Book Now: De Naga Hotel Chang Mai

Excellent
From 1576 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
Recommended by 86% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1576)Booking.com Reviews (176)
8.6
Excellent
From 1576 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.8
Facilities7.8
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service8.8
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
Deutsch
more
Room type
Deluxe Room
Premier Deluxe
Grand Deluxe
King Suite
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1476 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Brian from United States
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Perfect location, amazing hotel and amazing service ”
Best possible location in Chiang Mai. Staff was incredible. Rooms were incredible. Would stay there again 100 times out of the next 100 visits !
Reviewed January 24, 2018
Thank you very much for your review and looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Responded January 26, 2018
De Naga Hotel Chang Mai
6.8
Good
Tae from Thailand
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Location good, charming look, just not a value minded hotel”
Pros: - Near Taphae gate, centrally located near tourist attractions - Charming looking property, driveway has canopy of bamboo trees creating a tunnel-like structure - Breakfast was better than average - Some female staff super hot looking, work uniform shows bare mid-drift, your wife or girlfriend will notice even if you don't Cons: Just expensive for what you get, not really value minded and really it's not priced that way
Reviewed January 22, 2018
2.0
Trevor from United States
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Great Place”
We loved staying at DeNaga. It’s a beautiful sanctuary in the middle of Chiang Mai. Great location for walking markets, the airport and activities. The hotel decor embraces the culture of the area. It has beautiful touches throughout and helps you feel like you’re a part of Chiang Mai while you stay there. The staff was always helpful, the gym was great and they had amazing breakfast with lots of variety no matter where you’re from (i.e. American, European, Thai and Chinese).
Reviewed January 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Emily from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Beautiful Hotel, Great Location”
So beautiful and perfect location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Very happy with everything. Pool was kind of small but so nice and pretty.
Reviewed January 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mariana from Brazil
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Localization is good, breakfast perfect and the service 100%.”
The atmosphere in the hotel is really nice! There is water and nespresso in the room for welcome and at the check-in a welcome tea. I recommend that Hotel. Nearby the places in the old city neighborhood
Reviewed January 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Aurelio from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Quiet Elegance tucked away from the hustle and bustle”
I booked this hotel sight unseen and was delighted by how great it was! It's hard to find from the road because it's tucked away down a tree lined drive way. But this is one of it's wonderful features! It's just a few steps away from everything the Old City has to offer (literary... about 20 paces down a drive way)... but yet, sort of hidden and very quiet. The whole place is furnished in dark wood with earthy colors giving it a traditional Thai meets an elegant upscale feel. My room was large and had a soaking tub (not all of the rooms do apparently.) The lobby is adorned with beautiful thai sculptures and paintings. The pool is small but quiet and a great place to read and relax. I found the staff to be extremely accommodating. It was the perfect escape; quiet, spotless... and yet seconds away from all of the bars and temples of Chiang Mai Old city.
Reviewed January 04, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Kathryn from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Charming hotel in a great location”
Staff were superb. Very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were large and well set up around a central courtyard. Right on the edge of the old town with most places easily walkable. We really enjoyed our stay. Oddly nothing in the minibar except water, which would have been fine except Chiang Mai follows strict licensing laws with no alcohol sold between 2-5pm or after midnight. The hotel also follows a green policy on sheets (gives option to request a change). What they didn’t make clear Is the similar policy on towels. We had the same towels for 3 days we stayed. Not normally a problem but with an internal bathroom they didn’t dry well. Also note that the electricity seems to go off completely when key removed, so nothing charges while out of the room.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Rominder from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Good location, boutique hotel ”
Boutique hotel. Little dated but considering the price and location, the place Is worth staying.
Reviewed January 01, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Julia from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Great location!”
Loved our stay at De Naga hotel! Perfect location. Easy walk to he night bazaar, the temples inside old city, and the Sunday night market. Great restaurants and other food options nearby. Staff was helpful and kind. Clean and comfortable room. Would def stay here again the next time we’re in Chiang Mai!
Reviewed December 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michal from Czech Republic
Solo traveler
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Outstanding experience!”
I cannot say bad thing about this hotel. Perfect services, beautiful design, great breakfast. Upon my arrival they even upgraded my room because the hotel was not full. Location is just perfect in the old town.
Reviewed December 19, 2017
7.2
Very good
michelle from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
This place is ok. Not worth the money though”
Although this hotel is clean, I would not stay here again. It is too expensive for what you get. It includes a buffet breakfast which was nice, but for Thailand, this was way too expensive
Reviewed December 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Ellen from United States
Family with teens
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Great hotel!”
This was a very nice hotel in a good location. We enjoyed our stay very much. They even made me a birthday cake and I didn't even tell them it was my birthday! Such a nice touch. Thank you for making our stay a memorable one!
Reviewed December 14, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Erin from United States
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Authentic Thai Hotel”
I loved this hotel, the detail was awesome! and it was low key. The breakfast was delicious every morning. I felt the location was central to things we wanted to do. the staff was super friendly and very helpful! Our safe broke at one point, and they spent some time trying to open it up. the rooms were clean, the shower was great! i'd definitely stay here again!
Reviewed December 08, 2017
4.0
Bruce from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Not worth 1/2 the price”
This hotel had nice charm, until you interact with the staff. They had no non-down/feather pillows or blankets (except a few throw blankets) and would give me a few extra bedsheets to use as a blanket. When we left the first day, the cleaning crew came in and cleaned and took the dirty towels but did not replace them! Returning hot and ready for a shower my Thai speaking girlfriend called the front desk for towels. They sent the cleaning crew 10 min later, and she didn’t even have towels, it took another 5 min to get them. I am checking out early to a hotel I can relax in! Don’t waste your money
Reviewed December 06, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Steven from United States
Couple
Deluxe Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Non Smoking Hotel, but don’t arrive late”
We arrived to the hotel after 7 PM Hotel time. By that time there were only two rooms left unoccupied, one had the smoking section right across from the room door on the third floor, the other had twin beds. They offered to move us the next morning, but by that time we had already unpacked, so we declined since we were only staying 3 nights.
Reviewed November 27, 2017
6.8
Good
Caroline from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Over priced hotel, but very well located ”
The hotel is perfectly located in the old town, nice restaurants and coffee around, and it is in a quiet street. However, it is over priced given the quality of the room : the bathroom should be renovated, it is not well maintained, there were some broken part in the shower and rusted pieces. The decoration in the common area of the hotel is nice but nothing fancy at all in the room (at least the Deluxe room we rented), the photos look nicer than reality
Reviewed November 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Barrie from United Kingdom
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Excellent location, beautifully furnished spacious rooms”
The Attractive entrance stylishly furnished was a clue to the rest of the hotel including our room, which was spacious, comfortable and well equipped (including a Nespresso machine which we like). The room was quiet, we slept well and the bathroom was big and airy with both bath and shower. Breakfasts in the Bistro were good and th e Bistro staff were friendly and gave excellent service. Some of the facilities, including the restaurant were being refurbished but this did not affect our stay. Everything in the old city is within walking distance. Recommended.
Reviewed November 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Richard
Group
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017
Patty”
Located near everything. If you don't want to walk, take a took-took for about 150 bahts to markets. Staff is exceptionally attentive. Just a few inconveniences - the pool is cold and the elevators are a bit out of the way (there are quite a few steps to get up to the first floor where registration desk is located.
Reviewed November 08, 2017
Thank you very much for the very positive review.
Responded January 26, 2018
De Naga Hotel Chang Mai
8.4
Excellent
Florance from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Excellent”
Staffs are very helpful, but would suggest to use grab to the airport. Some rooms can be dark as its facing another building.
Reviewed November 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Julie from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Beautiful boutique hotel with the best staff!”
The staff at De Naga made my three day stay in Chang Mai a real treat. From the moment I saw the Lanna style architecture and exotic beauty of this boutique hotel I knew I was going to experience true Thai culture. A warm welcome, upgraded quiet room, complementary 10 minute massage and fantastic walking location made this my personal favorite hotel in the world. The staff looks after your every need and welcomes you home at the end of the day like family. I was in enchanted by the beauty of the hotel but treasured the warmth of the staff, thank you Gig and all the staff for making my visit so very special! Julie Mercer, Santa Barbara California, USA
Reviewed October 20, 2017
7.6
Very good
Pattira from Belgium
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017
Nice place and beautiful decoration ”
We went to De Naga Hotel in middle of August 2017. We were happy with their service and the place was very nice. Definitely recommend ! RSM Brussels / Facebook :)
Reviewed August 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Christopher from United States
Group
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Exceptional”
perfect location to walk around the old city. they suggested and booked day trips for us. very nice staff and always ready/willing to help. Highly recommend this place if you want to explore the old city.
Reviewed August 04, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Christopher from United States
Group
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Perfect location and staff”
perfect location to see the old city. walked to pretty much everything. hotel staff were great. they suggested multiple day trips (of the same type so they weren't getting kickbacks) and even booked them for us. most of the group had never been to Asia before so this was a nice comfortable place for all.
Reviewed August 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
I quite like this hotel”
Great breakfast, friendly staff, very safe. They even stored my suitcase in a safe place while I went on a overnight tour in northern Thailand
Reviewed June 05, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Never fails to satisfy”
Great staff, excellent location. I've used this hotel for years.
Reviewed June 05, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Christopher from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
King Suite
Stayed 5 nights in April 2017
Wonderful staff”
A well-appointed hotel with traditional decor and a small pool. Staff were outstanding: super-friendly and accommodating, and were very helpful in arranging excursions and drivers. I also appreciated being able to check out late. It’s a couple of minutes walk to Tha Phae gate, so during Song Khran this did mean quite a lot of noise from sound systems, but they were quiet after about 10pm. The only downsides were that there were rather a lot of mosquitoes about, and the breakfast buffet — although fairly extensive — was limited in vegetarian options.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Alec from Switzerland
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017
A very central location and for the price a good place.”
The staff were very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was good and the rooms clean but a little old but not rundown.
Reviewed March 10, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Jennifer from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Travelling with a friend...no option for that in your drop down menu!”
Lovely breakfast!
Reviewed January 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
XIAO from China
Group
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
very cozy”
very cozy
Reviewed January 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
william from Ireland
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Comfortable and convenient”
Although our stay was short and somewhat rushed, we found the De Naga hotel a great place to relax. It is very stylish so we were impressed on arrival. Check in took a little while, as it was busy, and many other tourists are not as organised as we are. We used the time to have a look at the many well-chosen pieces of art.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
6.8
Good
Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
New Years Holiday”
Big room. Nice staff. It is a shame that we when we booked over the new year we did not realise that we had agreed to sign up for the New Years dinner. Both myself and my wife did not notice any notification of this until we received the booking form. The value was nearly 100 USD each. Over priced and not worth the 100 USD we payed and drinks were extra, so a very expensive dinner that we had not realised we had signed up for. Other brand hotel offered over the Christmas period better buffets with free drinks.
Reviewed January 08, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Jianlan from United States
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
Very pleasant stay! ”
This is our first visit to Chiang Mai. The stay at De Naga was a wonderful experience for us! The location can't be better and the hotel itself is truly a gem! We will surely stay again when we next return to Chiang Mai.
Reviewed December 29, 2016
5.6
Joshua from United States
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Faded "classic" hotel in need of a fresh coat of paint and English lessons for the staff”
Nice enough for a central location but definitely lost its luster from the original glory. And the staff needs to improve it's communication skills in order to call this a first-rate hotel. More like a decent 3-4 star hotel.
Reviewed December 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Donald from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
comfortable hotel”
Bed medium firm Water good pressure hot Staff attentive Ambience great Breakfast average
Reviewed December 26, 2016
7.2
Very good
Henry from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Very good mid-range place to stay”
Pay more and get a day bed and a coffee pod machine (only four pods of coffee a day). The next one down was a larger room - but no coffee. Staff were great, bar one surly young woman who needed to lighten up. Breakfast was good, but you need to get down there early for papaya (weird in Thailand!) Well located. Its about a 30 minute walk to the River Ping for riverside dinners. Stayed in CM numerous times. De Naga will be my 'go-to' hotel next time. I'm sure there are better, but the combination of cost, staff and general convenience won me.
Reviewed December 17, 2016
7.6
Very good
GS from India
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Great location for night market areas”
This place offers a decent stay- small pool but good spa, good breakfast with lots of homemade sauces. Good cafes, massage parlours, vehicle renting - everything is nearby. I'd suggest an interested traveller to rent a bike and explore the city. The night market is 10-15 mins walk away.
Reviewed December 15, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sander from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Convenient hotel with nice ambiance in the heart of old chiang mai”
Nice rooms, good breakfast buffet and very friendly staff. We had a very pleasant stay here.
Reviewed December 14, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Fang from China
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
good location and service”
good location and service
Reviewed December 14, 2016
7.6
Very good
Klaus from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
nice long weekend in CM”
hotel in a good location, rented a jeep and had lots of small outings in the surroundings of CM. very much to recommand
Reviewed November 30, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Barbara from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Absolutely beautiful hotel, with wonderful service. All of the staff is so friendly and helpful. ”
The breakfast was phenomenal and such a treat every morning. The location in the old quarter was perfect. Would definitely come back.
Reviewed November 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Kari from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016
Tranquil setting in heart of Old Chiang Mai”
Tucked away, so quiet with water fountains and traditional decor. Beautiful rooms and lovely staff. Highly recommend. Restaurant is very good and they have a lovely spa and gift shop. Book it now!
Reviewed November 04, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sari from United States
Family with young children
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Very nice hotel”
The location was convenient, staff nice, rooms good size, clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Susan from Australia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2016
Lovely Chiang Mai”
Da Naga is an excellent boutique hotel in side the wall of the old city of Chiang Mai. Small spa pool with pleasant out door area. Staff friendly. A great place to stay and base for exploring.
Reviewed October 11, 2016
6.0
yuming from China
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Old ”
Won't stay again
Reviewed October 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
H from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
I would recommend this hotel”
Most of the staff is wonderful. In particular, Toto seems to know what you need before you tell him. He pops up out of nowhere just when you need him to get cabs. Deaw and Jeep in the restaurant were also most helpful and friendly. If I go back to Chang Mai I will stay at this hotel.
Reviewed September 17, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jerome from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2016
Great location, very clean but aged.”
Location is perfect, just inside the old city wall. Walking distance to many restaurants, bars, attractions and the night market. Our room was very clean, however a little aged. Breakfast was pleasant, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was we could never get the wifi to work, hence ended up buying a local 4G SIM card.
Reviewed August 24, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jamie from United States
Family with young children
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Very elegant”
Staff was also very helpful. Fantastic location.
Reviewed July 23, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
sarah from United States
Couple
Premier Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Love this hotel!”
2nd time staying here! The staff are wonderful and always happy to help out. Room was lovely! Close to awesome restaurants in the old city.
Reviewed July 16, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
sarah from United States
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Lovely hotel ”
Staff are very friendly, room great, quiet but close to everything. Came back to stay here more nights, loved it.
Reviewed July 13, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Deborah from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Fantastic!”
Great service, location and experience! Stay here without hesitation!
Reviewed July 10, 2016