Chillao Hostel
Free Wi-Fi

Chillao Hostel

Unnamed Road, Vang Vieng City Center, Vang Vieng, Laos
- View on map
Standard Double Room Chillao Hostel
Standard Double Room
    Removed from saved list
    Lobby Chillao Hostel
    Lobby Chillao Hostel
    Swimming pool [outdoor] Chillao Hostel
    Standard Double Room Chillao Hostel
    See all 32 photos
     Chillao Hostel

    Chillao Hostel Reviews

    7.3
    Very good
    /10
    (280 reviews)See what guests said
    9.2
    Exceptional

    "Great location and best deal for the price"

    Robert

    -

    September 20, 2018

    7.7
    Very good service

    Things you’ll love about Chillao Hostel

    Things you'll love

    • 580 meters to public transportation

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Currency exchange

    • Breakfast [free]

    Excellent
    Location
    8.4
    See map
    Excellent location
    Popular
    Nearby
  • Wat Kang190 m
  • Green Discovery250 m
  • Nam Song River460 m
  • Lusi And Pha Poak Caves1.71 km
  • Tham Xang2.16 km
  • Silver Cliff3.7 km
  • Tham Nam (Water cave)4.39 km
  • Tham Loup & Tham Hoi Caves5.08 km
  • Kaeng Nyui Waterfall5.34 km
  • Tham Phu Kham Cave and Blue Lagoon5.75 km
  • This property is in high demand!

    Last booked 5 hours ago

    Value for money7.5
    Location rating8.4
    Nearest airportWattay International Airport (VTE)
    Distance to airport106.7 km

    Rooms available at Chillao Hostel

    12 Bedded Mixed Dormitory Room
    12 Bedded Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 45 m²/484 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 12 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Twin
    Standard Twin
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Family (4 adults)
    Standard Family (4 adults)
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 single bed and 1 double ...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Double Room
    Standard Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Family
    Standard Family
    ...
    • Room size: 60 m²/646 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 single bed and 1 double ...
    Enter dates to see prices
    4 - Bed Dormitory ( Mixed)
    4 - Bed Dormitory ( Mixed)
    ...
    • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 4 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Basic 6 Bed Mixed Room
    Basic 6 Bed Mixed Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 6 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 40 m²/431 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 10 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Basic 8 Bed Mixed Room
    Basic 8 Bed Mixed Room
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • 8 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard Triple Room
    Standard Triple Room
    ...
    • Shower
    • 2 single beds and 1 double...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for Chillao Hostel?

    What people love about Chillao Hostel

    • 9.2
      Exceptional

      "Amazing staff, amazing people!!"

      Gloria

      |

      March 23, 2017

    • 10.0
      Exceptional

      "Good service Good price Good place ."

      sawadwasan

      |

      September 3, 2018

    • 8.0
      Very good

      "Really nice staff!"

      sanne

      |

      July 25, 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Chillao Hostel

    More about Chillao Hostel

    8.0
    Very good

    "The staff in Chillao is very accommodating and helpful."

    Liza M.

    |

    February 6, 2018

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    8.8
    Excellent

    "the location is great, the staff is professional and helpful..."

    Celine

    |

    October 4, 2018

    Read more reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Chillao Hostel from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Agoda Reviews (280)Booking.com Reviews (484)
    7.3
    /
    10
    Cleanliness6.1
    Facilities6.7
    Location8.4
    Room comfort and quality4.0
    Service7.7
    Value for money7.5
    All languages
    All guests (280)
    All room types

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 177 verified guest comments
    12345
    8.4
    Excellent
    Beng from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    12 Bedded Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Beach Bum”

    I like it here as it's really chill like the hostel name suggests. LOL! Recommended only if you do your own due deligence. You get what you pay for. Look after your valuables like a responsible adult would do. Small to medium sized lockers depending on what dorm room type you booked into. Breakfast is satisfactory. Reception and staff is friendly. I'm still around for few more nights if anyone is looking for a fun and laid back dude to hang out with. Just ask the reception for a dorm room where the beach bum from Singapore is staying. LOL!

    Reviewed May 09, 2019
    10.0
    Exceptional
    siu from Hong Kong
    Solo traveler
    4 - Bed Dormitory ( Mixed)
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Services”

    The front desk staff especially Ching advised me of good schedule of travel n day trip, etc.

    Reviewed May 19, 2019

    thank you for stay with us , see you next time ! Regards Tranh

    Responded May 20, 2019
    Chillao Hostel
    8.0
    Excellent
    Ping from Hong Kong
    Solo traveler
    12 Bedded Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in April 2019

    Very good”

    A perfect place to chill out. What more can you ask for :)

    Reviewed May 04, 2019
    6.8
    Good
    Kim from Philippines
    Couple
    4 - Bed Dormitory ( Mixed)
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

    CONVENIENT LOCATION, ENGLISH SPEAKING STAFF”

    We came from Luang Prabang when we arrived in Vang Vieng and to our surprise, the van (actually most of them) drop off right in front of Chillao Hostel. We personally chose this hostel because it was affordable and had a pool. What was a bit surprising however was that the pool was actually on the first floor, inside the gate. So swimming there actually is seen from the outside. Hahaha! The hostel was typical although I could personally say that it can make use of more tidying up as the kitchen is a bit exposed when you walk into the area for rooms. I guess the whole area is also undergoing construction because there were much debris of construction stuff and unfinished stairs/cement around. Getting around was easy because they also offered a lot of services for tourist activities. We in fact booked our van to Vientiane from them. Also, their staff are almost all foreigners too and speak English really well. Overall, it was a good place to stay in especially if you plan to party.

    Reviewed April 22, 2019
    3.6
    Stephane from Belgium
    Solo traveler
    Standard Twin
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    horrible private room”

    I've travelled for a while now, and I'm not one to easily complain. But this place was the worst in my travels. -Airconditioning didn't work -Shower was stuck on boiling temperature -Matrass was terrible, you could feel the springs sticking in your back -Staff was not really friendly would NOT reccommend

    Reviewed April 03, 2019

    Dear stephane, we are very sorry for the inconvience, please accept our apology. thanks best regards

    Responded April 08, 2019
    Chillao Hostel
    4.0
    Richard from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

    awful”

    we stayed in a private room with own bathroom and it was like a prison cell. a typical private room in a hostel they don’t bother to make an effort with it because they don’t make as much money from it. Don’t know what the shared dorms were like but the communal areas were grotty and old, plus the building walls seemed to leak water! breakfast was crap and staff seemed bored

    Reviewed February 25, 2019

    we are very sorry mr richard please accept our sincere apology. best regards chillao hostel

    Responded March 06, 2019
    Chillao Hostel
    8.8
    Excellent
    Celine from Canada
    Solo traveler
    Basic 6 Bed Mixed Room
    Stayed 1 night in October 2018

    Excellent”

    While the hostel was great itself, the room was quite uncomfortable. If you have issues sleeping on a rock hard bed, then I wouldn't recommend staying here. There was also no functioning AC in my room so sleeping wasn't great. But the location is great, the staff is professional and helpful, and breakfast was really good.

    Reviewed October 04, 2018
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Oleksandr from Laos
    Solo traveler
    Basic 6 Bed Mixed Room
    Stayed 1 night in August 2018

    Book it! You will like it for sure ;)”

    Nice and simple hostel, everything what a traveler needs is here. Clean rooms and beds, not that soft, but I like. Clean toilets and also have hot water in shower, so good after rainy day. Oh, btw the breakfast is super cool! As I said before: simple but great! Don't know if it's noizy during a night, coz I was so tired and slept like a child :D

    Reviewed August 26, 2018

    Thank you Oleksandr so much! It's wonderfull, cuz you like our hostel. We will try our best to make all guest sastified!

    Responded August 29, 2018
    Chillao Hostel
    7.6
    Very good
    Jake from United States
    Solo traveler
    12 Bedded Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Definitely a good hostel to chill”

    Great for solo traveler on the cheap not suitable for couples. Pool may or may not be clean. Staff super friendly and willing to rent motor bike or book onward travel. Breakfast suitable does the job near to many good restaurants and good for party folks if that your intention. Plus free whisky every night 😄

    Reviewed May 04, 2019
    8.0
    Excellent
    Jake from United States
    Solo traveler
    Basic 8 Bed Mixed Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Very good”

    Pool was (somewhat) clean. Breakfast was delicious quite the bargain! Room never hot as A/C seemed to always be running. Good for a solo traveler but not recommended for a couple.

    Reviewed May 14, 2019
    4.0
    Rionach from Ireland
    Solo traveler
    4 - Bed Dormitory ( Mixed)
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    Don't stay here!”

    My passport went missing out of my backpack when I stayed here which obviously caused me a lot of upset. Then when I went to check out the woman at reception became aggressive toward me accusing me of not paying for my extended night which I had done the day before. She hadn't written it down so when I went to get the receipt from my room the cleaners had already cleared everything away. I tried to ask them if I could look through the rubbish bag but no one spoke English. I asked the lady at reception if she could speak to them for me to which she said it was my problem and not hers. My friend ended up paying her again to diffuse the situation. She was extremely unpleasant to deal with and showed no compassion for my passport being stolen. The beds are also extremely uncomfortable and toilets and kitchen are disgusting. Would urge people to avoid this place at all costs

    Reviewed February 17, 2019

    Dear Rionach we are very sorry about your passport,but after you left we also went to the police on your behalf. you told me you are coming back to vang vieng. we waited and you didnt return. we are sorry for everything because we do care and felt sorry for the passport.accept our sincere apology. best regards chillao hostel.

    Responded March 06, 2019
    Chillao Hostel
    6.8
    Good
    Jason from Malta
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 5 nights in January 2019

    The price was the best thing.”

    If you are on a budget it's great. The rooms are not nice, very basic. Had a problem with the electricity as it was going off every time we had a shower. Didn't feel safe at all. We reported it several times but was not fixed in 5 nights.

    Reviewed February 17, 2019
    2.0
    HAEYOUNG from South Korea
    Solo traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in January 2019

    Review score”

    The reception staff(girl) was unkind and unwilling to help. Her attitude was kind of rude.. She even informed people the wrong starting time for the activity tour so the tour began 1 hour late. I do not recommend this hostel at all.

    Reviewed February 01, 2019

    dear haeyoung we are sorry, please accept our apology. best regrards chillao hostel

    Responded March 06, 2019
    Chillao Hostel
    10.0
    Exceptional
    JIN from Japan
    Solo traveler
    12 Bedded Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

    Friendly staff ”

    The lady staff at the reception is friendly and cheerful. Breakfast is good. Comfortable place where you can stay long.

    Reviewed April 15, 2019
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Diogo from Portugal
    Solo traveler
    12 Bedded Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Loved it for the price it was”

    Not the best one ever, but I had no problem at all, staff was friendly and helpful, pool is great to relax, breakfast is nice, and the price was the best!

    Reviewed April 01, 2019
    8.0
    Excellent
    Liza from Philippines
    Group
    Standard Twin
    Stayed 1 night in December 2017

    Accommodating!”

    The staff in Chillao is very accommodating and helpful. They tried to find us for our booked Hot Air Balloon activity. Location seems to be at the very center and probably one among the favorite meeting places of tourists. No elevator though. They helped us with our bus bookings too.

    Reviewed February 06, 2018
    10.0
    Exceptional
    junya from Japan
    Solo traveler
    12 Bedded Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in August 2017

    Very nice place”

    Free breakfasts buffet every morning and free whisky every nights. Rooms are clean. Separated toilets and showerrooms. I stayed 9 nights and want to stay more. 朝食ビュッフェと夜はタダでウィスキー飲み放題、コーラで割り放題。 部屋もまぁまぁキレイ。トイレ、シャワー別。 9泊しましたが、もっと泊まってたいです。

    Reviewed August 15, 2017
    8.8
    Excellent
    Florence from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

    I would come back”

    I stayed in a private room on the 2nd floor, I would reckon the first floor would be noisy as music is often blasting. Friendly helpful staff who let me use the computer and brought me to the police station when I lost my phone. Free whiskey is always a plus!

    Reviewed January 06, 2017
    6.4
    Good
    Gökçe from Thailand
    Couple
    Standard Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    There are better options”

    We booked over agoda. but when we get there they charge us more then it suppose to be. Bed is not confortable at all.and they played very loud music if you wanna rest. On the otherside Location is amazing. Breakfast is good. There are better and cheaper place to stay around

    Reviewed March 20, 2019
    6.8
    Good
    Natalie from United Kingdom
    Couple
    Standard Twin
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

    Polystyrene mattresses”

    Location was great and so was the pool- but the mattresses were so uncomfortable we struggled to sleep. It does have air con, although it wasn’t working at first but the lady on reception got it fixed for us. It’s not really a house, feels a bit half built but the staff were very nice and friendly and couldn’t fault them at all! It was relatively clean, a little bit dark but it’s definitely ok for one night. Not a massive fan of the breakfast as the pancakes were like rubber, but you get what you pay for and it’s pretty good value for the cost.

    Reviewed October 08, 2018
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Chillao Hostel
    |Very good 7.3
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Wat Kang
    • Vang Vieng Public Bus Stop is within 0.57 km