Book Now: Chinatown Hotel

Very good
From 1372 reviewsSee what guests said
7.2
Recommended by 80% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1372)Booking.com Reviews (338)
7.2
Very good
From 1372 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.9
Facilities6.7
Location8.4
Room comfort and quality7.1
Service7.4
Value for money7.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
简体中文
Français
more
Room type
Standard Room
Superior Room
Deluxe Room
Junior Suite Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1165 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
cherie from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Location ”
It’s located just in Chinatown.
Reviewed January 22, 2018
8.4
Excellent
cherie from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Excellent”
Location is superb. Food stall and restaurant outside hotel.
Reviewed January 22, 2018
2.4
Mahmoud from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Acceptable”
It’s a old building and small rooms with poor consumer service and not reasonable price too
Reviewed January 14, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Vesna from Slovenia
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Very good”
Great location of the hotel and if you don’t spend much time in a hotel and if the noise from street doesn’t bother you at night, it is great value for money.
Reviewed January 12, 2018
8.4
Excellent
DUNG from Vietnam
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
What a nice hotel!”
I spend many staying in this good hotel! Every time, I go to Bangkok Chinatown Hotel always my first option! Nice & helpful staffs, good services, ideal location and more .....
Reviewed December 18, 2017
8.8
Excellent
PHAIK from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Hotel in an Excellent location ”
Location of hotel is excellent - just step out of the hotel and there are food stalls selling food for dinner along Yoawarat Road. Just walking distance to the morning market , shopping areas and temples. Room is clean and very spacious. Request for a quiet and non-smoking room was granted.
Reviewed December 10, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
summer from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
good ....! next time i will stay in this hitel again .”
near to the Budha golden temple , and can eat alot of chinese food ...
Reviewed December 06, 2017
8.4
Excellent
saijai from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Excellent”
good location for China town trip.Lots of good eatings all around.
Reviewed November 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
EE from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
GREAT for everything”
Almost 10/10 for this hotel. great location, great food, good people.
Reviewed November 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Seet from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Exceptional”
Good food around hotel
Reviewed November 04, 2017
6.4
Good
sarangerel from Mongolia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017
good location”
cheapest
Reviewed October 03, 2017
6.0
David from Malaysia
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Yaowarat Adventure”
If your interests are just to experience the nightlife and street foods of Yaowarat {China Town}, than this hotel is good.Everything is nearby with endless food stalls selling all sorts of foods.Nothing very much of interest here.Traffic is heavy and endless whistling by traffic wardens helping you to cross streets which is good.Do not expect much from this hotel.Very basic,small room and breakfast is not good.The one lift is at the back of hotel and the area nearby untidy.
Reviewed September 23, 2017
4.4
Nadine from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Rooms not as advertised”
I chose this hotel because it states all the rooms have a bath tub. When we arrived this wasn't the case and the manager was really rude when we tried to explain the booking. The rooms do not have all the facilities advertised so watch out.
Reviewed September 07, 2017
4.8
Phyllis from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Acceptable”
hotel need to be renovate
Reviewed August 22, 2017
8.0
Excellent
VIJAY from India
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
worth staying in this hotel.”
very good location, good staff, moderate services but worth the price. basic needs are fulfilled.
Reviewed August 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
FREDDY from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
A Good Hidden Gem”
This is one 3rd time back to Hotel Chinatown and good as usual. Friendly staff and good location. Pls keep up the good efforts.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
4.4
siew from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
room r small”
ok
Reviewed July 08, 2017
6.0
CHUN from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Good location but small room”
Good location. We can find night market around the hotel. Many gold shop and Chinese medicine shop here too. But the room was small. The front lift was not working so we have to take the back lift. The back lift only can fit for 4 persons every-time you use it.
Reviewed June 28, 2017
8.4
Excellent
anu from Finland
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Excellent”
The rooms are small, but for the price they are okay. The staff are very friendly. This hotel is great if you want to visit Sampeng market (You really should!) and few of the other shopping malls. The only sad thing is that many places in the area close 16-18, so there isn't much to do, unless you want to travel a bit further away.
Reviewed June 21, 2017
6.8
Good
anthony from Indonesia
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Not flexible hotel”
We cannot visit my room friend in this hotel..
Reviewed June 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Jennie from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Good location and friendly staff”
This is my 2nd time stay in this hotel, good location and the staff is very friendly. The staff was very helpful to arrange the room for us as we are request for same floor (because we have old folk and young children). We will stay here again.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Jennie from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Good location and friendly staff”
This is my 2nd time stay in this hotel, good location and the staff is very friendly. The staff was very helpful to arrange the room for us as we are request for same floor (because we have old folk and young children). We will stay here again.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Thanh from Vietnam
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
very nice hotel”
busy town around
Reviewed June 03, 2017
Dear Thanh, Thank you for taking the time to review for Chinatown Hotel, We appreciate your comment regarding our room and location in China Town. Chinatown Hotel locates on Yaowarat Road (China Town) is food night street, wholesale shopping, and gold shop area in Bangkok and every day the most traveler came to visit that are reason made China Town are busy town. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip at Chinatown Hotel. Best Regards, Administrative Department of Chinatown Hotel
Show more
Chinatown Hotel
7.6
Very good
Lim from Singapore
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017
Fabulous. Location”
Clean room but look rather old interior. Walking distant to many restaurants. Night stalks selling foods are fabulous and enjoy our foods there. Monday is a rest day for all the night stalks at Chinatown.
Reviewed May 19, 2017
Dear Mr. Lim, Thank you for taking the time to review for Chinatown Hotel, We appreciate your comment regarding our room and location in China Town. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip at Chinatown Hotel. Best Regards, Administrative Department of Chinatown Hotel
Responded May 22, 2017
Chinatown Hotel
7.6
Very good
Chua from Thailand
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
You get what you paid for”
Honestly, I don't have very high expectations for this hotel since it was so cheap. However, I can say I did get what i paid for. It has very basic facilities and my room is fairly clean. I didn't spot any disturbing eyesores so it was alright. Staff were polite as of most hotel staff. Location wise, it is just at the end of Yaowarat Road where its less congested and also means you get to start walking from one end (starting in the middle of it annoys me a little bit) Only thing that I didnt really like was the fact that we were only given only 1 key for the room. But that didnt bother me that much. Overall it was okay, cheap and worthwhile.
Reviewed April 24, 2017
7.2
Very good
GRACE from Singapore
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
2 night stays”
Small but clean room. Breakfast is oriental and the staff are helpful.
Reviewed April 23, 2017
7.6
Very good
christina from Malaysia
Group
Junior Suite Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Near local food stall”
Local food stall around the hotel
Reviewed April 22, 2017
7.6
Very good
christina from Malaysia
Group
Connecting Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Near to the food stall”
A lot of locol food stall near the hotel
Reviewed April 22, 2017
6.4
Good
Lai from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Good location. ”
Helpful staff. Very good location.
Reviewed April 03, 2017
4.0
Leong from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
Very bad hotel facilities, very Bad room deco & staffs attitude very bad ”
No comments
Reviewed February 25, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Doug from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Enjoyable experience”
This is an older type of hotel however it was clean although dated. The staff were excellent and friendly. Ok for a couple of days in Chinatown.
Reviewed February 23, 2017
5.2
Jennifer from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
too basic”
too basic.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
6.0
KOAY from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Service”
I was checked out from the hotel and carrying two luggage in my hands and no staffs was helping me in opening the door for me to go out and I need to push open the door myself.
Reviewed February 17, 2017
6.4
Good
LI from Malaysia
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
strategic location”
room sound bit noisy
Reviewed February 12, 2017
6.4
Good
LI from Malaysia
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
strategic location ”
the facilities is bit outdated
Reviewed February 12, 2017
6.8
Good
LI from Malaysia
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
strategic location. convinient ”
hope it provide car park for parking
Reviewed February 10, 2017
7.6
Very good
Agata from Poland
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Affordable accommodation in the heart of China Town ”
Very kind and helpful staff, bar and restaurant ok, rooms are really outdated but clean. Good wifi. In general ok, but don't expect too much.
Reviewed February 07, 2017
5.2
Albert from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
50”
The breakfast was really bad
Reviewed February 01, 2017
5.6
MAYUPIN from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Good location but small room”
Good location, we can find night market around the hotel and more gold shop here. Chinese visitor easily find thai medicine here too. But for the room we made a booking aren't the same as the photo we saw in agoda and few of kinds of food for breakfast.
Reviewed January 17, 2017
5.6
Alfonso from Philippines
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
Excellent Location but ......”
It was clearly written in my request that I wanted twin beds but the staff manning the night shift with somewhat irritating manner gave us a single bed, at first he claimed there was no more room with twin beds but at the end he gave in after I raised my voice. That proved he was a liar. Furthermore, he demanded 1,000 Thai Baht as deposit which I don't had not enough at that moment. I offered him to swipe my credit card which they did not have the gadget to do it. It's good I had US$ with me finally as deposit. The facilities were outmoded. They did not have even table for us to put our luggage, but they were kind enough to provide it after I demanded. Imagine these were all done after midnight when we arrived at around 10:30 pm tired and exhausted. The only plus factor there were the very good location, and a good snack restaurant, nothing more. We had also had some language problem since the staff do not speak good English. But 3 of the staff can communicate in Mandarin which we also speak.
Reviewed January 07, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sean from Singapore
Family with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great place”
Great Place
Reviewed January 03, 2017
7.2
Very good
Sye from Singapore
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Average hotel in Chinatown ”
Convenient location in chinatown. Lots of nice street food. Daily cleaning. 10 mins walk to mrt. 15 mins walk to river ferry pier. Provide 1000 baht as deposit. Mould smell in toilet throughout 3 days stay. Old dated toilet fittings where you have to control 2 taps to get the correct water temperature. The breakfast was disappointment. Not much choice. Slow to top up if you request. Not worth. Go elsewhere for breakfast.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
7.2
Very good
Oi from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Old hotel”
It need a face lift and proper clean in the room.... good location but will. Or stay again
Reviewed December 28, 2016
4.8
CHIAM from Singapore
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Not worth it”
i went there and the room suprise me alot. SUPER SMALL and there's is cigg smell in the room. cant imagine what i been through.
Reviewed December 15, 2016
8.8
Excellent
VAN from France
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
good”
good
Reviewed December 09, 2016
8.4
Excellent
SOH from Singapore
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2016
Good location, near to night market and foodstalls and good service from the staff.”
Value for money
Reviewed December 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Sandra from Germany
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
good located in Chinatown ”
Good located on a the main street in Chinatown and to the train station (trains, public transport, skytrain). bathroom small, hotel facilities okay, water in room NOT FREE OF CHARGE (you need to pay for it), breakfast okay (from 6:30 a.m. but there are ready to start not earlier that 6:45 a.m. :-)), only some of the receptionist speaks a little bit English, friendly staff
Reviewed December 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
leong from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
value for money”
good location, near place to eat, near 7-11, easy access to market
Reviewed December 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
leong from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
good to stay ”
value for money. good location and near the markets
Reviewed December 02, 2016
7.2
Very good
LS from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
good location good price”
ideally located for exploration of Yaowarat street food, but not convenient as a base for exploring the rest of bangkok
Reviewed November 27, 2016