Excellent 8.2
Based on 71 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 71 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 8.8
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food/Dining 7.6
Sort by

Saundra from United States
Groups
Superior
Stayed one night in June 2015
Very Friendly Staff.
Location, friendly staff
It was OK. We came late at night and I don't think they were expecting us. Place was not really clean, there were dry dead bugs on the window ledges and we saw a couple cockroaches scurrying around,but when we got up in the morning there were cleaners working away. We only stayed one night but the staff was super helpful and friendly. I'd stay there again but my American friends would not. Good for the money.
Reviewed July 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Alison from United States
Solo travelers
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
No wifi, but an excellent location
Convenient location, nice homey wood lined rooms, helpful staff
Splurge for the Superior rooms - 3 sides of windows. Listen for the monks chanting and their breakfast at 4:30am. Unfortunate the advertised wifi wasn't...
Reviewed March 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Pia from Germany
Couples
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Comfort zone in Kalaw
Great location, cozy room, quiet.
We stayed two nights and enjoyed it a lot! Dream Villa is located close to the market and the very busy and noisy main road, where we were happy not too stay since I n the evenings the traffic is loud and the air really bad. The stuff was very friendly and helpful (trekking tours could be organized here, very reasonable laundry), breakfast was great! I can only recommend staying here and then go trekking to Inle Lake!
Reviewed January 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Noam from Australia
Groups
Superior
Stayed one night in December 2014
Fantastic hotel but there are cheaper alternatives
Location, Bedroom and staff
Arriving at 3am to the hotel to a locked gate was a bit worrying at first however eventually someone opened the door for us and checked us in. Instead of receiving one triple room for our first night we actually received two double rooms which was actually a pleasant surprise. The rooms were fantastic however in all three rooms the shower head was a disaster. There was a bit of a language barrier with all staff except one, she was fantastic and the most helpful staff member we experienced while traveling in Myanmar. This hotel is fantastic however if you are traveling on a budget there are better alternatives
Reviewed December 28, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Low from Singapore
Couples
Superior
Stayed one night in December 2014
Nice and comfortable Hotel
Bed, hotel decoration and staffs
Reviewed December 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Alanna from United Kingdom
Groups
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Fabulous Dream Villa Hotel
Stunning triple room with windows on 3 sides. Very clean. Incredibly helpful and friendly staff
The rooms were beautiful, wood paneled, with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. The owners couldn't have been more helpful even offering to scrub our filthy walking boots for us.
Reviewed October 08, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

debra from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Beautiful Colonial Building
Breakfast, refurbished July 2014
This place was being refurbished in July 2014 whilst we were there. They put us in a lovely huge room at the front of the hotel with massive windows and a stunning balcony. They arranged treks and airport transfers. Breakfast was great and we loved the pancakes, although there was lots more on the menu. They kept bringing us food. Staff are lovely and wont let you lift a finger. Very close to the market and restaurants (2 min walk). Check out 7 Sisters restaurant whilst you are in town. Defo one of the best in Kalaw!!
Reviewed July 12, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Michelle from United Kingdom
Groups
Superior
Stayed one night in June 2014
Comfortable and quaint hotel but no frills
Good location, lots of character, great breakfast
This is a quaint no-frills guest house with quite a few rooms, strangely reminiscent of an alpine lodge, covered as it is with local pine -- from the ceilings to the walls. The rooms are pretty basic, and tired and worn in places, but the place has a certain bucolic charm. Kalaw is a small town, so location-wise it's fine, although it overlooks a school which was pretty rowdy during the day (one to bear in mind if you plan to have a midday nap). There was, however, no air con in our room which for me is a big issue, and wasn't really clear from the website in my view (although it's possible I missed this). It was manageable because Kalaw was only in the 20s, but I don't know how hot it gets in high season, so check the temperature before you book. There was a decent minibar. The staff were sweet and served the most incredible breakfast. We stayed here for one night, and for this purpose it was absolutely fine, and good value for money (during low season).
Reviewed June 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Mary from United States
Families with older children
Superior
Stayed one night in December 2013
Good hotel to stay at before starting a trek
Hotel was clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good breakfast!
We stayed 1 night at this hotel before heading out on a 3-day trek to Inle Lake with Sam's Trekking Company (which was amazing). This hotel was beautifully decorated, was clean and safe, and had friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was very good.
Reviewed January 19, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Edward from United Kingdom
Couples
Superior
Stayed one night in December 2013
Budget Backpacker hotel that did the job
Good location, helpful staff and large breakfast
The Dream Villa did the job for our one night stay but I don't think you would want to stay any longer. Our room was small but perfectly equipped. It wasn't particularly clean, however, and could certainly do with a lick of paint here and there. I would describe it as a functional backpacker hotel which is perhaps a notch above the usual.
Reviewed January 05, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: