Book Now: Chulia Heritage Hotel

Very good
From 5603 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
/
10

Reviews of Chulia Heritage Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (5601)Booking.com Reviews (1258)
7.7
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities6.6
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.9
Value for money7.9
All languages
All guests (5601)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 4408 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Turkeswari from Malaysia
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Overall it was a good stay ”

This was my second at this hotel. My friend and myself was satisfied with this stay and worth the money. Although I must say that they need to upgrade the air-con at all the rooms. The air-con was not cold at all then they change us to another room. I was totally was Okay with the share bathroom although I wished the bathroom could be abit bigger. The location of the so strategic where it's near to bus stop, hawker street so there's no need to worry to look for food. I'm happy

Reviewed May 22, 2019
8.4
Excellent
yong from Malaysia
Group
Basic Triple Bed with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

SY Yong”

Overall is good. Very convenience for food.

Reviewed May 22, 2019
7.2
Very good
kamaluddin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Clean and convenient”

We stayed for 2 nights: Pro: Hotel is clean, surrounded with cafes and restaurants and nearby attraction places. Reasonable room rates Cons: Our towel n bedsheet were not change for 2nd night stay. Bathrooms are outside the room. Bathroom is very small, has very little body shampoo and no hair shampoo. Need to leave our shoes downstairs.

Reviewed May 19, 2019
8.8
Excellent
QI from Malaysia
Group
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Location and friendly staff!”

The location is strategic with many eateries surrounding the hotel. There is also ample of parking space for those who are driving. The staff is friendly and helpful. The only downside is the armchair in our room was not that clean because it had stains on it. Nevertheless, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget stay in Penang.

Reviewed April 24, 2019
7.6
Very good
yong from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

SY Yong”

Good location. The premises is clean in overall

Reviewed May 22, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Margareta from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Friendly & Helpful Staff”

I booked deluxe room, ceiling was high and room was clean. Water kettle & refrigerator are provided in the room. Staffs were helpful and responsive. They provide bicyle for their guest. Surrounding with nice restaurants and cafe, near to the chulia night hawker center.

Reviewed April 01, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
CHIAN from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Great stay but just some advice”

We had great stay at Chulia Heritage but will be really great if there are some environmental friendly setting in the hotel for example, a water dispenser so that we don't need to use so many single use plastic bottle, a recycling bin that allow us to recycle paper, plastic and etc. Other than this we enjoyed our stay very much

Reviewed March 24, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Low from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Good location”

It’s just few minute walking distance to lovelane, bar street. Nearby chulia street hv food hawker. Value for money as well, just need some improvement on wifi not really work in room, and when shower water was slow

Reviewed March 12, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Soong from Malaysia
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Excellent”

Location - Great. Surrounding had a lot of things to see, eat. Cleanliness - good. Towel were thick, & didn't have bad smell Facilities - there is a ironing board, hairdryer, cups, hot water dispenser. There is no mirror in rooms, single plugpoint in the room, no mineral bottles. Shared toilet - simple. Clean. But there is a huge opening (ventilation) located at the centre. It made me super insecure as it can't be covered. If someone from outside has intention to spy, they could if I'm showering. Made me super cautious and showering was a rush affair. Creaking floors and bed. The places is old in design. They refurbished it. But the floor has creaking sound. Made me uneasy. They also hang pictures of how the place was before refinishing. It was really creepy looking at the picture. Reminded me of a haunted mansion or prison. Staff - front desk was helpful enough. The housekeeping staff smiled, but I did not liked that he sat at the corridor when waiting / idle. It felt my privacy invaded when I had to use the shared bathroom.

Reviewed May 05, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Mohamad from Malaysia
Group
Family Room - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Nice place”

This is second time im stay here. I like this hotel.

Reviewed May 12, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Fariha
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Recommended ”

Place is quit hard to find bcs there is no signboard near the hotel. Everything is fine from the receptionist to the room evrything is ok. Friendly and staff but lack of ironing facility. Guest from downstair have to go upstair just to use an iron.

Reviewed February 18, 2019
8.4
Excellent
FRANCISCO from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Little details would make a great hotel”

Nice location, outside looks very nice, but inside, needs improvement, laundry is depatched behind the lobby area, which is a bit gross, our room wasn't properly cleaned, bed sheets had stains, and around the hand-wash basin too.

Reviewed January 23, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Eng from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Near to Love Lane and niTce hotel”

This hotel is a refurbished heritage hotel. So interior was so nice and comfortable. The room and reception area was huge. It's a good place to stay. Besides, it's near to Love Lane. So if you want some night life in Penang, I would recommend this hotel as you don't need to worry about transport back to hotel after you drink at Love Lane.

Reviewed January 20, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
armeena from Philippines
Group
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Exceptional”

First things first: they have bicycles for rent to guests, at Myr50 as deposit, but technically, free! Too bad we got to know on our last day. Place was neat and has it's own peaceful feel. Their shared bathrooms are also very nice and well equipped. So yes, definitely would recommend for everyone to check this place out. Walking distance to Central Penang. Cheap and good. We got a really big room for very low price. :)

Reviewed January 15, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Karen from Singapore
Group
Basic Triple Bed with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Cheap Budget stay ”

Location is ideal, it is a relatively well known location and Drivers have no problems locating it. We stayed in private room with shared toilets. The beds are comfortable and clean, no shoes allowed on second level which kept the floor clean. The toilets are relatively clean but small. The toilet and shower is in one small area and it will always be very wet. No problem with heater. Good towels are provided. Only Hot drinking water is provided in the hall area, drinking water have to buy yourself. Sound proof is not excellent but did not bother me. However, the ground on the second floor moves everytime someone walk by, it’s an old hotel and honestly I’m not sure how Long the wooden plank flooring is going to hold up until it gives way (second level)

Reviewed December 23, 2018
8.8
Excellent
JOENN from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Good location”

I stayed here 3 yrs ago with my friends, and i was very satisfied with this place. But when i came back again this time with hubby, i was quite dissappointed. The room looks old with rusty smell. The pillow was smelly. The towel was stained with red color liquid which i asked to change immediately. The rooms are not sound proof. it could be very noisy when other guests/cleaners are talking at the lobby, children running here and there. Howevr, the location was great. chulia night hawker stalls are in walking distance. walk further can reach to kimberley street night hawker stalls. Bars and bistros are just along the street.

Reviewed December 10, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Mr. from Indonesia
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Share Toilet”

Its old building and already recondition. Its good facilities and location. Close to Jeti (ferry + bus station) . Its surrounding by food place traditional, western, all kind food. Live music + bar also spread-out near by. Only one that make this place little-bit not comfortable...... for couple traveler, it is share toilet (no toilet or shower on each rooms) . everything is good, specially for staff that on duty when I am check-in, so helpfully. hope, some day can visit Penang Island again.

Reviewed November 28, 2018
7.2
Very good
Saravana from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Value for money with good location within the heritage area.”

Pro : Friendly staff Excellent location Beutifu

Reviewed May 21, 2019
5.6
Chang from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Noisy noisy and noisy ”

First time staying here, I would like to say the only good thing here is the location. Everywhere is convenient. However it’s really noisy as you can hear someone keep walking upstairs(because made of wood). Perhaps put carpet on the floor upstairs? Also, please put some support to your door so that the door can close softly, I can hear the sound of door smashing whole day when people come in or out, (no wonder can see most of the door crack so much). You can even listen someone talking so loudly from inside the room, the staff talks so loud too. Maybe can paint your door and the top of the door so the room can looks more clean. Good thing, thanks god bed is comfortable, else is a hotel nightmare.

Reviewed May 09, 2019
5.2
NG from Malaysia
Business traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

LOCATION OK”

but never come back again

Reviewed May 13, 2019
6.8
Good
Ten from Singapore
Business traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Good”

Wifi very slow and sometime auto disconnect

Reviewed May 20, 2019
6.4
Good
jonhan from Indonesia
Group
Basic Triple Bed with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Interesting grand heritage building ”

It was the hottest time of Penang when we were there. The hotel too, turned into giant sauna hotpot. Only inside the room you can relax and breath. Pretty much nothing to enjoy in the hotel. Don't expect anything fancy except for the bed and aircon. Also don't be surprise to see scantily clad men walking in and out from the sharing bathrooms. But that's occasionally, only when you get lucky. I prefer to see women washing their underwear at the sink tho. The sharing bathrooms are surprisingly clean, free liquid soap always available. Too bad, no one told us about the free hot water near the 2nd floor staircase. We needed that so much for my Mom's tummy and to make coffee. Thanks for the free bicycles, it helps me a lot to get around George Town.

Reviewed April 15, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Ihtifazuddeen
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Great location, value for money”

We were upgraded to double bed with attached bathroom upon check in. Staffs were attentive, we were allowed to keep our baggages after check out for several hours. Location wise, walking distance to many famous places. We'll come back again next time.

Reviewed March 30, 2019
8.8
Excellent
yoseph
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Perfect place in the heart of historical area”

Best for experiencing nightlife of Georgetown old city. Perfect location with spacious parking area. The building itself is an old mansion but renovated decently. and the best part is the clean bathroom. My suggestion probably fall to the staffs which is not really kind and helpful.

Reviewed March 19, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Yeong from Malaysia
Group
Family Room - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Value for money for group”

First, the check in is awesome. Friendly staff and free upgrade rooms for us. We request early check in via phone call and when we reach there the room is ready. Thumb uo for that. Secondly, the room is big enough for 4 persons. Its very value for money as the room is clean, big, and toilet is pleasent. One thing not good is aircond take long time to cool and the water pressure is small. Thrid, i like the car park there provide. There are special carpark for guest only. But the lot is limited and space kinda small. Overall is fine. Bicycle rental is free too but a deposit have to be made. Bicycle is abit old and lack of Maintaince but its usable. Most importantly, its free. Soundproof is okay. But maybe my room is near to reception,so have some sort of noise. Security is available 24hours with i feel quite secure here. Night have two security points which one located outside the parking enterance another in lobby.

Reviewed March 16, 2019
2.0
Ashley from United Kingdom
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Awful, awful, awful! Do not stay here! Gross! ”

Arrived at 11pm to a room with no electric dirty sheets and had not been cleaned. Were told to go out and the room would be sorted within the hour or we’d be given a new room. When we came back room was the same. A different person behind the desk refused to give us a new room and told us the problem was not his problem by this time it was to late to get a room anywhere else. We spent the night sleeping on our own towels. No shoes allowed upstairs meant your feet gets covered in other peoples hair and dirt. Bathrooms are filthy and covered in bugs. Loud noise from street carries on all night. Walls paper thin and huge gaps under doors leak light in all night. Overall worst hotel I’ve ever been to. Don’t be fooled by the exterior

Reviewed March 05, 2019
4.8
Mark from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Only a good location”

I had so many problems with this hotel from them accusing my friend of scratching a car in their driveway only to check the CCTV cameras after they woke me up to deal with the situation and discovered it wasn’t him, to no towels in the room and them telling me to wait for the delivery truck, to waking me up a second time for room cleaning. Do not disturb signs would be an advantage. It’s a very good location and the staff are generally friendly, also they did upgrade my room to a bigger one after the car incident but ultimately I would not book here again

Reviewed February 27, 2019
6.8
Good
Olina
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Could be cleaner ”

Centrally located. The free use of bicycles was amazing - beware bikes in poor condition. The room was all white but dirty. The sheets were dirty. Having a toilet in the same space as your shower meant everything was wet all the time - if you book the rooms with no bathroom that is.

Reviewed February 23, 2019
8.4
Excellent
JIA from Malaysia
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Clean.”

Clean. We know that many budget places that is not clean and we swear to never come back so this is very important. Other than that, everything is very basic and the room is small. We spend whole day exploring Penang and only require a room to sleep in at night and this place is what it is all about.

Reviewed November 17, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Richard from Malaysia
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Don't understand those bad reviews”

Everything is ready for you to use.Hot water dispenser is outside.There are many bathrooms arranged nicely in a row for guests to use.Aircond is nice .The only point to complain would be: they place the power outlet too high at a place .

Reviewed November 07, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Venice from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

convenience but sound proof not good ”

If you go alone, suggest you can book for double bed with bathroom attached, shared bathroom is not so suitable for single due to too noisy and people will always go in go out with lot of footstep sound, recommended to backpack traveler and who want to save budget for travel, room is nice and clean, air cond is well function. Will come back to stay next time!

Reviewed November 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Michael
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Great location, friendly helpful staff, spotlessly clean”

I wonder if the negative reviews for this hotel aren't from from competition? Way too terse and harsh. I found this hotel to be great on almost all counts. It is in a great location - set back in a quiet spot on a cul-de-sac from the main drag. The place is spotless. The staff was very helpful and friendly - the guy managing the front desk offered to show me where to find a 3-prong electrical adapter when I asked about it (they're at the nearby 7-11 or if they're out, then at a shop across the street) or about laundry (there was a friendly laundry lady just across the street to the right - 6 ringgits per kilo, same day service if you get it in by 11am). And I had a wonderful conversation with the lady managing the car park while I was killing time waiting for my flight. So, my experience was all-in-all great.

Reviewed September 29, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Stephanie from United Kingdom
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Highly Recommend”

Lovely hotel and rooms, although not as pristine as in the pictures, has suffered some wear and tear. We were very happy with our stay and believed it great value for money. Room has everything you need and daily housekeeping offered. Negatives- bedroom window had a gap and cigarette smoke would come through. The hallways echoed so you could hear staff / renovations in the morning. Housekeeping generally good but often had to ask to restock items, also we returned to the room on our second day to find the bedsheets had yellow stains all over them after the housekeeping had been in and the movie channel was on. Dirty cups & saucers often overlooked and hair found around room. We had to take our key card to reception each morning to ‘reset it’ so we could use the electricity etc. First morning it happened whilst showering - slightly annoying! Receptionist wanted to see confirmation of booking again and tried to charge tax despite us already having paid this in advance on check-in - it hadn’t been noted in the system but the issue wasn’t handled effectively as they insisted we had to pay again or wait.

Reviewed September 09, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Cindy from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

nice stay”

everything was close with this hotel. food,bar and mall just by walking distance and it is easy to find. staff friendly especially the indian guy walking around the hotel without his slipper.. he is really good and always smile.

Reviewed September 05, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Seann from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Room - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

A worthy hotel”

The hotel location is nicely situated in the Georgetown heritage site centre. it is convenient for traveler to explore around through walking. MOst of the heritage sites are within walking distance. The hotel facilities is very min. However the cleanliness is consider up to satisfactory ..

Reviewed August 19, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Cynthia from Cambodia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 5 nights in July 2018

Good value for central location”

We selected a deluxe room with private bathroom, which was well priced compared to other accommodation in the area. The room was compact but was clean and had everything we needed - refrigerator, kettle, and aircon. Staff were helpful. We liked the fact that there was no restaurant/breakfast as we enjoyed eating out for all our meals at the many amazing options around Georgetown! Excellent location, would stay again.

Reviewed July 26, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Sukiahwati from Indonesia
Family with young children
Basic Triple Bed with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

location no1.”

hotel mempunyai parkir cukup yang berada masuk kedalam dari jalan raya, ini membuat hotel tidak terlalu berdebu krn jalan Chulia ini yang paling ramai dilalui mobil dan rapid bus segala jurusan. Menakjubkan bangunan bagian atasnya masih menggunakan lantai kayu, pasti sudah cukup tua usia bangunan yang dimodernisasi dengan apik ini. Staf hotel tidak banyak tapi ramah.

Reviewed July 05, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Wen from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Worth with what you PAID- and it's CHEAP”

I understand how a review works for backpacker or traveler, my review will base on my real experience. This hotel is great for location! Carparks available if you are driving but the space is limited, it tests your driving skill. Staffs are good, facilities are ok for me but for my room the heater didn't really work and didn't provide water dispenser. However, the overall is OK! This was my second time staying here! Although it does not have special theme for it, it worth with the PAY.

Reviewed June 20, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Alfred from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

Taste Of The True Heritage”

Pros: 1. Spacious room with bright interior, comfy bed. 2. The shared bathrooms are very clean. 3. Quiet environment. 4. The heritage mansion is well maintained. 5. Friendly receptionist. 6. Limited on-site parking. Cons: 1. Sound proof is always a challenge for an old building like this but it's still fine.

Reviewed June 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Saffa from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

A good hospitality”

With good location in the city of Georgetown, Chulia Heritage Hotel is a worth value of money to stay. With friendly and helpful staff, very clean and neat white place, I will definitely come back again to stay here.

Reviewed June 12, 2018
5.2
Yeap from Malaysia
Group
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Above average”

Door and aircond need some fixing, the door was hard to open and aircond sometimes does not respond to remote control

Reviewed May 19, 2019
6.0
Anna from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Not worth the money”

I booked a room for 2 nights online. First of all this is a very old hotel and the photos doesn't show the reality. Need a really quick maintenance to this building. After check in very late I got a disgusting, smelly of mold room which absolutely wasn't familiar which I booked online. Pillows smell's moldy the bed too. Then I ask for changing the room because I have allergy for mildew, got another bigger room which also been moldy unfortunately. The air-conditioning was so high on the ceiling and pretty hard to set up and handle from the bed. From the bathroom came out some disgusting smell. All in all i'll never go back to this hotel it's absolutely not worth the price!

Reviewed April 27, 2019
7.6
Very good
Paulina from Sweden
Solo traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Nice staff”

The place has a nice staff. The cleanliness of the room could be improved as there were several dark hairs visible on the floor as well as staples. The bed was clean but the sheets had several permanent stains which gave a different impression. Overall you didn’t get a fresh feel of the room as the white tables were really stained. The bathrooms were a bit problematic because they were a combination of roulett and showers so they were always wet.

Reviewed February 20, 2019
8.0
Excellent
nurul from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Room - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Very good”

I booked family room with shared bathroom. But when arrived there I just to know shared bathroom means outside from the room. My family did not like it because we were not comfortable since we have a young children. Luckily, there had another room for family deluxe and decided to change with additional pay. Thanks to all staffs, they are so nice and give good cooperation to us.

Reviewed February 18, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Eunike
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Love love this hotel”

I was staying in a room with a bathroom inside and I just love this old but pretty hotel! Everything is goood they even give a free rent bike with RM 50 deposit/bike. I recommend you guys to stay here!

Reviewed February 09, 2019
8.8
Excellent
NURFATIHAH from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Great location with good facilities”

Pros: onsite parking, bike free to used,many famous food in walking distance (roti canai transfer road, kapitan, sup hameed),helpful staffs Cons:wifi connection inconsistent, found hairs and twisties under the chair, rooms facing parking lot may be affected by cars’ engine noise.

Reviewed February 05, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Mok from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Good value of money!”

Hoefully the management will improve the cleanliness of the room, replace those which very old & stained facilities. Suggest to provide at least 1 floor mat per day as the 2nd night the cleaner removed my mat and I don't have other towel to dry my leg when i am out from toilet.

Reviewed January 21, 2019
2.8
wendy from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Room - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Very dirty!”

location is good, but the value very bad! Room very SMELLY! & Dirty! and aircond got problem! complain with staff, ask to change room, they telling me cannot change, F* Smelly! Going with family, 4pax, in picture the room is with toilet, when check in, all totally difference ! is sharing toilet with others! Very Bad Hotel!

Reviewed January 16, 2019
6.4
Good
Anthony from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Adequate but not sparking!”

I used this hotel as a stopover to get a tourist visa for Thailand. Quite a number of agents on the same street and that process takes 24 hours. The hotel was moderately clean but the overall feeling was that it needed a tighter management hand. My deluxe room had a very musty smell and. I had to open the windows for an hour to get rid of the odour. Mosquitos in room first night. Shower adequate. No food offered but plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Quiet cul de sac location.

Reviewed January 14, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Amyzrya from Malaysia
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Facilities are okay except for the power source ”

There are only one single power source in each room and it doesn't located strategically enough for the guest to charge their phone. We have to take turns charging our power bank & phones. I recommend to bring an extension beforehand. Overall it's all good considering the price we paid.

Reviewed January 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ahmed from Pakistan
Solo traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Fantastic”

The value of money along with other facilities and staffs friendliness was excellent. They even provided me with a map enlisting the most important locations in penang which was really helpful for me.

Reviewed January 05, 2019
4.0
Teong from Malaysia
Business traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Suitable for backpackers only”

1. Limited of parking in front of hotel and space limitation. 2. Need to remove shoe If staying at 1st floor. 3. Commons sharing toilet with limited of space in the toilet for shower. 4. No privatcy in Toilet with low window especially ladies.

Reviewed January 04, 2019
3.2
Lin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Never book this hotel again”

i was taken late night flight to Penang, reach the hotel around 12am, there's no signboard outside the hotel. i was assigned to a room at end of ground floor, beside the room is a common toilet, think is for staff to use. and the door access card was not working, have to go back and change to another card. The room was smelly, like long time didn't clean up, not maintain. The most fed up is the cleaning worker who was clean the toilet beside my room on 7am, was chit chatting so loud with his fellow colleagues and the room can hear crystal clear what they talking about. and whole night i was keep hearing people talking and slam the toilet door.

Reviewed December 31, 2018
7.6
Very good
Yetti from Indonesia
Group
Family Room - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Different Room Different Facilities”

I was quite diassapointed at the first time I booked a room at this hotel because it's far from my expectation in room location, facilities, cleanliness, etc. So I have to moved room and having additional charge. But different room different treatment. Downstair room with private bathroom soo much better. All staff are nice and very helpfull. Location are excellent.

Reviewed December 29, 2018
4.4
Jen from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Room - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

The place is old”

It's quite disappointed upon arrival. The staff at the front desk doesn't even smile at all, the way she speaks totally not friendly at all. She was telling me on the Local fees charges but i misheard locker fee, so I asked to repeat on that, she just kept quiet. The rooms were okay but it have strange smell, and there's only one plug in the whole room. Totally doesn't look any alike on the photos in Agoda. It's old and run down. The shared bathroom are way too dirty. The carpet in front of the bathrooms are so old and the stain on it makes you doesn't want to step on it. Liquid flowing out from the dustbin. It's pretty disgusting.

Reviewed December 26, 2018
7.2
Very good
Aerin from United Kingdom
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Wouldn't stay again.”

Wasn't impressed with this place, Wi-Fi wasn't good, rooms were extremely noisy with next door noise, hall noise and karaoke from local bars. The window wasn't even shut had a gap inbetween so bugs and street noise could get in. Shared toilets were ok, room was semi clean as had stains on bed and bugs in room. One plug in room and was at the door away from the bed. No tea/coffee or water but cups available. Location was good and staff friendly, although wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed December 18, 2018
8.4
Excellent
michael from Singapore
Solo traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Great Stay”

Pros-walking distance to places of interest and eateries.Workers continuously cleaning to upkeep proper hygiene Cons-solo occupant need to remove card and close door whilst using toilets.thereby caused air conditioner to start/stop

Reviewed December 18, 2018
7.2
Very good
Wen from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Simple and easy”

Pros, Available carpark with guards, don’t need to walk much to get to the room, room colour is white so it not gloomy and doesn’t look old, clean room and toilets Cons I have been to this place when they first opened and two years ago... management needs to up keep the furniture in the room .. side table have expanded due to water seepage... white sheets need to be checked and discarded when the colour has become off white... rooms are clean but the chandelier at the hall upstairs is covered with dust

Reviewed December 17, 2018
6.4
Good
Praveen from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Location and Value for Money, nothing more”

Positives: Location and value for money Negatives: Cleanliness (floor was dirty, bathroom was dirty, no pillow cases or clean towels) Had to request pillow cases and clean towels from reception, who was very efficient and fast to provide me what I needed despite the late hour

Reviewed December 05, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Ang from Malaysia
Couple
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Overall is okay”

Pro: - Strategic location - Clean Con: - Limited parking space - Whole Hotel doesn’t not have water dispenser. Not even provide mineral bottle in room too. - The entrance of hotel is small, pass by twice to find it. - Poor soundproof

Reviewed December 04, 2018
7.2
Very good
Jean from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Very good”

Well located and friendly staff. The only down side was that my room was located on the 1st floor, and it was a bit humid in the room. The internet in the room was a bit slow, but wifi is available in the lobby and basically everywhere around the city.

Reviewed December 01, 2018
8.4
Excellent
jenny from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Family
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Overall satisfied ”

The junction is bit narrow and not obvious, we missed to turn in for twice. Staff is friendly. We booked 2 x queen beds. Room is clean and consider spacious. Hair dryer, drinking water, cloth hangers are provided. Cons: the pillows are too thin to sleep. You can hear next door tv sound.

Reviewed November 28, 2018
7.2
Very good
Hansing from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Very good”

Comfortable bed, good quality pillow and soap. Towels are clean. Safe environment, away from the main street and thus ensure a good night sleep. My only complaint is the smell of the bitternut with chalk that instantly associated the presence of the Myanmar workers.They like to chew on that to keep awake and the smell lingers in my room. Cups are not property washed and long hair strands on bed and bathroom. Something to look into.

Reviewed November 26, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Muhammad from Malaysia
Business traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Chulia Street”

I love stay here and coming back again

Reviewed April 12, 2019
8.8
Excellent
HUDA from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Room - Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Everything was great”

Everything is great except for location was hard to find, limited parking spaces provided, and no sejadah available for muslim to solat.

Reviewed April 11, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Muhammad from Malaysia
Business traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Chulia Street”

I really like this place because of the location close to anything, In a clean and comfortable room, the share sign is really clean. Beautiful hotel and will be back again.

Reviewed April 11, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
poo from Malaysia
Group
Basic Triple Bed with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Nice hotel ”

Clean and great location room is exactly like the photos shown

Reviewed April 10, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Nurul from Malaysia
Group
Basic Triple Bed with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

My second time”

My second time was with my family members. They are satisfied with the staffs and the services. We will go here again next vacation

Reviewed April 04, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Pei from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Great Stay”

Great location, clean and comfortable room

Reviewed March 27, 2019
8.0
Excellent
emefai from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Basic Double with share bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Awesome experience ”

Not bad

Reviewed March 23, 2019