Book Now: Danau Toba Hotel International

Danau Toba Hotel International Reviews

Very good
From 532 reviewsSee what guests said
7.0

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (532)
7.0
Very good
From 532 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.7
Facilities6.7
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality7.0
Service6.9
Value for money7.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Bahasa Indonesia
Bahasa Malaysia
Deutsch
more
Room type
Deluxe Suite
Superior
Deluxe
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 497 verified guest comments
5.0
zainuddin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Food very bad. Ventation fan does not functioning”
Spaces rooms, good night activities & good publisiti aminities
So so
Reviewed March 06, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Teng from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
great stay”
staff environment lobby
Reviewed February 04, 2016
3.6
Ice from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
Service so bad”
They didnt know how to check in prosedure from agoda. So slow and wait until so long for check in. Bad education for the staff.
Reviewed January 30, 2016
6.8
Good
Siti from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
The location was great”
Very accessible and cozy room
Reviewed January 28, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Mike from Australia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in January 2016
shilvock”
bagus
Reviewed January 27, 2016
5.6
pierre from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Disappointing”
Thé roms are very dark, and everything is old. Most of the electrical outlet do not work in the 2 rooms we were in. Internet is pathetic coz we need to go to lobby to use it or stand up in the corridor. The room were not ready and we're done late afternoon. They need new management. House keeping spend part of the day smoking in the stairs
Reviewed January 25, 2016
2.7
CHEE from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Old...Bad and poor in room facilities”
When the 1st day i check into the hotel, i found that the fridge is out of order, so i call up the hotel manager and complain about it, the they change me to the other room, but then i found that the bath room long bath tap water tap was out of order and the shower head was leaking, then i call to the manager again and asking to change the room, but they only sent a maintenance guy came to my room and check its, the water tap control was loose and cant adjust the water tempreture. But the maintenance guy told me that in Indonesia all the water tap controls are like that, and i still can use it, but the water tempreture is very hot too use for the shower. So i need to use the basin water for my shower for my 3 days stay at Danao Toba. This is the worst experience for me. Hope this issue can be solve ASAP. Thanks
Reviewed January 18, 2016
7.3
Very good
nur from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
nice hotel”
spacious room, nice swimming pool
The room is spacious but bathroom i think need some renovation. My kids loves the swimming pool. Breakfast has not much variaties. Easy to get taxi outside of the hotel. Overall it was a good stay.
Reviewed December 22, 2015
4.7
Jimmy from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
A old property. ”
The staff is very friendly
Reviewed December 22, 2015
5.0
Edwin from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Nice hotel location but very old and poor service.”
The location was great, very accessible, nice swimming pool
It was very disappointing as the service tendered by the receptionist was bad. She refused to give extra room key card even though we were 2 persons sharing the room. Weirdest thing is their bathrooms have more hot water than cold water. The water pressure was excellent when turned towards the hot water, but when you turned to the cold water on the tap, you will just get very low water pressure level. Why i said almost all the rooms, we changed the rooms twice, all the same. Same goes for my other colleagues' rooms.
Reviewed December 18, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
ganeswaran from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
comfortable hotel for our journey”
food, staff performance, rooms comfortable
have been book this hotel for 4 times and had a wonderful stay in this hotel.... will prefer to recommend this hotel to my friends .....
Reviewed November 17, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
MOHD from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
everything very good”
food , interior , friendly staff
everything good
Reviewed October 27, 2015
4.0
Saiful from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Old hotel need renovation”
Locotion.
This hotel must inprove service... and wifi.. .clean of that hotel must take serius..
Reviewed October 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
mohd from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Value for money- 1 stop entertainment ctr”
Girl girls everywhere
Wunderbar
Reviewed October 19, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
GULAM from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
COMFORT STAY”
CLEANLINESS, STAFF COURTESY, COMFORT & GOOD SECURITY
A PLEASANT STAY AND I ENJOYED. FOR SAFETY AND SECURITY STAY I WOULD RECOMMEND DANAU TOBA INTERNATIONAL KEEP UP TO YOUR SANDARD
Reviewed October 16, 2015
7.7
Very good
MANI from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Excellent service ”
Friendly
Reviewed October 15, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
MANI from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
I missed my first booking”
Excellent service
Reviewed October 11, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Syafiq from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Old but Comfortable”
Spacious room, Good location and Nice pool
Good
Reviewed October 09, 2015
6.3
Good
vikneswaran from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
i am dissapointed as 5 star hotel”
location..size room...working people
I feel dissapointed..the food out...
Reviewed September 22, 2015
4.7
idham from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Smelly of smoke/cigarette and durian. Bad mantras”
Location
Disappointed
Reviewed September 20, 2015
4.3
Abdulazeez from India
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Nice location and tourist attraction...really a fu”
Pleasant staff, performed service, nice location
Really too nice, funny, remember able
Reviewed September 18, 2015
8.0
Excellent
SALLEH from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Satisfactorily”
Spacious room, courteous staff, good location
Courteous staff. Clean room except low water pressure and air-cond not so strong. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.
Reviewed September 11, 2015
6.0
Boon from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Overrated 5 star hotel”
Staff and Location Only
The place has got lousy wifi connection which the room is unable to connect to. The lobby is infested with mosquitoes which is something to look into. The hotel is old and definitely needs refurbishment. The only thing good was the staff which were friendly.
Reviewed September 07, 2015
6.7
Good
SANDRAKASON from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
service from good go bad”
only location
WiFi was bad.. Breakfast selection was bad compared to a few years ago
Reviewed September 05, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Ashleigh from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Good hotel but didn't seem to be many tourists”
Has a nice pool, staff are friendly and helpful, good location
It was good. Only some of staff seemed to speak good English
Reviewed August 27, 2015
5.3
Shanti from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Outdated and overrated as 5 star”
Location & room size
After having stayed at Danau Toba Hotel several times over the last couple of years, I have to say that it is overrated as a 5 star hotel. Service and amenities are sufficient for our needs but there are many issues which need to be attended to. On arrival, having to pay (a very small sum of Rp 3,000 but that is not the point)in order for our taxi to be able to drop us at the entrance is just not something that paying guests should have to do. It's an irritation that is not required upon arrival after a long ride from the airport. Also that the taxis that are based at the hotel are just not regulated and try to extort exorbitant fees from unknown guests. Luckily for those in the know, it's just a simple call to Blue Bird services to get a metered taxi to pick up from just outside the gates of the hotel. Still very inconvenient if it's raining. The hotel has a lot of maintenance works to carry out. Many lights are not functioning and plumbing in the bathrooms are generally not great. This last stay, we were allocated a room which had an adjoining room door. Unfortunately, the door was extremely non soundproof and every word spoken next door could be heard. There were a couple of young children and the noise was unbearable so we asked to be moved. This was facilitated which I was happy with until we realised that the air conditioning was not functioning very well and there was a constant smell of cigarette smoke coming through it. On a non-smoking floor? The staff do not seem to enforce the non-smoking rules although there are signs around. Well, I think after this last stay that we will be trying another hotel. We've enjoyed staying at the hotel but in a city full of choices, there must be another better one.
Reviewed August 18, 2015
6.0
Haryono from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Services are downgraded a lot”
The location,front office staffs are friendly and parking space.
coming from a guest who have been coming to this place for yeas,after couple of years we've noticed that many of the services have been downgraded. Swimming pool was the worst part. Water was so green & it wasn't a pleasing thing to see or to even swim in. Towels are no longer being provided too at the swimming pool. The hotel cleanliness is so-so. The restaurant, couldn't even get a decent place to sit without smokers sitting nearby. If Danau Toba rates itself as a five star hotel,I'd say that this one is a three star. Maybe even less.
Reviewed August 18, 2015
6.0
Ron from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Disappointing”
Swimming pool, garden, location
We stayed two days. When checking in, the staff were initially unfriendly and wanted to require a bunch of extra information, appearing hopeful we would not have it. Maybe they were having a bad day. Day two, people were friendly and helpful. Food was very Indonesian, not a lot of variety and very spicy (we have sensitive stomachs). The menu was expensive and food we ordered not high quality. The room was nothing special, the whole hotel seemed older and seeing it's wear. We were really disappointed when going out to get a taxi, the option was the hotel taxi (at least they had the hotel name). The cost was 2x the normal rate and not negotiable. fortunately, we knew well enough to find the other taxis on the street and normal price. The Aryaduta and Grand Serela hare much better deals, much better quality and staff always friendly.
Reviewed August 16, 2015
6.0
santhirakumar from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
room review”
Easy excess, taxi facilities 24hr kitchen service
Room are not as per expertation comparing to the amout paid, bathroom poor maintenance
Reviewed August 11, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Ajay from India
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
This Hotel is in good Location ”
Rooms , Location Staff
It was Great , Good Food , All the facilities are good , I enjoyed a lot would like to stay again in this Hotel
Reviewed August 04, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
john from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
A very pleasant hotel, nice large rooms”
quality of rooms, ambience in foyer and cafe, location-walk to Sun Plaza and top restaurants
As usual, lovely big rooms and a good feel about the place. Possibly closer to 4 stars than 5, but excellent value. Great resort-style pool for kids. Evening meal in the cafe was good, but breakfast was plain, and a little limited in choice. Overall, though, strongly recommended.
Reviewed July 21, 2015
6.0
fazli from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Not so bad”
Close to city
Reviewed July 03, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Vickneswaran from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Awesome location”
good breakfast, clean and strategic location
Reviewed June 14, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Johari from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
spacious room, nice pool”
swimming pool, big room
Reviewed June 03, 2015
8.0
Excellent
mahusin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
value for money”
rooms..service..facilities
Nice and good
Reviewed May 17, 2015
7.7
Very good
Muhammad from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Nice hotel”
Location, food n swimming pool
Good
Reviewed May 16, 2015
5.0
Lek from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
Basic hotel”
Booked 4 nights but stayed 2. Inconvenient location. Facilities need upgrading. Rooms were too dark and replaced lights won't stay switched on.
Reviewed May 08, 2015
8.0
Excellent
manoharan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
a stay away from home”
friendly staff and recognise you. roomservice is good
a pleasant place to relax with family. you have privacy too.
Reviewed May 07, 2015
6.0
Nurashid from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Danau Toba Hotel International overrated”
1. just the Location
The front office crew member overall ok but they need to improve their communication skill. The room rated was not at the par as per displayed on the website. Since the booking was made via online (agoda) the services and amenities was cut in order to maximize their cost. The promotion really mislead the travelers.
Reviewed May 03, 2015
6.3
Good
Eugene from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Last Stay”
Location, Entertainment , Friendly staff
Checked in on the 24.April.15 paid for a Delux room, the Air condition system was not able to cool the room with the Minimum settings, room was very hot. Called reception first call nothing was done, Second call after 1 hours I was told they will check, I refused to accept as I had been waiting for about 1 hour, they Changed my room with a better air conditioning system
Reviewed April 27, 2015
6.7
Good
yasri from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
low std for customer services, bed dedicated cab ”
nice pool and easy access location
3 Nights
Reviewed April 26, 2015
6.3
Good
jasmeet from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Stay at Danau Toba Hotel”
Nightlife, staff and pool
Enjoyed our stay here. No disturbance, no interference. Staff is friendly
Reviewed April 14, 2015
6.7
Good
Norman from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
Good value clean comfortable hotel”
Spacious rooms. Good value. Nice pool and garden area are an attraction for guests with families.
The room was clean and very spacious but needs attention to malfunctioning lights and a loose/unsecured electrical socket for the tea kettle. Some tea and coffee refreshments are provided but the room fridge is unstocked. The dining experience was not good. Apart from eggs which are freshly cooked to order the buffet breakfast is allowed to go cold. Dinner is a challenge because of the large number of mosquitoes that appear in the dining room on an evening.
Reviewed April 04, 2015
3.3
narayanan from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
this is not as 5 star hotel”
worst for the money and not a 5 star range. 3 worst thing about this hotel -breakfast out/ shower very slow /spa tottaly out -bad service
Reviewed April 02, 2015
6.0
Eric from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Need a lot of improvement,fridge and lights malfun”
nothing
Ok
Reviewed April 01, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
abdul from Singapore
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Best hotel for family”
swimming pool. ...food and room
Satisfied
Reviewed February 19, 2015
5.7
Mohd from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Upgrading is required”
Could not give much positive comment
Reviewed February 01, 2015
2.3
Kathlyn from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in January 2015
Bad, Bad hotel”
The worst hotel stay in our lives. Staff were working hand in hand with scammers to rip off white visitors. Concierge and reception staff pretended not to speak English and welcomed scammers into hotel and told them which gusts to target. Food in restaurant was horrible and room service even worse.
Reviewed January 15, 2015
8.0
Excellent
ganeswaran from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
good, clean”
good, clean, worth for money
rooms comfortable, friendly staff, convenience for our routing
Reviewed January 05, 2015
4.7
Mark from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Overrated hotel-Stumpy Service and facilities”
none
my stay was below my expectations; 1.Service-below average, staff are unhappy 2.Room/facilities-aged, obsolete, untidy- after making up my room the amenities are not replenish (tissue, shower gel, shampoo, coffee , creamer, sachet, teaspoon, the bath towel are ragged and smelly. 3.Location-far from airport, near to shopping malls 4.buffet breakfast- 1st day egg day! all kind of menu are egg, 2nd day fried day! all kind of menu are fried. 3rd day went out to find better place to eat.
Reviewed January 02, 2015