Book Now: Chic Capsules

Excellent
From 1593 reviewsSee what guests said
8.9
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1593)Booking.com Reviews (1132)
8.9
Excellent
From 1593 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities8.3
Location9.5
Room comfort and quality8.7
Service9.5
Value for money8.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
한국어
简体中文
more
Room type
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Lower Single Capsule - Mixed
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1336 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
pierre from France
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Good place to stay ”
Awesome staff always here to help and give advices .the place is clean and friendly, close to the mrt station in the center of Chinatown in SG . Perfect for a short trip in SG
Reviewed February 03, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Avis from United States
Group
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Excellent staff; safe storage; hard mattress”
The staff were excellent: consistently warm and helpful. Secure locker inside the living space (same size as a weekend suitcase, but deeper). Secure storage room for larger pieces not needed in the living space. No one messed with the stuff we left out. Free unlimited drinking water (room temp or cold), a simple breakfast, and refrigerator space for leftovers. Changed bed linens and towel on request. The room and locker "key" was embedded in a silicone wrist band, which was handy. Women's room on the 2nd floor; mixed room on the 3rd floor. Overall, an excellent place. A few specific areas for improvement: 1. Very hard mattress (hardest of several I used in Singapore and Malaysia). Bothered me but not my sister. Both of us are used to softer American mattresses. 2. Main shower room needed an operating exhaust fan. 3. It would help to clean out the sinks multiple times per day.
Reviewed February 03, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Soo from Malaysia
Business traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Great staff and location”
Location is definitely good for traveller as the hotel is surrounded by plenty of foods. Staffs are so friendly, caring and always provide the best welcome to their customers. Will definitely comeback this hotel for next trip.
Reviewed February 01, 2018
8.0
Excellent
joanne from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
within walking distance to Chinatown station”
i stayed in an all female dorm, like others have said there's alot of privacy given because of the blinds or curtains that separates each capsule bed. Pros: cheap, nice staff, located near the station, provided free breakfast ( didn't have breakfast) free wifi. Cons: the dorms were actually quite dark, there were no other lights except for the one by your bed. personal lockers were provided underneath each bunk capsule, I found it to be rather dusty with some food wrappings inside too. I also found the corners of the bed to have dust, the dust looked like it had been pushed into the corner. Lastly, I didn't realize this until i have checked out but when I made a reservation, Agoda said that i needed to pay 45$ at the hostel but when i arrived, the hostel asked me to pay 49$, it's not a big difference but the point was that it was not the same price stated on my agoda confirmation. please check the price stated on your confirmation aswell as what the hostel says.
Reviewed January 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Simon from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Desmond the friendly staff”
The environment is good, and its very near to mrt station (chinatown). Also Desmond is a very friendly and helpful staff!
Reviewed January 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Michael from Canada
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Exceptional”
A great host who went the extra mile to make sure I made my 2am airport pick up
Reviewed January 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
ira from Indonesia
Family with teens
Deluxe Quadruple Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
The location is in the centre of chinatown which the food corner open until midnight.”
Good location good service . Pls change the towel which is not confort at all. Break fast very efficient but is ok. Will come back again.
Reviewed January 08, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Volkan from Turkey
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Very clean place”
Very good owner and very new,clean place.
Reviewed December 31, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Josh from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Friendly staff and served good set of breakfast.”
Staff are extremely friendly, felt VIP service when having breakfast session. Facilities are very convenient but may be a little out of maintenance. Storage door is a bit loose and headphone provided is broken (didn't report to owner because I barely have time enjoy the TV provided). Blinds is a little bit defect and operable by few tests and luck. Cleanliness and mattress comfortability is average given the price to stay in. Cons: Room are too dark and make it difficult to look for item in the corridor, I am being assigned on upper bed which very dependable on the light source by lower bedmate. The ladder is also very steep. Suggest to have dim light on corridor (led perhaps) and alternative holder for a better grip and convenient for upper bed stay in.
Reviewed December 31, 2017
7.2
Very good
Susan from Singapore
Group
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Very good”
Good&friendly service,have free breakfast. The wash room's door is hard to open.
Reviewed December 31, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Liew from Malaysia
Group
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Friendly staff”
Nice foods around and close to MRT.
Reviewed December 30, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Astrid from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Go for the hospitality”
Chic might be my best finding hostel in 2015 and everytime i went to SG on my own - no doubt this place comes first. The place strategically located in Chinatown, easy peasy to go anywhere by walking, mrt, bus even taxi. The place always clean and no funny smell. I reckon there are plenty capsule hostel around here but the deal-maker is the Chic hospitality led by Desmond. He greet you warmly and let the guest to take a seat; then he will do the rest - from check in to suggest what to do in SG (if you're on holiday tho).
Reviewed December 30, 2017
6.0
Tomi from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Terrible Bed”
Bed was uncomfortable and barely need a change after long used. Room was smelly. Other guests talking very loud and they seem do not care that others were sleeping. Better to stay at The Pod with better facility, very comfy bed, and clean in every corner.
Reviewed December 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Stephanie from Philippines
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Exceptional”
good, quiet room in a fantastic location. I stayed in the 12 bed female pod room and barely heard a peep from anyone else. Room was a good temperature, blankets and towel provided, TV in the pod (though I didn't use it). A good choice if you're looking for privacy without the expense of a normal private room in Singapore.
Reviewed December 19, 2017
8.4
Excellent
effah from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Loved the location it near to tourist attraction and also mrt”
Loved the location its near to tourist attraction and also mrt, the only disadvantage was the women toilet is only one, the bed is bigger than i thought and so comfortable to sleep in.
Reviewed December 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Hargiyanto from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Staff was very friendly”
Like to stay here. nothing to complain. excellent
Reviewed December 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Olga from Singapore
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Best staff ever”
The administrator was very friendly and patient as it took me long time to pay for the capsule. He was very polite and kept offering different ways of paying until I managed to do it. :) Thanks a lot to this place. I was also impressed by the large TV with access to youtube inside the capsule. The place is very nice, cozy and comfortable.
Reviewed December 08, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Kendra from United States
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Fantastic location; super helpful staff”
I loved my stay here. Quiet, clean, comfortable. Pros: location, near great eateries and transit. Cons: my television didn’t work (honestly, I could care less, but if you’re jonesing for some TV that could be a bummer)
Reviewed December 06, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
SUM from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 14 nights in September 2017
Nice capsules hotel”
3rd time stay at this hotel. Worth it
Reviewed December 06, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Liew from Malaysia
Group
Lower Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Good location”
Good location where 3 minutes walk to Chinatown MRT station.
Reviewed December 05, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Boo from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Good for value”
Hotel is located at Chinatown and within walking distance to MRT station, and also good for value. The staff are very polite and helpful and overall the environment is clean.
Reviewed December 01, 2017
4.4
Elton from Singapore
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
best location”
not well maintain staff was average, could be better
Reviewed November 29, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
vipanee from United States
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Central Located and Clean”
I selected to stay in the all female capsule dormitory. It was cleaner and quieter. I liked that we had separate bathrooms from the mixed dormitory. Desmond was super helpful with checking in and providing recommendations. My capsule was clean. I liked that a clean change of towel was offered for free. I loved that I had my own tv in my capsule with access to current movies. These capsule hostel is walking distance to Hawk Center and MRT. It was easy to get to Bay of the Gardens and Marina Sands.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Dinda from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
great location and facility”
the hostel is really close to MRT station (3 mins walk), loving the tv in our capsules, bathroom needs to be more clean and I would suggest they have breakfast station so we can choose what to have for breakfast. Desmond at the reception was really nice and helpful.
Reviewed November 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
SHERRY from Philippines
Couple
Lower Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
staff are very friendly”
will definitely stay here again on our next visit! ^_^
Reviewed November 16, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
debbie from Singapore
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Superb”
The room is very quiet with great facilities. Very near to mrt. Will definitely stay here again in the future
Reviewed October 31, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
KHAIRUL
Business traveler
2 Single Beds in Mixed Dormitory Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
This is like my 2nd home”
Few minute to MRT station which located near the heart of Singapore. Nice location, nice place to stay. Good value while also being clean. Everytime I visit Singapore alone, whether for business or getaway, this is the first place that came to mind. I was worried at first but after I tried it once, I never regret it at all.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Benjapol from Thailand
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Perfect location. The owner put his heart into the hostel.”
- I can feel the passion that the owner put his heart and soul into this hostel. I was surprised that he knew my name when I first walked in, and while waiting to check-in, he knew that I was looking for wifi and quickly give the password without asking. It showed how he cares about his guests. - The location is perfect. 1-2 minute walk from ChinaTown station Exit A. Lots of good cheap food nearby. - Bed is too soft. This is the only bad thing about this hostel.
Reviewed October 29, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Daisy from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Excellent location and just the right price”
Chic capsule is just 3 minutes walk from Chinatown MRT, and surrounded by top hawker centers such as maxwell, chinatown complex food centre! The place is clean, and the host (Desmond) is really helpful. Also female friendly as there're female only rooms and bathroom. Overall, recommended for solo travelers as long as you don't bring many luggages!
Reviewed October 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Amee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Quaint stay that reminds you of home”
My stay at Chic was really cozy and comfy. Equipped with an all access internet TV it was almost tempting to not step outside! Key card was in a form of a bracelet, which was clever as it is always visible on my wrist and the hostel provided a spacious locker for me to put my valuables as well. The Overall the stay was exceptional and I will not hesitate to come back should I visit Sg again in the future!
Reviewed October 22, 2017
7.2
Very good
BELINDA from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017
Very good”
This is the only hostel that allows guests to select their bunk (upper or lower) and it would be great to see other hostels follow suit, as guests may have good reason to prefer one over the other. I like the privacy of each pod. There was a TV in each, which is probably unnecessary. I didn't like the shower area because there is not enough ventilation and toilets and showers are placed together (not separate cubicles). I also don't feel the shower area is clean enough, and the black tiling makes it feel less clean and makes the space feel more cramped. The door to the shower is quite hard to open/close. But overall the stay was satisfactory.
Reviewed October 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Shaun from Australia
Group
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Excellent facilities, very helpful staff, and great location!”
The staff were very friendly and helpful for all our questions and offered solutions for any problems we encountered. The beds were very clean and private, and there was a peaceful atmosphere in the hostel.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Veriyanta from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Clean and good value hostel”
They've managed to keep the cleanliness of the place even after few years of operating. But time has taken its toll. The mattress was sagging in the middle, the shower head shows some mineral deposit, some of the interior shows some wear and tear. But overall, it's a clean, best value for money place to stay in Singapore.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Frankie from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Great location, better hostel elsewhere”
Great location. Friendly staff. Limited facilities. Other hostels I have stayed in are better - better beds, showers, washing machines and dryers, breakfast area... However, it was still a comfortable 5 days stay
Reviewed October 18, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Jerico from Philippines
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Perfect Location”
Great location and close to everything. Staff was very accommodating. Rooms are clean and quiet. Breakfast was average and could be better.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Bunika from Thailand
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Good location”
Good location you can go anywhere from here... The bed very clean , the bathroom very clean and the nice straff
Reviewed October 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
James from Australia
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
nice hostel in convenient location with good breakfast”
A good place to sleep. The pods were well designed with smart TV (which I didn't use), and blinds giving plenty of privacy, although the pillow was very thin. Good Wifi signal throughout. Having an RFID wristband to open the door and lockers was convenient. Bathroom was very hot and humid - the couple of fans didn't provide great ventilation. Also there were only 3 cubicles which meant there was a queue at peak times. Breakfast was above average with some decent pre-made sandwiches, cereal and fruit, and tea and coffee. Lobby was quite small and quiet with comfortable chairs. The host Desmond was very helpful - lent me a SIM card tray opener and arranged a free shuttle back to the airport (available twice daily). Located very close to Chinatown MRT and a couple of bus stops. Next street over is the Chinatown markets.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Veronika from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Good for Sleep”
It was the first time I tried sleep in one room with people I don't know. But because the picts was so good I would like to try the hostel. It was good as the bunk bed got cover so we will not disturbed by people walk around during our sleep. The 'room' got television and cloud tv with headphone, even though only the first night I could use it, the rest two night I couldn't use it anymore. But it's not a big problem as I always arrive late in the hostel and already tired. I booked the female only room but the toilet still mix for men and women. Except the toilet, I think it is a good hostel with very nice staff.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Keny from Indonesia
Group
Lower Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Great services”
The services is really great, they have shuttle service to airport for free..
Reviewed October 09, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Great place, clean, friendly staff.”
Chic Capsule Otel was a fantastic place to stay. Everyone was very courteous to me and well respectful. Desmond the owner was so nice to me and made sure my stay was great.
Reviewed October 09, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
FERNANDO from Philippines
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Exceptional”
recommend
Reviewed October 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Lionel from United States
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 7 nights in March 2017
Very nice hostel!”
This hostel offers a great location in Chinatown and is close to shopping and public transit.
Reviewed October 03, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Ali from United States
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Exceptional”
Great staff that will go the length for you. Doesn’t even feel like a hostel but more so like a hotel. Right around the corner from Chinatown stop and walking distance to many neighborhoods.
Reviewed October 02, 2017
8.4
Excellent
PUI from Singapore
Solo traveler
Lower Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Excellent”
overall goods . will come again
Reviewed September 28, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Huy from Vietnam
Group
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Nice and value”
Friendly and helpful staff. Good location (2 mins to Chinatown MRT Station) Clean room but toilet is small. Breakfast is simple but okie. will comback again when in Singapore.
Reviewed September 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Carine from Malaysia
Group
Upper Single Capsule - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Great as usual ”
Second times here, needless to say. Everything's great as usual!
Reviewed September 25, 2017
5.6
Daisuke from Japan
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
smelly and less oxygen in bed room”
When I was guided to the bed room, it was full of other guests' smell. On top of that, oxygen was so thin in the room that I couldn't sleep very well. Even though staff's service was so so good, the stay was far from satisfing. Maybe I never go there again.
Reviewed September 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Christine from United States
Business traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Helpful and professional staff”
I arrived a day later because of a missed flight and the staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. I was impressed with the cleanliness, comfort, quietness, and security of this hostel. I will definitely stay here again!
Reviewed September 21, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Ramadhan from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Excellent Staff, Perfect Location”
This is my first experience in a hostel, and a friend of mine said don't expect much. But I think for this hostel he could make an exception; sleeping in a hostel doesn't have to lower your expectation.
Reviewed September 18, 2017
8.4
Excellent
suchart from Thailand
Solo traveler
Upper Single Capsule - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Excellent”
Very nice!
Reviewed September 17, 2017