face and willing to help you . Room and bed with very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well . The location is perfect you are set back often busy road in a quiet paradise . The Monkees will always keep you entertained they are so funny but be careful of your belongings because they will snatch it out of your hand . We just love it here we’ve been here over three weeks just kept extending our stay so comfortable and everything you need is just outside the front -
Reviewed February 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Margaret from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in January 2018
Unique experience ”
Great location for the monkey forest, practically opposite. The monkeys in the hotel grounds were very entertaining. The breakfast was good with a good selection, however there are so many places to go to eat that you will be spoilt for choice. The staff are very polite and I would highly recommend the on site spa.
Reviewed February 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Yong from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Must stay”
This hotel is a perfect hotel for me. Everything was just so perfect. From receptionist to room and swimming pool. Is just right opposite of Monkey Forest and of course in this hotel quite a few monkeys were walking around. Beware of your belongings especially with 'plastic bag' they will come and grab it from you. Apart from that, , everything is perfect.
Reviewed January 17, 2018
8.0
Excellent
ivan from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Great”
Advantage *conviennt shop in front *provide tour upon request *nearby monkey forest (attraction) *many shop along the road (closed about 10pm) *walking distance to ubud market Disadvantage *most shop along the road closed except for convenient shop *less pub and Massage center *light along the street at night is dark *less crowded place
Reviewed November 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
KAREN from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Excellent”
Everything was great, staff were lovely, but room smelled really bad, sheets smelt really bad. Reported it to reception and they gave us another room with clean sheets. Another guest also complained of the same thing. Staff were very kind and friendly.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Ben from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
One of the highlights of my travels around the world.”
I have been traveling throughout counties around the world, and Champlung Sari Hotel has been one of my most memorable hotels. The rooms are nice and spacious, and the staff is very accommodating. The appearance inside has a jungle temple feel to it, making the hotel itself feel like one of the many sights Ubud has to offer. The staff puts a lot of effort into the gardening and appearance of the hotel. One thing that sets Champlung Sari apart from every other hotel in Ubud is the location. It is across the street from the Monkey Forest, which means it also has many furry guests. You can sit and relax by the infinity pool, while watching baby monkeys wrestle and play just feet in front of you. Monkeys are literally everywhere around the two pool decks. They generally mind their own business and are not aggressive. If you have food or beverages out, they may however try to sneak up and grab it. The hotel has staff working around the clock that will chase the monkeys away if you ask them to. If you are traveling to Ubud, you will definitely not regret your decision if you book your stay at Champlung Sari Hotel.
Reviewed March 12, 2017
8.3
Excellent
Christopher from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Good hotel in centre of Udud”
Very central hotel, close to shopping and Resturants
a very good hotel! clean / big rooms close to everything staff good lots of monkeys as its close to the money park two big swimming pools we didnt use the hotel resturant as there are so many really good resturants close by.
Reviewed July 22, 2012
8.3
Excellent
howard from South Africa
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great Hotel”
Good Rooms, Fantastic Pools, Amazing Position
Hotel directly opposite the Monkey Forest, great facilites highly recommended, pools are excellent staff very helpful, rooms are good, plumbing needs some work. Internet in public areas not in rooms but well worth it
Reviewed July 20, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Laurie from Canada
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Lovely rooms & friendly, helpful staff...”
Lovely deluxe rooms on ground floor
This is the second time we have enjoyed staying here. The landscaping & decor of the rooms especially the bathroom are beautiful. The hotel is right beside the Monkey Forest. The basic breakfast buffets can be annoying with the monkeys about but the staff does a great job fending them off. The food here is regular but great restaurants are all within walking distance. Balinese dancing venues & some nice bars are also nearby.
Reviewed July 15, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Rafal from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
Amazing hotel next to monkey forest”
Staff service, room comfort, pools, landscaping, wildlife
this is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed at. the location is ideal next to the monkey forest. thanks to the location, your breakfast is guaranteed to be different from the usual. the rooms are very well laid out and comfortable allowing for perfect rest. the 2 pools on the property are well maintained. the staff are very helpful with advise to where to eat local food at good prices. i will definitely come back to stay at this hotel. 10/10
Reviewed March 23, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Hui from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Lovely and Wonderful Hotel!!!”
spacious, comfortable, feel like staying at home
It is near by Monkey Forest, walking distance to Ubud Center. The room is very nice, spacious, just feel so lovely and do not want to leave there. The hotel area is big, very greenery scene. Free wifi is available. Very good place for honey moon. A lot of monkeys since near by Monkey Forest, but they are harmless.
Reviewed September 28, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Marina from Indonesia
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011
Lovely and Reasonably Priced”
Nice room and good price
We didnt expect much when we chose this hotel given the reviews, but were pleasantly surprised when we got there. Room was big with big bath, overlooking the pool. It was really serene and quiet and we enjoyed the ambiance. Breakfast was standard but acceptable. Smack next door to Monkey Forest and within walking distance to major eateries. The only complaint was the shower mixer was unreliable and make sure you check the temperature first before jumping in. But all and all it's a nice hotel
Reviewed September 13, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Felix from Indonesia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2011
Good Value”
Good Location
this hotel is excellent value. i really enjoyed my stay there. the staff were great from reception to house cleaning staff. the room was clean and comfortable and also big. location is excellent and you can walk to the center of ubud in about 10 minutes.
Reviewed April 26, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Lelle from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011
light spacious rooms friendly staff, well located ”
the rooms are large and light with good balcony and a tropical view. the staff are helpful and very friendly; food is GREAT
i was very happy that the room was so light and bright. at night the palm trees were lit up and looked exotic. The room was tasteful but not Balinese enough for me - but still lovely. I enjoyed the nearness to shops in a part of Monkey Forrest road i had not seen much of before. the food was fantastic both room service and restaurant. the staff were great - helpful and friendly. i enjoyed the stay and would go there again.
Reviewed March 14, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Ian from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in February 2011
Well-established at end of Monkey Forest Road”
On Monkey Forest Road
found this hotel through internet in kuta. it was available for the dates i wanted and it was offering special deal since it is in the middle of renovation work. 20 years old with extremely efficient and friendly staff.
Reviewed February 16, 2011
8.0
Excellent
ABHISHEK from India
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2011
Nice sized comfortable rooms with nice view”
good hotel in good location
we had a large room on the top floor in the new section room 415. wonderful light and great view of the rice fields nearby and i think a very good value for the room. everything worked well, the staff was pleasant, the breakfast buffet had enough choices that everyone that was traveling with us was quite satisfied
Reviewed February 02, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
JIAO from China
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2010
excellent value for money”
breakfast, kind and helpful staff, nice room
good enough
this is our first night in Bali, nice room and much better than our expection. good breakfast and nice view. most important, it is good value for money. lso good location in Ubud, only 150m from Monkey forest
Reviewed January 05, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Brianne from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Great Value for your dollar!”
large room, friendly staff, great location
We arrived and were checked in early which was great to be able to get rid of our bags upon arrival. Room was nice and clean and quite large for we had expected. It is in a central location as we were able to walk to everything that we wanted to access. Overall great value for what we paid.
Reviewed December 27, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Peter from Singapore
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009
Champlung Sari Hotel in Ubud”
Well located along the shopping belt in Monkey Forest Street.
No buffet breakfast if there are insufficient guests.
The hotel is located along the Monkey Forest Street, right along the shopping belt in Ubud and about 2 minutes walk to the monkey forest trial. Beautifully designed in quaint Balinese style, the rooms are well appointed with an outdoor shower. Service is good and the people are friendly. Rooms are big and spacious. However, the hotel is undergoing some upgrading, although the construction work does not intrude into your privacy.
Reviewed December 27, 2009
8.7
Excellent
Michael from United States
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2009
This hotel is not monkeying around”
- Proximity to the monkeys - Facilities
- Ongoing construction
The reviews of this place really made me worry that we were going to be hounded for tips all the time, but this was not our experience at all. The staff was friendly and courteous and never made us feel like we had to tip. The monkeys were the real highlight. The reserve is just across the street and their antics at breakfast alone were worth the cost of the room. If you want to see the monkeys, this is your place!
Reviewed August 10, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
raghavendra from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Nice resort to enjoy nature and close to everything ”
The stone structure looks like archeological hotel right inside monkey forest. It felt nice living so close to nature, so many monkeys and trees. Very neat and comfortable stay. My thinking one enjoyed pool
Reviewed April 19, 2018
5.6
Chiu from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
A little far from city centre, a lot of ants in room”
The biggest peeve I have is that there are trail of ants crawling at the doorway of my room, and into the bathroom. Also, I felt that the location is a little far from the bustling area, its quite a long slopping walk to and fro the centre. Staff service was alright, but could be a little more considerate. One example is, when we had issue with our safe box, they are very prompt on helping us solve it, but, they wore their boots into our room, and it was raining, so there were trail of their foot prints from the doorway to the room, and we had to clean it up ourselves.
Reviewed April 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Suciati from Indonesia
Business traveler
Classic Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Good staff!”
This hotel is connecting with monkey forrest. I was stay there for 3 nights. At the first day all going well, but at the second day when we out the the room some monkeys cone over us. Ofc we scared. So i called the receiption to send a helper and a few minutes our guardian come. And the day after everytime when we want to go out we always ask a helper to pick us up 😂😂😂
Reviewed March 25, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Rena from Canada
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Beautiful Grounds and Friendly Staff”
The best part about this resort is its location next to the monkey forest and the beautiful grounds and pool area. The driver Wayan is awesome and all the staff are friendly and accommodating. You are within walking distance to fantastic local restaurants, shops, markets, cafés etc. The standard rooms are spacious and comfortable. They do have a bit of a mildew smell but this is hard to avoid in the tropics. Don't be surprised if you see some insects or geckos in your room. They are harmless and are found in all hotels in the tropics. If you find walking difficult, the disadvantage of this location is the super-expensive taxis. They have banned the Blue-Bird, Grab and Go-Car apps making transportation about 3x as expensive as other areas. That is the only Con. The spa was wonderful. Would definitely return!
Reviewed February 02, 2018
6.8
Good
Vilma
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2018
Good”
Some of the staff was bit rude and the floor of the room was dirty when we got there. Monkeys pooped in our terrace and they cleaned it by spreading it around, not a fan of that..
Reviewed December 30, 2018
3.6
Michelle from Australia
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
The rooms are not as described ”
One of the main reasons I chose this hotel was the in room safe. There was none, despite the description saying there was. My bathroom had 2 showers, my friend couldn’t get the one in the bath to work, the other had no screen and water went everywhere. When I went to get into bed, late at night, I found a white chalky residue on the cover and requested an exchange. The staff told me they were fully booked and couldn’t provide a replacement. Then only able to give me a single sheet for my Queen/king sized bed. Nobody followed this up with me the next morning and when I confronted the manager at 7pm, he stated “well we are busy with many people, don’t have anything spare”. This horrified me because how are the changing covers in between guests? Check out at 12 is not enough time to wash every cover and replace it on the beds. Only good part was the young guys who helped us with our bags and gave us a lift when we got stranded.. they were amazing!
Reviewed August 10, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Ha from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Nice location”
Nice location. Room is a little bit a old.
Reviewed May 06, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ha from Vietnam
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Good location and nice swimming pool”
Good location, nice swimming pool, breakfast is so so.
Reviewed May 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
yeon from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
good very good”
it was a lot of buck for the bang. but be careful of Monkey
Reviewed April 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Susan from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Exceptional ”
Highly recommend for everyone especially animal lovers to see the monkeys running around the property very amusing. Love the staff- sparkling pools. Place feels like our second home!
Reviewed March 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Susan from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Amazing!”
Loved everything about this place! We will be back as soon as humanly possible
Reviewed February 21, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Frank from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Exceptional”
Was fun interacting with monkeys. Didn't even have to go to Monkey Forest. The pools and breakfast were great. If we go to Ubud again will stay here.
Reviewed February 07, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Claudio from South Africa
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Excellent”
Very Good Position, Friendly Staff. Affordable Rates.
Reviewed February 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kevin from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
We didn't make it but they let us change dates”
We were due to go to Bali in November 2017. Unfortunately Mount Agung decided otherwise and we did not make it to Bali. We contacted Champlung Sari to advise we would have to cancel our booking and realised ours was a no refund booking. They could have taken our money and said "too bad"but they didn't, they offered to change our dates for us and now we are looking forward to seeing them in February 2018!! Excellent customer service.
Reviewed December 29, 2017
2.0
Riad from Lebanon
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Acceptable”
we extended our stay through Agoda in this hotel, however we entered wrong dates by mistake, knowing that we were already there and we just wanted to extend 1 more day. hotel did refuse to cancel, and wanted fees :) Agoda then cancelled it with gift card to cover the cancellation fee Hotel so unhelpful
Reviewed October 30, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michelle from Singapore
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Second time here! ”
Great space. Not for people who are afraid of monkeys as they frequent around during the day time. Clean rooms & toilet. Daily Housekeeping services. Staff are friendly & helpful! Will definitely be back
Reviewed October 28, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Nyasha from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
Loved this hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable to be in. The hotel is opposite the monkey forest and close to a number good restaurants, cafes, and bars. I stayed here for four nights and I would come back again.
Reviewed October 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Louis from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Very nice place”
It’s a very nice place. A little maintenance is required in some places but overall it was really good and quite central to Ubud. Only thing is the wifi is only available in the lobby and at the pool. Be careful of the monkeys though they steal anything.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Leslie from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 14 nights in June 2017
Exceptional”
The staff were wonderful, the hotel, although fairly old has the Bali appearance and atmosphere, kept very clean. If you are scared of Monkeys don't go, but they are around the place and are interesting and great to watch. We will definitely go there again
Reviewed July 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Michelle from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Great Location, Clean & Spacious Rooms”
Taking into factor that it's a 3 star hotel AND that the prices are really low, this hotel, staff's, rooms, breakfast, bar & pool are WORTH IT. Staff's are very welcoming & ready to assist with anything you need. Monkey's around the lobby! They are not dangerous at all. It's location is perfect. 2mins walk to Monkey Forest. 5mins walk to the super-mart(not to mention the shops, bars, spas & eateries along the way). About 10-15mins walk to the famous Ubud Art Market(with MANY retail shops, eateries, spas etc. along the way). Great Location. We booked 2 Superior rooms. The rooms & bathrooms are really spacious. They are fairly clean as well considering the price you're paying. I have allergies especially to dust & I had a really good time in this hotel without my allergy triggering. There's 2 pools. & they are clean & beautiful! Breakfast is fairly good as well! Good enough to get your day going. I will definitely come back!
Reviewed June 02, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Michelle from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
Great spot, great pools!”
Very quite spot and easy to walk around the township if you have a basic level of fitness. We walked around all of Ubud to the many bars/restaurants quite happily. Whilst I'm not a fan of the monkeys, they never bothered us, they kept their distance and were entertaining to watch. We did stay in a base room, but it could do with some updating and more detailing cleaning. We would stay again though, even if just for the 2 great pools which provided sun or shade all day depending on your preference. Plus I prefer to be slightly away from bars etc, which meant it was quite at night.
Reviewed May 09, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Sue from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
brilliant location at the best end of Ubud”
Beautiful spot overlooking the forest has amazing views, monkeys cross from forest to Monkey Forest all through the day but parade by at dawn and dusk. Staff very helpful, resort provides cooking class, individually tailored tours and is within easy walk to great restaurants, yoga barn, Monkey Forest etc.
Reviewed February 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
barbara from United Kingdom
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Great hotel with ”
Great value for money, relatively cheap hotel with large, modern rooms and two swimming pools. Very good location, 2 minutes away from Monkey Forests, quite often you can see monkey in the hotel area! very nice staff. Breakfast could be better.
Reviewed December 30, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jill from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Good location ”
Since my last visit here (2009) they have taken more steps to exclude the constantly visiting monkeys. The breakfast restaurant is no longer open air which has removed some of the charm, but the breakfast remains good with a variety of options that should appeal to all nationalities. Staff are friendly and helpful. Cleanliness is good and the pool areas are well looked after and have a good amount of loungers. Very impressed with the room and our little garden, Cons - the room needed some talc in parts. The wardrobe doors were broken and fell off each time they were moved/opened. Quite dangerous really
Reviewed November 02, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
barbara from United Kingdom
Group
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in January 2016
Good hotel with friendly staff”
Good hotel, just opposite Monkey Forest so if you lucky, you can see monkeys inside the hotel or on a parking. Very friendly staff, rooms large and clean. breakfasts could be improved, not the best choice and quality. Nice swimming pools. Definitely good value for the price.
Reviewed February 07, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Amanda from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Loved this place!”
Location, pools, spa
My husband and I loved this hotel! Here are the pros: 1. Great location, right beside the monkey forest, so sometimes the monkeys visit the grounds haha and so easy to explore central Ubud. 2. The pools! So clean and nice. 3. The spa! Best body scrub + massage I've had! So relaxing and great value for money! 4. The room was beautiful! 5. Breakfast had a lot of options and tasted good! Only con I can think of: The bathroom was a little dirty. Some small cobwebs in high corners, some ants, a couple clumps of hair. The floor in the bathroom is covered in loose stones. It's pretty, but impractical and I think makes it hard to clean. BUT! I'm a neat-freak and would stay here again despite this!
Reviewed January 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Cristian from Romania
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Close to everything”
Location, pools and garden, food
Nice and big garden , 2 warm pools. The room and bathroom were verry big, but not verry clean. The food was good. Is close to everything- 1 min walk to the restaurants and shops. There are monkeys and gecko in the garden, but it was fine by me because are not agresive.
Reviewed November 19, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Cristian from Romania
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Close to everything”
location, garden, food
They have 2 pools( 1.5m and 1.8m) rooms bathroom are verry bug but more cleaning is required. The garden is big and verry nice. There are restaurants and shops 1 min walk. The monkey forest is acros the road and the monkey came in the resort. They are not agresive, also are many gecko on the hotel walls. Food was good, many tips to choose. I will stay here on my next trip.
Reviewed November 19, 2015
8.0
Excellent
ALISON from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Best location for monkey forest ”
Relaxed 'vibe of the hotel. The monkeys! Beautiful pool.
Myself and my teen and younger daughters stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. For me I chose this hotel as I wanted to be able to walk in the monkey forest, and surrounding areas - it is a magic location for beautiful scenic walks, loads of monkeys! And is just in the perfect spot. Mere metres from lovely shops, a mini mart right at the entrance, monkey forest entry metres away and loads of good restaurants close by. Shuttle service we didn't use, but is there. The pools were both lovely and clean with plenty of sunloungers. Room service was always prompt. Food was good. breakfast had plenty of variety for all of us and we actually LOVED having the 'house' cats and the cheeky monkeys entertain us at breakfast. We really had a fabulous stay here.
Reviewed September 21, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Muhammad from Pakistan
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Great Stay”
Room, Location, Breakfast
Well, we got there through taxi directly from ubud. We had booked the room for 2 days but the service and everything around was so great that we extended it by another 2. We got a free upgrade as well to a deluxe room. The room was great, monkeys were around an the pool was beautiful though cold. All in all, it was a great stay and whenever I will visit, I will surely book it back...
Reviewed August 28, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Muhammad from Pakistan
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Absolutelyyy Amazing”
Rooms, Pool and Location
Initially we booked the hotel for / nights for a standard room. We got a free upgrade to a deluxe room. The hotel staff, rooms, pool and location was absolutely amazing abd we loved our stay. The breakfast was worth it too. We did see a few monkeyss thought and my daughter loved them... Will rebook if I revisit ubud.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Glenn from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014
Good again as usual”
Location, Service and great pools
This is a our third stay at Champlung Sari, as previous we really enjoyed it, the location is great, as it is at the bottom of the main street, near the Monkey Forest. As our preference is for the older style Bali rooms, this hotel offers this. It has a great pool and staff and service very good
Reviewed November 17, 2014
8.7
Excellent
David from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Super Location”
Really enjoyed the location , it was a beautiful walk left or right to all the shops and restraunts monkey Forrest and the palace
My room was spacious and clean , situated near the pool and restraunt . I didn't like the upstairs restraunt for breakfast cos the Monkeys kept stealing my food. My house mate and his partner stayed there recently on my reccomdation , they loved the hotel as much as me and told me they have since meshed off the the upstairs restraunt so you can have breakfast in peace ;)
Reviewed October 07, 2014
6.3
Good
Octariana from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Standard hotel and lil bit expensive”
Standard hotel and lil bit expensive
We had a problem while we stayed there because the hotel to close to monkey forest. In the afternoon while I taking shower and suddenly 3 monkey came and sat on top of the bathroom wall and very scary. This is the first and last for me to stay in this hotel and I don't think I'm coming back.
Reviewed June 11, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Karyn from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Monkeys Everywhere”
Close to Monkey forest. Close to dinning out, Lovely spa treatment in Hotel.
We stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe room, number 120 which was on the second floor. Great size room, very spacious. This room is in the corner and right opposite the monkey forest, so every morning around 7am, heaps of monkeys would come from the monkey forest over to the residencial area and just so happened they crossed on our roof. They hang around your balcony waiting for food I think, but you are not allowed to feed them. They tend to leave you alone, but they just sit right out the front of your door on the ledge. They are also a bit cheaky, they come into the breakfast area and try and steel your breakfast, but that was all good. Great massage at the hotel, clean and relaxing. Pools are clean and good size. Beds are really comfy.
Reviewed May 12, 2014
5.7
Paolo from Italy
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
It could have been better”
Nice garden and pool, not much more
This hotel has a huge potential. It's nicely located in a relatively quiet area and still just next door from shops and restaurants, it has a lovely tropical garden and a large swimming pool, but it's a pity that room and bathroom facilities are a bit poor, and so are breakfast, Internet, even the two pools although looking were somewhat not much attractive because the lounge chairs are so uncomfortable. If you want to be closer to the places were you'll go for a Balinece dance performance or a nice dinner don't choose this hotel. If you want to be in a really quiet and charming countryside place don't choose it either.
Reviewed February 01, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Faaria from Kenya
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
great location and good value for money”
l absolutely loved this hotel! room and bathroom and surroundings very beautiful and romantic ;) Excellent location, as soon as you step out of the hotel there are numerous restaurants and mini marts
Efficient check in and check out. Friendly staff and good laundry Service available. Breakfast very basic not much variety but nice fresh pastries available.comfortable bed after a long tiring day.I will definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend this hotel to my friends visiting Bali for the first time. If location and comfort is a priority, this is the right hotel for you.
Reviewed January 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
IKA from Indonesia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Nice hotel for honeymooners”
centrally located in Ubud, nice surrounding, spacious room
Since it's located in central Ubud, it just a walking distance for various restaurants, sightseeing (e.g. the monkey forest, traditional market). Nice hotel for honeymooners' activities whether to stay at the hotel (swim or have a spa) or walk around the hotel. Spacious room with standard cleanliness (specially for the towel and toiletries). Very friendly staff will provide information about surrounding and activities.
Reviewed January 08, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Barry from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Magic family experience.”
The staff, the rooms and the monkey's
We love this hotel. Across the road from the monkey forest and they all come over for breakfast. How cool is that! The staff are fantastic and the location is awesome. If you are going to Ubud and the place and the culture is more important than a chocolate on your pillow, come here. You will love it.
Reviewed October 08, 2013