Book Now: Diamond City Hotel

Good
From 1599 reviewsSee what guests said
6.5
/
10

Reviews of Diamond City Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1598)Booking.com Reviews (260)
6.5
/
10
Good
Cleanliness6.1
Facilities5.6
Location6.9
Room comfort and quality7.0
Service6.8
Value for money6.6
All languages
All guests (1598)
All room types
Showing 1440 verified guest comments
4.8
Victoria from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Review score”

The first 3 night was quite terrible at Room 314,315: 1. The hallway is very dark, Room lighting isn’t bright 2. Adjoining room lock latch is broken 3. Water leaking beneath the bathtub 4. The room is very dusty despite daily Housekeeping. 5. The hairdryer is not properly functioning (no hot air) On our second check-in (3 days later), Room 401, 403: 1, Room is at the middle of the hallway. 2. Lighting in the room is much better. 3. one of the toilet door can't be closed properly. Maintenance at this premise definitely needs more work here. Pool? Hmm...Not exactly the same as the picture. You wouldn’t want to take a dip in it. The bed and pillow are comfortable for a good sleep after a long day of walk in the city. Breakfast starts at 7 am. Simple and good to kick start of the day. Hot and cold drinks available throughout the day. There are charging ports at the lobby area. Despite all the cons, we really need to give thumbs up for all the staffs. The manager will alway

Reviewed February 14, 2019
6.0
Victoria from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Room 314,315”

The hallway is very dark, Room lighting isn’t bright Adjoining room lock latch is broken, water leaking beneath the bathtub The room is very dusty despite daily Housekeeping. The hairdryer is not properly functioning (no hot air) Maintenance definitely needs more work here. Pool? Don’t trust the pictures shown. Totally nothing like it. You wouldn’t want to take a dip in it. The bed is still quite comfortable if you don’t mind all the above, just a place to sleep after a long day of walk. Despite all the cons, thumbs up for the staffs, manager and lady boss is really friendly. They will help whenever is possible. :)

Reviewed February 11, 2019
4.4
Richard from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Rated as a 3.5 star I would give it a 2 at best. ”

Close to MBK and city, clean rooms Pool out of use empty and unusable not as advertised. Only 1 English speaking TV channel (mostly News). Breakfast very primative. Hotel looked nothing like the pictures inside or out. Big disappointment all round.

Reviewed February 10, 2019
3.2
ZAIMAH from Malaysia
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

This is the worse stay since i use agoda application.”

i have booked the biggest room with 2 queen bed but they don't allowed 4 of use to stay together. I have to booked another room and the room is very worse. Actualy my room should have sofa but non of it. Room light is not working need 2 day to fixed it. Refregirator is not working and the room fon is not working, it just for display. They only give us 2 mineral water stay for 3 night. When we ask to clean the room they only change the towel. I am very dissapointed. Room bed is so bad. The ambiance is bleak mood. Its not save for little children. At the second nigth the reception said i have to pay another 500bth for deposit. But i have paid 1000bth for 2 room. Luckly i have keep my deposit reciept. This is very unacceptable. When check out, they give me a coupon 40% for another visit. But sorry i will never come back!

Reviewed January 30, 2019
8.4
Excellent
MOHAMMAD from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

good value”

the room furniture is quite old, but functional. It makes the room a bit antique, so if you like modern design, this is not for you. The aircond unit is new, TV channel is limited, but it is okay. Who visits Bangkok to just stay in the room to watch TV anyway? Staffs are helpful, they try their best to attend to your need. My second time staying here, I like it. Location is good.

Reviewed January 11, 2019
8.0
Excellent
fallen from Indonesia
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Good”

Good for stay

Reviewed March 18, 2019
8.0
Excellent
fallen from Indonesia
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Good Hotel”

it's a good hotel to stay

Reviewed March 18, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Anh from Vietnam
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Wonderful”

Althought location is not really good, this hotel locate in the end of a small street but there are many local food stores around there. Their staffs are supper nice, I'm very happy when staying here.

Reviewed October 29, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Lianjun from China
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017

Love the decoration and the breakfast!”

The staff is friendly in bring out jokes on the reception. You can feed yourself around the conner just outside the hotel if the free rich breakfast in the hotel doesn't feed you well. It's a joy to enjoy the coffee in front of the TV broadcasting CNN news in the cafeteria. Nice experience!

Reviewed June 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
sally from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in December 2016

Excellent location , great concierge really helpful.”

Breakfast was adquate , plenty of it, a bit too much the same everyday.. Beer prices in hotel were pricey. 24 hr tea and coffee Pool is a bit of a disappointment , not as it looks on the photo. Concierge was really helpful. We have booked again , on our return journey through Bangkok.

Reviewed December 26, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Michael from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014

Good hotel, great front desk staff”

Staff and location

Drink and snack with friendly, smiling staff even though they were busy made for a delightful check in. A handy map of the hotel area is at the front desk. Room didn't have a balcony as stated in the description but saw one later that had a street view with the street noise. Our room had an alley view, quiet, larger with a queen and a twin bed. Has a new, strong a/c, large 52" flat screen TV that was mounted very high on the wall. Lighting was dim especially for females. Smallish bathroom, but large bathtub and a hairdryer. Hot water was good, average pressure. Had water drips from pipes in the ceiling. Rooms well sound proofed except at the large gaps by the windows where smoke and voices can come in from rooms with balconies. No bottled water but can fill your own and also get hot water downstairs in the eating area. Breakfast was the same everyday with cereal, fried egg, rice, plain spaghetti with cooked vegetables, coffee, milk, and watered down orange juice. Indoor pool was small, just for wading. Hotel tuk tuk not working but just 10 minute walk to Ratchathewi BTS station. Bellman recommends 3 hour expensive taxi tour, but we found the BTS trains and water taxis more fun at a fraction of the cost. Most taxis and tuk tuks should be avoided as we're seen as ATMs that when you don't go to their gem store or travel agency to buy something get very angry. The hotel is close to shopping at Siam Paragon, MBK, Pantip, Big C,... Food, massages, 7-11 in the nearby streets. As stated before We think that the real "gems" of Diamond City Hotel are the great front desk staff.

Reviewed January 06, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Kim from Vietnam
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

Very friendly staffs with personalise service”

Friendly. Good location. Warm hotel

It was very good stay as we had a warm welcome from the receptionist who was very friendly, professional and personalize service. The bellman was also very enthusiastic and friendly. We were very enjoyable and the ambiance of the hotel make us feel like staying at home. Definitely I will introduce this hotel to my friends

Reviewed November 05, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Tng from Singapore
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014

Relax”

Very convenient location, Friendly and helpful staff

I have been stay at this hotel for 3 times , though the hotel is not very nice and new but they have very good services staff as I think that will be more that enough. They just 10 min walk to reach BTS , outside the hotel morning there is market with alot of local food .

Reviewed July 29, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Marnee from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Value for money”

location, beds, price

This is a great budget hotel, especially with breakfast included. Our room was decent and our bed extremely comfortable which was all we needed! The staff were very helpful and lots of fun. The internet was good and it wasn't too far away from shopping areas.

Reviewed September 22, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Marnee from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

Fantastic hotel!”

Great room, amazing staff, location

My partner and I have been to this hotel 3 times and each time we have had a great stay! The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. This hotel is value for money and the staff are wonderful and willinh to go the extra mile to help you!

Reviewed September 22, 2013
8.7
Excellent
cheng from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

nice price hotel”

nice hotel with acceptable price

this is my second time to visit this hotel and i like the location with acceptable price and the local market near to this hotel give me with great experience on the local food and convenience for expericing the local living style. nice

Reviewed February 14, 2013
8.3
Excellent
christine from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013

Great location and comfy enough for the price paid”

very efficient hotel staff

1. near to rachathewi bts. just a straight road down to the bts, around ,10 mins walk. not as secluded and dangerous as others said because there were several road stalls operating at night. 2. some lamps were faulty in the room, television as well. toilet bowl was also clogged but the staffs came to unclog promptly after we called them 3. breakfast was ok, almst the same evryday but i like the fact that they serve drinks throughtout the day for free. 4. clean rooms and housekeeping was done promptly everyday, nothing stolen from the rooms unlike some other cmments. very cosyy.

Reviewed January 20, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Poon from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012

Strategic location for your money's worth”

Quaint decor with nostalgic feelings

the hotel is situated in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle part of the city but within walking distance to amenities. we found the local market less than a minute from the hotel and offers a great opportunity to savour local street food and delicacies. also, you can taste seasonal fruits. we met hotel guests who stayed much longer than we do and they enjoyed the warm hospitality and pleasant surroundings.

Reviewed October 28, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Rebekah from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012

Great caring people”

Big beds

Great staff!! Friendly and helpful! the indoor pool was so neautiful and the rooms were nice and big, the shower was really good and the water temp was great. will def be staying there again if we are ever back that way!

Reviewed April 13, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Andrew from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011

Great Hotel Service”

Staffs are very Accommodating

this hotel is quite a long walk from the bts station but very accessible with different malls to shop. complementary buffet breakfast is very good. this hotel also has a unlimited water and juice supply for its guest which really help a lot fora budget traveller instead of buying drinks every time. the hotel interior is very cozy and relaxing good for the traveller who's intention is to relax

Reviewed February 24, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Jerri from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012

Very unique and fun boutique type of hotel.”

staff performance and comfuy style of hotel

We really like this hotel. The rooms are small, lots of hot water, and tub. Ask for a room with a window. The higher priced rooms are really quite nice. The staff is wonderful and treat you like family. Good thai breakfast, and they give you glass of juice and have fruit, coffee and tea available all day. The location is very good also. The massage is a must here, and very reasonable. ONe of the best massages I have had.

Reviewed January 31, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Craig from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011

Convenient Location ”

Location and convenient 24 hour coffee, tea, water, and orange juice.

my husband and i enjoyed our stay at diamond city hotel. we would recommend this hotel to any travelers that prefer to use the bts and looking for a convenient area to stay. not only was the hotel close to the bts, it was also next to the coco walk. this is a covered area of pubs, bars, and live music. it was a relaxed place to go after a long day around the city. one negative thing about the room was the lack of ventilation and this caused the room to start smelling like mold. other than that, the hotel was very nice.

Reviewed December 09, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Lau from Singapore
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in June 2011

Cozy Hotel”

Nice people, cozy ambiance

The hotel lobby is pretty small, with nice furniture and a small indoor pool. The period I went was probably in renovation, so new wrapped out furniture were placed outside the hallway. We got connected rooms, which are awesome! With 1 king sized and a single bed in each room. Really great. The breakfast is similar for everyday. Location wise: Walking distance to MBK, and other tourist attraction. Overall its a nice place

Reviewed June 09, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
SHI from Malaysia
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2011

The room is lovely with the staff that keen 2 help”

The room is really nice although the electrition a little bit mess up and the hotel staff is really nice and friendly

The hotel located quite city center and it located around 15 minutes walk from rachadewi bts train station. The location is easy to get a cab where just around 50 steps to reach the main road. The room that I stay is really nice and beautiful and the most impressed me is there have a bolster where I never seem at other hotel before. The hotel offer free juice and drink all over the day but they offering same breakfast every morning. The hotel staff is really keen to help on everything like helping you arrange the tour, giving you advice on the places you going and try their best to help you whatever you needed. Overall the experience is good.

Reviewed March 17, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Edith from Philippines
Group
Stayed 2 nights in November 2009

Diamond, a real diamond!”

location is awesome, walking distane to Jim Thompson Museum & malls in Siam
food can be improved

Diamond Hotel is conveniently located in one of the streets of Siam. 10minute walk to Jim Thompson Museum, Siam Discovery, Siam Paragon, and other nearby malls. 5 minutes by a tuktuk or a cab. Rooms & public areas are clean. Friendly & polite staff. THe only challenge i must say is getting back, you have to have their printed maps as most cab drivers do not know "Diamond Hotel"or the street where it is.

Reviewed December 13, 2009
8.0
Excellent
MICHAEL from Belgium
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November 2008

Good place in Bangkok”

This hotel, when booked trough Agoda, offers a good Price/quality ratio.
Walking distance to Skytrain: about 10 minutes.

We spend 3 day's at this hotel and were satisfied with the room comfort and overall quality of this hotel for this price. The breakfast is decent. Staff is helpfull and friendly. The rooms not big butcomfortable., I will certainly use this hotel again

Reviewed November 18, 2008
7.2
Very good
Ines from Croatia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

YOU CAN FIND A BETTER PLACE TO STAY!”

The hotel is situated in the Siam area and is close to the Siam shopping center(5-10 min walking, 1 bts station). Hotel is okay, honestly there are sooo many other hotels in Bangkok with the same price that are much better. The room was quite old and not very clean. The breakfest buffet is small(rice, eggs, noodles with vegetables, toast with marmelade, coffee, juice). The staff is very nice and helpful.

Reviewed March 10, 2019
5.6
Haide from Philippines
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

Above average”

Hotel is good.. they upgraded our room to family room for free.. breakfast is just ok with unlimited 24/7 coffee and popcorn.. for the location... its near market.. but its not good for night market and souvenir shopping...but the staff were excellently courteous and kind..

Reviewed November 23, 2018
2.0
Daniel from Vietnam
Group
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Really bad place to stay in Bangkok”

Insects in the pool. Dirty room. Owner with discrimination and no kindness at all. The room is terrible (dark and dirty like in a horror movie). Never go back. Such a terrible experience. Do not believe the pictures they show, there is nothing true. Instead of helping or supporting you, they just want to charge money for their horrible hotel. OMFG.

Reviewed November 09, 2018
8.0
Excellent
ilona from Czech Republic
Solo traveler
Single Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

good position”

Hotel staff very helpful the manager of the hotel is a poisonous babe Agoda is selling a room but it does not know how it looks like - a windowless room - no information provided, Agoda can not be contacted anywhere - just pulls out the money card and ends it - there is nothing to complain about, there is no contact where to write. I will never use this service anymore. They get money even when the hotel is paid in cash on the spot.

Reviewed June 26, 2018
2.8
YIYONG from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Never again”

First the build is falling apart from the outside. The lobby and interior hallways are poorly lit and has all there furnishings from a by gone era. The room I was in looks like construction was done recently. There is a wall paper is missing where the old AC unit. Very noisy staff or people chatting in the hallways most of the night. I had to call at 2:30 Am to get get the front desk to send some to get the noise undercontrol. You can hear doors slamming all night long. Needless to say I had very little sleep after a long trip...

Reviewed December 26, 2018
2.0
Franz from Germany
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

very bad hotel”

how can Agoda custamer to offer this hotel, everything in this hotel is bad, don't have words, sorry

Reviewed February 19, 2019
6.0
Muhammad from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Nothing to shout about.”

The hotel is still stuck in the 80s. Good for those that just want to crash in the room after a tiring day out. In need for a major renovation. Cheap? I dont think so.

Reviewed February 12, 2019
6.8
Good
juniza from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Acceptable”

Customer service was great and helpful.. Easy to find halal food..

Reviewed December 23, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Roy from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

Excellent”

great little place, nearby shops restaurants and BTS! staff cant do enough for you and manager really pleasant, Recommended and good value for your money

Reviewed July 21, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
vi from Sweden
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018

good”

good

Reviewed July 20, 2018
4.8
liron from Israel
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

Review score”

The place is very old and full of bugs and cockroaches, they do not always clean the rooms, the price is very high compared to what you get, The manager screams terrible at the workers in the morning and wake you up like a nightmare, and treats the guests and staff rudely, the employees change frequently and do not hold time here. the rooms are not properly maintained, the bathroom on the ground floor looks horrible, you don't want to go there, some rooms are moldy and stinky, the bathrooms are terribly moldy, the breakfast food is very low quality, if you can take yourself away from this place you gain, not recommended.

Reviewed March 02, 2018
8.4
Excellent
khánh from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Excellent”

Hotel is quite good. I'd paid about 1000B/night as the same price as A one inn guest house, but this one is better. It's not close to siam and Mbk as A one inn but the street is more lively and near the local market. It's near the BTS station. The staff is good. Room is very clean and sastified. The bathroom is clean and nice. Highly recommend it

Reviewed February 20, 2018
4.0
Agus from Indonesia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in February 2018

Disappointed”

The Location is good, near to BTS Ratchathewi (The food wasn't so good, even I couldn't get egg for breakfast...maybe the hotel lacked staff. The pool was incredible.. (don't know how many guests has used it...haha), the staff: Only the chinese man is friendly, the others: they are robots..without emotion. When I stayed there for 4 days, they only 1 time made up my room... although I already told them to clean up the room..they forgot or they don't care. The photos of the property are catchy..but the real is not like what I expected for a Hotel

Reviewed February 15, 2018
7.6
Very good
gerald from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017

Nice hotel, great staff, ”

Customer service mr dog was great and helpful. He is able to speak some Chinese. Greet us when we reach there. Telling us information and direction to where giving us good tips. Great man mr dog love your customer service. Helpful man.

Reviewed December 05, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Khin
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017

Good Location Hotel”

In Siam Area, not far from MBK, Siam Paragon, Siam Discovery, Siam Square , Paratunam Area and National Stadium BTS station. Can get many cheap street food near the hotel. The only one thing I don't like is BREAKFAST. Should change breakfast menu , i can't eat one menu for three days.

Reviewed April 25, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Elvin from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017

A Wonderful Choice for Making a Thai Horror Movie ”

Arriving from Ratchathewi BTS alone on a hot afternoon, I was hoping to get to my resting point fast. The expected 10-15 mins stroll was greeted first by a classy hotel just a stone throw away and a cool 7-11 another or so away. Then some tasty restaurants and a cozy massage parlor. Not so bad a district after all. What followed was rather intimidating. Shanty towns with greasy food stall-holders going about their usual trades. Strays not intimidating but sad because they were all listless, dirty and malnourished. Dogs barked, cats meowed but not the ones in Thailand. I'm a animal lover so that hurts. Next, half-completed buildings or simply ruins waiting for clean-up. And then almost going over a pool of vomit nobody bothers about cleaning up I presumed. 10 mins gone and finally "Diamond City Hotel" came into sight. Was greeted by two charming ladies. One served me a cuppa orange juice and two tangerines while the other processed my Agoda booking voucher. Soon, I was shown to my room by the more chatty one. Rather dark setting. Felt like "Mae Nak" was hiding somewhere along the corridors. Entering. Not so bad with a huge TV playing some Mandarin MTVs that has taken over my fears over an unexpected "Mae Nak". Cool air-con system. Not so good flushing system (toilet paper just refuse to go). Bathroom door that just can't shut tight. No bath-tub (I don't need one anyway). But why the shower system is attached to wall with no hose? I need a precise aim for sensitives like my dick and butt. Oh my!!! Night falls. Putting a cool bottle of "Chang" classic from 7-11 into mini fridge for my compulsory night snacking session after shower. Hey! What happened? It de-chilled instead of chilled after 30 mins or so?! What's that fridge for? TV reception was fuzzy but no issues. Anyway, nothing exciting. Bed was good. A king-sized with pillows and comforter of Japanese standards. Breakfast. I ate more sunny side-ups than usual. For whatever reasons due to lack of other choi

Reviewed February 04, 2017
6.8
Good
Haliza from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in January 2016

Siam Area”

First time travel to Bangkok and had no idea how Bangkok city is like.Arrival late at night and took a private car from suvarnabhumi airport.Late check in almost 23.00 hours BKK time.The hotel is situated at a back alley and driver have difficulties finding the hotel.A rustic hotel with old shop houses along the road,with a few dogs around the busy lane with tuk-tuks during the day.Everything in the hotel room is clean,wifi is good.No issues about this.Takes about 10mins to nearest BTS Ratchatewi.The atmosphere of Siam is in this hotel as it have many statues and antiques.For muslim food is not available on this area but 7-11 stores are near by.

Reviewed September 18, 2016
5.6
Raymond from Thailand
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

Worst place I lived ever”

They falsly claim to have a pool. Its a water tank and unbelievably dirty. Its a health hazard. The building is very old. Damp wall. Old smelly carpet. The neighbourhood is very poor and unclean even in Thai standard. The only good thing was that it was the closest to shopping centres for the price. I urge agoda.com to remove the hotel for the benefit of consumers. Especially the so called pool is a risky health hazard for children

Reviewed August 08, 2016
4.8
Juan from Philippines
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016

Thailand Stay”

The location of the hotel is quite difficult to find. The swimming pool is dirty and its surrounding is not that fascinating. I asked the hotel staff to arrange breakfast for us since our shuttle service will arrive at the hotel before 7am. However, they only served bread and drinks which is quite disappointing.

Reviewed June 17, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Martin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

One of the best receptionists I have seen”

Don't be put off by being in a back street. The rooms were a good size and very comfortable as well as being clean. There were a couple of minor maintenance issues which I reported on check out. These were not enough to report immediately. Room service staff were excellent but the best was the receptionist. She was friendly, bubbly, helpful and always with a smile. I would recommend this hotel. There are plenty of street food stall within a three minute walk.

Reviewed April 15, 2016
3.2
Luke from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016

Awful unhelpful staff”

This is one of the worst hotels I have visited. With the staff there was no smile, no helpfulness, no thank you. Everything was an inconvenience for them - they looked and acted like they couldn't care less. They even couldn't be bothered to call a taxi for us when asked. Don't understand why it is rated so highly.

Reviewed February 11, 2016
4.4
Scott from United States
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Just...plain...awful...”

Grand Deluxe Room. Here we go: 1) You can probably guess it is an older hotel, but the room MUCH smaller than the picture (its same size as a regular hotel room - but very cramped with 2 beds and a couch). 2) The "Balcony" overlooks the center block (about 40m across). You look at 3 surrounding walls. And there is a small building at the bottom so you look down on the roof. And the balcony ceiling is so low you can't see the sky. So you can sit in the chairs and look at 3 dirty walls and a roof. With a 0% view of the ground or sky... I wish I could submit a picture, lol... Just awful... 3) The aircon barely worked - not much more than a fan. Take a shower to cool off...? I don't think so, lol: 4) The shower head sprayed in a very wide pattern so you had to turn it so half would spray on you. And they installed the bathtub so the shower water drains around the edge of the tub and runs to the floor (almost like a trough). BUT, there is no drain in the floor! So the water just pools on the floor... And it gets deep fast... 5) Even with the shower water set to its coldest setting, it is still so hot that it steams up the mirror. So when you get out of the shower, you are already starting to sweat by the time you finish drying off... 6) Toilet is like a super super super low flush which uses like .5 liters to flush. Good luck with that... Here are a few good things: 1) There were plenty of extra pillows on the beds. 2) Location isn't bad. About a 5-8 min walk to the BTS. A bunch of tuktuks around if you want/need one. 3) breakfast was ok. I got there at a busy time, but still managed to find something to eat. Not great, but no complaints. But overall, The Diamond City is just plain awful for a hotel of its price...I would recommend this hotel to NO ONE.

Reviewed February 04, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Farouk from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016

Great location for shopping”

Location, value, staff

The location is perfect for shoppers, it is 5 minutes walk to BTS, walking distance to MBK mall, Siam paragon, Pantip plaza etc. Lots of eateries, massage parlours in the area. Good value, room was comfortable, decor a bit dated and no natural light but for one or two nights it is fine. Free breakfast is decent. Free tea, coffee and water all day. Would return for a shopping trip.

Reviewed January 09, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Alex from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in February 2015

Very helpful staff -saved us”

The man that's save us and complimented our clothes and the cereal

It was lovely, the man (dunno his name) helped us find a eye hospital, saved us, complemented our clothes (cute dress!). The man ordered us food and taxis and let us go to coral island not to mention have us tips on where to shop and how much everything should be worth so we wouldn't be ripped off again! Thanks man!!!

Reviewed February 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Sunisa from Thailand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2014

satisfied but coukd be better”

huge flat tv, big bed and not too far from BTS Ratchatewi

Overall is good but there are a few things should be improved such water is not free in the room and we have to get from the lobby. The staff was nice but when I asked them to call a taxi for us the price is 400 baht each person which is overpriced?

Reviewed November 16, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Faradyzka from Indonesia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014

A Hotel with excellent location & nice hospitality”

staffs, rooms, location

I was a bit worried with my choice to stay in this hotel. I've been reading a lot of reviews about this hotel, but most of the reviews are bad reviews. But, it was all nothing. I was touched by the staffs' kindness to all of the guests. When we arrived there, they served welcome drinks and fruits for us while waiting for our rooms to be tidied. I came with my uncle and untie with a baby.The staffs kindly gave my cousin a Mickey Mouse hair band and a squeezed chicken toy. They didnt charge us anything. It was all their appreciatiom to their guests. The rooms we got were quite spacious and clean. The great things were we have 52 inch flat screen TV, 2 fluffy and comfortable beds, and even 6 fluffy pillows in our room. The rooms were veeeerrrryyyy comfortable. I want that kind of bed in my room!!! Hahahaha ... the breakfast was great. We had vegetable curry, sunny side eggs, steamed rice, fried vermicelli, and chicken sausages on the first day and we had fillet fried chicken, sunny side eggs, stir fried vegetables, also sandwiches. I love the food!! Also, the hotel provides tea, coffee, and juice along with the seaweed biscuit for 24 hours! More plus for this hotel! When I was about to take a glass of hot water with my sister, suddenly one of the staffs handed a plate full of fruits to my sister and she said, ' take it to your room. It's a complimentary.'. What a really great hospitality. The location is a bit far from Ratchatewi BTS Station. You need to take 10 minute walk to the hotel. But if you're too tired to walk, just take tuk-tuk to the hotel. Overall, I recommend you guys to stay in this hotel! Have fun!

Reviewed October 21, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Sheryl from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014

Great hotel!”

location near eateries

The other reviews gave us some ideas on how the hotel will look like. Upon arrival we were allowed for early check in without additional charges. Was greeted by the hotel reception with proper speaking in English. They gave us an upgrade to deluxe as the standard ones has no vacant at the moment. The breakfast was good even though its limited choice like fried rice, fried chicken, fried noodle, sunny side up, sausages, pastas, cereals, fruits and breads. Enough to fill our tummy before we head out to seek for other local foods. Free flow of drinks throughout the daysssss....The location of the hotel is slightly far from the BTS, slow walking may take up to 15mins. But its a great location for eateries...as just the lane up front has lotsa eateries carts. Great antique decoration for the hotel. The pull back was the room has some sorts of smell. Will definitely return again!

Reviewed September 17, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Milena from Hungary
Couple
Grand Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

Wonderful Quality-Price Proportion”

Friendly personal, clean, comfortable rooms, warm atmosphere, very cheap

This is an excellent hotel for these money! Very friendly personnel, rooms are clean, big and nice, you really feel like being at home! This is the only hotel I could found with the balcony, and for us it was a criterion. I don't understand, why there is so low rating for this hotel. For these money nothing can be better in Bangkok!

Reviewed September 08, 2014
5.3
EVIN from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 8 nights in July 2014

Budget hotel, helpful staffs”

budget, helpful staffs, location

Hotel located not far from shopping malls like MBK center, Siam all that however it depends on individuals as u need to walk around 15-20mins. Room is ok but condition old. not very clean and no change of bedsheet. Put do not disturb yet housekeeping keep banging on door. Front desk staffs are helpful. Breakfast provided but limited choices. 7-11 store nearby. Overall stay average, if they improve on cleanliness would be great.

Reviewed August 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Brad from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

Very Welcome”

Location, Staff, Room

We were greeted with free drink, fruit and snacks...available anytime. Various tours were available to peruse but not pushed (good). The room was spacious, A/C was very responsive, nice bed, a little leaking when we used the shower but everything worked. We had a nice walk in a more authentic thai neighbourhood on the way to Siam malls and BTS. We even had a nice hour massage on the way back from a movie night ($7CAD). Value for $ was excellent. Don't know why some of the reviews were poor...just don't expect 5star from 3 1/2.

Reviewed July 25, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jeerisuda from United States
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Excellent Hotel”

Location, clean, service.

Superb location and super clean hotel. Diamond City Hotel is such a great bargain. Has an indoor swimming pool and location in the center of Bangkok with easy access to transportation. Close to local markets, restaurants, pubs, shopping, entertainment, etc.

Reviewed April 02, 2014
3.7
Jennifer from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in January 2014

hotel very clutterd. breakfast area in front foyer”

can't find any best things

cluttered hotel, swimming pool in back corner of the entrance floor, breakfast area in front corner.poor quality breakfast. tea too weak. hotel carpets dirty. corridors and stairs cluttered with artificial plants and furniture. would not return here.

Reviewed February 01, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Sue from New Zealand
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Excellent mid-range hotel in a good location”

Clean rooms, good breakfast, fast internet

Definitely recommend this hotel for a mid-range hotel. We booked two superior rooms and they were excellent. The view from our window was just of a wall but it didn't matter. Strange to have a swimming pool in the lobby (consequently we didn't swim because it was too public). However, really great staff, breakfast had a huge range of foods to choose from, and the 24 hour free tea, coffee and juice was brilliant. Wifi was one of the fastest we had at any hotel in Thailand. Seemed a bit silly that they charged a B 500 bond for the mini-bar. Why not just get rid of the mini-bar? It only had water and coke in it anyway. No problem getting the bond back though. We have also stayed in the Khosan Road area and found this area near the MBK shopping centre way nicer. An amazing range of good street food was within two minutes walk of the hotel, so eating and snacking was a breeze.

Reviewed January 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Mayvis from Malaysia
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Valuable for money”

24hrs snack bar, friendly & helpful staff

Overall the stay is good, you may reach to nearby BTS station by walking distance, got few nice thai massage center with cheap and nice massage. it is located at a small alley which looks very vintage and local heritage, but when step in the hotel, totally different feel with very nice atmosphere surrounding in the hotel. will definitely recommend to friends for this hotel.

Reviewed January 10, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Michael from Sweden
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013

A nice hotel in a perfect location.”

Attendive staff, close to skytrain, good location.

The staff is very friendly and attendive. I like the location of the hotel as it is close to two skytrain stations. It has a 7-11 just around the corner as well as a street filled with food so you could eat cheap on your way to or from the hotel. I would most likely stay here again if I visit Bangkok again.

Reviewed December 26, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Windi from Indonesia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013

Nice hotel in a bit slump area”

Hotel atmosphere, friendly staffs, cheap

The stay at hotel in general was nice. We stayed for 5 days. The first day when we arrived, our room was not ready so they up grade our room to a bigger room and the rest of 4 days we stayed in our room which was good size for a double room. The best part of the hotel is the hotel decorations which make calm and cozy atmosphere. However, the swimming pool is look like a fish pond and located just in front of the main entrance. Instead for swimming it is good for just chilling and reading in front of the pool. The area of the hotel is bit slump and dirty but only less than ten minutes walk to the BTS metro station and many local street foods for 24 hours. Be careful, the seller may cheat on you! Ask first the price to agree how much you will pay for the foods!

Reviewed December 08, 2013
5.3
Paul from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

you get what you pay for”

5-10 min walk to B T S , close enough to shopping areas and staff were nice

Like i said the staff were nice , the rooms are dated , the internet was good, the breakfast was very average , the bathrooms were average however the bathrooms in some 4-4 1/2 star hotels aren't crash hot as well but that is asia i guess and being a construction worker i could pick all day.

Reviewed November 18, 2013
7.7
Very good
Mohsin from India
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

Pleasent”

Service, Food & Comfortable Bed

My name is Mohsin Khan. I have spent 1 day here with my wife on 8th Oct '13. Decent hotel, good facilities, very good service and comfortable beds. At times you will feel the standard of hotel is low. But service is excellent. They give you welcome drink during check in and free juice for 24x7 at lobby. Hotel is old but looks good with some antiques. Rooms are little dark. They also give complimentary breakfast which is nice. Reasonable price for restaurant and It is kind of budget hotel which is like 15 minutes walk to Siam paragon but I am happy with the service.

Reviewed October 14, 2013
2.7
Teck from Malaysia
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

don't believe the photos”

location, location, location.

just like a nightmare, we've booked 6 double rooms, but not prepared properly when we arrived. the room were smelly, and most the lights are not functioning. only improved a little bit, after complaint and changed for so many times. i'll never recommend some ppl to this broken inn.

Reviewed September 06, 2013
7.0
Very good
ALESSANDRO from Italy
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013

Nice hotel fair price”

Clean, nice, very friendly staff

Hotel is ok for the price, not very good located (10 minutes walking from Siam main street and no restaurant nearby) but clean and with very friendly staff. Once we arrived we upgraded to a Deluxe and we got very big beds. It was definitely quite good

Reviewed August 21, 2013
4.7
Wong from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

Room too small for comfort.”

I don't find anything worth to be mention.paying the same amount I prefer hotel grande ville which I stay before.But too bad it was under renovation so I try diamond city.But was disappointed l

When need hot water,asked the house maid. they just tell you to go to the cafe and self collect.Went out at 9am and turn on the tidy up room light,disappointed to be back around 12 pm room not tidy up.need go out again and inform the receptionist then the room only was done.

Reviewed July 24, 2013
6.7
Good
Nor from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

cheap city hotel”

near bts, muslim restaurant and shopping area

It is very enjoyable, free coffee/tea/boiled water/plain water at lobby 24/7, wifi ok. Just that 2 kids are considered as 1 adult and didnt mention in agoda offer. Therefore i have to pay extra 1 adults. Late check out need to pay extra THB 100 / hour Suitable for backpacker with slight comfirt room than budget hotel which only come to sleep at night Hotel is near BTS, Muslim restaurant area and shopping mall like siam center and platinum

Reviewed July 02, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Lydia from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in June 2013

Just A Delight .. Had a great stay ”

Staff are just so helpful, A Big Thankyou to Mr Dog for all his help. The rooms are good, close to everything

I have stayed at Diamond City recently before , and i still received great service from this lovely group of staff that work there. I like the decor of the place, it's different with surroundings much like in the early 1900's. Bits of history new and old are placed around the hotel for viewing. If your wanting a new style hotel this is not for you. Taxi and tuk tuk's are at the door on request and 7/11 and Family Mart with efp money are a quick few steps. Diamond city is close to MBK and also various markets.. I will return x

Reviewed July 01, 2013
5.3
GAN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

“Good location and workers””

Free juice,friendly staff,convenience transport service

I stay there at 1/6-5/6/13.There easy to find local food & nice to eat. The workers very friendly & nice. The hotel free wi-fi and 24 hrs free juice & water,only the air-cond have some noisy. Go BTS need walk about 15-25 min. If dont want take BTS can walk to siam shopping centre. would be pretty unfair to accept a 4-5 stars hotel. As the price we paid for Diamond City Hotel, it is worth our money. Clean and good room with aircon, tv, hair dryer, refrigator, free WiFi, everything you would need to stay. Their price is reasonable and come with breakfast buffet and free drinks available. The hotel has indoor swimming pool which is not big but it is good for refreshment.

Reviewed June 17, 2013