Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 71 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 6.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.8
  • Food and dining 6.4
Sort by

Gosta from Sweden
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
Friendly hotel in ideal location
Location, friendly staff, cleanliness
We enjoyed our stay (I was there with a friend, each in his single room). It was good value for money. The rooms were not large, but adequate. The hotel is on a quiet pedestrian street, in a central location, close to public transport. There is unfortunately no lift, so you have to walk up at least two floors, which did not bother us, but may be a problem for some guests. The staff in the reception is very helpful and nice.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Thorsten from Germany
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Nice city hotel in a perfect loaction
Centrally located, attentive staff, close to all major attractions
The Pilvax is located directly in the heart of Budapest and is very close to everything. The next subway station is less than 5 minutes away and everything, especially all the major atractions, are within easy walking distance. The staff was very friendly, attentive and professional. The room was a bit dark due to the window being a rearside window. Size and cleanliness of the room were absolutely okay. Overall good value for money.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Joseph from United Kingdom
Couple
Double
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013
A stimulating stay in a fascinating city
Proximity to the opera house and concerts, good food and pedestrianised city area.
Thoroughly enjoyable, late spring visit in a comfortable and friendly hotel near to all the attractions the city has to offer.
Reviewed June 01, 2013

bernard from United Kingdom
Couple
Double
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
very good location
location
Average type city hotel. No elevator, not suitable for heavy luggage. Room satisfactory. Breakfast not included but places nearby. Head towards river. Cheaper and better than hotel. What was a problem was the irish bar next door and just under the hotel. There were tables and chairs outside but after 11.00pm they moved inside but you could still hear the bumping of the music. We know it is a city hotel so you don't expect it to be peaceful and quiet. Manager told us next time to ask for a room on the back. Don't let this put you off staying here.
Reviewed March 09, 2013

Sergi from Spain
Group
Single
Stayed one night in October 2012
Enjoy it!
Location, quiet pedestrian street, nice staff, good breakfast
Before I review this good hotel, I want to warn who reads this against a restaurant where we were ripped off. The restaurant's name is Buborék Bisztro and its address is Dorottya utca 8 (this is very near to that known square called Vörösmarty Tér). If you ever eat there, beware of prices of wine because they charged us 3500HUF = 16US$ for just a glass of wine (it was our fault not to ask beforehand how much this would cost -we just assumed that it would cost what a glass of wine normally costs all over Western Europe-, so they took advantage of our "innocence" to ripp us off). Now, with reference to the City Hotel Pilvax, we were very satisfied with the location (it's in the heart of Pest, very close to Ferenciek Tere metro station which line is perfect to get to the airport), with the staff (very nice people), with the room and with the breakfast. The room was not so big but its size was enough for the two of us (picture attached). It was very clean, it had 2 comfortable beds, good heating, a not so big but very clean bathroom (picture attached), a convenient wardrobe, a couple of chairs, a desk, a normal TV set (not flat screen) and a small refrigerator. The sleeping quality was also good. We didn't hear any noise at all from other rooms and neither from the pedestrian street where the hotel is located even when our room was on the first floor (there is no elevator). In regards to the breakfast, we loved the breakfast room (see attached picture) and also the breakfast which offered much more than a usual continental breakfast. There was scrambled egg, small hot sausages, 4 types of bread, pieces of tomates and other vegetable, 2 types of cheese, several types of cold meat and cold sausages, butter, 2 types of jam, yogurts, bananas, apples, oranges, cereals, cold milk, hot milk, tea, coffe and fruit juices. Finally, let me mention as well that in the hotel lobby they have a computer for guests (and there is also wifi).
Reviewed November 13, 2012

John from Ireland
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Best Value in Budapest?
Location, ( and price )
This place has to be the best in Budapest. It is so central to everything. Within a short walk you can reach all the points of intrest, the Jewish quarter, the central market, the river, the trams, it's just fantasti. The staff are so helpfull. If anyone has anything bad to say about this place they should stay somewhere costing three times the price. It is not the Hilton, but for service and location it has to be rated highly.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Deena from Australia
Family with older children
Double
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Lovely hotel, very close to metro
Close to Frenciek tere station on the blue metro line!
My mother and I had a lovely stay here. The receptionist was super cute and friendly, the hotel was very close to the river and metro station. The rooms were clean and had air-conditioning (we were here in the sticky summer). The sheets were so soft. We had a lovely stay here!
Reviewed July 02, 2012

Ynske from Netherlands
Group
Double
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Great hotel and perfect location
Location (Center of Budapest)
the hotel is located in the center of budapest. the main attractions are nearby (we walked most of the days. only for the visit of margit island we used the public transportation). the staff was very friendly. our room was situated on the first floor so we did not miss the elevator. the breakfast could be better (hardly any fruit). the rooms were clean and comfortable. if i would visit budapest again i surely would book this hotel again.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Emanuel from Romania
Couple
Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
excellent choice
location, quietness, comfortable
very well located, quiet and clean rooms, very cheap, comfortable beds. close enough for walking to any important turistic place in budapest. friendly staff. I didn't take breakfast but nearby are a lot of places where you can get it. best choice for a 3 star hotel
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Amante from Portugal
Group
Double
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
convenient
good location
this hotel is located in city center, it is a budget hotel and convenient, room is big enough but a bit old decoration. the staff is friendly and helpfull but the wifi is not always steady and just can use in lobby only. there is alot of restaurant arround the hotel. if u don't expect a lot, just go for cheap price. there's nothing special.
Reviewed November 10, 2011


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: