Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
HD Image
 Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
Lobby Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
Exterior view Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
See all 45 photos
Removed from saved list
7.3
Very good
19.2% this month
/10
(490 reviews)See what guests said
See map
8.0
Excellent
Location rating score
Excellent location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
  • Queen Victoria Market350 m
  • Emporium Melbourne610 m
  • State Library of Victoria690 m
  • Old Melbourne Gaol760 m
  • Melbourne Aquarium1.2 km
  • Federation Square1.35 km
  • Melbourne Museum1.43 km
  • National Gallery of Victoria1.8 km
  • Melbourne Cricket Ground2.52 km
  • Shrine of Remembrance2.67 km
  • Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

    196-198 A'Beckett Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia - See map

    This property is in high demand!

    Booked 70 times

    "Great location, friendly staff."
    CHENXIN - 19 July 2018
    Very good service
    7.5 rating for service
    Very good comfort
    7.2 room quality and comfort
    Good cleanliness
    6.8 rating for cleanliness
    Good facilities on premise
    6.8 facilities on premise
    • 250 meters to public transportation

    • Located in heart of Melbourne

    • Breakfast [free]

    • Bar

    • Nightclub

    Cheaper than 99% of all properties in Melbourne in the last 24 hours

    Compared to 6,059 Melbourne properties at Agoda for various dates

    Property ranking|Compared to 6,059 Melbourne properties
    See all rankings
    Cheapest price score
    Room comfort score
    7.3/10
    Location score
    8.0/10
    Room size
    25 sqm.
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Better than
    95
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Bigger than
    95
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Value for money7.3
    Distance to city center1. Km
    Location rating8.0
    Nearest airportEssendon Airport (MEB)
    Distance to airport10.6 km

    Rooms available at Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    King Double Room
    King Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Street view
    • 1 king bed or 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    Bed in a 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    6-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    6-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Triple Room En-Suite
    Triple Room En-Suite
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Street view
    • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    4-Bed Dormitory (Female)
    4-Bed Dormitory (Female)
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    4-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    4-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices

    What people love about Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

    • 9.6
      Exceptional

      "Worth for money and gonna book this hostel again!"

      Mohd Z.

      |

      19 October 2017

    • 8.0
      Very good

      "Just nice for 1 night stay with your family."

      INTAN S.

      |

      23 March 2018

    • 8.0
      Very good
      Location

      "The location is near Queen Victoria Market."

      Audrey

      |

      22 August 2017

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

    More about Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

    8.4
    Excellent

    "The free pancakes in the morning and the nice staff definite..."

    Annie

    |

    21 September 2018

    An overview

    Show less

    Most talked about facilities

    Housekeeping
    23 mentions
    Breakfast
    8 mentions
    Internet
    8 mentions
    Food & Dining

    What they offer

    8.0
    Very good
    Bathroom

    "The room and ensuite toilet were spacious and clean."

    Audrey

    |

    22 August 2017

    View all reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Food and dining

    Breakfast options

    Continental

    Nearby restaurants

    Australian cuisine
    Australian cuisine
    Operator 25
    80 m Australian, Cafe
    Frances Food & Coffee
    90 m Australian, Cafe, European
    Phancy Cafe
    100 m Australian, Cafe
    Asian cuisine
    Asian cuisine
    GJ's Grill
    70 m Asian, Filipino
    Little Chef
    70 m Asian, Chinese
    Sung's Kitchen
    220 m Asian, Chinese
    Gluten Free
    Gluten Free
    Movida Aqui
    490 m Gluten Free, Mediterranean, Spanish
    +39 Pizzeria
    550 m Gluten Free, Italian, Pizza
    San Paolo Solarino
    860 m Gluten Free, Italian

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Nomads Melbourne Backpackers from real guests

    Overall rating
    7.2
    Very good
    From 1889 reviews
    Provided by verified guests of
    Agoda Reviews (490)Booking.com Reviews (1399)
    Rating via Agoda7.3
    /
    10
    Very good
    19.2% this month
    Cleanliness6.8
    Facilities6.8
    Location8.0
    Room comfort and quality7.2
    Service7.5
    Value for money7.3
    High score for Melbourne
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (38)
    8-9 Excellent (39)
    7-8 Very Good (69)
    6-7 Good (48)
    <6 Below Expectation (81)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (71)
    Jun - Aug (64)
    Sep - Nov (75)
    Dec - Feb (65)
    All guests (490)
    All room types
    All languages

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 275 verified guest comments
    12345
    9.2
    Exceptional
    DALILA from Malaysia
    Couple
    King Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    Too good for a backpackers hostel”

    Never been to any backpacker hostel before. But I guest this one is very exceptional. With ironing facilities (inside the room), towel n toiletries provided, free pancake, spacious room with inhouse bathroom, what else do you expecting?

    Reviewed July 02, 2019

    G'day there! Thanks for leaving us such a good review. We really appreciate all feedback given and we're happy you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes, Georgia.

    Responded July 05, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    8.4
    Excellent
    Gelli from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 5 nights in November 2018

    Pictures are quite the same but overall good for the money”

    Common showers and toilets per floor and not inside the rooms, free pancakes every morning, location is across QVM and near Elizabeth street where most Asian restaurants are located. There was a 10 min power outage upon my arrival for check-in but it didn't happen again the whole 6 days I stayed there. They clean the rooms every lunchtime. They don't have any fans installed in the room I stayed but it was cold so I'm ok with it. Just not sure what they do during summertime.

    Reviewed November 10, 2018

    G'day there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We had a planned outage that day, and I'm glad it didn't put a dampener on your time with us. In Summer we have fans that we put in the rooms so people can stay cool. We hope you come back and join us again in the future! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

    Responded November 14, 2018
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    6.0
    Astrid from Australia
    Solo traveler
    10-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    The Cleanliness is terrible”

    It is located very near to CBD and the price is affordable but the cleanliness is very terrible. The room with bunkbed is smelly and dirty. Some unoccupied beds are remain messy. The toilet is also smelly.

    Reviewed July 05, 2019

    G'day there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and have taken your comments regarding cleanliness on board. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Melbourne. Best wishes, Georgia.

    Responded July 05, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Matthew from Australia
    Couple
    King Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Good price and clean”

    The price was good, the hostel is around the corner from the main market place. The room was clean and staff friendly and helpful. The room had some painting flaking off around the window which is nothing but can do with a repaint. The kitchen is small and can be very cramped. Otherwise a decent place to stay

    Reviewed March 14, 2019

    G'day there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given! We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

    Responded March 14, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    4.4
    Dan from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 13 nights in February 2019

    Cannot get proper sleep”

    Pro Friendly staff Cons Poor ventilation in room. No air-conditioning in room, only one miserable fan in entire room. Fan is without a cover, hazardous. Buy your own shampoo, body soap.. Bring your own towel Toilets are no clean, bring your own bathroom slippers. Cannot get proper rest, noisy bar till 11pm. Cannot sleep, sweating and very uncomfortable on warm nights,. 4-bedder room so much smaller than claimed by Agoda. Actual is approx half of 30sqm. Stay up till 5am writing this review.

    Reviewed March 03, 2019

    G'day there Dan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you were expecting a more Hotel like stay than what we provide. We apologise for the confusing, and are looking in to our listing on Agoda to ensure it doesn't happen again. We don't advertise air-conditioning and shampoo, conditioner and towels are available for a fee. We're budget accommodation, for young travelers backpacking around Australia. We thank you for bringing this to attention and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

    Responded March 04, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    4.4
    Dan from Singapore
    Solo traveler
    4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in February 2019

    The room is poorly ventilated and fan with missing cover is a hazard ”

    The size of room for a 4-bedder is indicated on Agoda as 30sqm, but is much smaller as claimed. Like 50% smaller, a blatant misrepresentation. Room has no aircon, has poor ventilation and hot that makes you want to stay away the whole day. When the night is warm, it makes you sweat and very uncomfortable to even sleep. Staff placed a folded bedsheet on the bed on check-in day, so you are expected to make your own bed. The wash basin is tiny that make it difficult to even brush teeth. Toilets are not clean, sobring your bathrm slippers. No towel, neither shampoo nor shower cream in the bathroom. Staff are always friendly but helpless when Property is beaten down. Free breakfast serves pancake only. Pick up and wash own plate and cutlery from the kitchen. Get a mug and make coffee or tea on your own. This property lacks basic maintenance and definitely not newly refurbished as mentioned somewhere. The fan in Rm 206 has no cover which is a real hazard. Will definitely not stay again.

    Reviewed March 03, 2019

    G'day there, Thank you for your review. As per your last review, it seems that your expectations of our Hostel were misplaced. We're looking in to where you received the information to ensure that this kind of confusion doesn't happen again. We are budget hostel accommodation, not a hotel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in Australia, Georgia.

    Responded March 04, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    8.4
    Excellent
    Adeline from Indonesia
    Solo traveler
    4-Bed Dormitory (Female)
    Stayed 3 nights in June 2019

    Good”

    All good but No heater in my room, so cold when winter season

    Reviewed June 09, 2019

    G'day there! Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

    Responded June 10, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    8.4
    Excellent
    Kim from Australia
    Solo traveler
    6-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    Stayed 1 night in May 2018

    Cheap and cheerfull”

    Hostel dorm was clean and had all facilities needed i.e. shower, bunk etc. Although lifts stoped working on my stay, and had to climb 5 floors. Also, free wifi only available from 7am to 7pm, but otherwise had a nice one night stay.

    Reviewed May 21, 2018

    G'day there Kim! Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feedback given. I'm really sorry that our lift stop working during your stay. We obviously couldn't help that but we hope we offered to move you to a lower floor or help you with your bags. We hope you come back and join us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

    Responded May 23, 2018
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    8.4
    Excellent
    Dennis from Germany
    Solo traveler
    10-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    Stayed 14 nights in April 2018

    Excellent”

    The kitchen is closed from 11pm and if you are an early bird who has to work early, you probably have to go without breakfast, because noone was willing to open the kitchen before 6am. Also is the kitchen pretty small with a few cooking fields, but completely sufficient for the number of guests. The Hostel is very clean and the Staff is sometimes a bit surly (who has not a bad day sometimes), but always willing to help! :)

    Reviewed May 10, 2018

    G'day there! Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and have taken your comments regarding the Kitchen on board. We hope you come back and join us again so we can exceed your expectations! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

    Responded May 11, 2018
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    9.2
    Exceptional
    ADAM from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

    take it if cheaper than most”

    i only booked here for 2nd time due fact that they really lowered their prices compared to others ....so in tbis case is was value for money . overall is just ok , could be cleaner but i seen worse ....no lift which is a pain if csrry stuff all way up to 5th floor

    Reviewed April 11, 2018

    G'day there, Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. Was there a particular area that you found unclean? More information would help us tackle the areas you think we could do better in. We're very sorry the lift didn't work during your stay - we hope our staff helped you carry your bags during this time. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

    Responded April 13, 2018
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    8.7
    Excellent
    Krissanapol from Thailand
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 1 night in September 2011

    Over -than-expectation backpacker hotel”

    Friendly staff , close to Queen Victoria Market

    i was surprised by the time i checked in because i imagine the backpacker hotel must be not so clean and messy but this one is quite clean from the lobby and toilet , the staff are also helpful to advise for a useful details. one good thing is it is very close to queen victoria market which you can find many things you need , food , cloths , gifts etc.

    Reviewed October 03, 2011
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Fawziah
    Group
    Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    Stayed 21 nights in June 2019

    It is a nice place and staff”

    Staff are wonderful but need more clean toilets

    Reviewed July 01, 2019

    G'day there! Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feedback given and have taken your comments on board. We're happy you found our staff to be wonderful and we will work on our bathrooms. Best wishes, Georgia.

    Responded July 05, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    5.2
    Abby
    Couple
    King Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    Tried to scam me disgusting ”

    Was happy to book good price $65 not bad looked nice and sounded good too. Got there and the lady said we had to pay I said I thought I paid and her exact words was no you haven’t being me I was like ok maybe I got it wrong, she said the room was $50 we gave her a 50 dollar note. I stayed up all night thinking about it and went through my phone and found the Proof where I payed on this sight I was shocked and disgusted they told me I didn’t pay and tried to get more money I went up to her and showed her proof caught her off guard and she had a guilty look in her face she knew what they had done and are doing and I got a refund for the $50 and left feeling used and disgusted. Worst place I’ve stayed at ever not because of how they treat people and run their business.

    Reviewed May 26, 2019

    G'day there Abby, Thanks for leaving us a review. Please know that it wasn't intentional trying to overcharge you - we've had a lot of new staff members recently who may not have known that your reservation was already paid for. We apologised for the inconvenience and refunded the money immediately as it was an honest mistake. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

    Responded May 31, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    4.4
    Yiren from Taiwan
    Solo traveler
    10-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

    Worst hostel I ever stay”

    I booked 6night cuz I stayed Nomad in Brisbane it is good ,but here my 2th day they ask everyone check out at10 and packing stuff back check in 2pm very inconvenient ,then I change to a room was most Disrespect people (young German)play music in the room after 11pm and watching movie in the room after midnight and laughing loud every night, even I have my earplugs i can’t have a rest before 2am and after 8am.I ask for change room to the stuff ,they didn’t reply me ,I even thinking maybe just leave the place forget about the money I paid .

    Reviewed May 01, 2019

    G'day there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm very sad to hear that disrespectful room mates are causing you to have a bad time. If you had approached Reception we would have moved your room immediately so you could sleep. We had to move your rooms due to a maintenance issue, for which we are really sorry for the inconvenience. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia, Best wishes Georgia.

    Responded May 01, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    7.2
    Very good
    Manuel from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    Stayed 1 night in March 2019

    Very good”

    It's ok for a night or two.

    Reviewed June 21, 2019

    G'day there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

    Responded June 24, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    6.4
    Good
    Pascaley from Australia
    Couple
    King Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in May 2019

    King room - no aircon”

    Room was ok, no aircon but they provided fans and a heater. Would be very uncomfortable if it was summer.

    Reviewed May 27, 2019

    G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

    Responded May 31, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    2.0
    YAN from China
    Solo traveler
    4-Bed Dormitory (Female)
    Stayed 7 nights in March 2019

    Booked 4beds female room, set me to 6 beds room, have to call agoda to solve this problem. The staff”

    The staff doesn't care or help to solve this problem. You have to call agoda by yourself if you booked 4 beds room and they set you in 6 beds room. Seems like it is your own fault. No apologies no helping. Kitchen is small and dirty. But good thing is near CBD.

    Reviewed April 07, 2019

    G'day there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. I'm sad to hear you felt like our staff didn't help you with your booking error. I'd love more information regarding this to see where it went wrong so we can ensure it never happens again. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, Georgia.

    Responded April 12, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    8.8
    Excellent
    KAN from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    6-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    Stayed 7 nights in May 2019

    Convenient ”

    Just need to keep more attention to toilet cleaness

    Reviewed June 03, 2019

    G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

    Responded June 05, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    7.2
    Very good
    Jasmine from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    6-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
    Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

    Convenient”

    This hostel have lift, if you carry heavy luggage. This really a good choice.

    Reviewed April 13, 2019

    G'day there! Cheers for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

    Responded April 15, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    6.0
    alan from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    Good location”

    no free wifi at room, very small kitchen & long Q waiting for the pan cakes breakfast

    Reviewed April 09, 2019

    G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and have taken your comments on board. Our Pancakes are incredibly popular - but in winter months when it's a little quieter there isn't a cue at all - people gorge themselves on our free delicious pancakes! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, Georgia.

    Responded April 12, 2019
    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
    |Very good 7.3
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Queen Victoria Market
    • Flagstaff Railway Station is within 0.26 km