Book Now: Mei Jen House

Excellent
From 1449 reviewsSee what guests said
8.5
/
10
Recommended by 93% of guests

Reviews of Mei Jen House Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1449)Booking.com Reviews (355)
8.5
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities7.8
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service9.0
Value for money8.3
All languages
All guests (1449)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 1115 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Yee from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Quad
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Splendid Experience”

We booked a room for 4 and it was well furnished with basic necessities. Our room was located on the fourth floor and there was no elevator but the host was nice enough to bring our luggage to our room after check in and bring them down to the lobby during check out. As we visited Sun Moon Lake in April, we could join in the fireflies sighting activity organized by the host during our stay. There was also a sunrise viewing activity but it was cancelled due to rain. For breakfast, we were given coupons to dine in at 85° café.

Reviewed April 22, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Brett from Canada
Couple
Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Comfortable and convenient”

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Mei Jen. The room was very comfortable, well equipped, excellent WiFi and abundant hot water. The included coupons for a light breakfast at a local coffee shop were also welcome. We also made use of the discounted boat tickets. As this is a tourist town accommodation prices tend to be higher although I thought our rate was too high considering we stayed mid-week and the guesthouse was almost empty.

Reviewed April 04, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
yiling from Singapore
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Exceptional”

A bit old but owner tried to make the room comfortable. Room was facing main road but not noisy. Given 7-11 voucher for breakfast. Was helpful with the luggage as currently the lift is not in operation yet. Very near to the pier and will definitely stay with them again the next time.

Reviewed March 03, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Beatrice from Philippines
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Lovely hostess”

I had a wonderful stay here. Mei Jen and her daughters are so lovely. They accompanied us to see the firefly at night,Mei Jen even drove us in her car for free. The daughters helped explained things about the firefly and answered our questions. At dawn, Mei Jen accompanied us to see the sunrise... this is highlight of our 6-day Taiwan trip

Reviewed April 29, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
kridchanon
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Awesome hotel”

Strongly recommend to stay this hotel. Very convenience from bus station, room very clean and comfy bed. Value for money and free breakfast coupon to use at 7-11. Staff very nice and kind. Hotel provided free drink 24 hrs.

Reviewed December 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Khoo from Malaysia
Family with teens
Triple room - 1 Double bed + 1 single bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Exceptonal Service”

1) Near the bus station and boat pier. Around the shops and restaurant 2) Provide breakfast voucher for either 7-11 or 85 Degree cafe 3) Host is very helpful and warm. She helps to move our luggage to our room, find out alternative route to Alishan since bus trip are full for our next destination and bring us to look at sunrise the next morning 4) Simple snack and drinks are provided at the reception 5) Room is clean and very comfortable. Construction of lift is ongoing and will be completed by 2019. Thanks the owner for her excelent service and hospitally. Stay for 2 nights

Reviewed December 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Khoo from Malaysia
Family with teens
Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Exceptional Service”

1) Near the bus station and boat pier. Lots of shops and restaurant around 2) Provide breakfast voucher for either 7-11 or 85 Degree cafe 3) Host is very helpful and warm. She helps to move our luggage to our room, find alternative route to Alishan since bus trip are full and bring us to look at sunrise the next morning at 0530am. 4) Simple snack and drinks are provided at the reception 5) Room is clean and very comfortable. Construction of Lift is still ongoing & will be available by next year 2019

Reviewed December 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Chua from Malaysia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Awesome stay in Sun Moon Lake”

The location is great as it is located in the main street with many shops and the pier for travelling around the lake is just opposite of the house. There is some free drink like hot chocolate and coffee provided for guests. The visitor centre is just a 2 minutes walking distance. Watson is just beside the house and 7-11 is just opposite the house. The lady will bring us to see sunrise around the lake, is an awesome experience. Will definitely stay again in the future.

Reviewed March 21, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Sirinporn from Thailand
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Everything is good except no one in the guesthouse in the afternoon when you want your luggage back.”

Good location just a few walk from bus station. Everything is good, room is big except the day we checked out that we left luggage in the morning and we wanted to get it back in the afternoon. Door was locked, there was no one in the guesthouse and we were in rush because we already booked bus ticket back to Taichung. We tried to knock door, yell and did everything to get into in the guesthouse fortunately we could see maid inside that didn't seem to know anything and couldn't communicate English that finally opened the door for us. Thanks God!!

Reviewed November 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
SOON from Singapore
Family with teens
Family Quad
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Good location and lovely host”

Pros : 1) Near the bus station and boat pier. Around the shops and restuarant 2) Provide breakfast voucher for either 7-11 or nearby cafe 3) Host is very helpful and warm. She helps to move our luggage to our room, find out the weather for our next destination and bring us to look at sunrise the next morning 4) Simple snack and drinks are provided at the reception 5) Room is clean and very comfortable Cons : 1) No lift for the room. But the host is helpful enough to move our luggages. Thanks for the wonderful stay!!

Reviewed December 04, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Exceptional”

stayed 3 nights at this lovely guest house, felt very welcome by the friendly staff. the lady took us to see a beautiful sunrise, just a short walk away by the shore of the lake. you can help yourself to make a tea or coffee anytime in the reception area, and there are many shops and restaurants close by

Reviewed November 26, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Ariyapohn from Thailand
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Great location..very nice and kind owner .”

Great location..very nice and kind owner. Walk around 5 mins from bus station. Near pier and many shop.

Reviewed April 19, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Sebastiaan from Netherlands
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Perfect and Cute Hostel”

Very friendly host who even showed us around to see the fireflies nearby. Provided breakfast vouchers. Beds and bathrooms were very clean. Highly recommended.

Reviewed April 16, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Vittawat from Thailand
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Good location and very nice staff”

Full room amenities And the staff at the reception are excellent Including taking us to see the sunrise as well.

Reviewed April 10, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
niramol from Thailand
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Clean and comfy ”

The owner is very good service mind, I really like her. The bed is very clean and can make you a nice sleep.

Reviewed April 03, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
FAN from Malaysia
Couple
Triple room - 1 Double bed + 1 single bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Exceptional”

Good location, 7-11, starbucks, watson and food stall are at surrounding.

Reviewed March 18, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
RICARDO from Singapore
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Great location & great host”

Mei Jen is a really nice host. By staying at this place has definately made our trip to Sun Moon Lake more wonderful. Location is great, very near to pier and bus drop off point. She is patient to tell us all information we need to ask about Sun Moon Lake and recommended a few good eateries around the place. We followed her to watch sunrise and she is patient enough to wait for everyone to finish all photo taking before leading us back despite that we can go back on the same way on our ion. A big thank you to Mei Jen!!!

Reviewed May 23, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Vanessa from Singapore
Family with teens
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Value for money, highly recommended ”

The staff is really friendly and helpful as she recommended us good places to eat and activities to do. There is also a free tour to watch the sunrise but unfortunately we didn't catch the beautiful sunrise due to bad weather. Pls buy the boat ticket from her too because it is much cheaper. Pro: - Staff is friendly and helpful, she even helped us carry our heavy luggages - Value for money: bed is comfy and room is clean Cons: - No lift but it is okay for us Summary: Highly recommend if you are looking for a budget stay

Reviewed April 09, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Parcharapat from Thailand
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Nice place.”

This hotel very closed to Shuishe visitor center and Shuishe port. The owner was so kind and friendly. Every morning she always took her guest to see the sunrise which was so beautiful. The room was clean and convenience.

Reviewed March 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Marisa from Thailand
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

The staff was very nice and caring!”

I would recommend people with less or light baggage to stay at here. The location is perfect for travelling. The lady was very nice and caring. She took us to sunrise tour in the morning (you should not miss it, it was the best part staying at Sun Moon Lake). Since the road to Alishan was collapsed, I had to change by plan. The lady helped us to book the taxi (NT1000 /person which was acceptable) . The concerns were 1. no heater 2. no lift.

Reviewed March 19, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Saw from Malaysia
Group
Triple room - 1 Double bed + 1 single bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Excellent stay”

Hotel location is very good as it is within walking distance to the port. Room is big and clean. WIFI is signal is very strong. No in house breakfast is served but we are given 150 TWD 7-11 vouchers as a compliments for breakfast. There are water dispenser and a coffee machine at the lobby. Hotel staff is very friendly.

Reviewed January 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Wen from Malaysia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

great stay”

very homely. the owner is very friendly and plenty of effort to make MeiJen house to be less hotel, more homely environment. She will take us for a sunrise walk at the lakeside. Very near to bus station back to Taichung. Near shuishe pier, though not as many street food as Ita Thau but plenty of choices still. With the boat/ round the lake bus, can go anywhere at Sun moon Lake

Reviewed December 25, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
cheng from Singapore
Family with young children
Double
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Fantastic service with interesting rooms”

The owner is super friendly and helpful! One of the kid sprained her ankle, she drove us 30mins to a doctor and waited with us. She will also bring you to see the sunrise and if she find that the sun is not gonna be a strong one, she would ask those keen to hike up the mountain to watch the sea of clouds which is fantastic!

Reviewed November 30, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Yan from Malaysia
Couple
Double
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017

Homely House for a perfect holiday in Sun Moon Lake”

We stayed 2 nights in Mei Jen House. The breakfast is a local porridge with codiments, toast bread with lots of jam, cakes, etc. It was a homely breakfast we enjoyed. It's walking distance to Shuishe Visitor Centre where you can take buses around the island and from Taichung. It's walking distance to Shuishe Pier. It was a perfect stay.

Reviewed October 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Tay from Malaysia
Group
Triple room - 1 Double bed + 1 single bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

clean and spacious room with delicious breakfast”

the room is clean and spacious. and they provide delicious breakfast. the only downside is there is no lift, have to carry huge luggages through the stairs. we stayed in 2nd floor. others is just wonderful

Reviewed August 05, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Tay from Malaysia
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Clean and spacious room with delicious breakfast ”

the room is clean and spacious. and they provide delicious breakfast. the only downside is there is no lift, have to carry huge luggages through the stairs. we stayed in 2nd floor. others is just wonderful

Reviewed August 05, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Chompunot from Thailand
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2017

Near to the Pier”

It's convenient to stay here 'coz of great location. Nearly to the bus station, pier and 7/11 in ftont of the hotel. The staff is very nice and lovely, she stay here whole day. **Special thing : The staff will have the small period to show you the nice view of SML early morning in everyday**

Reviewed June 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Benjamin from United States
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Fantastic Hotel”

Very nice little hotel not far from the Shuishe Travel Center (where the buses drop off and depart from). Had one of the rooms in the back of the hotel so there was no road noise at all, the room was very clean, the wifi worked well, the shower had hot water, and there was a television with movie channels. The breakfast is better than the typically "Taiwanese hotel breakfast," too. I have stayed at Sun Moon Lake many times, and this hotel's cost performance is perhaps the best. 10/10, will stay again in the future.

Reviewed February 27, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Christina from Singapore
Couple
Family Quad
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017

Good location”

Has a 7-11 opp and Watson 2 doors away. Don't expect hotel quality because it's a guest house. We stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast was simple fare for the first morning. Had porridge and toast. For 2nd morning, the boss didn't prepare breakfast and brought fried noodles, 1 banana each and 1 packet of red tea for us. The fried noodles was pretty tasteless.

Reviewed January 11, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Chen from China
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in January 2017

Agreeable staff”

The room is not big only enough for a bed, a desk and a washroom.The staff is very warm hearted though. She led us for sun rise photo shooting at 5:30 am and prepared us delicious breakfast afterwards. This place is easy to find. There's nothing to do at night, not many gift shops or food stalls. Before I went there I didn't know there are also hotels on the island, you can live on the island if you prefer night market over sunrise photo.

Reviewed January 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Alex from Philippines
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Highly Recommended Hotel in Sun Moon Lake”

The location was excellent. It was walking distance to the visitor centre, bus stop, pier, nike rental shops, 7-11 and restaurants. The owner, Ms. Yu, was very helpful and generous. On the first day, she guided us through the Sun Moom Lake map. She taught us the most efficient way to tour the area. The next morning she took us to see the beautiful sunrise. Since breakfast started at 8:00AM and we were leaving at 7:00AM, she bought 2 sandwiches and milk tea for me and my sister. It was really excellent customer service. When we left Taiwan, she even messaged me that there will be meteor shower today and she knows an excellent place to watch it. This house/hotel is highly recommended.

Reviewed August 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
yuk from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Family Quad
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

good location, friendly & helpful host”

The location is very convenient, close to the pier. You can easily go to the pier for a boat trip or go cycling along the lake. We enjoyed a lot. The house is super clean with lot of pretty drawing on the wall. We lived in a 4 persons hello kitty room on the 3rd floor. Good scenery!! The host is very helpful and helped us to book the dinner buffet in a famous hotel nearby. Thank you Mei Jen. We enjoyed out 2 night stay a lot.

Reviewed June 26, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Wipada from Thailand
Group
Family Quad
Stayed 1 night in April 2016

Friendliest staff”

We really enjoyed our stay at Mai Jen House. The location was great, very easy to find. Opposite seven-eleven. One of the staffs offered us a morning walk to see sunrise. Although the weather was terrible and we saw no sun that day, we really did appreciate her kindness. Hope Mai Jen House had a lift! Thanks!

Reviewed April 04, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Shue from Malaysia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Friendly Staff / Owner”

Location, service, Food

Stay was comfortable as owner is very friendly and offered to bring us out for sunrise view around the lake. The hotel is located at the heart of the town. convenient to go anywhere. Food is easily accessible as there's a lot of eateries around the hotel.

Reviewed January 26, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Emily from Malaysia
Family with young children
Family Quad
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Comfortable stay”

Located near the food street and convenience store, big room, friendly staff

1. Overall was good. Located near convenience store 7-eleven, can get food & fruits easily, but the restaurant close quite early around 9am. 2. Next to ShuShe port where you can take boat to Sun Moon Lake. 3. Serve typical Taiwan breakfast which is porridge with some cake and fruits. 4. The only setback is you have to use staircase.

Reviewed November 30, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
lai from Malaysia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2014

Friendly staff”

Friendly staff, helpful , location,

During our stay , lady boss mei Jen very helpful, nice. She gave us details to walk around , even she will arrange tour for bring us to see sun rise. Breakfast very nice, she also help us arrange transport back to Taichung .

Reviewed September 09, 2015
8.7
Excellent
LiJia from Singapore
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Friendly Host, Good Location”

Host, Location, Cleanliness

Great. Host was friendly, brought us to watch sunrise and she took good photos for us! Did not know that we need to register with the host for sunrise trip so we missed out on a good location to watch the sunrise. Breakfast was ok.

Reviewed August 04, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
dewi from Indonesia
Family with young children
Family Quad
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

recommended place to stay”

place, friendly, and helpfull owner

I'm very satisfied with this hotel, the location near the shops and pier. And the owner is very friendly and helpfull, you can ask anything you want to go and she will give you the information in detail. Breakfast and snack also tasty. Very recommended place to stay in sunmoonlake.

Reviewed July 09, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Joanne from Singapore
Couple
Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015

comfortable stay, like homestay”

cosy, friendly, regular room service

Enjoyed my stay. The lady boss is very friendly. Enjoyed my sunrise tour with the lady boss who's into photography herself. Bfast was simple but adequate. Nice assistant who's ever ready to assist. Room is cosy and clean.Location is great.3 mins away from Shuishe pier and bus terminal.

Reviewed January 13, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Chiew from Singapore
Family with teens
Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

Friendly MeiZen interesting rooms ”

easy to locate, near shops and sun moon lake interesting rooms

easy to locate, near shops and sun moon lake interesting rooms Breakfast was simple but filling. Self service No lift. so you gotta carry your luggage up. Miss Mei Zen is very friendly and offers to carry it up for us. but if not careful, can be a little dangerous if we missed a step. Rooms are very nicely decorated though! nice place to stay in!

Reviewed September 21, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Chit from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Best Sunrise experience”

Nice Host, Clean Room, Good Location

It was great that the host will bring you to the best place for sunrise photo shooting. She even prepared tripod for us! Location is just next to the harbour and transportation centre. Highly recommend to rent a bike for cycling around the lake.

Reviewed August 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Vata from Malaysia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

Great Stay and value the money!!!”

centrally located, friendly staff, Feel homey

First thought before i been to the house, i thought it will look like a backpacker homestay house with not so comfortable room, shared bathroom, etc. But i was all WRONG!!! kinda surprise me when i make my first step into, feel very homey, and welcomed by such a sweet and nice lady owner of the homestay. After checked in she introduce us on any attraction surround even before we asked her to. She told us the direction and how to reached the attraction. Very friendly owner. She even invited us to photographing sunrise in the next day unfortunately we overslept. The breakfast just good. But the room was comfy enough for a homestay. Defintiely will pay another visit in the future

Reviewed June 19, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Edwin from Afghanistan
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

The Stay in Mei Jen House is simply amazing”

friendly owner, clean and central location

I love this place. Very centrally located and near to moon sun lake which is only 5 mins walk to the pier. The owner, Mei Jen is very friendly and have great interest in photography. She will arrange a tour daily absolutely no charge to catch the sunrise every morning near sun moon lake. Daily breakfast is served in Taiwan style. Simple but healthy. I will definitely come back again to stay at this place because of the location and friendly owner.

Reviewed April 11, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
NAWATT from Thailand
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

Feel like my Home, Nice Staff, Beautiful”

Staff, Location, Breakfast

It was so nice choosing this place. Staff is very helpful and kind. Please do not forget to buy sightseeing boat ticket at the hotel. You will get the special price. Every morning, there is activity walking out to see the first sun rise and taking the picture. The owner who brings you to different place everyday is a professional in photography. I learnt many techniques from her. Wow! That's really nice. I can finish all my targets in Sun Moon Lake and back home happily. Thank for help from the owner of Mei Jen House. ^^)b

Reviewed January 07, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
LIM from Singapore
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2013

Great staff service and breakfast!”

Staff attitude, breakfast and location

Mei Jen House is conveniently located just 100m from the shuishe tourist centre. Also the biggest plus point is the lady at the counter is super helpful and friendly in helping us out such as recommending nice food places and how to go about maximising our 1day stay at sun moon lake. She even provides a free sun rise tour but was unfortunately cancelled that morning due to rain. We were given an "Aladdin" inspired room and even had a glimpse of the lake from our window. However when night falls, we can hear footsteps of the occupants above and occassionally voices of other guests. The breakfast served is also great with taiwanese porridge, tea leaf egg as well as bread. Overall a great stay and would definitely recommend to everyone!

Reviewed December 19, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
chong from Malaysia
Group
Family Quad
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

budge ,centrally location and comfortable hotel”

nice design,good service and close to bus stop

the first impression fo this hotel is not good,but after move in surprise to see the room are design difference,nice,clean and comfortable,and the bus stop is so near ,the boss, mei jen is good service,her breakfast is delicious too,thank you,mei jen

Reviewed December 01, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Kairen from Singapore
Couple
Double
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Very relaxing stay”

Great owner, relaxed atmosphere

The owner is one of the friendliest host. Gave us a comprehensive overview of sun moon lake and recommended activities based on our length of stay (3nights). She even brought guests every morning to watch the sunrise. Excellent homestay.

Reviewed October 15, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Felix from Indonesia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Home at Sun Moon Lake”

Near to Shuttle Bus Station, Friendly & Helpful Staff, Homy

The hotel is very near to shuttle bus station in which it takes only 5 minutes to reach the hotel from the bus station if you take bus from Taichung High Speed Rail Station to Sun Moon Lake. The staff also very helpful and friendly, they even help us to bring our baggage to our room in the 2nd floor. The staff can speak English very well too.

Reviewed August 18, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Lih from Malaysia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

Cute and homey decoration, comfortable and clean r”

Cute and homey decoration, comfortable and clean room, friendly and attentive staff

The lady owner helped us to arrange for transportation from Sun Moon Lake to Cing Jing Farm and the ferry ticket to round the lake on the next day. This gave us much convenience which we were grateful for. A local style breakfast was provided and was simply delicious. The only negative feedback we had for this stay was that the building was not equipped with elevator. My hubby had to carry the heavy baggages all the way down from 3rd floor when we checked out. The lady owner helped us to carry one of them when we checked in despite we insisted in carrying ourselves. Our stay in Taiwan was 12 days in total, so you can imagine how heavy the baggages were.

Reviewed August 03, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Yee from Singapore
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Cosy, value for money”

Friendly host, cosy room, private tour to see firefly and sunrise at no additional cost.

It was only a night stay for us, but full of interest and excitement. We get to see fireflies and beautiful night scene of the place. The host lady is very friendly and helpful. We would return again to stay at her hotel and for a longer period.

Reviewed May 06, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Yee from Singapore
Group
Family Quad
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Excellent stay experience!”

Friendly host, arranged small group trips to see firefly and sunrise.

It was only a night stay for us, but full of interest and excitement. We get to see fireflies and beautiful night scene of the place. The host lady is very friendly and helpful. We would return again to stay at her hotel and for a longer period.

Reviewed May 06, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Jolene from Singapore
Family with teens
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Great Room with Great Location!!!”

The cleanliness of the room, the size of the room and the friendliness of staff

I had the most amazing stay for my entire taiwan trip at MeiJen house. It is strategically located near the shueishe pier, and 7-11 is just across the street.The owner Meizhen is friendly and gives advices on your plans for SML.The rooms are huge, and extremely clean!!! It has a very homely feel to it, and i would highly recommend it to anyone who is planning a stay in SML.

Reviewed May 02, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
San from Singapore
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Good location”

Nice little B&B

Very nice lady. Apologetic for the late check-in due to earthquake that morning. Brought us to see sunrise next morning. Rooms are of different themes. Clean and equipped with standard toiletories. Very near the lake.

Reviewed April 07, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Khor from Malaysia
Couple
Family Quad
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff”

Each and every rooms with different painting and design

a very very friendly staff, especially the ladyboss, mei jen, guide us and provide us with many useful tips on transportation and sightseeing. the local breakfast provided taste so good. the location is strategically near to the jetty and main bus station at sun moon lake. only 5mins walking distance. clean room, lovely painting, helpful staff, definitely will come back again.

Reviewed March 01, 2013
8.0
Excellent
shinta from Indonesia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2013

Lovely hotel with perfect place”

perfect place

I love this budget hotel. the location is only 3 minutes from bus station. the room is clean and every facility work well. the bathroom is clean. but unfortunately the breakfast is not delicious for customer. but the hotel is still perfect to be place when we come to Sun Moon Lake. i will return again if we get back to Sun Moon Lake.

Reviewed February 15, 2013
8.8
Excellent
Tammy
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Superb location, helpful host, clean room on 1/F but quite cramped (we requested two single beds).”

a value for money option. appreciate the provision of free coffee, tea and biscuits in the reception area. Nothing fancy but sufficient amount of essentials (toothbrush, shower gel etc.) were provided. a nice stay.

Reviewed November 01, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Chua from Singapore
Couple
Double
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

👍👍👍民宿”

Owner very friendly and helpful. Good location, near bus terminal and pier.

Reviewed January 26, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Kok from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Good”

Toiletries were provided. Comfortable and clean rooms. Staff are helpful. The hostel is about 200m away from bus stop and eateries and 7-11 is in walking distance

Reviewed January 25, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Pannawat from Thailand
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Great location near to bus stop.cleanliness is good”

Nothing. Resonable price good sevices from the owner.

Reviewed January 02, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
SIRILUCK from Thailand
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Best location and staff super support”

This hotel is located near the bust status and also not far from lake. You can walk around there about 3-10 mins to visitors center, bus station, sunrise,etc and staff is very very helpful

Reviewed December 09, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Patcharin from Thailand
Family with teens
Family Quad
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Excellent”

great location, staff is very nice and friendly.

Reviewed December 02, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
chen from Australia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Value for money ”

Very clean, close to bus depot and harbour. Friendly and good service. I would come back and stay here again

Reviewed April 19, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Sohyee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Awesome guesthouse owner”

Super nice guesthouse owner who is very helpful. Had a pleasant time there thanks to her ^^. Her family are really nice and polite too

Reviewed March 13, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Heryanto from Indonesia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Great experiences”

The location was very good, the place was nice. owner really kind. owner will also bring you for sunrise view. recommended

Reviewed March 06, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Chee from Singapore
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Good Host”

Owner is very helpful and place is clean and location is very good. It is a little expensive but I think is still affordable.

Reviewed September 08, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
YIK from Malaysia
Group
Double
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Exceptional”

Highly recommended. The owner of Mei Jen house is very sweet and helpful. There will be free tour to the lakeside to enjoy the sunrise daily. During firefly season (April-May), there will be daily trip to nearby park full of fireflies. She even bought us breakfast and brought us to the nearby hiking trail in her car =) There's also free postcards of sun moon lake available in the lobby, all those pictures were photographed by the owner. You can also get dslr tripods from her to shoot amazing night view of sun moon lake and fireflies.

Reviewed May 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Phil from United States
Group
Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Wonderful stay at Mei Jen House. Awesome sunrise viewing with host at around 5:30.”

Comfy beds, strong water pressure, water dispenser with open access to teas, coffee, oatmeal. Cons: if you have tons of luggage, will be tough to carry up to higher floors. Host is amazing though! She'll explain everything about the place and about sun moon lake thoroughly. She let us leave our luggage for the day as well. Highly recommend.

Reviewed March 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Jacqueline from Singapore
Family with teens
Triple room - 1 Double bed + 1 single bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Excellent”

Great location, facilities and staff. However there is no lift so difficult to bring luggage and for older guests. They said they had plans to install an elevator so it should be more convenient in future.

Reviewed January 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kritravee from Thailand
Family with young children
Double
Stayed 1 night in November 2017

Very good”

The location is nearby bus station. The guesthouse gives you 7-11 voucher which you can buy breakfast and have it in the guesthouse. In fact we bought some other thing and had it at the outdoor area on 2nd floor. The weather was very good.The owner is very nice.

Reviewed November 30, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Lee from Malaysia
Couple
Double
Stayed 1 night in October 2017

Very Friendly Staff”

Great Location. 2 min walk to 水社码头. The staff will advise how to save cost & time to visit Sun Moon Lake. Every morning they will organize a sunrise group, they will bring us to the best place to explore in the morning. A very good experience. Definitely, will come back again.

Reviewed October 24, 2017