Book Now: Desak Putu Putera Homestay

Desak Putu Putera Homestay Reviews

Excellent
From 550 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
Recommended by 98% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (550)Booking.com Reviews (105)
8.4
Excellent
From 550 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities7.6
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service8.6
Value for money9.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
한국어
more
Room type
Superior
Standard
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 524 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Eva from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Gorgeous balcony”
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was bigger than expected and the balcony overlooking the garden was a great place to eat breakfast. The breakfast was also very very good! The bed was comfortable and the shower was clean. The staff members are very helpful and even kept our bags for two days while we drove to Lovina and back. Great stay!
Reviewed March 27, 2017
8.8
Excellent
biyun from China
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Big room ”
Big room with garden ,Walk to the downtown 15min
Reviewed March 18, 2017
5.2
Stephanie from Indonesia
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Different from the picture but good location”
I think this pictures shows desak putu cottage instead of homestay, because when we got there the condition is really bad, they prepared the extra bed after we arrived and the toilet kinda smells.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
5.6
Hennedige from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Sadly not the best homestay”
I had read great reviews before booking but nothing was up to standard. Staff were not friendly, fan in the room not working hot water only in the shower and could not contr the temperature. So it was really hot showers. Luckily I had booked only for two nights.
Reviewed February 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Duy from Vietnam
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
My Best Bargain ever”
Beautiful staffs, quiet place, on bed breakfast served. I did not expect to have these conditions with this low price. The location can be found according with the address, no 30 as I remember. The furnitures are great. What else? I luv everything about this place. Greatly reckon for all types of travellers.
Reviewed February 04, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
THI from Vietnam
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Nice view and room”
Nice view and room but address can't easy to find
Reviewed February 02, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jana from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 10 nights in January 2017
Lovely Balinese house, wonderful staff”
I had a great time, I was well looked after. The room was cleaned daily. The breakfast was amazing, good selection and it comes with a plate of fruits which was really nice. I would definitely stay again. Thank you
Reviewed January 19, 2017
8.0
Excellent
ria from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
value for money”
Nice and quiet. I love the smell of this homestay (freshly baked bread). near the Ubud market. value for money and the staffs are really helpful.
Reviewed January 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Milagros from Argentina
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Great value for money!”
Amazing place, clean, friendly staff and good breakfast Definetly recommend it!
Reviewed December 31, 2016
6.8
Good
Kim from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 14 nights in December 2016
Great to experience daily Balinese life”
I was surprised how good my room was for the price. I stayed in 2 rooms. No. 4 and no. 3. Both overlooked the family compound and while I was there they had a festival. It was fascinating to see this from the balcony outside my room. The family are so nice and friendly. Breakfast is great. The only downside was the roosters woke me up before dawn and the bed was too hard, lumpy and uncomfortable for me. There are some great eating places close by and it's within walking distance of all the things to do in the center of Ubud. It's a good place if you you are on a tight budget.
Reviewed December 17, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Kittisak from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Nice place to stay in Ubud”
It's a local people house, but the room is good in the reasonable price. I stay there for 1 night. It's good choice for anyone who want to stay nearby the Ubud center. It takes 15 mins by walking to Ubud palace. Just ok!
Reviewed December 14, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Cheyanne from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Lovely”
Caught a deal on Agoda, which made the value for the room excellent. Big room with AC. Very clean with ensuite bathroom. Friendly staff, bakery downstairs whose aroma was deadly (delicious), and great breakfast. Quaint, comfy, peacful lounge area right outside the room. Wifi worked well, and the room was cleaned each morning. Located close to many restaurants/the heart of Ubud. Would certainly stay again.
Reviewed November 22, 2016
8.4
Excellent
zuzana from Czech Republic
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Nice homestay”
Nice house,clean and spacious room. good breakfast which they serve at the terrace. You can rent a motorbike very cheap. Quiet location but lots of bars and restaurants around. would stay again!!
Reviewed November 04, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Anastasia from Russia
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Great value for money! ”
Big and very clean room, hot water, great breakfast, friendly and helpful stuff
Reviewed October 09, 2016
7.2
Very good
Saw from Malaysia
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Good Location, value for money. ”
The owner told me they only provide day 1 complementary small bottle of mineral water.
Reviewed October 04, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Ion from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 28 nights in August 2016
A Relaxing Stay”
Peaceful, friendly staff and family, and great banana pancakes! Would stay again.
Reviewed September 26, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Ha from Vietnam
Group
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Totally highly recommended”
A wonderful homestay experience in Bali!! We arrived late at night and there was a mistake in arranging the accommodation for us but Mr. Putu and the staff quickly resolved it and we had a big, clean room with a spacious balcony where we could enjoy our breakfast every morning. Breakfast always included fresh tropical fruits and food was simple yet delicious. Staff were very friendly and efficient.
Reviewed September 05, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Fidelia from Indonesia
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Good deal”
I will be back here when I visit Ubud next. The breakfast is so great. It located near ubud market so i love walking in the morning and looking around street and shopping at ubud market!
Reviewed September 05, 2016
7.2
Very good
Rasa from Thailand
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Good”
Goid
Reviewed June 16, 2016
6.4
Good
Lye from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Value for money homestay.”
About 10 mins walk to the main market area and 45 mins relaxing walk to the famous Naughty Nuri.
Reviewed June 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Patcharin from Thailand
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016
Value for money”
Walkable from Ubud market and you can rent a car with a driver around there. There staffs can speak English and they are helpful. Rooms are clean and they are cleaning rooms every day.
Reviewed June 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Katherine from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Loved this home stay!”
Stayed here for our first two nights in Ubud and would have stayed longer if they hadn't been booked out. We loved it here. The room was huge, clean, nicely decorated, comfortable and with en suite toilet/shower. We had our own beautiful private balcony garden with comfy sofas and a table where we chilled out at night and ate our breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was a fresh fruit salad, drink, and cooked good of our choice from the menu. Less than 1 minute walk to great food and less than 5 minutes to the main road. Just a quick warning: it's easy to confuse with Desak Putu Putera Hidden due to the name , but this place is just 100m further down the road.
Reviewed May 29, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Renan from Brazil
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Staff so kind”
I loved it. High recommended for low budget trip.
Reviewed May 25, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Janita from Finland
Couple
Standard
Stayed 14 nights in April 2016
Fantastic homestay”
Really a home-like guesthouse with wonderful staff, clean rooms, lovely hang out areas and good food. Highly recommended!!
Reviewed May 02, 2016
5.2
Jennifer from France
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Not Desak Putu Puetra hidden that we wanted”
The hotel organize the taxi transfer for us and they also rented a motorcycle. We were able to use the nearby facilities too. I was just annoyed because the website sells Desak Putu Puetra hidden but if you book the room on their website (through Agora) the link on the hotel website brings you to the homestay without even telling you. In the homestay, the room is much more basic, the shower was not working properly (too hot, too cold, water not going toward the same direction) and there was no swimming pool. We asked to change and to pay a surplus, but putra hidden was fully booked. I personally found the breakfast was too small even if it was good. This was not what we were awaiting but for people traveling on tight budget, this was okay. I also wish it was easier to see the previous comments from Agora on my mobile, I would have been warmed. Anyway, while the staff tried to make it up, I felt I was ripped off.
Reviewed April 21, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Michal from Poland
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
.”
.
Reviewed April 03, 2016
6.0
Katy from United States
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Fine stay”
Needed last minute accommodation for three people. Location was walking distance from town but a little hard to find. Cleanliness was satisfactory. The room locked and we had no second thoughts about leaving our stuff in the room. They met all expectations, nothing glamorous but hot water, AC, and a nice belcony. Did not make it to free breakfast, but they do provide it (jaffles included).
Reviewed April 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Edel from Ireland
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Great place to stay ”
Food, friendly staff and location
Great!!
Reviewed March 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Huong from Vietnam
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
I really love this homestay.”
The traditional house is surrounded by a lot of trees, flowers, singing birds. How peaceful it is! No word can decribe my excitement to stay there. I'm supposed to be back!
Reviewed February 13, 2016
7.2
Very good
Amitabha from India
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Good homestay with a nice family”
A bit away from the main road. Good breakfast with lively pancake.
Reviewed February 12, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jody from Canada
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
OMG We're in Bali!”
My daughter and I absolutely loved staying here. The staff is so friendly!! Our room was enormous and we woke up every morning to the sound of birds chirping and roosters crowing. It gave us the perfect, "OMG We're in Bali" vibe. I hired their driver Dewa Gede for a few day trips and he was awesome. He made my daughter & I laugh all day. Great guy!
Reviewed February 01, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Anna from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016
Great place in Ubud”
Staff, food, dog
We stayed several nights and had a lovely time. The staff were very helpful and friendly and they had a little Pomeranian who was very friendly and lovable as well! The bed was not the most comfortable, and the AC was not super strong, but everything still worked and was a good value. I would recommend it!
Reviewed January 31, 2016
5.0
Jordana from Portugal
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Ubud”
Lovely banana pancakes, good WiFi, good local places to eat close by
This place is very basic. It is fine if you have a scooter to get around, or enjoy walking alot, if you don't mind crappy showers, loud animal noises - mostly birds and roosters, dust, no mattress cover,and ghekkos in your room. The banana breakfast is great. Staff don't really speak English or seem very friendly/helpful. There are some good cheap local places to eat close by.
Reviewed January 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Rose from Philippines
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Awesome”
Delicious food, great room, excellent service
Very convenient
Reviewed December 28, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Kathy from Australia
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Great ”
last minute for us. Clean & very comfortable - roosters crowing to remind us of home
Great
Reviewed December 16, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Elizabeth from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Peaceful oasis in the heart of Ubud”
Staff, cleanliness, local feel
I absolutely loved this place!! So much better than staying in a hostel or regular budget hotel, as you really get a feel for the local culture in the family compound here. Stepping into the compound is like a quiet, peaceful little oasis that feels worlds away from the busy streets outside. The staff are so lovely and helpful, breakfast is delicious (try the black rice pudding!), super comfortable bed, clean room, air con works well, the grounds are filled with statues and fountains, location is good (close walking distance to the center of town), cute dog to play with... Honestly nothing negative about this place. I highly recommend it!!
Reviewed December 16, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Kittinat from Thailand
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
cozy homestay”
atmosphere,price, cleanliness
Reviewed November 09, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Erlia from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Felt like home”
Service, Cleanliness, Value
It's only 15-minutes walk away from Ubud Central and I am very satisfied with the staff performance. They're very polite and friendly. The room is big enough; it's clean and pretty much complete with the stuffs. There's nothing I can really complaint except the lack of doormat in front of the bathroom). As for the food, it's nothing special to point of though. Then again it's worth the value!
Reviewed November 02, 2015
8.7
Excellent
KengHsuan from Taiwan
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Nice place”
Staff, considerate, food.
Small but warm, clean and considerate.
Reviewed November 01, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Melina from Germany
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Amazing!”
friendly staff, breakfast, cosy atmosphere
cute family compound with a beautiful garden. very nice a /c room with balcony where we had breakfast with view on garden! just beautiful! very helpful and considerate family/staff. awesome value! ! location was a little bit outside but in main street in 10 minutes walk
Reviewed October 30, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Marcos from Brazil
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
This review is not for Desak Putu Putera”
Super Friendly staff, comfortable bed with mosquito net, good location
** This review is not for Desak Putu Putera, but for the accommodation across the road ( I think its name is Nyoman Warta. Or something like that) ** I arrived to Desak Putu Putera and a woman from the shop beside it came to ask me what I was looking for. I mentioned the name of the accommodation and she didn't say anything else to me, just made gestures to follow her. She took me to the reception of the homestay, talked to a boy in Balinese and signed to me again to follow her. We left the place, crossed the road, and entered another property, where she talked to another woman. Then I realised she had overbooked her homestay and was transferring me to another one. When I asked if the price was the same, she said "yes". For this reason, I can't write anything about Desak Putu Putera, but I can tell the staff is not friendly and irresponsible. Now, the review for the homestay across the road. The woman from the new place showed me in 2 minutes that she is way friendlier than the woman from Desak Putu Putera. Even though she could barely speak English, she showed me the place around, the bedroom, the bathroom, she asked me what time I wanted to have breakfast in the morning... It was an ok place, with air conditioner and a comfortable queen size bed (and a good mosquito net). The bathroom is kinda old, but clean. The best part of it is the really beautiful garden, that can be enjoyed from the table and chairs located in front of the bedroom. The breakfast was also great, served at the table in front of the bedroom. The lady cooked a very tasty omelette with toasts. She also brought a cup of good fresh coffee and a stack of fresh sliced papaya, pineapple and watermelon. The place is quite close to Ubud Central, you can easily walk there. There are some Warungs around and also some small local convenience stores. I am sure this place is cheaper than the one I booked, but I did not really care about it. I just hope this doesn't happen to anyone else.
Reviewed September 29, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Lisa from Indonesia
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
It was worth the price. ”
The family, the cleanliness, the service
Reviewed September 11, 2015
7.0
Very good
elodie from France
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Ok Homestay for a couple nights ”
The nice veranda, location, price
The comments are so high that I was expecting a wonderful time. Well, chill out, don't expect too much! It's a little homestay with a few rooms available, there is just a little panel on the street, so watch out because the driver may don't find it easily. My favorite thing about that place is the nice veranda / chill out area with a very beautiful view on palm trees and roofs surrounding . It's relaxing and green, I loved it ! Apart from that, unfortunately I had a twin bed room on the street side , it was noisy (big traffic) and there were some insects in the room. Be careful with the ants, don't let any food !! But the room was ok... Not dirty, not smelly . Location was actually pretty great, close to amenities and central Ubud, you can easily go by foot to the Ubud Palace and museum, and find some nice places to eat. Try the "Warung India" in the same street , it's just 5 min walk and the place is really cute and good food. Highly recommend if you are tired of nasi goreng. There is also the Jazz Cafe in this street, nice place and good music. The breakfast was ok but I've tried better ones . You can choose between fruit salad, banana pancake, rice pudding... It's like a dessert menu more than a real big breakfast. But anyway the price is pretty cheap so I guess it's a good place for backpackers on a low budget looking for a Balinese place to stay with local atmosphere and a little room. Staff was nice , they have a little dog really cute and funny. Guests were playing with it all time . Oh and they also call a driver for me because I couldn't use a Uber drive (don't know why it doesn't work in Ubud) and I paid 50k .
Reviewed August 23, 2015
7.7
Very good
Anthony from Indonesia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
great hotel in quite place”
room, environment and priceless
rooms clean, quite environment and nice staff. only the location quite far from the heart of ubud and the hot water is too hot..
Reviewed August 12, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Wanda from Netherlands
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
simple but very clean and nice homestay”
very nice breakfast, cleanliness, nice staff,
We had a very good stay at this homestay. It was rated an 8,6 and they deserve this in every way, very good value for money. They served us our breakfast very early the day we left, that was no problem for them.
Reviewed August 07, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
YEN from Malaysia
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
value for money”
good location, clean room, value for money
Clean room, great breakfast, good location, value for money.
Reviewed August 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Audrey from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Lovely place”
The family, the garden and the balcony
Perfect place to stay in Ubud! Everything is so lovely!! Good location, clean, good breakfast and great surrondings! Most of all the family is all smile and lovely. Would definetely come back.
Reviewed July 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Andrea from Mexico
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Authentic Balinese experience ”
The staff was amazing! and Boki the dog, you really feel at home plus the banana pancakes are awesome
I highly recommend it, you are just in front of an esplanade where you can see an authentic ceremony like twice a week, the home was clean and pretty, with traditional architecture, just in front of my door the owner (awesome lady) used to give offerings every morning it was the best accomodation I've had Thank you so much
Reviewed July 01, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Lee from Malaysia
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Worth it”
Food and stay
Reviewed June 29, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Brian from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Happy homestay”
Staff, cleanliness, breakfast
I had a happy stay here, and extended it by 2 days.
Reviewed June 29, 2015