Book Now: Coral Island Resort

Very good
From 578 reviewsSee what guests said
7.1

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (578)Booking.com Reviews (164)
7.1
Very good
From 578 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.5
Facilities5.3
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality7.1
Service6.8
Value for money7.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
简体中文
Svenska
more
Room type
Superior
Beach Deluxe
Beachfront Deluxe
Family
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 525 verified guest comments
4.8
Myla from Australia
Family with teens
Family
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Nice beach but poor facilities”
The beach area is lovely, white sand and crystal clear water. Rooms are very poor, smelly, no ventilation, pillows not so nice smell & lots of mosquito
Reviewed December 01, 2016
2.0
Kaitlyn from United States
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. ”
The staff was horrible, and the food was the WORST food I have ever had. I barley ate while I was there because every meal made me sick to my stomach. Everything was overpriced and there is no warm water in the rooms. DO NOT COME HERE ON VACATION, YOU WILL IMMEDIATELY REGRET IT.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
5.6
vince from Canada
Solo traveler
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
No no good! Got sick, mosquitoes and smells bad. Beach is nice but that's it. ”
How can it be that in a place where wages are so cheap they can't see to maintain and clean a place. The beach and the staff was nice and that's it. They have pots of water everywhere to wash hour feet but they are full of mosquito larvae I got eaten alive by mosquitos at night in just the time it took for me to order the food and bring it back to my room Saw someone clutching her stomach in pain. That same night I was sick. It still has not gone away. In the last 3 times I've been to Thailand it's the first time I got sick. It's smells of sewage everywhere. Have to keep the washroom door closed because sometimes at night it stinks. The shower fittings were so full or rust it was unbelievable. And I also paid for an upgrade. Breakfast horrible one morning the only fruit or fresh vegitable was sliced raw ogions tablecloth was so dirty and skirts to the buffay tables and dirty dogs It's inexcusable that place is a health violation It would take so little to fix this.
Reviewed November 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Andras from Hungary
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Amazing place, but the cheap rooms are very old”
Amazing enviroment, higly recommended for relaxing. Much better than one day trip to the island because during the day it is crowded by tourists but mornings/evening are super peaceful with just the hotel guests on the island. There is a shop and a restaurant as well with good prices. Cheap rooms are very old but the enviroment compares. Seaside bungalows could be amazing sorry we didnt have money for that.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
6.4
Good
Jittrawadee from Thailand
Couple
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Nice vacation”
there are the best beach for sun bath
Reviewed November 16, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Pornchan from Thailand
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Amazing place”
This place is very nice, romantic, private and staff are very kind. I love this place very much and will visit again soon
Reviewed November 14, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
xiaowei from China
Couple
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011
It's very relax to live here. ”
I will come again with my whole family. Kids will like it.
Reviewed November 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Patrick from Thailand
Solo traveler
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Nice Laguna Beach, quiet at night!”
Coral Island is beautiful! You can see the fish once you moved yourself into the sea, snorkeling … I think that's one of the best things to do on this spot. Talking about the resort: Don't forget about all: It's not a 5***** luxury qualified hotel, so try to put service into a appropriate relation! As long as you stay there and it's beach, there may be as many Asian tourists as they want landing on the bay, it was a bit strange to see, but I didn't mind. The staff is nice. The quality of meals is good, sometimes even very good. I had fresh fish the first day, with a spicy lemon sauce, extraordinarily well done. Well, less the next evening, a bit too long on fire… prices are completely acceptable. The beach houses are not relatively clean, they are perfectly clean! Every comfort is provided, beds are very comfortable, clean linen is standard, and the hotel provides you two bottles of water 1/2 ltrs. a day, for free, and even more if you kindly ask! One thing could be improved: one lamp in the bathroom is not enough to enlighten the whole room. Do not believe to find better food at lower prices outside! It is amazing to see that those people outside of the hotel, but still on the same beach, do offer fruits and beverages at rates that will make you speechless. Really nasty offers!
Reviewed November 04, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Vanichaya from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
don't miss, If you need rest your brain.”
I visited this resort for travelling from 23 Sep to 24 Sep., This resort is very attractive location to travel and relax when you 're on vacation with nice staffs, nice weather, reasonable price of dinner and reasonable rules and regulation that you could feel free. Most of travelers are quality travelers. Also, around this hotel can be preserved beach and crystal clear sea with good atmosphere! The most impress thing that I've seen is good staff, they kindly support visitor as their family with sincerely smile. :)
Reviewed October 27, 2016
7.2
Very good
peter from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
The power is off six hours a day. Which means no air conditioning. Water has bad odor. Coral dead”
Great for one or two nights to get out of Phuket. Thousands of people during the day. Dead at night. Food is not very good. The power being out was the reason I left after one night. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beach very dirty with trash. My 75 year old mom and I filled a garbage bag of trash in 10 minutes. Just make sure you know what you are getting into.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
6.8
Good
Jacqueline from Australia
Solo traveler
Family
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Over rated island”
Nice gardens and pool area. Very busy during the day with boats from phuket.
Reviewed August 18, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Nawat from Thailand
Group
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
good”
good hotel
Reviewed August 11, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Harry from United States
Solo traveler
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Wonderful inexpensive getaway from Phuket”
The Coral Island Resort is a very nice hotel located on an almost deserted island. There are day trippers there from Phuket, but when the sun goes down, only the hotel and it's guest remain there. There are coral reefs right off the beach that are easy to swim out to. The white sand beach is a bit rocky, but the waters are clear and beautiful with an abundance of fish. It's like walking out into an aquarium. One drawback would be the restaurant. Although the included buffet breakfast is a good value, the food is expensive and not that good. The lasagna was dried out and the nachos were soggy. I think they make everything in a microwave.
Reviewed April 06, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Jan from Czech Republic
Couple
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Paradise at sea ”
This is amazing location, relax and peace
It was great, only downside is that the island used for day trips from main land and very busy but at 17.00 everyone left and peace arrived. Recommend this island for relaxing holiday
Reviewed March 25, 2016
6.8
Good
Alexander from Austria
Couple
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in January 2016
Nice resort but too many people during day”
Resort was good, but the island was too busy during the day - 2000 daytourists, boats, noise... not relaxing at all, for us disappointing.
Reviewed February 06, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Mamuka from Georgia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Honeymoon”
White Beach, cristal water, snorkling
Reviewed January 17, 2016
5.3
Geoff from Canada
Solo traveler
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Review”
Location, friendly, snorkeling
The food was really bad and there wasn't a lot to do, also several tourists during the day. Other than that fine. Got bored after 2 days and went back to Phuket.
Reviewed January 05, 2016
6.3
Good
Tiaan from South Africa
Couple
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Overrated resort. Overpopulated and deteriorated”
Fairy quite at night after all day visitors have left.
Visit was a bit disappointing. The island gets too many day visitors and is very overcrowded during the day. The island is very overrated, there are no more live corals on the island and barely any fish. The resort is not well maintained and needs an upgrade. There is almost never power. Everything on the island is very expensive (a bottle of water in Phuket cost 7 baht and 50 baht on the island) and you are not allowed to take any food or drink to the island. The restaurant was good, but also expensive. I would have been fine paying a premium on everything for some exclusivity from all the tourist, but the vast amount of day visitors leads to a premium at no additional benefit compared to staying in Phuket. We stayed 2 days on the island, which was more than sufficient. Would not recommend any longer stay on this island.
Reviewed January 04, 2016
7.0
Very good
Karen from Canada
Solo traveler
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Coral Island Beauty”
location, internet on the beach,
It was peaceful but the food wasn't very good. Not too many activities. They should use a boat to take people scuba diving.
Reviewed January 03, 2016
3.7
Tulkobaev from Russia
Family with teens
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Terrible stay”
If you want to get some nice infections from food and dirty cups, spoons and plates, then it's a right place to stay:) no fish near the beach, so nothing to see with mask. Also strong wind from sea side, so quite big waves and a lot of sand in your mouth))
Reviewed December 31, 2015
7.7
Very good
HIDEAKI from Japan
Solo traveler
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Nice view ”
Relax
I felt it was a bit pricey for the accommodation and facility. Staffs were quite friendly and atmosphere itself was good. Location was also excellent. Some faulty point is there were about 2 hour power outage.(0930-1200 and 1500-1700) Food choice for local food was also quite limited and group tourists(I will not say the nationality though) was quite boisterous.
Reviewed December 28, 2015
6.7
Good
Jitphas from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Good view.”
Beautiful beach
I came to relax , beautiful beach and view. Hotel was not good and not bad.
Reviewed December 25, 2015
5.3
Suwarin from Thailand
Couple
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Pricey with Flaws”
The 3 best things about this Hotel were 1, The location was very beautiful, nice clear water and fabulos scenery. 2, The boat transfer was well organised on time and free!. 3, My room was directly on
After my arrival I discovered that the hotel only has electricity between certain times of the day. This was not to much of a problem but when the electric did come on I discovered my air con was not working. There were no fans so it was quite uncomfortable. The reception staff member on duty ignored me and seemed in a very bad mood. I waited until another staff member came and a technician was eventually summoned. They improved the airflow a little but said there was no more they could do during the period of my stay. 2 hours later it completely failed again. I was shocked to hear from staff that they would fine me if I set foot on the other beach )Banana beach) on the Island. This is a rather ridiculous policy and one most just ignore anyway. The restaurant food and breakfast were below average quality and the mark ups for items in the mini bar, gift shop etc are very very high compared with Phuket mainland. Kayaks were 500 Baht per hour which is also very high for the region. having said all this many of the staff I interacted with were very friendly and helpful. The scenery was great and I enjoyed my stay. It is a shame a well run hotel in this location would be a dream. Finally the pricing of the room was to high for what you get.
Reviewed November 16, 2015
6.0
Prathoomwan from Thailand
Couple
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Old resort”
Beach, beach and sea
Need renovation
Reviewed November 11, 2015
7.7
Very good
Amornrat from Thailand
Family with teens
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
coral review ”
service
Perfect for only 2 nights stay
Reviewed September 11, 2015
7.0
Very good
David from Australia
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Russian Island”
Beautiful beach. Peace and quiet. Snorkeling.
We stayed here in 2009 and it was awesome, but things have changed. Seems to now just cater for Russians. The buffet dinner even had Russian dishes! Not what you expect in Thailand. Gone was the beautiful Thai food buffet they'd had previously. The breakfast was quite average. Just cereal, bacon and eggs and fruit. All the guests were Russian, except for us and 1 Chinese couple. The managing staff were Russian and couldn't speak English. The Thai and Burmese staff spoke excellent English, though and were very helpful and polite. It's a fantastic location also with lots if fish to look at while snorkeling.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
6.0
Timothy from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
The only hotel”
Food, Snorkelling, Beach
The shower water was salty and had a stench while electricity did not run all day. But this is understandable as they are using a generator. Snorkelling is great just off the beach though beware of sea urchins. I stayed in the beachfront room and the view was great. The curtains should be blackout and slightly longer as there were gaps when the curtains were fully drawn, limiting privacy. Room was average.
Reviewed August 19, 2015
6.7
Good
nattaya from Thailand
Family with teens
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
ok for family trip”
Beach Front , Pizza , Island
OK but feel the food is expensive
Reviewed August 17, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Scott from United States
Couple
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
What an amazing location”
The beach/water, the staff, the evenings/nights
I have to say that the beach, the water and the views (sunsets, sunrises and in general) were amazing and alone would make me consider going back. The accommodations themselves were quite basic, but sufficient. Most of our time was spent at the beach, in the water or at the outdoor restaurant...in swimming suits, luxury was not a requirement. Pros and cons... I felt the staff was quite good, very friendly and helpful. The general manager, a gentleman from Turkey (I believe he pronounced his name as Gem) was a great find. Years of 4/5 star experience, he made us feel as welcome as if we were in his own home. Some surprises were the twice daily scheduled power outages, and the outrageous prices in their convenience store. I understand inflated prices on an island, but this is a 15 minute boat ride from Phuket, paying 50 baht for a 7 or 8 baht bottle of water makes me angry enough to not want to go back. And for a hotel to say that "outside food and beverage are prohibited"... probably isn't even legal. Also, except for the local seafood, I found the food to be quite mediocre. That said, when next year rolls around, if Gem is still there, I'm sure my wife will convince me to book Coral Island again.
Reviewed July 30, 2015
7.3
Very good
HUONG from United States
Family with young children
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Not so private as it was before”
Staff was nice. Quiet when the day time tours left.
They used to clean the beach but not so much anymore. There was litter everywhere and the private bungalow area used to be "private" and only for resort guests but now the allow the daytime excursion guests into the area as well vs. the other side of the beach like before.
Reviewed June 27, 2015
4.3
Juliette from Australia
Family with teens
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Overpriced with basic rooms & unfriendly staff”
-beach location
Room stank of sewerage, staff rude & unhelpful, basic menu with many items listed unavailable, bed like bricks, no laundry service. Everything written was unavailable or different from stated. At best, this is a backpackers hostel.
Reviewed June 24, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Suchart from Thailand
Family with teens
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Nice resort”
Beautiful beach and resort
We did enjoy except the room air con was not cool enough to make us sleep well.
Reviewed June 01, 2015
8.0
Excellent
NUR from Malaysia
Group
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Secluded resort in an island”
Beach front,friendly staff and value for money
It was great.i love the resort as its the only resort in coral island.Food was nice,awesome beach and next to this hotel is banana beach and its beautiful!The only thing i dont like about this hotel is they dont have fresh watet.Tap water and also swimming pool very salty,i need to buy a lot of mineral water which was THB90 to wash my face and gargle.
Reviewed May 29, 2015
6.7
Good
Mehdi from France
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Nice place”
Location Staff seafood
Reviewed May 29, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Daeng from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Very relaxing”
Tbe beach front accommodation n peaceful
Verything was wonderful and soon i will be back.
Reviewed May 13, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Stephan from Australia
Couple
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Awsame ”
Location ,beach and friendly staff
Had a wonderful time
Reviewed May 06, 2015
7.7
Very good
Monika from Germany
Family with young children
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Wonderful Place to relax beautiful Sunset :-))”
Beachfront Roms were perfect :-)))
Relaxing and nature life pure!!! Perfect .... Just a bit crowded in the mornings when the boats arrive in morning time... But still wonderful... Chicken, fishfeeding and snorcheling...!!
Reviewed April 10, 2015
4.3
Supreeya from Thailand
Family with young children
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
So many Chinese ”
beautiful beach
Beach beautiful but food there it's terrible salty breakfast also very bad.
Reviewed April 08, 2015
7.0
Very good
chris from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
enjoyable and relaxing”
food,location,views
Very relaxing
Reviewed April 04, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Roongthiwa from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Coral Island”
Location, Food, Service
Peaceful, safe, relex
Reviewed March 15, 2015
5.3
Billy from Canada
Solo traveler
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Away from the crowds ”
Location, beach, price
The lcation and beach were great. The staff was unhelpful and food service was poor
Reviewed February 22, 2015
7.7
Very good
Karan from Thailand
Couple
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Awesome!”
Good atmosphere , soft sand, and seems like the another world of relaxing!
Cool.
Reviewed February 20, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Alexander from Russia
Couple
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
a night on an island”
location of the island, solitude, cleanness of the water and beach
Reviewed November 21, 2014
3.3
Chomchanok from Thailand
Group
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
The poorest service hotel in the world !”
Good location, coconut drink not over price, nice beach
Bad. The receptionist was very bad attitude. I need to change a room in the middle of the night because the toilet so smelly. And the receptionist gave me cheaper room from what I booked. Then I return to reception to complain about room type. She not even say sorry just give me a new room which is the same price from what I pay for. It such a nightmare that night. Next day morning I complain to the manager however the hotel wouldn't try to compromise anything just say sorry. That's it!!!! I will not return to his hotel again anymore.
Reviewed November 18, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Sviridov from Russia
Family with young children
Family
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
very good”
price and location
very very good
Reviewed November 10, 2014
8.0
Excellent
rebecca from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Coral Island”
Efficient staff. Food was good. Nice location.
Rooms were old and tired. No tea and coffee facilities in room. Three power cuts daily which included 3 am to 5.30 am which obviously disturbed our sleep every morning. The beach on front of the resort was kept clean by the staff. However it was EXTREMELY dangerous to walk on the day visitors side as it was absolutely littered with broken bottles and shattered glasses above and below the water line.
Reviewed October 16, 2014
2.0
Desiree from United States
Couple
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Worst experience I've ever had! ”
the sunset!
went with fiancé & another couple. Resort was very dirty. no power most of the day & throughout the night so no AC(which is a must when 90% humidity out) moldy shower & water smells like sewage when showering. rude staff, very expensive food & drink lacking in quality. I would not recommend for anybody to stay here at the resort. However if you come to Coral Island( Ko Hae) only take a day trip & enjoy beach n snorkeling then leave! we are now in Krabi & it's beautiful! lovely people, inexpensive & gorgeous vacation spot!
Reviewed September 23, 2014
3.3
Charuwan from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Dirty and food is not deicious. ”
Speed boat and crews
Reviewed September 08, 2014
5.3
Wai from Macau
Family with young children
Beachfront Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Disappoint Coral Island Resort”
Location, beach, no more...
We came Coral Island since 2006 and came everyear, but this year make us be very disappoint, when we arrived this time, manythings were changed, there are no more smile from the staffs, we could not bring any out side water or fruit, this is a bundled consumption, we never imagine it happend in Phuket. We won't come to Coral Island again anymore,
Reviewed August 20, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Wai from Macau
Family with young children
Beach Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Very nice island”
Service, beach, room
Come here every year at least once, will come back next month (August, 2014) again.
Reviewed July 25, 2014