Book Now: Colonia Santa Maria Hotel

Very good
From 95 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
/
10
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (95)Booking.com Reviews (81)
7.6
/
10
Very good
From 95 reviews
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities7.1
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.6
Value for money7.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (95)
Showing 81 verified guest comments
7.6
Very good
Pramit from India
Group
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Good hotel”
It's a good hotel at a very nice location but staff needs to be trained well. Delay in every service and not at all helpful.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
5.6
KEAT from Malaysia
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Review ”
Aircon cannot be controlled or switched off. Thin bed sheets no blanket. Almost caught a chill
Reviewed April 18, 2016
8.4
Excellent
suresh from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Good”
Nice location . Rest is ok
Reviewed April 15, 2016
7.0
Very good
Moosafi from India
Business traveler
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
FORCED WIFI NETWORK ON GUESTS”
Very disappointing as the hotel puts a firewall for guests using their own data pack for Internet, as hotel charges guests a premium to use wi-fi, which is not suitable for online banking
Hotels policy of using a software to block guests from using the guests own Data Pack for Internet is clear violation of ones right.. A reputed hotel should not employ such tactic only to earn 5$ extra to use their WI-FI... As a business traveller I was denied my right to use online banking within the confinement of my hotel room using my own internet pack, and no individual would be comfortable to use an open WI-FI used by hundred others for online transactions.
Reviewed March 06, 2016
4.7
Aritra from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Stay at Colonia Santa Maria ”
It was a very average experience.
Poor
Reviewed November 11, 2015
7.7
Very good
Paul from Australia
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Pretty good”
Location, pool, staff
Reviewed October 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
GAURAV from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
highly recommended hotel”
it's location, ambience and pool
It was an amazingly wonderful experience and a lifetime memorable one. Would surely come back and stay at CSM whenever I visit goa again. Thanks CSM :)
Reviewed July 31, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
sujai from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
amazing experience ”
location, room we stayed in suite, well maintained room
We had been for our anniversary celebration had a great time amazing hotel ,suite, location.. totally awesome
Reviewed May 27, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Margaret from United Kingdom
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 7 nights in December 2014
CSM. Second visit and enjoyed it just as much”
Location. Staff. Entertainment
Had a great holiday, location and friendliness couldnt be better. Rooms look a little tired but kept spotlessly clean.
Reviewed January 08, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Manohar from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Excellent understanding staff and great location ”
Staff, location and breakfast
It was a pleasant stay, kids enjoyed, very friendly staff, reception desk was welcoming, I would say I was surprised to see each an every department staff speaking so well, location is great if u are with kids.... Over I was satisfied and would come back again Manohar
Reviewed December 18, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Parag from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Colonia Santa Monica (CSM) - A good stay”
Good location, live band, swimming pool!
The hotel is located close to the beach - it is in between Baga and Calngute beach. If you want to Calangute beach proper, then you need to go 2-3 kms in full traffic (that is why i rated it 4 on location), but if you just want to be on the beach and dont care if you want to be on Calangute proper, then nothing like this hotel! It is 2 mins walk to the beach. Hotel has very co-operative staff and is very clean and well maintained. Breakfast is good and I have dinner twice at the hotel itself. They had live music (indian classical one day and western on another day). It was excellent having dinner with live music - my first experience! Hotel is very close to the market area and good from a shopping point of view. Children love it in the swimming pool which is clean and refreshing. The only complaint i have with the hotel is that they dont arrange for Activas on rent. As a result when i visited on long weekend the activas were hardly available and the ones which were available were asking for whopping Rs. 2000 rent for a day. If hotel can tie up or arrange activas on request, then it will be great. I stayed there from 2nd Oct to 5th Oct 2014.
Reviewed November 11, 2014
6.3
Good
Sneha from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Stay at CSM ”
Location, peaceful, cleanliness
It was good but we found it a bit overpriced. The charges were high as compared to a 3 star hotel.
Reviewed October 05, 2014
6.7
Good
Rupesh from India
Group
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
good property but ordinary serveces!”
location only
It was okay.
Reviewed September 20, 2014
7.0
Very good
Faiyaz from Bangladesh
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Very near both Baga and Calangute beaches”
Location, villa style, quiet
Helpful staff, excellent location, two pools, decent restaurant, villa style accommodation, a bit dated but value for money. The kids really enjoy it. Better concierge service may be introduced.
Reviewed August 22, 2014
6.7
Good
naveen from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Best Locality and breakfast.”
Locality, Locality and Locality
Not good. Following are the reasons: 1. They charge for above 3 yrs kid instead of 5 which is very unique 2. They charge for ice cubes (normal water) for mere 10 ice cubes which I haven't heard anywhere 3. Bathrooms are so tiny that you need stand on the WC to change Good: 1. Best locality. Right on the beach between Baga and Calungute. Lot of good joints around 2. Nice Breakfast with lot of options
Reviewed August 19, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Manjunatha from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Great Resort with colonial style architecture”
Style architecture, great location with legendary disco and bar around it, easy access to beach
Very pleasant stay at hotel and my family will remember the experience forever.
Reviewed May 30, 2014
7.3
Very good
Gaurav from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Good”
It was a pleasant stay
Reviewed May 15, 2014
7.7
Very good
Dean from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Great location”
Hotel well located, nice pool and bar
Overall a good spot close to beach and eateries. Rooms are a little dated, but roomy.
Reviewed March 23, 2014
5.3
jane from United Kingdom
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 21 nights in December 2013
good location”
loation,nice setting,friendly staff
good location,expensive for the accomodation bit shabby and yhe cleanliness could be better, breakfast never on time, nice friendly helpful staff
Reviewed January 15, 2014
7.0
Very good
Mayuresh from United States
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Pleasant stay, good location and polite staff.”
Location central to the most happening area, Easy access to beach and Responsive Staff
We stayed just for 2 nights, but had not complaints about our stay. Rooms are clean, staff is very responsive and with only 3-4 rooms per villa it feels secluded too. The beach is 3-4 mins walk away and Titos and Mamboos (the street with all the pubs, clubs and bars) is about 10 mins walk. They have a complimentary breakfast which I would say impressed me a lot.It definitely is by far the best hotel in the area, my only grievance is that they did not have a tub in the room. I had done quiet a bit of research before narrowing down on this hotel. However, at CSM you are paying a premium for the location. Because for the same price you can stay at rated hotel like Marriot or Taj. But both are far away from Baga and Calangute.
Reviewed January 11, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Konstantin from Russia
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 10 nights in December 2013
Good quality for this price”
Perfect location, friendly staff, good price
Reviewed January 09, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Tanushree from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
very good”
location
Initially the room alloted to us did not have the ac working. they immediately changed the room.very prompt service.super location.room aervice excellent. fantastic stay. walk to the baga beach.luxky star mambo bobbys is a walk
Reviewed January 04, 2014
5.7
sunita from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
not so good”
beach.center.closebye
not a good stay.as we faced first day AC not working,have to change room next day,ther also no light in bathroom.
Reviewed December 20, 2013
7.3
Very good
Arpita from India
Solo traveler
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Good. Could be better”
Location, accessibility, The secure taxi service outside the hotel
It is a quiet and peaceful hotel. I will like for them to improve there services like offer wifi in room and room service and dining options after restaurant close time. Basic hotel but great location. Special mention to the taxi service provided by the hotel. It is completely secure and trustworthy and very cooperative taxi guys. It may be a little more expensive than the outside taxi, but definitely more secure.
Reviewed December 18, 2013
6.7
Good
Anthony from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Pleasant stay with family”
Comfortable , friendly, spacious
It's was a pleasant stay, however the sea was so rough we could not have a nice swim..most of the time we use the swimming pool. generally it a relaxing time with family
Reviewed December 12, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Rahul from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
It was simply awesome to stay in this hotel!”
Location, friendly staff and value for money
I stayed for 3 days and had a great time indeed! The location is simply great! In the radius of 1 Km, you have all the great joints, bars, cafes. To name a few great ones, TITOS and BRITTOS.. What else you want in life? It is bang on Baga beach. There is a direct access to the beach, hardly 300 to 400 meters...as ou enter the beach area, there are nice beds, which one can use and have drinks and snacks....and off course enjoy swimming..... The hotel has nice stylish white Villa type structure externally....inside is modern.... You have a LCD and all other basic amenities, one would like to have in the room.... There is a nice balcony...and each villa has an attached garden, worth to look at or even walk.... Rooms were clean although the bathroom were a bit small... The restaurant was amazing....they play nice music....they have a nice bar...I am vegetarian and trust me they served nice veg food... Breakfast was limited but just right... They can add some more options..... We were surprised to see a gentlemen singing at the restaurant.... Ad they asked me to recommend a song or my wife and they would sing... They encourage to dance...the whole atmosphere is simply lovely and romantic... Staff are courteous and nice right from reception to the restaurant...my son had got sick and they held me connect to a busy doctor at his chamber... This was a great help..... Scoters are available for rent easily.... Taxis are right at the doorstep but I was disappointed as the taxi fellows had a monopoly and I was not sure if the rates quoted were genuine.... Swimming pool is small
Reviewed November 28, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Balkrishna from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
CSM is a Gem on Baga beach”
Location,ambience,night life,beach
This the place to stay in North Goa in medium budget.
Reviewed November 18, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Shyam from India
Business traveler
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Nice, Clean and on the Beach”
Location, Friendly Staff and Value for Money.
My nephew booked for me on line as I was on an emergency visit to Goa. I was not expecting much from it, but I was pleasantly surprised on my arrival. It has great location, very friendly staff and nice and clean rooms. I would certainly like to visit again on leisure and I highly recommend it to all my friends.
Reviewed November 18, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
manish from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
excellent place to chill wilth family”
location,hospitality and food
just ecellent! No one can tell anything was wrong in this hotel.great hospitality and support from its staff. Congrates CSM
Reviewed November 08, 2013
7.7
Very good
pradeep from India
Group
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
calm n cosy ”
friendly staff, nice pool and the cleanliness
cosy place to putup, centrally located n near to the beach...friendly staff, nice pool and the cleanliness
Reviewed July 18, 2013
5.3
Karen from New Zealand
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Rooms need good clean and upgrade”
Location,pool and quality of food
The rooms definitely require some work,not just cleaning (due to bugs/spiders AND visible remnants from bed bugs!!!) but overall updated for a more modern look
Reviewed May 05, 2013
7.7
Very good
pradeep from India
Solo traveler
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
relaxing n peaceful stay”
location, pool, friendly staff
relaxing rejuvenating holiday at csm baga goa, would recommend it for ppl lookin 4 a peaceful place to stay
Reviewed April 11, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Srinivas from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
had a wonderful trip with my wife and cousins”
Very nice locality, good staff and service, very near to beach
Reviewed March 23, 2013
7.7
Very good
ARUN from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Great location,lovely hotel”
Location,beach accessibility
Awesome location. Beach and other location accessibility is good. Room size is good, outside view could have been better. Good service. Breakfast menu is really restricted / less.
Reviewed February 07, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
steven from United Kingdom
Group
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Great value”
Right next to beach, good quality and clean
very good value hotel. clean and comfortable. great location. no faults. however, i forgot to pack everything when i left and i have contacted hotel, so time will tell if its forwarded onto me.
Reviewed December 07, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Amit from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Lovely Hotel with great location.”
Very clean, decent rooms, with easy accessiblity to beach & market.
Had gr8 time with family, Kids enjoyed the swimming pool, excellent food. Hotel is very well located, next to beach with immed accessiblity to market.
Reviewed December 04, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Rameet from India
Group
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Awesome Hotel!”
The cottage kind of rooms, they give colonial feel. Just on the beach, very nice service. In the middle of market place still away from hustle bustle of the same.
we family of 6 went to stay in this hotel. our stay was wonderful. specially liked the cottage kind of structure from outside of the rooms. very nice dining place & service was also very good. just on the beach & shacks around the place are also very good. we had wonderful time in this hotel. few things to suggest are larger swimming pool, they had two pools at different points within the hotel but smaller ones. also there was no mirror in the room, though the bathrooms were really good with good large mirror therein.
Reviewed November 30, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Manas from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Nice Location , Good Rooms”
Location , Very near to Market place but yet away from crowd
The stay was very nice, the beach was just besides the hotel. Most of the happening places in goa were nearby like Titos etc. Plenty of restuarants , Shacks , shopping places just within walking distance.
Reviewed October 05, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Robert from United States
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
nice beach hotel - but no wifi”
As close to the beach as you can get
nice beach hotel, reasonable cost for proximity to beach. breakfast buffet was reasonably stocked. pool out behind the lobby was very nice. room was a little musty. biggest drawback for me was lack of wifi, and what internet that was available was only in the lobby, and (i feel) at a very high cost $1 for 15 minutes.
Reviewed April 29, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Shubhra from India
Solo traveler
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Lovely hotel and awesome location”
Nice room, grt service and good food
the hotel is ideally located in calangute with proximity to the beach. the rooms are decent and the food is good.
Reviewed April 20, 2012
7.0
Very good
Deepak from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 4 nights in February 2012
Excellent location but average rooms”
very near to beach and markets
csm + location is too good, may be the best (lot of restaurants, pubs etc are at walking distance) + commutation is easily available at good prices (scooty - 250/- per day and car - 1000/- per day) + beach is hardly 3 mins walk and has path from within the premises itself - rooms are just ok. i found that delux suite is not what is it in pics on and all. so i was fairly disappointed and conveyed the same. they suggested 2 more rooms but they were even more disappointing so i stayed in what they gave. however they resolved issue of fan making a lot noise. rooms were overall clean but bed was above average. - breakfast is average. it daily includes - 1 north indian style veg (upma/cutlet etc), either of grilled potato/tomato, sausage. along with bread, juices and omelette. next time, i would first try something else in same locality, but if i didn't get anything better, would stay here.
Reviewed February 22, 2012
6.7
Good
Bronwyn from Australia
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 5 nights in December 2011
Great location right on the beach”
Located right on the beach, large rooms with sitting area and balcony
CSM is in an awesome location, and some of the villas are right on the beach. We stayed in a room near the pool and reception area. The rooms are large with a double bed and separate sitting area with a small balcony. However, the rooms and the entire hotel, could do with an update. Our room was quite outdated and the balcony overlooked a dumping area of building material. We didn't use the balcony at all as there was nothing to look at and there was only one chair. The view from the bedroom also wasn't great, as it overlooked the roof tiles of the floor below and a lot of the tiles were broken. The housekeeping was pretty bad as well, it didn't seem as though they did much. The breakfast was ok, although they didn't have proper coffee - only instant coffee! I found a 'Cafe Coffee Day' just down the road though so that was a bonus. We never ate dinner at the hotel but we were told by other hotel guests that it was good. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for the best location to the beach and the beach shacks of Baga and Calangute (is in between the two - best part of the beach!)
Reviewed February 06, 2012
5.0
RAMESH from India
Family with young children
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Great location”
Location
great location, that's where it's pros end. room size, decor, facilities etc. fell much short of my expectations. most the items were rusting and don't be surprised all imperfections in walls etc. are whitewashed. to add injury to insult, most of the hotel staff is happy serving fairer skinned guests alone, and ignore all others. spread in morning breakfast buffet is poorest, i have experienced so far, and does not suit indian palatte. swimming pool is much smaller than you would imagine, from the published pictures.
Reviewed January 18, 2012
8.0
Excellent
tarun from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 8 nights in January 2012
Enjoyable Stay”
Proximity to Beach,Good Rooms, Hospitable Staff,Good Breakfast.
We had a enjoyable Stay with a Good Room,Hospitable Staff, Regular Room cleaning service,and a good Breakfast.The Hotel location is excellant if you plan to spend your Day swimming at the Beach. The only suggestions I have is for the Hotel to arrnge with a nearby Beach Shack Bed Reservation for Hotel Guests and to offer Bacon for Breakfast on all days instead of only Saturdays.
Reviewed January 16, 2012
7.3
Very good
Manoji from India
Solo traveler
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Worth the pay”
comfortable rooms, close proximity to the beach, friendly staff
the hotel is at 2 mins walk to the most happening baga beach. the offer for the hotel was quite good and the staff was kind enough to offer us the premium deluxe room overlooking the pool. the breakast was decent enough to say much. the booking for the first two days was done from agoda and later the hotel was contacted directly who gave us better rates. the only complaint is the inaccessibility to the internet. and the hotel charges a bomb 100 rs for half an hour..
Reviewed December 20, 2011
5.3
Nathan from Australia
Solo traveler
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 4 nights in November 2011
Great location, but hotel itself needs improvement”
Proximity to beach
The hotel is in a good location - right near the beach and the bar district - and I think that's what they rely on. Because the rooms themselves, and the way the hotel is run, leaves a lot to be desired. The room itself is full of insects. And the staff are not very attentive or on-the-ball. You will wait forever for a meal or room service from the restaurant.
Reviewed December 10, 2011
6.3
Good
Pooja from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
Lovely place but expensive”
Location, swimming pool, and the surrounding and environment of the place.
the location was simply excellent, just a two minute walk from the beach. the atmosphere around the hotel is always warm and inviting. during the day, the swimming pool area is the highlight of the place, the swimming deck - irresistible. the restaurant is lively with music and people in the evenings. the rooms and interiors are decent, but the bathrooms were a tad disappointing. also disappointing were the cold female staff at the reception, except for one gentleman who took the trouble to deliver my charger to me after i'd checked out. overall, worth the experience, we enjoyed our stay, but wouldn't go back cause the price wasn't reasonable enough.
Reviewed November 27, 2011
7.7
Very good
Arup from India
Couple
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Great location but breakfast is ok. ”
Great location, staff performance was excellent.
Great location, staff performance was excellent. Food is expensive, don't try the food in the hotel, try Britto's and Shining Star restaurant on baga road.
Reviewed October 12, 2011
6.7
Good
sharada from India
Group
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010
good location”
location
small pool, no features...
hotel location is excellent, easy access to good hangouts and water sport...
Reviewed October 07, 2010
4.0
Lucy from United Kingdom
Group
Premium Luxury Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Ok”
Close to the beach
Accomodation extremely basic, unfriendly check in staff, food in restaurant.
Arriving at the hotel wasn't exactly a pleasant experience, staff were bordering rude when we were checking in. Rooms are extremely basic. 2 single beds (which suited us as 2 friends staying but wouldn't have been suitable as a couple). I would not class this room as 'deluxe' as it was sold in the slightest. Although it was a reasonable price it felt almost like I imagine a prison cell would feel with the added lingering smell of moth balls. I'm sure there are many other hotels in the area offering the same price and better standard of room.
Reviewed May 20, 2010