180 meters to public transportation
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
|Value for money||7.5|
|Distance to city center||0.5 Km|
|Nearest airport||Budapest Ferenc Liszt International Airport (BUD) - Hungary|
|Distance to airport||16.7 km|
"Very convenient location facing the Liberty Bridge."
November 27, 2018
"The breakfast is good, usual self service spread."
June 13, 2018
"The building is gorgeous and has a classic style."
November 27, 2018
"The spa is a big selling point, very relaxing and you can wa..."
July 30, 2017
Conveniently situated close to the city center, this hotel is hugely popular with international guests thanks to its ideal location and great service. Danubius Hotel Gellert features comfortable guestrooms and suites with elegant furniture, large bathrooms, and modern amenities. Guests are able to enjoy Wi-Fi without an extra charge in the public areas including the restaurant and lobby. The Danubius Hotel Gellert is located in the commercial area of the city and is just a short drive away from popular tourist destinations such as shopping malls and many of the city's most famous bridges. There is also a comprehensive business center with meeting rooms and conference halls, and the hotel also houses a large swimming pool which is ideal for a refreshing early morning dip.
"A free entrance to the Gellert spa was included as well as b..."
February 1, 2018
Children and extra beds
Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.
All children are welcome.
|Guest's age||Extra bed|
Infant 0-2 year(s)
Stay for free if using existing bedding.
Baby cot/crib available upon request
Children 3-11 year(s)
Must use an extra bed
If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
Guests 12 years and older are considered as adults
Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
Danubius Hotel Gellert
01. Castle District - Budavár
01. Castle District - Budavár
Super city break”
We stayed her for 4 nights and would without doubt stay again despite the hotel decor being a little bit tired now. It is in an excellent position for sight seeing and most attractions are within walking distance from it. Lovely staff and breakfast buffet is excellent!
Dear Traveller, Thank you very much for your frank review. We are showing our age, but the ambiance is still there to capture. Its is the best comment for us when a dear guest says that they are willing to come back again to our hotel. Thank you for praising the Gellert’s location, the lovely staff and the excellent breakfast. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Lajos IMRE Front Office Manager
An aging Beauty overlooking the mighty Danube”
Grand design with old world charm interior. Please do not renovate it! Leave it as it is! Convenient location - Easy to get around by public transport. Just walk or ride to the other side of the river and you find yourself in the heart of the city with the Central Market at the end of the bridge and Vaci Street. Convenient facilities - Just walk to the spa in your bathrobe. You don't have to leave the building for the most elegant spa experience. Beautiful stain glass and mosaic tiles. Some of the staff have been working there for over 20 years but still can crack a smile or a joke with you and help wherever they can. As it is a spa hotel we would recommend more healthy options for breakfast and better coffee. But what a way to have breakfast in the elegant breakfast room and/or on the terrace overlooking the Danube with the Liberty Bridge. No better place to start your stay in Budapest.
The Economy Single room is small, has no A/C and no fridge. So if you stay more than 1 night in here in summer, it might be a problem. Considering the price which includes one entrance to the Gellert SPA&pool, and good breakfast, it was still value for money.
Too much expectation but old hotel”
Nice location, good atmosphere, great appearance. I was also allocated the highest floor and centre presidential room so that it was supposed to be the best room in this hotel.... but everything was old. I would say this hotel has to be renovated soon. In fact, i could not stand by the lack of cleanness at the bathroom.
Helpful staff especially the front desk and concierge. Nice view”
I requested a room facing the river and it was granted at no additional cost. Front desk personnel was very helpful.
Wonderful Art Deco decadence ”
We absolutely loved our stay at the Gellert. Sadly it was only 3 nights, but we barely left the place during that time! It would be a great base from which to go sightseeing, but we already did 4 days of sightseeing staying in a different hotel so the Gellert was our time to relax. The Gellert Spa really made it feel like being on holiday - indoor thermal pools, steam rooms, sauna, outdoor pools with sun loungers and a bar & restaurant - you can easily spend a whole day there - we did 2 days! The hotel itself does a good breakfast. It also has a cafe, a brasserie/gastropub and a restaurant, all with outdoor terraces and all serving really good food. If you want to spend some time completely relaxing in Budapest then stay at the Gellert. It’s beautiful 😍
Dear Claudine, We appreciate your kind comments on our spa and pools, on our catering possibilities and on the excellent breakfast. It is really good to hear that your stay was excellent. Many thanks for recommending our hotel, will be glad to welcome you back soon!. Kind regards, Mihaly Vasony Guest Relations Manager
Good Value for Price”
The rooms were spacious, though outdated and the mattresses (I stayed in 2 rooms) were lumpy - but they didn't stop me from a great night's sleep. Because the rooms were large and they had great Wi-Fi, amenities like minibar/refrig and robes for the spa, 50% off at the spa with easy access, and served a beautiful breakfast, it was a good value for the price I paid.
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and with the Agoda.com community. Many thanks for your kind comments on your spacious room, great WI-FI and the beautiful breakfast. We were happy to read that your stay was a positive experience for you and were happy to read: value for money was OK! Kind regards, Mihaly Vasony Guest Relations Manager
Good- ish Hotel”
Although this hotel was good it did have it's faults. We had standard rooms and they were very tired very tired indeed. The bathrooms were 60's with shabby fittings and tiles and awful pipework. The bedroom itself was the same with very shabby furniture, carpet and curtains. On the plus side the bed was clean and comfortable the towels were changed daily the shower was hot and so was the room room. The carpets on the corridors were shabby and crumpled up and the corridors themselves were like something out of an asylum all white walls and white doors no pictures or colour anywhere. Again on the plus side there were the most beautiful stained glass windows at the end of each corridor. It needs updating not altering too much because it has great character, beautiful marble floors and walls. And from the outside it looks wonderful,lit up at night in all it's splendour and beautiful architecture. What a waste of a spectacular hotel could very easily be a 5star!!
Dear Susan, First and foremost, we would like to thank you very much for writing down your opinion about our hotel in detail. It filled us with so much happiness that you decided to stay in our charming and historic hotel, we hope that overall you had a pleasant time here. Meanwhile, we want to say sorry for the discomfort you had, but we ask you to understand that we work really hard and do a lot of effort to improve our hotel and to maintain its high standard. It would be so nice of you if you gave us one more chance to prove our professionalsim, we will do our best to win your pleasure. All the best, Zsazsa Abonyi PR Manager
Lovely old world hotel. The first room we were given allowed smoking and although the room did not smell of smoke it was very tired looking. Also there was a movie being shot in the hotel on the way to our room which meant negotiating around all the equipment. We requested a non-smoking room which clearly had been updated and was very nice.
Genuine Hungarian experience”
Stay here if you want to experience local character, architecture and something old. The hotel has a lot of charm. Rooms are a bit of pot luck. Mine had a nice view but it smelt funny and had clearly only just been cleaned as the carpets were wet. So it is a bit of pot luck. My bathroom was dingy, smelt mouldy and the shower head kept falling off, almost breaking my toe. My fellow travellers' room was much nicer, cleaner and bigger. Same price. The staff are kind of helpful but rather abrupt and surly at times but this is the local flavour that doesn't bow down to us annoying tourists. I liked that. We still got what we asked for. The spa is a big selling point, very relaxing and you can walk in from your room in your dressing gown! Breakfast is just ok. The coffee machine constantly broke down but there was enough range in food to have something different each morning. The bar has a disappointing range of evening snacks but the staff are friendlier in there and it's nice to go out to the terrace in the evening. The Patisserie serves excellent coffee, worth skipping the crap at breakfast and paying for one there. It's a nice place to go in the morning to catch the sun and read - even if the baristas seem a bit put upon when you ask for something. Overall this is fairly priced, has amazing views and access to the tram (stop just outside) but if you are looking to feel pampered and spoilt by staff and comforts in your room then you'll need to drop a few more HUF and stay elsewhere. Would stay again.
Nice hotel in good location but a bit old”
Pros: - 1 free access to thermal bath and 50% discount afterwards - really good breakfast with Danube view - next to metro / tram Cons: - old hotel. I saw a bug on the floor - I got room on 5 floor which elevator is up only 4th floor. So need to climb a bit
This hotel is a classic. It needs a little TLC and maitenance and the front desk staff was a bit upity and not all that helpfull. Everyone else at the hotel was fantastic. The breakfast was escellent and overall, I would not hesitate to stay there again.
Historical and beautiful hotel ”
It was such a great pleasure to stay at the Danubius Hotel Gellert at a very reasonable rate, considering that it is one of the most historical and beautiful hotels in Budapest. There are so many great things about this hotel which include free wifi in rooms, a great variety of breakfast, its convenient location next to a metro station Gellert, friendly staff and beautiful art nouveau design and architecture. I would definitely stay again at this hotel if I have a chance to visit Budapest again in the future.
Great location with great facilities”
We had a great stay at the Gellert, the staff is very helpfull, the hotel is marvelous if you dont mind Art Deco style. You get a diret acces to the gellert Bath for free the first time. We had dinner at the nice Brasserie as we were with an infant, but you can have a nice dinner at the restaurant. and there is a nice bar also for long drink after a long day in Budapest as the hotel is in front of the city center accross the Danubius. The room are a bit old but always in the art deco Style. Very nice stay.
Amazing stay at Danubis Gellert Hotel Budapest”
We were very impressed by our stay at Danubis Gellert Hotel this week. The hotel was wonderful and the views from our rooms over the Danube were amazing. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to friends and relatives. We were very impressed that we could stay somewhere so fantastic so cheaply. It was excellent value for money. The highlight of our stay was the trip to the Gellert spa and thermal baths. We felt thoroughly restored after a long day sightseeing round Budapest - you have to go there! Congratulations on such a fantastic hotel.
Staying at St. Gellert”
It was a lucky replacement for the residence which turned out to be overbooked upon my arrival: the it's an old hotel with history, a bit obsolete decor, but well maintained and stuff hospitality is on top standard. Breakfasts are ample and can be served to the room for small surcharge: thoughtfully right up to 11 am. The highlight of hotel is it's wonderfull spa complex- beneficial waters+ grand pool areas, loved exquisite tiling&sundeck terace and it's openair pool with ocean waves! Hotel guests get a free entrance once during the stay. Special thanks to Agoda customer service: for turning the sour start of the journey into remarkable!
All in all my experience was ok, but I have to give a BIG minus for not having free WiFi in the room. I definitely think nowadays that any hotel/restaurant should have free WiFi in their facilities. Internet price is not cheap, especially if you want to connect more than one device. For me this could be one reason for not coming back, as for the rest all was very good.
best value for mone with the natural Spa attached”
As I captured in the summary, it is best for enjoying the natural spa as it is a part of hotel. Although it is rather old and simple room, you have no complaint with the quality of them. Also it is located near the center by tram and bus and you could easily walk over the bridge to get to buda side.
It was the most memorable stay. We had a room on the first floor overlooking Gellert Hill. It's like hotels meant to be. Can't praise it enough. Food is good, service is excellent, you get a free entry to one of the most beautiful bath in the world and a fantastic breakfast.
Ingeniously super people”
In the end my stay was until 2013/02/07 (today) and it was absolutely super. Breakfast was Buffet well spaced, nicly displayed and with perfect tableservice for everything else needed. All working within this Hotel - Lobby, Restaurant, Bar, Roomcleaning were super effective and super gentle and nice and friendly. I did really feel as home as I do within my family.