Book Now: City Lodge Hotel Grandwest Cape Town

Excellent
From 200 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Recommended by 94% of guests

Reviews of City Lodge Hotel Grandwest Cape Town Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (200)
8.7
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities8.5
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.8
Value for money8.3
All languages
All guests (200)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 95 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Dimtcho from South Africa
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Very nice, tastefully decorated, modern and clean hotel. ”

The only bad thing is the thin walls. If you happened to have a noisy late night neighbor, who loves to talk loud or listen to TV, you might not get good night sleep.

Reviewed May 18, 2019
7.6
Very good
Fiona
Group
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Staff were not very understanding.”

When booking on Agoda we specified that we would like a non-smoking room with twin beds. On arrival we were told that there were no rooms with these specifications available and that we were booked in a smoking room with a double bed. After showing the staff that we had specified, they told us that the hotel is only notified on the day of the booking. This makes no sense as hotels do fill up in advance. We were then told that we could come back the next day to see if there were any cancellations. Later that day I was contacted by the hotel and was told that they had a cancellation. We then rushed back to the hotel and I was extremely grateful to the hotel for solving the problem. After being told that our new room was up one flight of stairs with heavy bags we jokingly said “Are you kidding me?” To which the staff member at reception replied, “Well you wanted the room.” I thought this comment was cold and unnecessary, seeing as this was the room we had asked for on the first place.

Reviewed April 28, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Jatin from India
Business traveler
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

Stay. Location. Entertainment. FUlLL PACKAGE.”

I stay here quiet regularly as my workplace is a short drive from here. But my reason for staying here is the FULL PACKAGE - hotel room, food, entertainment - THEY GOT EVERYTHING. Room size ia good and the bed is comfort is excellent. The bathroom is also a good size. Never had breakfast here, but it seemed good. There is ample of parking in the complex. This hotel is located in the same complex as grand west casino which has restaurants, bars, cinema and ofcourse casino. So one can nevee get bored here. The hotel has a pool was seemed unfunction due to water shortage in cape town. I will surely come and stay here again.

Reviewed February 13, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Thuersam from Switzerland
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Nice place to stay for a couple of days. ”

Nice hotel, very clean and friendly staff. City Lodge group hotels show an increadible consistency in value for money, cleanliness and service. Have been staying in multiple places of the group over the past 15 years - and always very satisfied.

Reviewed December 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ivan from South Africa
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Exceptional”

As always, City Lodge provides the best value for service and an a very amenable and wonderful staff. However, for future bookings, include breakfast, maybe cheaper with the booking. Safety is of no concern.

Reviewed November 27, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Judy from South Africa
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Figureskating competition”

Perfect location for easy access to the ice rink for my daughter who was competing. The staff are friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Overall, another good stay for both of us.

Reviewed April 08, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Robert from South Africa
Business traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Very good”

Ideal location, but the rooms needs a revamp

Reviewed April 05, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Vimal from South Africa
Couple
Double 1
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Efficient hotel and well located”

Hotel is quick to access from the airport. and provides a good stay

Reviewed March 24, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
KRISTHINE from Philippines
Couple
Non-Smoking Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in October 2016

Awesome stay”

We were able to stay here for a week! Its a good and very homey hotel. Its The location is very good considering that our conference venue is a 5 min walk from City lodge. The room are not that big yet its very comfy. The sheets , towels are always fresh.

Reviewed October 20, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Duncan from South Africa
Couple
Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

Exceptional”

I wish for newly wedds they could prepare a minor romantic bed for the couple

Reviewed May 07, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Candice from Australia
Group
Double 1
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Amazingly Friendly Staff, Very Clean Amenities”

Thank you so much to the amazing staff at CityLodge - you were all so kind and helpful, and you made our stay so comfortable and easy! I will definitely be returning to stay here :-D

Reviewed April 30, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
CARLA
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Exceptional”

attention to detail excellent. all staff very friendly. seemed that they really wanted to make it a positive experience.

Reviewed April 27, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Francois from South Africa
Couple
Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

ALWAYS A PLEASURE”

Comfortable to sleep over at Grandwest City Lodge if attending a show. The assortment of dishes at breakfast buffet was less than with previous visits and therefore a disappointment. Other than that the staff was very friendly as only Cape Townians can be!

Reviewed August 09, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Barry from Australia
Business traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Excellent value ”

Great staff

Reviewed February 13, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Karen from South Africa
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Hospitality at it's best”

We only stayed overnight but it was a lovely stay and we had no complaints. Thank you for very good service from reception.

Reviewed December 24, 2018
7.2
Very good
Ig from South Africa
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

A bit expensive”

Hotels in SA gets too expensive to stay more than 2 or 3 days, it is a pity as this was a nice hotel close to all places i wanted to go. So sorry City Lodge this was my last visit and the reason is you are too expensive.

Reviewed January 28, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Cornelia
Family with young children
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

the staff are friendly and will assist you with anything; I love the location of the city lodge

Reviewed April 20, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Penelope from South Africa
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Excellent”

At the casino, and easy to uber to the city. Plenty entertainment in the casino complex.

Reviewed March 17, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Mark
Business traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

Great hotel”

Great hotel breakfast was super

Reviewed March 10, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Noleen from South Africa
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Excellent”

STAFF VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. HOTEL IS CLEAN WITH GOOD FACILITIES. THANKS FOR THE STAY !

Reviewed February 25, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Anand from South Africa
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Excellent”

Attended a show at Grand West and the City Lodge proved to be a convenient and good value for money option for a relaxed overnight stay. Friendly staff, nice size room, and comfortable and clean facilities. We will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed May 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Beverley from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Non-Smoking Double Room
Stayed 11 nights in March 2018

Very satisfied customer.”

I would certainly recommend City Lodge as it is very well located as I come to Cape Town to visit my mother who is now only 93 years old and lives in Thornton. This was my third stay at this hotel. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Nothing is to small to assist their guests with. A wonderful place to stay even if you are coming on a holiday as it is very central. Excellent!

Reviewed March 18, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Sebron from United States
Solo traveler
Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

A friendly group of hotel pros ”

As a discerning traveler, I found the team at the City Lodge Hotel Grandwest Cape Town to be very accommodating hospitality professionals. There were many high points about the visit, but really struck me had to do with the hotel staff, facilities and cleanliness of the various spaces. At the reception, led by Bernice, Nathanial and Charne, there wasn't a request that went unattained. For the business traveler or holiday maker, this all star staff will enrich your time at the Cape, by ensuring every detail, want or need, is addressed to the fullest possible extent. The Housekeeping and Maintenance Team make this hotel shine. The rooms are ultra clean, with freshly pressed sheets, and fluffy towels. Fresh fully clean, the air seemed to be infused with rose petals and delightful candies. Service par excellence is at the top of the agenda of every staff member. How can we help you ?is a constant phase used when interacting with well trained team. I highly recommend,.

Reviewed March 17, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Paula from South Africa
Family with teens
Double 1
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Love this place”

This was my second stay at the hotel, this time with my family. We had come to watch a show and the location of City Lodge is absolutely brilliant. The hotel kindly arranged 2 rooms that were adjoined, which was great for our 2 teen sons. Wonderful breakfast. The only down side - the bar closed at 10.45 pm as many of us were coming in from the show and wanting a drink. Wasted opportunity and would have made for a lovely end to a great night

Reviewed January 24, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Paula from South Africa
Family with teens
Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Lovely stay”

We came to see a show at Grand West and it was just so lovely not to have to drive home late at night but rather chill and stay over with our boys. The hotel gave us 2 rooms with a connecting door which was useful. Our boys are young teens so it was nice to have this option. Loved the cleanliness and the serious attention to detail over our drought crisis. We think you should actually remove completely the option to get a bath plug from Reception, or to have their sheets washed everyday. Why would anyone do that right now?! Our only disappointment was only being able to have one quick drink at the bar when we came through at 10.45 as the guys were closing up. It would be good to keep the bar open till midnight. You missed out there on quite a bit of revenue from people returning from the concert. Breakfast was really awesome!

Reviewed January 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Edmond from Australia
Business traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Very good”

I think Staff was pretty amazing . The only thing I didn’t like as a non smoker is the smell of smoke that greets you in the sun foyer and every time I opened my hotel door it was like someone was smoking right at my door That did it for me

Reviewed December 19, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Vanessa from South Africa
Couple
Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Exceptional”

awesome hotel, when checking out, there was coffee and muffins to go with, the reception staff are very nice and helpful. The only down fall was when we got back at around 23.00, the bar was closed, we had to buy water from a vending machine which wasnt accepting notes so....... they should have a place were you can buy water if need be

Reviewed November 09, 2017
6.0
Kristy from Australia
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Airport Transfer NOT included”

This property advertises itself as an airport hotel, yet the transfer is not included in the price. In fact my ordered pick up was not in fact arranged. After then waiting an hour and a half for my ride to eventually arrive I was told I had to pay from it. I could have just got a taxi myself. Especially annoying when you are arriving at 10pm and need to be back at the airport early morning. Such a shame as the room was lovely.

Reviewed May 26, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Emily from South Africa
Family with young children
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Exceptional”

We attended a conference at Grand West and slept over at City Lodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had two small children with us and the staff were helpful and kind. The facility were clean and comfortable. An overall pleasant experience. Thank you

Reviewed April 28, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Gillian from South Africa
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Beautiful view”

We booked a night at this hotel as we were attending a show in the Arena & didn't want to drive home late at night. We had a ground floor non-smoking room which was clean & very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant before the show & although the hot meals are pre-prepared & therefore reheated they were beautifully presented & very tasty. Breakfast is a help-yourself buffet except for the hot food & we did have to queue for a while there but only because it was a busy time, had we arrived a little later there was no queue. The choice & quality of food on offer was excellent. Altogether a lovely stay with the best view from the restaurant!

Reviewed April 14, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Arlene from Canada
Solo traveler
Non-Smoking Double Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

Wonderful location!”

Close proximity to a Casino with a difference, 7km from airport, fantastic staff

Really enjoyed my stay at City Lodge Hotel Grandwest. Staff were amazing. Best part was the close proximity to a casino with a difference, focus being more about food and ice skating. Had the ambiance of New Orleans French Quarter without the music. The artificial skies in the Casino complex were amazing. The Cape Town Fish Market the best restaurant I've been to in Cape Town. Hotel itself has one of the best beds I've slept in. All amenities and toiletries provided with a smile.

Reviewed March 25, 2015
8.7
Excellent
John from United States
Solo traveler
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009

Savage DEC 24-26”

Next to Grand West Entertainment Complex. Breakfast was good. Computer with printer available at no cost.
Wanted ZAR100 to arrange a taxi. Breakfast hostess did not know that breakfast was included in room rate.

The hotel is clean, rooms are adequate, there were some nice flowers out of the window. The breakfast area is nice and well laid out, including a sun room. The food was good and menu was complete. Wireless internet was available for a fee, but they had free access to a computer with printer attached for printing boarding passes. Overall value is good, particularly given the price of the Grand Hotel next door. The only real complaint was that I had to walk to the Grand Hotel to hail a taxi to avoid paying a ZAR100 extra fee.

Reviewed December 30, 2009
9.2
Exceptional
Surita from South Africa
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Enjoyed my stay. Reception staff (black female) could improve on her friendliness. ”

Overall good experience .

Reviewed February 16, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Peter from South Africa
Solo traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Heavy cigarette smell”

There was a heavy stench of cigarettes in my room and in the corridor, despite there being no smoking signs in all the rooms, it was difficult to sleep in the smog.

Reviewed January 07, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ben from South Africa
Family with young children
Non-Smoking Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

Family Holiday”

I need to know how can I check my Agoda cash

Reviewed January 03, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Mohammed from South Africa
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Free wifi. Close to gandwest casino and Food court not forgetting the ice ring. ”

Water restriction in the western cape and the steps that we have to take when we have restrictions.

Reviewed January 03, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Steve from South Africa
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Good location ”

Very friendly staff and a good location

Reviewed December 31, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Loganayagie from South Africa
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018

very basic. very clean n friendly staff. ideal for "on the go" visitirs. ”

Unfortunately no mini fridge

Reviewed November 27, 2018
4.8
John from South Africa
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018

City Lodge Grand West Cape Town”

City lodge Bar and restaurant is not in gr8 shape, Room was fine but no fridge in the room.

Reviewed November 19, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Marlett from South Africa
Business traveler
Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

GOOD LOCATION”

Quiet environment with lots of parking. The only negative is that there are no lift and i had to carry a lot of stuff to the 2nd floor. The on-the-go muffin and coffee was great!!

Reviewed December 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Sipho from South Africa
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Very good”

It was my first time stay. It was cheapest at this time, with most Cape Town places fully booked or too expensive. City Lodge was a gamble and I was pleased. Sipho

Reviewed November 13, 2017
7.2
Very good
Selwyn from Australia
Family with teens
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Williams from Perth”

Run-down facilities: We requested a non-smoking room, but was disappointed by the smoke-filled room. Could not recharged mobile phones as electricity plugs were not working.

Reviewed January 05, 2019
6.0
Patricia from South Africa
Couple
Non-Smoking Double Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Too Noisy”

Kids running up and down passages and slamming doors after 10pm at night. Will not recommend.

Reviewed January 03, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Marion from South Africa
Group
Double Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Perfect stopover for casino visit”

Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet outstanding! Highly recommended if you just look for a place to stay after gambling...

Reviewed November 22, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Shireen from South Africa
Group
Double 1
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

Exceptional”

Situated in a beautiful area, near all amenities. Service was excellent and the food was very good.

Reviewed November 21, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Nicole
Couple
Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Excellent”

Clean and very friendly staff. Walking distance to Grand West Casino.

Reviewed October 29, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Christine from South Africa
Business traveler
Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Great accommodation and very helpful staff”

Accommodating staff serving drinks at the bar, very nice restaurant staff and front desk- the room was very well done, huge bathroom and facilities

Reviewed September 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Alewyn from South Africa
Business traveler
Twin Smoking
Stayed 6 nights in September 2018

Exceptional”

My guest had a medical condition and Jaco arranged for the paramedics immediately. Thank you Jaco. You are a big asset to the Citi Lodge.

Reviewed September 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Christine from South Africa
Solo traveler
Double 1
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Lovely hotel. Loved the decor i was surprised it is a 3 star hotel i thought it was more like a 5 s ”

Very comfortable and clean lovely decor

Reviewed August 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Christel from South Africa
Couple
Double 1
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Great hotel”

Stayed here quite a few times, with our kids also. Always friendly and neat. Feels at home everytime we booked in. Good value for money.

Reviewed July 20, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Annetjie from South Africa
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Exceptional”

Ideal accommodation for shows at Grand West and close to Cape town.

Reviewed June 05, 2018
4.8
Liesle from South Africa
Group
Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Disappointed in Service staff”

Our experience was disappointing as this was a bridal shower one night breakaway and the staff service was a bit to consider. I've slept at various hotels and most of the time I stay at Protea Hotels. This was my first experience at a City Lodge and probably my last. They do not have room service, which was not mentioned upfront, when calling the reception for the restaurant, we get told they are separate from the restaurant and we must walk to them and collect the food ourselves? Very disappointing to say the least, even for the drinks at the bar, needless to say I had a moon boot on because of a broken ankle. We had to wait more than half an hour for a iron the next morning when calling for one, when calling back, their response, they just assumed we received it. It was the most appalling experience in my life for someone who regularly visits hotels, not to mention, the bride to be, we had to apologize all the time, as e just wanted to spend some time in the room, big mistake.

Reviewed February 12, 2018
7.0
Very good
Rob from Netherlands
Business traveler
Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

smelly room”

Good location. comfy room, enough fittness equipment

IT must have been an inexperienced girl that helped me with the check in and an unfriendly attitude; when except making a copy of my passport all the rest seemed to be a problem. I do like this hotel and stay here usually when in Capetown; only this time my room smelled like someone had been heavily smoking in it... quite unpleasant.

Reviewed August 24, 2015
6.8
Good
Rajiv from South Africa
Business traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Was good”

Casino available

Reviewed February 04, 2017
6.8
Good
Diana from South Africa
Business traveler
Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Diana”

Very central and comfortable, with friendly staff

Reviewed August 23, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Annamarie from South Africa
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Very nice”

Always stay here when we attend concerts. Great venue. Nice hotel. Clean with friendly staff.

Reviewed May 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
MARLIT from South Africa
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Exceptional”

The Staff were so helpfull, breakfast was amazing, and the hotel so lovely and clean. I attended the Colour Conference, and will book here again. good value for money.

Reviewed April 16, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Barry from South Africa
Couple
Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Excellent”

too expensive for a 3 star hotel with breakfast excluded.

Reviewed April 11, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Andre from South Africa
Couple
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Exceptional”

Should have pensioners discount like other city lodgers

Reviewed April 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Leona from South Africa
Couple
Non-Smoking Double Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Good value for money”

Very friendly and helpful reception, cleanliness and excellent lodge to stay....

Reviewed March 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Alan from South Africa
Couple
Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Exceptional”

Enjoyed our stay for the Chris De Burgh Show As a pensioner the tariff was too high- good enough for a once-off

Reviewed March 05, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Marcus from United Kingdom
Couple
Non-Smoking Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Perfect for Grand West Arena”

Perfect for Grand West Arena

Reviewed January 22, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Carl from South Africa
Business traveler
Twin - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Not satisfied”

Loose out

Reviewed January 16, 2018
8.0
Excellent
LUTCHMEE from South Africa
Couple
Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018

Good”

Good

Reviewed January 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Mark from South Africa
Couple
Non-Smoking Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

I appreciated the cleanliness of the entire facility.”

The attention and friendliness the staff had was really to be admired for.

Reviewed January 07, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Arthur from South Africa
Family with young children
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Excellent”

Enjoyed the stay, but room needs a small fridge.

Reviewed December 06, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Eileen from South Africa
Family with teens
Double - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2017

This is a quiet , clean and comfortable hotel. ”

The location is ideal. No noise, lots of parking, walking distance to Grand West. Very clean and friendly staff

Reviewed August 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Elna from Australia
Group
Twin - Non-Smoking Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016

Excellent customer service. All staff are wonderful.”

The staff. Alwaya friendly and helpful.

Reviewed December 28, 2016
8.0
Excellent
chamelle from South Africa
Family with young children
Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

none”

none

Reviewed December 18, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jonathan from South Africa
Business traveler
Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Great for a business stay”

I always book and stay here. Friendly staff and comfortable room.

Reviewed May 17, 2016