Book Now: City Inn Mackenzie

Very good
From 1180 reviewsSee what guests said
7.2

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1180)Booking.com Reviews (338)
7.2
Very good
From 1180 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.2
Facilities6.5
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality7.0
Service7.4
Value for money7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Bahasa Indonesia
ภาษาไทย
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Standard Single Room without Windows
Standard Double without Window
Superior Twin
Superior Double
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1027 verified guest comments
4.8
Thong from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Cheap but Dirty.”
Cheap and not bad location. Hotel is run-down. Unfortunately got bitten by bedbugs.. Hand swell for days.
Reviewed November 13, 2017
5.2
Jali from Finland
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room without Windows
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
OK but nothing special”
Hotel could need a little bit renovation but not a bad choise if you intend just to sleep there for couple nights and don't wanna spend too much money... Location was allright, around 8min walk to little india MRT. Reception was on a 5th floor so I didn't really see the staff other than checking in and out!
Reviewed November 12, 2017
6.0
Soe from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room without Windows
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Not quite the same.”
Second time back and since the first time I was there, this place has changed management (AGAIN). Everything looks the same, but the vibe is not quite the same. I actually got a windowless single room (got upgraded for free last time) this time and it's more floor space than other similar rooms that I've been in in Singapore. There's also a inroom safe and mini fridge (which I don't recommend using if you're not going to be in the room and you have perishables). TV reception wasn't so great. The shower curtain was a little moldy. There's some ants here and there, which I'm guessing came from previous guests who didn't clean up after themselves after helping themselves to the in-room hot drink making facilities. Didn't sleep too great because there was this weird noise I can't place/find that kept happening during the night, which is annoying for a light sleeper to deal with. And then the mattress felt lopsided. Would I recommend? Maybe.
Reviewed November 05, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
CHin from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
clean and cheap and good”
good location clean and staff was nice and location is perfect
Reviewed November 04, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Anna from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Two thumbs up”
Walking distance to Little India, Sim Lim and Rochor MRT.
Reviewed November 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Pandega from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Nice Stay”
As I'm a business traveler during my last stay, I'm not too concern on the facility. However, the essentials were nice and satisfactory. I do have 1 complaint that there's a leak from the room above me. Even though the leak was on the bathroom, it still annoyed me to have those leak. Overall this place was great, very close to Little India MRT entry, there's easy access to local restaurant and 711.
Reviewed October 30, 2017
7.6
Very good
Koh from Singapore
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Worth the money.”
I think house keeping can do a better job. Overall still acceptable, but i think they have to put in more effort in cleaning up the rooms.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
6.8
Good
Kieran from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017
Good location, cheap hotel.. ”
I was in SG for the F1 and needed a cheap option as all hotels jack up the price. I opted for the City Inn. Its location is the best thing it has going for it. It is basically opposite the Little India MRT. The room size was small and the bed was 2 singles pushed together, which quite enjoyed sliding apart on me. I did wake up with quite a few bite marks on my legs which I cant say for sure was the linen.. but strongly suspect. The hotel is kept very clean, There was a fridge and TV. It provided enough for a budget. Would I go back there? No. It did the job for a few day stay
Reviewed October 02, 2017
6.4
Good
MARY from Singapore
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Good”
It would be good if the management of the hotel could install a 'Bigger Hotel Name Sign Board'. It would also be good if there were more English Channels Programmes.
Reviewed September 29, 2017
7.2
Very good
Chin from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Good stay ”
Stay here for a few times. Value for money! Closed to downtown line mrt station. Opposit to little India n tekka food center.
Reviewed September 29, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
John from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Great stay.”
Everything was great. Except for the t.v i wish they have cable channel.
Reviewed September 29, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Hayley from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Everything You Needed for A budget stay”
The room is big consider the average budget hotel is about 12 meter squared only. It is conveniently located near Little India MRT, which takes about 5mins walk to MRT Exit Gate A. There's restaurant just below the hotel which is suitable for a quick breakfast. The hotel is clean too but there's no toothbrush and hairdryer is upon request. Staffs are excellent and friendly. They provide extra pillow if you ask. Rooms are clean in general but the toilet's curtain is abit old. I visit Singapore frequently and this is my favourite budget hotel for now.
Reviewed September 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Lim from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Single Room without Windows
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Good stay!”
The location was walking distance of Little India station, with eateries and Tekka barker centre just nearby. The room was small but yet very cosy. It was clean as well, with daily clean up room service. Staff at reception was friendly and helpful. Overall my stay at City Inn was nice and pleasant. Will definitely return to stay again!
Reviewed September 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Teck from Singapore
Couple
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
cosy and quiet”
tucked away at a quiet street, hotel is very cosy and comfortable. very accessible to town and theres a nice coffee shop just downstairs, very recommendable
Reviewed September 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Supriya from India
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room without Windows
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Very good”
Clean, quite and close to the MRT. Serves the purpose of having a base to roam around.
Reviewed September 18, 2017
2.8
Ajab from Pakistan
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Expansive for nothing and not cooperated at all we arrived a bit earlier and they charge us for .”
Room.was very small and we paid money like 5 stars hotel prices pictures of the room is not the same with hotel
Reviewed September 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
MIdori from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Single
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Excellent”
Great location.
Reviewed September 08, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ahmad from Singapore
Couple
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Value for money”
It was a very comfortable and relaxing stay. And definitely worth every penny to me comparative to other budget hotels. The concept of the rooms are very nice too.?
Reviewed September 06, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Jlynn from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 7 nights in August 2017
Excellent ”
Stayed there for 7 days. Good location and friendly staff
Reviewed September 04, 2017
6.4
Good
Azizah from Singapore
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Good”
Its spacious budget hotel compare to Hotel 81. But with no toothbrush and toothpaste..its a setback
Reviewed August 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Heather from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room without Windows
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Good option”
This is a nice place despite no windows! The single room is exactly like students accommodation, with everything that's needed, fridge, kettle bottled water, tea and coffee plus a fridge. The hairdryer can be requested from reception as I am sure can an iron be. I didn't need one. The water heater switch needs to be switched on to ensure you have earm/hot showers. The AC is good. Limited channels on the tv but wifi is excellent. Very close to Little India where all manner of foods and meals and other shopping can be obtained. Little India MRS is literary 2 minuts walk to/from the hotel. Well recommended. One tip: Sing a pore s
Reviewed August 09, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Duong from Vietnam
Group
Superior Triple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
3 days Holiday in Singapore”
Really enjoy the stay, the only problem was my room locate right next to the lift and stair so it's a bit of noise , staff was good, quite area and very close to the MRT station.
Reviewed August 08, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Taylor from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 6 nights in July 2017
Small, but Sufficient and good location near Bugis”
If your looking for a good value and dont mind a small room this is the place. Only some short term issues with thew wifi and elevator.
Reviewed August 06, 2017
5.6
Ann from Australia
Group
Superior Triple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
3 women - family”
arrived to be told no booking- produced paperwork to the fact we were booked in. hotel had changed names couldn't find to start with late at night waited over half hour to be checked in. asked for a second pillow was told we would have to wait till next day after other guests had checked out. key card stopped working on a daily basis room extra small asked for 3 single beds got that all pushed together to make large king bed no room to walk around bed one person had to climb over others to get out.
Reviewed July 23, 2017
5.6
tjio from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in July 2016
good hotel for budget”
The rooms are quite big, the toilets are quite good with a great view of the cinema outside. Close to the indian area so lots of food and indian people around. Close to MRT Little India 7 mins drive from hotel then across major roads. Which I did not like was when I would check out none of the staff on duty at the receptionist got me confused and I ended up staying the room key with a letter in the envelope.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
4.0
Heng from Marshall Islands
Business traveler
Standard Single Room without Windows
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Toilet ”
Shower head is damaged, cleaning of the toilet
Reviewed July 14, 2017
5.6
Dorothy from Philippines
Group
Superior Triple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Good location”
The hotel is in front of the train station. The lift was broken so we had to take the stairs from the 4th floor. Staff were courteous. The facilities were unsatisfactory but who needs it if you are only sleeping in and using the shower.
Reviewed June 22, 2017
7.6
Very good
Catherine from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Triple
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Great Location”
City Inn is in a very good location. Very near exit A of Little India station and also very near on lots of hawker food and restaurants. The staff are really good, the room is clean and there's a free drink all you can coffee and tea maker.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
suman from India
Family with young children
Superior Triple
Stayed 7 nights in September 2016
Best Budget hotel around Little India”
Rooms are neat and clean, Staffs are polite and helpful. If you want silence and peace of mind choose this hotel there is a good/cheap restaurant at ground floor. This hotel is located very near 2 mins walk to Little India Station by walk. Only con I see is the rooms are small, this is applicable for most of the budget hotels in Singapore.
Reviewed June 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Erwin from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior Triple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Very good”
Comfly room, ,complete amenities ,have a small balcony , unique lobby , and reception desk, value for money.Definitely would be back
Reviewed June 15, 2017
5.2
Peter from Australia
Couple
Superior Triple
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Not a 3 star hotel”
Location was great, heaps of cheap food around. The room was small, still had old food and drink in the fridge, tv didnt work and the shower head broken. No toothbrush. Very basic.
Reviewed June 13, 2017
6.0
the from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior Triple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
near little india MRT”
Small room near Tekka centre and little india
Reviewed May 16, 2017
6.0
the from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior Triple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Small, near Tekka Centre n MRT station”
Clean small room neat Tekka Centra and Little India MRT
Reviewed May 16, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Abhishek from India
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Pleasant stay for 2 nights but without the wifi.”
Our stay was good enough, the room was very cozy, although my wife said the bed was not very comfy but i didnt felt it. Its near to Little India MRT, just take Exit A. The location is fantastic for us as we were conveying with MRT most of the time, infact on last day I called an Grab Taxi, which was convenient too. The location is near to plenty of eateries, and just across the road there is an Indian/Nepalese restaurant name Seeshmahal which was the cherry on the top. The only problem was the wifi, during our 2 nights of stay the wifi never worked and when complained they said they will fix it, but it was never fixed, since we both had singapore sim card so did not had any trouble connecting but wifi would have been better as the money I paid was including wifi. Otherwise there are plenty of low priced hotels offering wifi atleast as complimentary. For sure I will consider it again to stay, if I dont get any other economic stay. Overall my stay was pleasant, as the ratings I have given, which is self explanatory.
Reviewed May 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
ma. from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017
Very near the little india station of mrt”
Very near the little india station of mrt. Free unlimited supply of different types of coffee (coffe vendo) and biscuits =) friendly and helpful staff.
Reviewed May 08, 2017
6.4
Good
Noppadol from Thailand
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Good”
Good hotel with reasonable price.
Reviewed May 04, 2017
6.0
Deny from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior Triple
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Best Location”
Near MRT Station
Reviewed April 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
John from Australia
Group
Standard Single Room without Windows
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
Budget priced hotel offering great value for money!”
A decent budget hotel in Singapore that offers fantastic value for money is hard to find so this place was a good discovery. Little India MRT station is a short walk away by taking a shortcut through a parking lot. An Indian cinema, lots of restaurants and fruit stores, and a mall is also nearby. The hotel is also walking distance to Little India, the electronics market at Sim Lim Square and Bugis St Market. The hotel itself has an interesting Hollywood theme with rooms that were compact but basically had all the basic equipment and amenities covered. Would certainly stay here again if travelling to Singapore on a budget.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
6.8
Good
atria from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Neat little india mrt”
Walking distance to little India mrt and hawker stall
Reviewed April 08, 2017
6.4
Good
Bonieta from Indonesia
Business traveler
Standard Single Room without Windows
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Good”
Need to clean the air con filters. Stayed in 2 different rooms and with the same condition.
Reviewed April 07, 2017
8.4
Excellent
xue from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Recommend ”
Recommend to all this cute hotel lobby.near to mrt station.there have all day refreshment for free. Only bathroom too small and no toothbrush.mineral water inside the room not the new bottle mineral water.
Reviewed April 07, 2017
6.8
Good
Dee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Not Strategic Location ”
Location is not so great, hardly get breakfast in the morning and limited choice for dinner too. Same as other reviews, the shower room has no shower curtain and quilt cover is torn out.
Reviewed April 04, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Ivan from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Excellent location! ”
The location is really a stone throw away from the MRT Little India. Great value for Money. Unfortunately it could use a little maintenance as the bed sheet was torn, and the shower head was leaking during the time of my stay. However service from the staff was really good.
Reviewed April 04, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Soe from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room without Windows
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
For the flashpackers”
I like that it's located a short walk across a parking lot from Little India station. If you're looking for a place to crash that's under S$100 a night, I would recommend here. Room was basic, clean and ensuite bathroom always a plus.
Reviewed April 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Madeleine from Philippines
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Disappointed my relative lost loss her peso money”
Be sure to secure your valuables well,so that you will not experience what happened to us.
Reviewed April 01, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Caryl from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
worth the price”
very near to MRt
Reviewed March 30, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Puguh from Indonesia
Couple
Superior Triple
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Recommended”
Like the area, nearest the MRT and also to Mustafa Shopping Mall
Reviewed March 29, 2017
7.6
Very good
Sara from Australia
Couple
Standard Double without Window
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
for Singapore this is reasonably priced and bathroom is good”
as above this is also in a great location not too far from Rochor tube, no complaints
Reviewed March 23, 2017
7.2
Very good
LAKSANA from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Cozy budget hotel”
Rooms are quite small, but it worth the price. Unique entrance and lobby theme. I stayed here for almost a month, the staffs were very nice and helpful
Reviewed March 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Dalin from Cambodia
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Staff are friendly and helpful”
Staff are friendly & helpful. value for money.
Reviewed March 09, 2017