Book Now: COMO Shambhala Estate

Exceptional
From 79 reviewsSee what guests said
9.1
/
10

Reviews of COMO Shambhala Estate Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (79)Booking.com Reviews (57)
9.1
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness9.4
Facilities9.6
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality9.1
Service9.7
Value for money8.4
All languages
All guests (79)
All room types
Showing 59 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Heather from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Terrace Suite
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015

Paradise found”

The property, the service and the spa

Staying at Como Shambhala was truly incredible. The service was the best I've ever received, anywhere. The property was beautiful and had lots of unique places to enjoy. The food was delicious and healthy and my room was beautiful. I loved everything about this hotel. I have been raving about it to everyone. I would absolutely love to go again when I could stay longer.

Reviewed August 17, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
peiqiu from China
Couple
Terrace Suite
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015

Healthy resort with delicious food”

food, fitness program, environment

The resort is beautifully decorated. The food is super healthy and delicious, the hotel is a bit pricy though, but well worth to stay there at least once.

Reviewed June 24, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Samantha from Australia
Business traveler
Terrace Suite
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014

Our stay review”

The staff and their attentive service
Reviewed August 04, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Roland from Switzerland
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

This resort is heaven on earth!”

Nature, calmness, luxury, fine food, spa

This resort is out of normal categories. If you are romantic, like nature, fine food, calmness and a great spa, this is the right place! The luxury of this resort is the unique landscape and the immense space.

Reviewed March 14, 2014
7.3
Very good
Myriam from France
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013

relaxing but rainy”

;a
Reviewed December 30, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
David from United States
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

Relaxing, calm”

excellent healthy food, beautiful location, calm atmosphere

Very nice. They didn't have the Agoda reservation for the first night -- they were accommodating and gave us a nicer suite.

Reviewed July 09, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
alexandre from France
Business traveler
Stayed 6 nights in April 2013

Nice garden superb nature”

Pools nature staff
Reviewed May 08, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Anna from Russia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013

Amazing place for total relaxation”

Thrilled landscape and views, absolute privacy, lovely place
Reviewed May 06, 2013
8.3
Excellent
MIRI from South Korea
Couple
Terrace Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

in the jungle”

beautiful nature view surrounded by trees, flowers.. and great activity programs

The hotel was located deep deep in Ubud, only surrounded by nature (huge trees, flowers, waterfall, river..) Great place for relaxing and healling. forget about everything in real life and you can just enjoy the nature while staying in the hotel. Activity programs the hotel has were great too. i did morning walk, Pillates and biking and all were really wonderful. The food was great and people were friendly and nice. One thing i felt unconfortable was the only transportation you can use is a taxi so, every time you wanted go out, you have to call a taxi and wait for around 30 mins and the taxi fare was not cheap in Ubud.

Reviewed January 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Karina from Singapore
Family with teens
Terrace Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Heaven on earth!”

Intelligent and intuitive service, good classes and fantastic views of Ubud's nature

We stayed here over the Christmas holidays and were treated to an excellent stay by the warm and accommodating staff of Como Shambhala. Everything from the complimentary activity schedule, well-stocked library, health-conscious food and sprawling hotel grounds were excellent. I can't think of a better place to unwind. Como Shambhala definitely lives up to its well-deserved reputation as the best place for a retreat in Ubud.

Reviewed December 27, 2012
6.0
Afdzaliza from Malaysia
Business traveler
Terrace Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012

Great Location and suitable for business purposes”

Feel the jungle evolution

The customer service is marvelous. Rooms are very suitable for family and also for business trip.

Reviewed November 26, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Shana from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Terrace Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012

Unforgettable experience”

Excellent butler service, impeccable location, healthy food, varied activities

Service: 1) My personal assistant was a delight. She never failed to be there to schedule massages and activities for me as well as remind me about my schedule for the day. 2) All the staff working were really friendly and always offered their help when needed. 3) I went to the monkey forest and was driven by the estate driver. He escorted me to the monkey forest and walked with me to gave me a tour. Being a balinese, he was always willing to impart knowledge about his culture. Location: 1) Located in the village, the estate is smack in the middle of the forest. You wake up to fresh air and go to bed with the sounds of cicadas. To me, I much prefer the forest than the beach. It felt like I was in peace and closer to nature. 2) Morning walks to the common areas were excellent. Because of the vegetation, it was always cool. Maintenance of the trees and bushes by the staff made sure that the place was always neat and clean. 3) The estate is secluded which brings quietness. My room was very private and gave me the space I needed Food: 1) I was on the cleansing program. I met with the consultant and she put together a special diet for me. For 2 days, I was eating clean food and juices. Even if you are not on the cleansing program, the menu at the restaurants are extremely healthy. (vegan, gluten-free, low sugar, etc) Some of the dishes there are the vegan buckwheat pumpkin pancakes and warm salad with grilled mushrooms. Also, their juices are all fresh and are helpful with detox. Activities: 1) I tried the aqua therapy. It is basically doing aerobics and stretches in a warm pool, a short and brief exercise which is doable for anyone. After aerobics and stretches, you get on jet spa chairs which help with blood circulation. The spa (chairs) targets areas like, calves, abs, back, feet and the entire body. I signed up for canyoning which was a once in a lifetime experience. Overall experience was excellent and I WILL go back ther

Reviewed November 18, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Xavier from Belgium
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2012

Excellent hotel”

hotel grounds, food, massages

Pros : -Wonderful and efficient pre-arrival communication through email -Extremely friendly staff & butlers that will do all they can (and beyond) to give you the time of your life -All the different hotel buildings are very impressive (give the feeling of a palace in the jungle), but the grounds are even more stunning : you can make very nice walks down the gorge through the beautiful rainforest, and you have to relax at the pools below the hotel (the view and setting will take your breath away) -The rooms, located in private residences (with pools) that you share with others, are very nice. Style is authentic Balinese. Do not expect a hip or trendy room, but who would want that in Bali. -The spa was wonderful and the treatments great (do not leave this property without a massage) -Food (dinners): the best (and healthy) food I ever enjoyed during a hotel stay (and I do have some experience with stays at luxurious hotels, so this statement means a lot). Contras -Hotel is about 15 minutes from Ubud. It would have been wonderful though if the hotel would offer free transportation to Ubud to overcome its isolated location. -No matter how much I was impressed by the dinners, I was underwhelmed by the breakfasts. It was the only hotel in Bali that we stayed where we could not choose whatever we wanted (choice is limited, and you can only choose one hot platter). I left the breakfast table with hunger. -There are some (harmless) wildlife & bugs present at the Estate. Remember that you are in the jungle. We encountered snakes near our room on several occasions. Pretty scary, but on the other hand, it was a blessing that we got to see these creatures. I just mention it since the wildlife may freak out some (although I enjoyed it a lot).

Reviewed June 05, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Karin from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012

Beautiful location and good service”

In the middle of beautiful countryside

The food was really great and all staff attentive. Yogastudio also nice outside

Reviewed May 24, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Sophie from France
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010

Como shambhala estate”

Gardens, low visitor numbers and architecture
Basic rooms have small Imperfections (I.e broken louver or drawer) but only a small point.

The most magical place , worth every penny. The food is not cheap bit is really delicate. If was Thailand would advise to eat out but in Indonesia this hotels food is more exciting than most. Enjoy

Reviewed March 24, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Benedict from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in January 2010

Como Shambhala Estate”

- Peaceful - Excellent range and quality of food - Good range of activities
- Wine list not comprehensive and expensive - need addtional lighting in the smaller rooms

A peaceful place to unwind and relax in a lush jungle environment. You can explore the grounds; make excursions to the local town or trips in the nearby countryside. Whilst there are many guests, you get the impression that you have exclusive access to many of the facilities. The restaurant staff are courteous and friendly serving delicious, healthy and nutritious food.

Reviewed February 08, 2010
6.0
Deborah from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in October 2009

Intrusive Personal Assistants”

Fantastic grounds and nice rooms.
Food that is drenched in vinegar. Slightly intrusive service from Personal Assistant. Very expensive car service.

My stay at Como was dissapointing. Whilst the grounds are certainly very impressive, the hotel lacks any real charm or warmth. The hotel allocate a Personal Assistant upon arrival who takes it upon themselves to book you into the activities on offer regardless of whether you want them or not and then nages you to turn up and not be late. Everytime we left our room he was hovering around asking where we were going and when we would be back and was more nosey that my mother. He was always on the hard sell of the spa and i soon discovered the appointment he made for us to see the wellness doctor was actually just another angle to try and sell a massge. This hotel is nice, but if you want to see some culture and explore Bali you could do a lot better than to stay here. It is very expensive, no beer in the mini bar fridges and the food looked pretty but lacked flavour. The restaurants are so dead, that going out for dinner is just wierd as you can feel the waiters eyes on you.

Reviewed October 26, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Kenneth from Thailand
Group
Stayed 5 nights in September 2008

Fantastic Hotel, especially if go in a group”

Residences, beautiful vista
Tiring to get around, not good for kids

We took one of the residences, Tirta Ening, 4 rooms. A late joiner at the last minute was able to bunk in the study, which is cramped and probably not recommended. Individually, rooms were great, however, by taking the whole residence, we had private access to the living room, pool and elsewhere, which made it far better value. Our 'Butler' was fantastic, and really made the holiday that extra special. I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are travelling in a group of 3 or above. We would certainly go back again.

Reviewed January 08, 2009
10.0
Exceptional
LIAO from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2008

Como Shambhala Estate at Begawan Giri Hotel Bali.”

Food, SPA and environment
none

It's a wonderful experience to stay in Como Shambhala Estate at Begawan Giri Hotel Bali. Fresh air, nice personal assistant, good service, good food, especially, the SPA. I would strongly recommend here, it can really heal your mind and balance your energy.

Reviewed October 16, 2008
9.6
Exceptional
faouzi from France
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017

enchantement garanti”

le CSE Ubud est un hôtel à part. Nature luxuriante, prestations parfaites. Luxe et raffinement , calme et sérénité. Du très haut de gamme en pleine nature sauvage. Bravo aux concepteurs de ce petit, pardon de ce superbe bijoux

Reviewed April 16, 2017
9.3
Exceptional
Francois from France
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015

Un petit coin de paradis”

Un site paradisiaque unique, un staff pro et très souriant, des chambres magnifiques

Parfaitement, un moment de detente et de remise en forme exceptionnel. Ma plus belle expérience hôtelière. Quitter cet endroit fut un vrai crève coeur.

Reviewed August 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Wolfgang from Austria
Family with teens
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

8,9???? Doch wohl eher 9,8”

In den letzten Jahren habe ich ausschließlich überragende Hotels gebucht, weil mir das einerseits ein großes Vergnügen bereitet und ich andererseits Inspiration benötige für das Hotel welches ich geerbt habe. Es ist schwierig so unterschiedliche Hotelkonzepte fair miteinander zu vergleichen, aber für mich ist es jedenfalls eines von ca 10 Hotels, die ich besucht habe, deren Gesamtleistung nicht zu übertreffen ist. Für die paradiesische Landschaft, die auch noch unbeschreiblich gut gepflegt ist, für die Hotelanlage mit all ihren Räumlichkeiten, für die traumhaft in die Landschaft eingebetteten Pools und nicht zuletzt für die Leistungen des Personals(300! für 30 Zimmer bzw. Villen) gebührt eher eine Bewertung von 20/10. Eine Gesamtbewertung von 8,9 ist unzweifelhaft eine bösartige Herabwürdigung dieses grandiosen Hotels!

Reviewed September 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Diana from Germany
Family with teens
Stayed 6 nights in December 2009

Einmal im Leben.....muss man hier gewesen sein”

Die Freundlichkeit und Aufmerksamkeit der Mitarbeiter, die Schoenheit der Umgebung und die geschmackvolle Ausstattung der Haeuser. Die gesamten Poolanlagen koennten kaum schoener in die Natur eingefuegt sein als hier.
es gibt keine

Hier kann man Urlaub machen ohne sich um irgendetwas noch kuemmern zu muessen. Ein persoenlicher Assistent erledigt alle Wuensche und organisiert den Tag, wenn man es moechte. Die Betreuung hoert vor der Passkontrolle am Flughafen auf. Ansonsten wird alles andere von einem Mitarbeiter des Hotels fuer den Gast geregelt!

Reviewed January 07, 2010
9.7
Exceptional
Johanna from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Absoluut geweldig hotel!”

prachtige omgeving, rust en natuur

waren er voor de 2e keer in 2 maanden, eerste keer was geweldig dus wij moesten terug!

Reviewed June 26, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Johanna from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2012

Absoluut geweldig hotel!”

Vriendelijk personeel, mooie locatie, voortreffelijk eten.

wanneer je er even echt uit wil, en in alle rust wil genieten is dit een super plek.

Reviewed June 08, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
KAZUFUMI from Japan
Group
Three Bed Room Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017

文句の付け所がありません”

快適、心地よい、満足・・・・

Reviewed June 14, 2017
5.3
Yuki from Japan
Family with young children
Terrace Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

素晴らしいホテルだが子連れには?”

ホテルの雰囲気、部屋からの景色、一部のサービス

素晴らしいホテルでしたが、小さな子供連れには、あまりオススメできません。思っていたよりもウブドまで遠いので不便です。ホテルの中でヨガやエステを楽しみ、体に良い料理を食べて、のんびりしてい方にはいいでしょう...レストランでのスペシャルオーダーは高額でしたし、清算時、レシートをよくチェックしないと注文していないものまで入っていました。チエックアウトの際にタクシー料金が前日に聞いていた値段より高かったうえに、支払っているタクシー料金を空港に到着時にまた請求され、ホテルに電話したりと...こちらが注意すれば良いことですが、ホテルの素晴らしさゆえに残念でした。

Reviewed October 29, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
harumi from Japan
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012

素敵でした”

ホテル内はどこを歩いても最高に素敵、敷地内に良い空気が溢れています

朝食はアラカルトで選べるのがとても良かった アメニティもいいです。 すべてにおいて満足でした、私にとっては、あとウブドまでの無料送迎があれば完璧です。また滞在したいです。

Reviewed May 24, 2012
8.0
Excellent
KUROISHI from Japan
Couple
Terrace Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012

プライベートアシスタントとわ?”

ロケーションは最高です

プライベートアシスタントというサービスがあり、滞在中 一人のホテルスタッフが滞在中のアクティビティーや滞在中の様々な相談や手伝いをしてくれますが、スタッフは日本が出来る訳でもなく、あまり必要ないように感じました。プライベートと言うくらいですからコミニュケーションが良く取れなければ意味がないように思います。

Reviewed May 09, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
MRS.CHATCHAREEPUN from Thailand
Group
Terrace Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013

โรงแรมที่สวยงาม เงียบสงบเหมาะแก่การพักผ่อน”

1.เงียบสงบ 2. บรรยากาศสวยงามมาก 3. พนักงานบริการยอดเยี่ยม
Reviewed May 31, 2013
7.2
Very good
Sangro from South Korea
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017

신들의 정원”

가격은 좀 비싸지만 정말 신들의 정원에서 머물다 온 것 같습니다. 신혼여행지로 강력 추천합니다!

Reviewed December 14, 2017
8.8
Excellent
YOUNGIL from South Korea
Solo traveler
Garden View
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017

Excellent”

자연속에서의 휴식에 최고. persnal assistant의 서비스 최고.

Reviewed August 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
MUNSUNG from South Korea
Family with teens
Two Bed Room Private Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

힐링이 되는 곳”

빌라에서 원숭이도 볼 수 있고 아침이 맛있는 아주 친절한 곳. 다시 가고 싶은 곳.

Reviewed February 04, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
zm from China
Family with teens
Three Bed Room Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

私密”

安静,私密

Reviewed February 04, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Lu from China
Couple
Garden View
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

感觉就像是住进了原始森林里”

酒店知道我们是度蜜月后,就帮我们升了两级,配有一个户外的温水池!服务绝对是一流,私人管家还在5点多的还帮我们提供了夜床服务,窗帘都拉下来了,浴缸、温水池,铺花瓣床等等!最赞的是楼里的无边际泳池,对着梯田、森林、河谷游泳~晚餐的话一般般,感觉健康餐都不好吃~有一份菜,我们没怎么吃,结果餐厅就给免了~~服务好人性!但是早餐必须去吃!不仅好吃!而且景色美!如果真要提一点不满意的话,就是刚到达的时候,外面在下雨,到处都是石像,感觉整个房间和花园都是阴森森的,好恐怖。。但是慢慢的习惯了就不觉得了~天气好的时候就是超级舒服的!!

Reviewed November 16, 2016
8.7
Excellent
yuxia from China
Couple
Terrace Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015

值得回忆的住宿体验”

酒店位置、客房风格及清洁程度、性价比高
Reviewed October 09, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
shuangyan from China
Couple
Terrace Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

称得上是乌布最大最好的酒店之一”

风景好,设计好,服务好

这家酒店真的很大很大,从接待处到房间都要坐小车接送,感觉这家酒店把整座山都包下来一样,由于我当时花了一部分时间去逛乌布,所以没有把整个酒店都逛一圈,很喜欢酒店的布局,感觉好像是在山里的世外桃源里修身养性,有仙境哈哈。酒店很贴心,当我晚上从乌布回来竟然还送来了生日蛋糕,虽然我一直都是过农历的生日早忘记我护照上的阳历生日,但还是很感谢酒店的贴心服务,巧克力慕斯蛋糕很好吃:) 记得当天下午下起了雨,我就躺在窗边的沙发上听雨声拍打窗前树叶的声音,树叶上的雨滴在雨水的拍打下飞溅到窗户上,觉得好久没有这么静静的看大自然的景象了,忽然就觉得“人生好短暂,短暂到来不及去欣赏所有的美景”。 酒店的荷花很美,美到你觉得像是假的一样,也从来没有这么近距离的观赏过荷花,总之这家酒店就是让你全身心接触大自然亲近大自然,一切都是那么的惬意。酒店的早餐非常丰盛,很棒。

Reviewed March 12, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
HE from China
Couple
Terrace Suite
Stayed 1 night in February 2012

身处热带雨林的森林酒店”

远离繁华闹市,在山林中穿越,精致美味的早餐,娴熟的按摩手法,原生态的主房环境,很喜欢!

在一本家居杂志看到这所酒店的简介,离开旅行团担负了元违约费,来到了这所隐藏在丛林山民里的酒店!晚上8点入住,美丽的烛光在黑夜里闪烁着温暖,迎宾为你戴上美丽的鲜花,整所酒店就坐落在热带雨林的山林里,虽然周围都有鸟儿、昆虫出现、鸣叫,晚上的火把通道也安静的让人害怕,但你会觉得:这就是大自然。非常喜欢spa的精油味道,占地面积也是这所酒店的优势所在,之前一直不知道世外桃源,知道遇到了香巴拉酒店!有机会一定会再来!

Reviewed March 11, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
muljadi from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013

Pengalaman yang berkesan”

makanannya, spa, tracks,

Suatu pengalaman yang mengesankan tentang hotel Como, hotel dirancang sehingga tamu tidak mendengar hiruk pikuk manusia, hanya bunyi dari alam, air, angin. Sungguh indah berkesan

Reviewed July 04, 2013