Book Now: Diplomat Hotel

Very good
From 1483 reviewsSee what guests said
7.2
Recommended by 81% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1483)Booking.com Reviews (107)
7.2
Very good
From 1483 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.8
Facilities6.2
Location7.8
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.1
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
Deutsch
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1280 verified guest comments
6.4
Good
CARL from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 18 nights in February 2018
Stayed in these hotel as a base hotel for our multi-Island travels in the Philippines. Has an in ro ”
Accessible, many food options within walking distance to hotel, in room safe, room was okay for our needs, but hotel is old and needs upgrade, restaurant is so so, you can have better and cheaper food in outside restaurants nearby, has a 24 hour 7-eleven across the street.
Reviewed February 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
marie from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
nothing but the best”
the staff were very accommodating and true to their words. we will definitely stay here again
Reviewed February 26, 2018
4.4
Elaine from Philippines
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Diplomat Review”
The location is in the center near the South Bus terminal and other attractions. Staff, cannot follow instructions especially the receptionist. I booked same day and told me she cant check the booking and I need to pay since no one will validate the booking. They have large comfort room without a bidet. Its diffiicult to wash up. The shower is broken, it will turn super hot and cold and vice versa. The price is not worth the service
Reviewed February 22, 2018
6.4
Good
Neil from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Stayed here before. Nice room”
No issues on my stay, good value for price.
Reviewed February 14, 2018
7.2
Very good
Neil from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Nice”
No real complaints that I remember. Yes represents good value for money. Yes I would stay again
Reviewed February 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Eric from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Clean spacious room”
The room was very clean and spacious in this hotel. Security outside made the place feel safer.
Reviewed February 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Jennifer from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Good”
Easy access to food establishments.in the heart of the city
Reviewed February 04, 2018
4.0
mehran from Norway
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
low score on hyggien”
stay their for 4 nigths and i use same bed and pillow sheet in all 4 days even when i mention it at reception they did nothing. dirtty bathroom and cleaning personell did not do their jobb as they suppose to do...lots of moscitu in room when you turn of aircon.never stay their again
Reviewed January 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Norma from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Old hotel but well-maintained”
The staff are very accommodating. The hotel is well-maintained.
Reviewed January 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Meghan from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Fine for Cebu”
The staff were very helpful. Room was cleaned every day which was great. Really nice security guard. Can’t complain
Reviewed January 20, 2018
7.2
Very good
Douglas from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 10 nights in January 2018
Central location”
Clean safe hotel, mediocre restaurant in the building. Friendly staff, close to restaurants, bars Robinson s is only 10 minutes away. I will stay again.
Reviewed January 19, 2018
6.8
Good
Naser from Saudi Arabia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Good budget hotel ”
Nice location,,, room has good size,spacious,,, good restaursnt BUT room cleaning average,,, bathroom old need renovation,,, staff of hotel average friendly & average respectfully
Reviewed January 19, 2018
2.4
Reggie from Philippines
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Eerie and scary. Avoid at all costs.”
The sheets are itchy. The hallways are dirty, used utensils everywhere. Our second night was scary, a pipe burst in the ceiling of our room flooding the CR and a portion of the cabinet area. We were transferred to another room that stinks cigarette and booze. If you are planning to stay here, make sure to bring mosquito repellent lotion. Only one elevator for the entire hotel.
Reviewed January 16, 2018
7.6
Very good
Abbie from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Great value for money, close to bus station”
Clean rooms, powerful Hot showers, close to nice places to eat
Reviewed January 11, 2018
3.6
Kim from Denmark
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
they search your room when your out.they steal my gf id.and i had a hard time to get it back again”
I think this is chinese owned hotel but as a 3 star hotel with rooms from 25$ and up you would expect better treatment instead of 10 people staring at you when you go to your room.even a 1 * hotel treat people with respect
Reviewed January 08, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Vanessa from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017
Whole stay was okay”
The staff were very friendly and accomodating except for the one who makes up the room. She didn't clean the entire room and didn't even change the floor towel. Gave us a dirty towel as well. She was looking pissed when we asked her to have our room cleaned at around 4:45pm and told us she'll be out by 5pm. All in all, stay was good. Food at the restaurant is good too. The hotel is near the mall/hospital and other establishments. Easy to locate. 👍👍👍
Reviewed January 04, 2018
7.6
Very good
Jedthapart from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
you get what you pay for”
Nothing much to this property except that it is a budget place to rest before my red eye flight. There are places to eat nearby. Malls are walking distance. Easy to get a cab to the airport.
Reviewed December 31, 2017
8.8
Excellent
renaud from France
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Really good hotel with good location”
One of the good surprise in Cebu, this hotel is a really hotel like in europe, good service ( but they forgot to tell you, you have to give 1000 pesos deposit before you get your room ), good location ( 5 min walk to robinson mall and lots of restaurants around ), everyday cleaning ( its not clean like in europe but for Philippine clean ), really good wifi. I really recommande the Diplomat Hotel.
Reviewed December 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jennifer from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Value For Money ”
The last time I checked in to this place, the furniture and fixture were kind of old. But when I checked in last Dec 19, I was surprised. They upgraded their TV, the CR was already clean (not to mention the tiles were so dirty before). Not only it was an affordable stay, it was nice and comfier.
Reviewed December 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Danilo from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Excellent ”
Really worth to recommend
Reviewed December 14, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Stephen from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Very good”
Nice location next to a dive shop and 7/11
Reviewed December 13, 2017
6.8
Good
liu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
good cheap”
good cheap
Reviewed December 13, 2017
6.0
liu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
good cheap”
good cheap
Reviewed December 13, 2017
6.0
liu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
good cheap”
good cheap
Reviewed December 13, 2017
5.2
Jagadeesh from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Ancient systems”
This is my second time stay at diplomat. Really sad that the feedback i had provided during my first stay was not even noted! Here is the story...rooms are okay...service is pathetic....but the horrible part is internet. Tehy have an age old system of managing internet: 1. Internet is pathetically slow and intermittent 2. they issue a token and eveyrday and you have to go in person to collect it (they dint even give it by phone) 3. Mobile reception in many parts of the hotel is bad...so you are forced to depend on intternet...and whola the hotel only gives access to 2 devises! so if you are copuple with mobile and laptop ! - thts it good luck! tey dont even give you even if u agree to pay extra! 4. on top of internt being slow it disconnects very frequently...so u need a new password? long walk through a dark alley on your floor to reach elevator and upon reaching reception be ready to face people who are ready to say no even before you ask a question!! really sad......
Reviewed December 09, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Sean from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Exceptional”
A good place to stay in Cebu City. We have stayed here a lot of times and have always been happy.
Reviewed December 08, 2017
7.2
Very good
Peter from Ireland
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Value-for-money”
Unfortunately Cebu city and the Diplomat hotel are now non-smoking so I intend to avoid both in the future.
Reviewed December 01, 2017
8.0
Excellent
PING-CHENG from Taiwan
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Nice hotel ”
The room clean , staff cordial
Reviewed November 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Erwin from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Exceptional”
Ita good! Very nice lication.
Reviewed November 21, 2017
6.4
Good
Artin from Argentina
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Better options around”
The rooms are okay. Airconditon is old and very very loud. TV is very old and nearly non-functional. The beds are okay. The staff is very friendly and rooms are very clean. Nevertheless it would be not worth more than 800 PHP (around 17 dolars) I paid 21 dollars for my stay. Around 3 blocks with a better location is rajah park hotel which offers much better standards for around 25 dollars a night with a casino inside.
Reviewed November 21, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Stuart from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 20 nights in October 2017
Good Hotel”
Staff very friendly. Clean hotel. Ask for a room on 6th,7th, or 8th floor
Reviewed November 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Jürgen from Germany
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
Excellent”
All okay
Reviewed November 18, 2017
6.4
Good
RUDOLF from Austria
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
Good location ”
Opposite workplace the best place in Cebu to do office work
Reviewed November 14, 2017
6.8
Good
Marilou from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Good Basic Hotel”
Good clean/toilet aircon room. Good breakfast. Lovely staff.
Reviewed November 09, 2017
4.4
Hank from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Basic and dumb”
The Diplomat will NOT even give you a comp bottle of water.. Front desk staff are barely sentient, everyone there asleep.. Hotel resto serves slop labelled food and charge a heap for it.. It is in a decent location but zero repeat zero customer service - The Diplomat would not give you the steam off their shit - avoid
Reviewed November 09, 2017
6.0
christopher from United States
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
it was ok”
nothing to write home about, not bad but not great
Reviewed November 09, 2017
5.6
Mark
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Slow internet.”
The internet was so slow I could barely work.
Reviewed November 06, 2017
4.4
Christine from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Not worth your money”
We were given an access card to a room in 7th flr that didn’t work. We had to go back to the reception area and was advised that it wasn’t updated yet. We went back to the room, assisted by their staff to make sure access card will work this time and it did. We thought that’s it but to our surprise, the room was very messy/has not been cleaned yet. We had to wait again for them to move us to a different room. Take note, this was a late check-in. Thus, they should’ve had enough time to prepare our room. Very disappointed!
Reviewed October 23, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Rodney from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
they like to keep as much of your deposit as possible. ”
Great place and restaurant was very nice. The prices were very good and staff very helpful. I will continue to stay there
Reviewed October 14, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Sherwin from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Exceptional”
Really good hotel for short stay on business.
Reviewed October 05, 2017
7.6
Very good
mark from Australia
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Comfortable bed,friendly staff”
No have complementry water..the towel it's look dirty and tatty and old
Reviewed October 04, 2017
4.8
Lester from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Run...”
The fact that the elevator button was taped on should have given me a clue... Room had strange odour, Air conditioner sounded like a jeepney running in the room, and bathroom was filthy. Happy to leave!
Reviewed September 25, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Greg from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 15 nights in September 2017
Excellent and close to everything all in one lication . Great security ”
Great and friendly service
Reviewed September 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Peter from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Exceptional”
Great Hotel, Very Spacious rooms and Friendly Hotel Staff, very safe place to stay, close to Robinson Mall on F Ramos Street. Taxi's right out the front of the Hotel, Jeepney's travel up and down the street and easy walk to most shops and cafes.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Mark from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Exceptional”
Fine - just don't eat the food it was BAD! & made me ill!
Reviewed September 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Richard from United States
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 7 nights in August 2017
Exceptional”
We've stayed here several times before and enjoy it. We only left because we were looking for a longer stay at a more affordable price. We love the location. The shower heater wasn't working though and we got no service when asking for a repair. The fridge was a plus. The air conditioning worked great. We enjoyed our stay there and would gladly stay again!
Reviewed August 28, 2017
5.6
cresilda from Singapore
Group
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
So so”
Wont stay here again.. can find cheap hotels thats nice also
Reviewed August 22, 2017
7.6
Very good
Noel from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Over all satisfied but a little creepy. ”
Been to the hotel few times already but it is my first time to experience something strange. This is not to scare people, but I think I should share it anyway. Fell asleep around 2am when I suddenly felt someone stood up from the bed where I was lying on and then whispered a word I can't understand, something like sshharrwoo. (I can't even spell what I heard right). Never really experienced something weird in my life. However, It didn't scare me at all. I was so sleepy so I just slept it off. But thinking about it makes me wonder what was it? Anyway, hotel staffs were great. Hotel is little outdated and internet sucks. Still a value for your money considering it is cheap.
Reviewed August 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Kenneth from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Exceptional”
Nice restaurant and friendly staff. Live band is awesome too.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
7.6
Very good
ZHE from China
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Very good”
facility is old and not very clean, AC is quite noisy. but the staff are very nice and helpful.
Reviewed July 22, 2017