Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good

based on 139 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 7.6
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food and dining 7.3
Sort by

L.Y.C from Mauritius
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
good location but room not so good
good location reception staff very pleasant good english speaking
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Warren from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Good hotel in very good location
The Donghu hotel is a good but relatively simple hotel in a very good location.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Michael from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 6 nights in July 2012
Lovely Hotel
It is a classy place
It really is one of the best hotels in Shanghai. The location is great as well although there are a lot of foreigners there considering you are in China. The place even has a pool although it is in another building and indoors. The food and drinks in the rooms are oddly cheap but the restaurant is overpriced. There are many restaurants around the hotel.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ian from Australia
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
Well situated hotel
Pleasent and quiet part of Shanghai
Stayed for 2 nights. Comfortable bed and nice room. Also close to a variety of restaurants.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

sasikan from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Great location, near all cool shop and bar
located at downtown
hotel is pretty old, with antique feeling. but if you scare of spirit, this hotel might scare you off from it's look. But i didn't experience any. It has big room with all required facility. Only lane internet in the room night be trouble for people travel without computer.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

sasikan from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
great location
hotel is feel like it could be hunted a bit. but i haven't seen anything. beside that, it's located in heart of shopping area, bar and restaurant. recommended if you don't have much money to spend and would like to explore shanghai
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Paulina from Canada
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
lovely hotel
best location
it is always a pleasure to stay in this hotel . It is not my first time here , I always go when im in shanghai .I love this location
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Jennifer from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Great location, standard service
Great Location, reasonable price, near subway stations and major shopping roads
We spent two nights in the Donghu in the main building and had no problems. The location is the best feature of the hotel, right in the center of the French Concession, close to many nice shops and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the Mexican place around the corner! The "gym" has only one treadmill, and it is very loud and squeaky. If you can handle a hard mattress, this is a fine place to stay. Be sure to request the main hotel over the "annex", as there is a lot of construction going on over there!
Reviewed June 02, 2012

Ang from Singapore
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
It was an average experience staying at Donghu. Knowing that it was a historical building, my partner & I wished to see more of it so we took a walk within the building after checking in. We were just crossing into the next corridor and we were stopped by a hotel person saying that we were not allow to wander within the hotel vicinity, which was completely weird and got us felt so unwelcome. The room we got was of decent size but the facilities were dated and the toilet was pretty rundown. Thank god we were staying only for a night.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Renaud from France
Deluxe Room
Stayed 7 nights in April 2012
Perfect location
location, heritage style
Perfect location, nice and big room (although the bathroom seem outdated). The restaurant is poor (even for breakfast) but the hotel is surrounded by some of the best restaurants in Shanghai...
Reviewed May 08, 2012


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: