Book Now: Damai Beach Resort

Very good
From 3618 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
/
10
Recommended by 91% of guests

Reviews of Damai Beach Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (3616)Booking.com Reviews (1025)
7.5
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.1
Facilities7.3
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality7.3
Service7.8
Value for money7.4
All languages
All guests (3616)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 2185 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
Tang from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Good Overall Stay at Damai”

Good: 1. Proximity to Kuching city and Buntal village where seafood restaurants are 2. Breakfast was great at the hotel restaurant, but there were blackout twice that morning 3. Shutter van service bringing guests to and from the Hill tops and Hotel lobby. 4. The Hill Top swimming pool was quite unique with a "waterfall" that can be used for massage :-D Not so Good: 1. The room is a bit old 2. The bed is sinking in the middle 3. We stay at Hill top - kinda spooky at night due to the low occupancy rate

Reviewed May 21, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Terry from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Old and in need of refurbishments.”

I come here every holiday. Got to give credit to house keepers doing their best to clean the rooms. They are doing a good job but the room is just old and badly needing refurbishments. Broken furnishings and aging furnishings.

Reviewed March 29, 2019
4.4
Tien from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Hill View
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

The room too old”

The room too old.

Reviewed May 19, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Wai from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Great stay with young kids ”

We simply enjoyed our stay in Damai Beach Resort. After an interesting trip in Sarawak Cultural Village which just walking distance from the hotel, kids had great time in children pool and then a leisure walk along the sandy beach. We had dinner in hotel as there is not much choice nearby, then we ended the night with some drinks in the hotel bar. In next day morning, we had early swim in the clifftop pool where just steps away from our room. The scenery is just breath-taking with nice view of Mount Santubong and seaside from the hill top. Worth to mention, the shuttle van service is fast and awesome. Will absolutely stay in Damai Beach Resort again in our next trip to Kuching.

Reviewed May 05, 2019
6.0
NUR from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

I was dissapointed because the hotel changed my room upon checkin in. ”

I booked 2 superior twins rooms which supposed the room located near the poolside but they changed my rooms to standard twins which is far from the hotel and yet they charged for the same price. I never had this kind of problems before when I checked in here. Im not saying I am a regular customer but I will came here twice&trice a year but this kind of problem never happen before. The reason given by the receptionist name Mary they received my received my booking confirmation stated that I booked standard twin rooms which different from my booking confirmation. I don’t know what actually happen here because I don’t want this kind of situation happen again next time. I believed there is something wrong somewhere situation regarding this problem. I think they changed my rooms and given to someone else since we arrived late. I hope this won’t happen again next time please be honest and keep your courtesy to the highest level.

Reviewed April 28, 2019
5.6
Cindy from Malaysia
Family with young children
Hill View Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Above average”

1) Pillows, mattress and comforter need to change new (all with stains) 2) Maintenance team need to do routine checking on property (power trip for many times)

Reviewed May 22, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Alif from Malaysia
Family with young children
King Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

sleepless night”

We were given room 1109 hilltop which turns out to be an awful one night stay for us. To the management of Damai Beach..PLEASE, PLEASE do change the mattress as it sink even you sit on it. My wife who is pregnant and myself could not sleep well throughout the night due to uncomfortable bed !! the next morning we end out with muscle and back pain. Really ruined our holiday mood. Another thing is the leaking bathtub, during shower the water leaked into the bathroom floor make it very slippery. My daughter fell on the floor, likely no broken bones !!. Please avoid allocate Room 1109 to other guest unless the mattress and the leaking bathtub is addressed accordingly as it is unsafe at all. Thank you.

Reviewed February 14, 2019
8.8
Excellent
NURUL from Malaysia
Couple
King Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Relax and peace stay. ”

Pros 1) Surrounded with nature, great view from the balcony as can see ocean and mountain. 2) Have a lot of privacy here. 3) Spacious room and they provide refreshement. 4) Friendly staff 5) and efficient shuttle Cons 1) room a bit old and need to refurbished especially the bathroom 2) the balcony is quite sandy. 3) cant use the tv. No signal at all.

Reviewed January 23, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
TH from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Great Location”

Hotel with excellent facilities..also good spread of breakfast..only thing that lack was there's no parking space for guest if their room located on the hillside..a bit hassle to move around even though there's shuttle van provided..

Reviewed December 28, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Rahila from Malaysia
Family with young children
King Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Sweet Hotel Memont In Damai Santubong”

Really happy to stay here, good environment, nice Sarawak Laksa for buffet breakfast, staff hotel very friendly, nice pool & my kids really like it. Overall was good. Thank you En Fathi for help us a lot & others staff too & will u again Damai Beach Resort..

Reviewed November 28, 2018
7.2
Very good
Woan from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Good but some facilities and room need upgrade. ”

Should add more facilities at beach n poolside if not it will very boring during night time, room need upgrade cus got strong smell when open door.

Reviewed May 16, 2019
7.6
Very good
Martha from Malaysia
Solo traveler
King Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Very good”

A little bit of renovation to make the resort look much better would be great

Reviewed May 15, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Mohammad from Malaysia
Family with young children
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Superb location ”

Pro-location -clean beach -big chalet Cons-breakfast need to improve -need to change the mattress is to old

Reviewed May 07, 2019
4.4
Mussaily from Malaysia
Family with young children
Chalet Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Nice location but poor customer service”

I complaint about the aircond which is not cold and the air came out very slow. Their technician came and claimed that they have refilled the gas for the a/cond compressor and it needs time to cool down. But when we leave and return to the room for dinner, it still not cold. I decided to check the air filter and found it very dirty and clean it up on my own. Then only the room cooling down

Reviewed March 19, 2019
8.8
Excellent
connie from Malaysia
Family with young children
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Excellent”

Facilities is a bit tired, but well maintained. The staffs was responsive, efficient and helpful. My child had a ball playing at the clean beach and pool. The breakfast spreads are very nice with plenty of options. Highly recommended, will surely come back again soon!

Reviewed March 18, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Wen from Malaysia
Group
Standard Hill View
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Good beach resort and excellent customer service”

Very attentive staff to our needs. Hilltop View block is far from central facilities but very huge and comfortable rooms. Rundown gym. Not much access to water sports facilities. Pleased with the stay!

Reviewed March 14, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Josephine from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Hill View
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Excellent place & people!”

Never regret staying at Hotel Damai Resort. Excellent place to walk about. Good customer service from service counter, room service to van service. All staff served well & highly recommended for people.

Reviewed September 28, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Doris from Malaysia
Family with young children
Hill View Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Great Staff Great Place”

We have always enjoyed our stay at Damai Beach Resort. All staff are friendly, well-trained and professional. We particularly need to thank a staff named NIZAM who drove us up to hill top pool and when he saw us wanted to come back down the the lobby with our wet swimwear, he took the extra effort to change the van into one with latex cushion cover and picked us. We were very delighted with the extra care and service rendered. Well done Damai Beach Resort!

Reviewed September 25, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Rebecca from Malaysia
Family with teens
Hill View Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Short Getaway”

Rooms are good, only thing was to consider a shower curtain so that the water wouldn't splash out and wet the whole washroom/toilet floors. Nothing major that I couldn't live with though. Staff were friendly, overall it's a great short getaway from the hustle of the city.

Reviewed August 10, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
ManasKumar from Malaysia
Couple
King Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Friendly StaffUnder an able Manager”

I had some minor problem with room key .As soon as I reported the Manager personally attended people and apologize for this issue. Matter did not end there . He invited us for Dinner . The hotel rooms are big,clean . I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and relative . Amazing hospitality .

Reviewed July 23, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Alif from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Hill View
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Beautiful gateway”

I spend one night with family with 3 rooms. We had a great hari raya gateway at Damai. The kids loved the pool as well as the beach. Pleasent breakfast with local dish. Thank you Agoda for the promotion price on the rooms and made online booking very comfortable. Highly recommend to other travellers couples or with young kids. You will definitely love Damai Beach Resort as we do. Surely will visit more often.

Reviewed June 24, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Alif from Malaysia
Family with young children
Hill View Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

wonderful experinces”

I stayed one night at west hill wing with my family. During our stay the whether was marvelous through out the day. Upon check- in, they requested a deposit of RM100.00, do prepare it. There were also van shuttle service that will sent you near to the room. The lobby area was lively with nice local deco. Our daughters enjoyed playing in the pool as well as at the beach. The room are spacious and comfortable with a balcony. Really relaxing at night while chit-chat when it was raining. Overall we had a wonderful experinces and stay at Damai Resort. Thank you so much Agoda for making this stay a pleasant one as its provide cheaper room rate with promotion coupon via online booking. Highly recommended booking through Agoda and for those who love to stay in a resort do choose Damai Resort. Surely we will come again.

Reviewed May 31, 2018
6.8
Good
Kelvin from Malaysia
Couple
King Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Toilet Overview ”

Toilet should be the priority need to be improve in term of sanitary and bath tub as well. Bed room (Interior wallpaper) should change due to the climate changes, it caused the wallpaper form those greenish. It’s clean but entire for stars wil be nt tat pretty much.

Reviewed May 02, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Tiong from Malaysia
Couple
King Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Excellent”

Nice and clean room, the air con is very cold and cannot be control.

Reviewed May 15, 2019
7.6
Very good
Phua from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

A Beach Gateaway near to Kuching Town”

The best beach resort available about 1 hour away from Kuching

Reviewed April 29, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Alicia from Malaysia
Group
Superior King
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

CNY staycation”

Despite the usual big crowd during CNY, the food choices and the services by staff were good. Only downside is the facilities within the rooms (I stayed in the room facing the poolside) were a bit old and faulty. If they can try to maintain the standard of their facilities as much as the services they provided, I'm sure to give higher marks! This was my second year bringing my parents here, I really don't mind making this an annual affair!

Reviewed February 11, 2019
6.4
Good
Thony from Malaysia
Family with young children
Hilltop - Bidayuh Baruk Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Damai is peace”

We stay in Baruk cottage, Room are beautiful but need maintanence, looks old. Up there pretty quite & good for honeymoon couple. Breakfast all same menu every day, so a bit boring. But, good eating outlet, seafood restaurant just 7km away.. so recommended to bring or rent a car if bringing your family. Staff overall are friendly especially the shutlle drivers. Pool staff up there a bit off standart for this kind of resort. He dont understand the diffrent between cotton shirt and polyester shirt. Also they smoke at the counter. All that maybe because lack of supervision by their superior. Rather than that, my 3 night staying was pretty good.

Reviewed February 06, 2019
5.6
Paul from Malaysia
Family with teens
Hill View Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Aging”

Great break away place for Kuchingites because there isn't any as good location as this one. However, the staff mentality (very lay back) doesn't have the capacity to cater for holiday season crowd. Facilities are there but accessories are not enough especially pool side towels.

Reviewed February 01, 2019
6.0
Daniel from Singapore
Couple
King Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Ill maintained”

Overall the location is good but... Hotel belongs to the 80s not event updated. Hill top rooms inaccessible except by shuttle, the stairway has been closed off. Rooms are totally run down, the bed is all stiff from many years of service, the lovely picture above the bed is missing except it's frame. There is an iron burn mark in the middle of the room, the thermostat for air-conditioning is not working so was warm all night! Worst of all, the toilet fixtures belongs to the last millinium and there was no toothbrush even in the room! Not international standard resort. Please don't come here unless you wish to be totally disappointed. I beg those who read this review to reconsider this resort.

Reviewed December 22, 2018
6.4
Good
Shean from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Good”

Rooms look tired but it’s location by the beach made a nice relaxed staycation. Improvements can be made in terms of cleanliness and wifi connections. Staff service and Buffet breakfast are superb awesome

Reviewed December 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Lanz from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Very nice place to have a rest togetherwith family. The children loves the pools and also the beach.”

Some of the room needs maintenance e.g shower piping and entrance door lock. We have stayed here for 5 days and cx in 2 different rooms. Needs to make up more varieties on the breakfast menu. Not much choices. Always the same thing.

Reviewed December 20, 2018
6.4
Good
Lay from Malaysia
Family with young children
Hill View Double Bed Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Moderate rating ”

I like the room. The room is pretty big. However it didn’t look clean. Hotel check-in took me 1 hour plus. Said will call me when the room is ready but none. So I went to the counter and the room was ready! Kinda disappointed with their service but probably because the staff are busy with other things. Went to ‘Kid Village’ (one of the facility) but it was locked. Waited like 10 mins for staff to open it. Once he opened it, he just left without turn on and explaining anything. The sea view is really nice. I like the place. Just that the staff service wasn’t so satisfied.

Reviewed December 19, 2018
7.2
Very good
Meei from Singapore
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Decent Stay, Nice view!”

Stayed during early June. .. The Hotel is rather old being the first to be built at Damai. However those located at the Hills were newer. We had taken a poolside room at first on the ground level but was given an upgrade later at the Hillside. We'd wanted to change rooms and there was none available at the poolside. The hillside rooms were quiet, had a nice balcony with a lovely view of the sea. The buggy that takes us there (and back to reception) was prompt and came on call so there was no need to worry that you will have to wait long. Our rooms were located near the lovely cliff top pool. The pool get crowded during the holiday season and if you want peace and quiet, stay a little further away from the pool. Overall the hotel is good for our 2 nights' stay. The staff is courteous, accomodating and can speak good English. I would recommend this hotel but would avoid the holiday season for future stay.

Reviewed December 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Harpreet from Malaysia
Couple
King Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Perfect place to relax BUT...”

I booked a shalet just for one night after a stressful day to get some rest and peace of mind. This resort was perfect untill a group of about 10 in a family who came from Damai central side with lots of containers of food and the children was screaming and was using the water tap outside my door. My morning was spoilt then. Well it’s a nice place if you’re here to with children and you like it loud. But if you’re here to have some peaceful time, please at least do not get the chalet.

Reviewed November 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Debbie from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

good stay”

peacefull

Reviewed April 23, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
NOR from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

PLEASANT STAY”

Our room at the hill top, but there is shuttle bus available 24 hrs.

Reviewed March 30, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Dk from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Holiday with family”

Nice beach Nice room

Reviewed March 26, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Dedy from Indonesia
Family with young children
King Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Nice Place”

Nice, Good. And So comfortable

Reviewed March 03, 2019
8.0
Excellent
ZhenHan from Singapore
Family with young children
Chalet Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Peaceful and nice sea view chalet ”

Thought a bit aged for the property but still acceptable for the price + comes with buffet breakfast, great staffs

Reviewed March 03, 2019
8.0
Excellent
ZhenHan from Singapore
Family with young children
Chalet Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Peaceful and quiet environment”

The chalet was nice, by the sea, value for money

Reviewed March 03, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Yi from Malaysia
Group
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Decent place for a getaway”

the classic resort in kuching. Almost everyone in kuching has been here at least once. Iconic

Reviewed March 01, 2019
8.0
Excellent
weitse from Taiwan
Couple
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Nice beach with beautiful Sunset”

Always relaxing and love to visit here. Breakfast quality is getting better and better now, more choice. However, i have one suggestion, can you guys ask the restaurant to clean the eggs before serving on table? Because the half boiled eggs i ordered is full of chicken manure.

Reviewed May 22, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Pamela from Malaysia
Couple
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Good but some facilities need to upgrade”

Stay was pleasant enough with nice view but the plumbing system should be updated because the tubs are constantly clogged as well as the toilet. The water drains very slowly and the water pressure was very small as well as lack of hot water. The pillows were a tad too hard for us but bed was comfortable enough

Reviewed May 19, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Gary from Malaysia
Couple
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Overall good ”

Pros: - Warm welcome by the staff with beautiful towel decoration on bed. -Hotel provided fruit platter & gave us a seaview room as per Request. Thank you for making our honeymoon happy & memorable. -Room is spacious and very clean. They even provide broom for us customer to do a bit of cleaning. -Overall, we are very happy with the service. Cons: -Less parking space within the vicinity of the hotel. One of the night parking attendant is very rude & unfriendly when we ask for assistant.

Reviewed May 14, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Zuraini from Singapore
Couple
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

A good place for relaxation”

Would be good if there is shuttle provided to&fro to Damai Central. I was staying at the seafront chalet and notice that public can easily access to resort premises via the beaches near to the escobar. Would be good if there is a restriction for public access through the beaches.

Reviewed May 01, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
CLARA from Malaysia
Family with young children
Hilltop - Bidayuh Baruk Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Good service ”

Resort(baruk) is quite nice but need to use shuttle van to drop by to lobby. Not near the beach, but you can enjoy the ocean view and top swimming pool. We are family 5 persons and we don't have enough bath gel and shampoo, I call room service and they send to us within 5 minutes. Only a bit weird that at night my dad said there was a person grab his hand and he was very sure was not a dream and he shouted but we didn't heard. And I used the toilet a night the toilet light will shine and dim ,a very weird feeling, but in the morning was ok

Reviewed May 01, 2018
8.0
Excellent
senthil from Malaysia
Couple
King Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Mesmerising view”

The hotel is located about 30 to 40 minutes from the main city. The captivating point of this hotel is the view. The rooms are isolated from the lobby. You need to call them to fetch you which could be fast or slow depending on the demand. The staff are friendly. Breakfast food reasonable. Plan the trip to stay here with the cultural village. It is walking distance from the hotel.

Reviewed April 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Jodi from Singapore
Family with young children
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

As described”

This place was ok--not a ton of character. We stayed in a double chalet room, which worked out great for us and our two kiddos. My kids love pools and they were perfect for them--hilltop pool has gorgeous views. Location is good, breakfast was good, food was ok for dinner. Overall we had a really good experience, but it feels a bit sterile. We walked from the resort to do the Mt Santubong waterfall hike--that was amazing. They say it's a 20 minute hike, but it took us 45 min with a 5 and 7 year old. Swimming at the waterfall was an unforgettable experience.

Reviewed April 09, 2018
8.4
Excellent
JOS from Netherlands
Couple
Hilltop - Bidayuh Baruk Suite
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

A nice hideaway ”

Front desk service very nice and efficient. Staff very friendly. Room was very nice . Bathroom had all the amenities one needs. Breakfast quite extensive. Lots of nice dishes . Waiting for shuttle to take you to your room, took very long . That was the only negative we can think off . However we will definitely return to this little hideaway.

Reviewed February 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jasmine from Malaysia
Couple
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Excellent & calm stay”

Overall services & facilities are good.However,our chalet room had a little bit sand on its floor.Please also improve on fishing activity facilities,maybe should consider to build a designated area for fishing enthusiasts.tq

Reviewed December 30, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Terry from Malaysia
Family with young children
Hilltop - Bidayuh Baruk Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

nice place to stay”

the Barok suit is old. very old and desperately in need of refurbishment. however if you want a nice place to stay with privacy, the suite is it. damai SHOULD stop guest from "below" coming "up" to use the swimming pool because those guests will use the transfer van and wet the seats causing inconvience to guest staying "at the top". Wouldn't it be better if those staying " below" use ONLY the swimming pool "below" and those at "top" use swimming pool at the "top" . Damai may save a lot of money not transfer people up and down the mountain unnecessarily.

Reviewed December 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
SHAU from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Hill View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Very good”

A great getaway destination for families with young children as well as adults groups alike. Situated only 45 mins away from Kuching city centre, makes it an easy drive by visitors. Great breakfast.. good facilities... Overall it is a great short getaway destination 😊

Reviewed July 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Yong from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Nice stay for family activities”

It was a nice place to stay in damai beach resort. My kids and parents was so enjoying. I stay beside the pool, pool was ok, there is a life guard there. There is pool for kids and adults too. The beach was pretty as well. There is also a kids play room where my kids enjoy playing there but it need some improvement as there is no lights and air condition. The breakfast was awesome. It was too bad that i miss out the egg station where you can get omellete and some local laksa. Overall, they stay worth the money.

Reviewed April 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
YAP from Malaysia
Family with teens
Hilltop - Bidayuh Baruk Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Nice place for break and relax ”

Initial book two queen room baruk room as stated at agoda but finally get 1 king room. However, the staff had prepared one single extra bed as replacement. Therefore, your admin side must indicate the related inf clearly before booking had comfirmed. Thank

Reviewed March 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
FARIDAH from Malaysia
Family with young children
King Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Satisfied”

Pros: Staffs are friendly as they entertained us to change our room from hilltop to room with pool-view, room are spacious and clean, breakfast foods are delicious, clean swimming pool with a life guard and playground for kids, walking distance to beach, beautiful scenery from hilltop, also another swimming pool at hilltop. Cons: Room at hilltop is a little bit scary if you come here when it is not a school holiday, you cannot park your car near your room if you choose hilltop room as you have to take hotel's shuttle van to go to your room from lobby.

Reviewed February 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Ying from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2016

Great, would stay here again”

Close to the beach, limited eateries nearby but not a problem. Whole place was very calm and windy, also felt secure within the hotel compound. The resort was a little aged and the light from the air-cond was really bright, but other than that this is a great getaway choice.

Reviewed December 25, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Tan from Singapore
Couple
Standard Hill View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Relax, comfortable away from town”

Is about an hour drive from airport if u know the way. Nice place to relax away from the busy city town. Too many outsider during weekend as resort open to public. If resort can keep it facilities to guest only will be good. Guest can than really enjoy the relax enviroment n facilities offer in the resort with no hassle.

Reviewed December 08, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Tan from Singapore
Couple
Standard Hill View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Value for money. Place to relax.”

Good is the away from town and city. Breakfast variety sufficient and with good, nice and pleasant hotel staff. Getting to Damai is easy. Although it takes about an hour from airport but worth the stay. Not my first time and it will not be the last as well. Staff are friendly and courteous. Prepare to drive if you intend to stay at Damai Beach Resort.

Reviewed December 05, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Siang from Malaysia
Family with teens
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

seen like they did renovation in 2016!”

the big surprise is... The room is amazing and NEW! friendly staffs make persistent efforts what I dislike is stone on the beach, too much shrape stone, that was definetily hurt when u swim in the sea,

Reviewed November 02, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Josephine from Malaysia
Family with teens
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in October 2016

Charging for the use for extra pillow ?”

Overall a place I will always go & rewind myself. Love the room except that i am not satisfied with the asking for extra pillow because the hotel will charge RM10 for each pillow. It doesn't make sense to me. If others don't charge, why do you need to do that ? The drivers are friendly, reception staff also friendly but the house keeping staff are really working too hard.

Reviewed October 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Christina from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

None”

Need to improve rooms . Car park no enough to during holiday. Security need to improve because that day early morning got someone (Indonesia) come in our rooms(chalet type) w/o ask our permit. She say wan to change clothes in our rooms ((faint)) maybe she thought our room is "public toilet " some more she are not guess in house!!!!

Reviewed July 13, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Josephine from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Balcony room booked but was given pool side room instead ??”

Was told that all balcony rooms given to one Church (decline to give the name) members since they want to stay close to each other ? However, have they thought of others ? Workers should be more firm to avoid long queue of people waiting at the reception.

Reviewed July 08, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Audrey from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2016

Double bed”

Was confused when the staff told us the term 'double bed' means a king size bed instead of double queen beds. As we travelled in 4, we had to separate the bed in order to sleep. Apart from that, overall was very nice. Friendly staff, nice facilities and relaxing environment.

Reviewed May 30, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Alice from Malaysia
Family with teens
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016

Spacious Rooms ”

Room booked was Spacious with two double beds. Decor was a bit aged. Splendid views of the Chalets and the Sea and surroundings. Courteous and professional front-desk officers. Breakfast spread serves local and continental dishes.

Reviewed May 07, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Annie from Malaysia
Couple
King Chalet
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Memorable stay”

Ambiance, facility & beautiful sunset

We stayed in a beachfront chalet. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable enough. Food from the room service menu were promptly delivered and delicious. The resort can improve on refurbish common areas such as the function rooms & restaurant.

Reviewed July 16, 2015
8.3
Excellent
RONALD from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

The best place to spend weekend with family.”

Value for money, location and scenery.

The hilltop swimming pool was so nice with beautiful view facing the South China Sea and Santubong Mountain. The hotel room was spacious and fine. The negative side was the Internet coverage, it so be provided free widely to the whole hotel room as complimentary.

Reviewed May 03, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Teh from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014

Wonderful stay with family”

Locality, Facilities & Services

We had a memorable stay at this resort, really enjoyed the pool and the beach. The hill top pool is a must visit place, excellent view. No problem getting food as the Damai Central (food court) is just few steps from the resort. Staffs were very helpful. Ideal place for a short getaway. Will certainly return in future.

Reviewed November 13, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Yee from Malaysia
Family with teens
King Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

Family's old time favourite place to be”

huge room, great view

Damai beach resort is our family's favourite place to spend the holiday since young but we haven't been here ever since I left hometown to study abroad. We got the room by the hillside. Room is huge and we have the entire view of the ocean.

Reviewed November 10, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Gael from France
Group
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

Large Comfortable rooms, quiet surrounding.”

The rooms, quiet surroundings & great for a relaxing break away from the city.

It was sincerely a wonderful trip. The staff was friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. We were in the beach view chalet, and the rooms were very large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet has a large variety of food, but dont expect the best quality out there. Unfortunately, the pool was closed for renovation, but we went during the monsoon period - so swimming wouldnt have been an option as it rained most of the time. Room service was good, albeit a bit slow.

Reviewed January 13, 2014
8.3
Excellent
chin from Singapore
Couple
Standard Balcony Double
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

excllent. will definately go back again”

staff are helpful and friendly. walking distance to surrounding beaches

Due to the raining season and renovation, there is quite a lot of mosquitoes. Sadly there is no covered shelter or transport from my hotel block to the main lobby however the hotel do provide raincoat. The staff speak are friendly and helpful and the hotel do provide shutter services to different location.

Reviewed January 06, 2014