7.3

Very good
/10
(591 reviews)See what guests said
Housekeeping16
Breakfast3
Car Park1
See map

8.1

Excellent

Location rating score

Excellent location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
Popular landmarks
Queen Victoria Market 280 m
Block Arcade 900 m
SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium 1.2 km
Eureka Skydeck 1.4 km
Melbourne Museum 1.4 km
National Gallery of Victoria 1.7 km
Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) 2.6 km
Shrine of Remembrance 2.7 km
Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria 2.7 km
Melbourne Zoo 3.0 km
Nearby landmarks
360 LaTrobe Street Car Park 60 m
VIP Car Park 130 m
The Mint Car Park 170 m
Viva La Calavera 180 m
The Hellenic Museum 200 m
Sweeney Luggage Centre 210 m
Former Records Office 240 m
Federal Court of Australia 260 m
Flagstaff Railway Station 260 m
Flagstaff Train Station 260 m
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

"Open the door with phone is so convenient!"

ChaoYin - 17 February 2020
8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed - Guestroom Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
Lobby Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
Exterior view Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
See all 31 photos
Removed from saved list
Free Wi-Fi

Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

196-198 A'Beckett Street, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia, 3000 - See map
  • 240 meters to public transportation

  • Located in heart of Melbourne

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Breakfast [free]

  • Bar

Your dates are popular among travelersUsers are booking a place in Melbourne every 27 minutes on Agoda.com
Value for money7.4
Distance to city center1. Km
Location rating8.1
Nearest airportEssendon Airport (MEB)
Distance to airport10.6 km

Rooms available at Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

6-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
King Double Room
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 king bed or 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Triple Room En-Suite
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
Enter dates to see prices
4-Bed Dormitory (Female)
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
10-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 5 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
6 Beds Dorm with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Room
...
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in and check-out at Nomads Melbourne Backpackers?

Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hostel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.

What is the smoking policy at Nomads Melbourne Backpackers?

Nomads Melbourne Backpackers does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

What is the closest train, metro, or bus station to Nomads Melbourne Backpackers?

Flagstaff Railway Station is the closest train, metro, or bus station, about 250 m away from Nomads Melbourne Backpackers.

What restaurants are nearby Nomads Melbourne Backpackers?

Restaurants including Port of Call Saloon and Island Grill, Cat Cafe Melbourne and GJ's Grill are popular in Nomads Melbourne Backpackers’s neighborhood which is known as Melbourne CBD.

What popular shopping places are close to Nomads Melbourne Backpackers?

Shopping options in Nomads Melbourne Backpackers’s Melbourne CBD neighborhood include Block Arcade, Melbourne Central and DFO South Wharf.

What are popular attractions near Nomads Melbourne Backpackers?

Nomads Melbourne Backpackers is located in Melbourne CBD area, which is famous for attractions such as Eureka Skydeck, National Gallery of Victoria and SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium.

What popular natural sightseeing spots are close to Nomads Melbourne Backpackers?

Nomads Melbourne Backpackers’s nearby natural sights include Richmond Rowing Club, Mercantile Rowing Club and Melbourne Grammar Rowing Club located in the same Melbourne CBD area.

Show more questions
See map
Explore the neighborhood

What people love about Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

  • 8.8

    Excellent
    Staff 

    "Great location, friendly staff."

    CHENXIN

    |

    19 July 2018

  • 9.6

    Exceptional
    Staff 

    "Good staff it's a good hostel!"

    Leo

    |

    17 January 2020

  • 10.0

    Exceptional

    "Lots of activities available."

    Riana

    |

    20 November 2020

Property ranking|Compared to 3,100 Melbourne properties
See all rankings
Room comfort score
7.3/10
Location score
8.1/10
Room size
25 sqm.
Value for money score
7.4/10
Better than
93
%
of Melbourne properties
Better than
90
%
of Melbourne properties
Bigger than
90
%
of Melbourne properties
Better than
89
%
of Melbourne properties
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
Overall rating:

7.3

Very good
591 reviews
Cleanliness
6.9
Facilities
6.8
Location
8.1
Read all reviews >
What travelers say they love:
Pretty good accommodation in the CBD.
Emily from United States
Solo traveler
More about Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

More about Nomads Melbourne Backpackers

Famous for being an award winning backpacker hotel, Nomads Melbourne Backpackers provides superb facilities at affordable rates. Forget about the stereotypical image that most hostels suffer from. The Nomads Industry Hotel is leading the way in clean, comfortable accommodation aimed at the backpacking traveler. With well-appointed dormitory rooms, a hip bar, modern kitchen facilities, and friendly staff, guests are bound to have a great time. Located just minutes from the famous Victoria Markets, where everything from fashion wear to fresh produce is bartered for all under one roof, and a short walk is all that needed to arrive in the heart of Melbourne with many of the inner-city attractions easily reached from the hotel.

Show less

Most talked about facilities

Housekeeping

23 mentions

Breakfast

8 mentions

Internet

8 mentions

Food & Dining

1 mention

What they offer

7.6

Very good

"The kitchen was cleaned every day."

Tom

|

8 February 2020

View all reviews
Show less

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Food and dining

Breakfast options

Continental

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show less

Reviews of Nomads Melbourne Backpackers from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
7.3
/
10
Cleanliness6.9
Facilities6.8
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service7.5
Value for money7.4
High score for Melbourne
Rating
9+ Exceptional (51)
8-9 Excellent (43)
7-8 Very Good (80)
6-7 Good (56)
<6 Below Expectation (87)
Time of the year
Mar - May (73)
Jun - Aug (64)
Sep - Nov (87)
Dec - Feb (93)
Don't miss out!Users are booking a place in Melbourne every 27 minutes on Agoda.com
All guests (591)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 317 verified guest comments
12345
9.2
Exceptional
DALILA from Malaysia
Couple
King Double Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

Too good for a backpackers hostel”

Never been to any backpacker hostel before. But I guest this one is very exceptional. With ironing facilities (inside the room), towel n toiletries provided, free pancake, spacious room with inhouse bathroom, what else do you expecting?

Reviewed July 02, 2019

See room deals

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us such a good review. We really appreciate all feedback given and we're happy you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes, Georgia.

Responded July 05, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
8.4
Excellent
Gelli from Philippines
Solo traveler
4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2018

Pictures are quite the same but overall good for the money”

Common showers and toilets per floor and not inside the rooms, free pancakes every morning, location is across QVM and near Elizabeth street where most Asian restaurants are located. There was a 10 min power outage upon my arrival for check-in but it didn't happen again the whole 6 days I stayed there. They clean the rooms every lunchtime. They don't have any fans installed in the room I stayed but it was cold so I'm ok with it. Just not sure what they do during summertime.

Reviewed November 10, 2018

See room deals

G'day there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We had a planned outage that day, and I'm glad it didn't put a dampener on your time with us. In Summer we have fans that we put in the rooms so people can stay cool. We hope you come back and join us again in the future! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

Responded November 14, 2018
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
6.0
Astrid from Australia
Solo traveler
10-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

The Cleanliness is terrible”

It is located very near to CBD and the price is affordable but the cleanliness is very terrible. The room with bunkbed is smelly and dirty. Some unoccupied beds are remain messy. The toilet is also smelly.

Reviewed July 05, 2019

See room deals

G'day there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and have taken your comments regarding cleanliness on board. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Melbourne. Best wishes, Georgia.

Responded July 05, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
9.2
Exceptional
Matthew from Australia
Couple
King Double Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Good price and clean”

The price was good, the hostel is around the corner from the main market place. The room was clean and staff friendly and helpful. The room had some painting flaking off around the window which is nothing but can do with a repaint. The kitchen is small and can be very cramped. Otherwise a decent place to stay

Reviewed March 14, 2019

See room deals

G'day there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given! We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

Responded March 14, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
4.4
Dan from Singapore
Solo traveler
4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
Stayed 13 nights in February 2019

Cannot get proper sleep”

Pro Friendly staff Cons Poor ventilation in room. No air-conditioning in room, only one miserable fan in entire room. Fan is without a cover, hazardous. Buy your own shampoo, body soap.. Bring your own towel Toilets are no clean, bring your own bathroom slippers. Cannot get proper rest, noisy bar till 11pm. Cannot sleep, sweating and very uncomfortable on warm nights,. 4-bedder room so much smaller than claimed by Agoda. Actual is approx half of 30sqm. Stay up till 5am writing this review.

Reviewed March 03, 2019

See room deals

G'day there Dan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you were expecting a more Hotel like stay than what we provide. We apologise for the confusing, and are looking in to our listing on Agoda to ensure it doesn't happen again. We don't advertise air-conditioning and shampoo, conditioner and towels are available for a fee. We're budget accommodation, for young travelers backpacking around Australia. We thank you for bringing this to attention and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

Responded March 04, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
4.4
Dan from Singapore
Solo traveler
4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

The room is poorly ventilated and fan with missing cover is a hazard ”

The size of room for a 4-bedder is indicated on Agoda as 30sqm, but is much smaller as claimed. Like 50% smaller, a blatant misrepresentation. Room has no aircon, has poor ventilation and hot that makes you want to stay away the whole day. When the night is warm, it makes you sweat and very uncomfortable to even sleep. Staff placed a folded bedsheet on the bed on check-in day, so you are expected to make your own bed. The wash basin is tiny that make it difficult to even brush teeth. Toilets are not clean, sobring your bathrm slippers. No towel, neither shampoo nor shower cream in the bathroom. Staff are always friendly but helpless when Property is beaten down. Free breakfast serves pancake only. Pick up and wash own plate and cutlery from the kitchen. Get a mug and make coffee or tea on your own. This property lacks basic maintenance and definitely not newly refurbished as mentioned somewhere. The fan in Rm 206 has no cover which is a real hazard. Will definitely not stay again.

Reviewed March 03, 2019

See room deals

G'day there, Thank you for your review. As per your last review, it seems that your expectations of our Hostel were misplaced. We're looking in to where you received the information to ensure that this kind of confusion doesn't happen again. We are budget hostel accommodation, not a hotel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in Australia, Georgia.

Responded March 04, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
8.4
Excellent
Adeline from Indonesia
Solo traveler
4-Bed Dormitory (Female)
Stayed 3 nights in June 2019

Good”

All good but No heater in my room, so cold when winter season

Reviewed June 09, 2019

See room deals

G'day there! Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

Responded June 10, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
8.4
Excellent
Kim from Australia
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Cheap and cheerfull”

Hostel dorm was clean and had all facilities needed i.e. shower, bunk etc. Although lifts stoped working on my stay, and had to climb 5 floors. Also, free wifi only available from 7am to 7pm, but otherwise had a nice one night stay.

Reviewed May 21, 2018

See room deals

G'day there Kim! Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feedback given. I'm really sorry that our lift stop working during your stay. We obviously couldn't help that but we hope we offered to move you to a lower floor or help you with your bags. We hope you come back and join us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

Responded May 23, 2018
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
8.4
Excellent
Dennis from Germany
Solo traveler
10-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
Stayed 14 nights in April 2018

Excellent”

The kitchen is closed from 11pm and if you are an early bird who has to work early, you probably have to go without breakfast, because noone was willing to open the kitchen before 6am. Also is the kitchen pretty small with a few cooking fields, but completely sufficient for the number of guests. The Hostel is very clean and the Staff is sometimes a bit surly (who has not a bad day sometimes), but always willing to help! :)

Reviewed May 10, 2018

See room deals

G'day there! Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and have taken your comments regarding the Kitchen on board. We hope you come back and join us again so we can exceed your expectations! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

Responded May 11, 2018
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
9.2
Exceptional
ADAM from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018

take it if cheaper than most”

i only booked here for 2nd time due fact that they really lowered their prices compared to others ....so in tbis case is was value for money . overall is just ok , could be cleaner but i seen worse ....no lift which is a pain if csrry stuff all way up to 5th floor

Reviewed April 11, 2018

See room deals

G'day there, Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. Was there a particular area that you found unclean? More information would help us tackle the areas you think we could do better in. We're very sorry the lift didn't work during your stay - we hope our staff helped you carry your bags during this time. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

Responded April 13, 2018
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
8.7
Excellent
Krissanapol from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2011

Over -than-expectation backpacker hotel”

Friendly staff , close to Queen Victoria Market

i was surprised by the time i checked in because i imagine the backpacker hotel must be not so clean and messy but this one is quite clean from the lobby and toilet , the staff are also helpful to advise for a useful details. one good thing is it is very close to queen victoria market which you can find many things you need , food , cloths , gifts etc.

Reviewed October 03, 2011

See room deals

9.2
Exceptional
Fawziah
Group
Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
Stayed 21 nights in June 2019

It is a nice place and staff”

Staff are wonderful but need more clean toilets

Reviewed July 01, 2019

See room deals

G'day there! Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all feedback given and have taken your comments on board. We're happy you found our staff to be wonderful and we will work on our bathrooms. Best wishes, Georgia.

Responded July 05, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
5.2
Abby
Couple
King Double Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Tried to scam me disgusting ”

Was happy to book good price $65 not bad looked nice and sounded good too. Got there and the lady said we had to pay I said I thought I paid and her exact words was no you haven’t being me I was like ok maybe I got it wrong, she said the room was $50 we gave her a 50 dollar note. I stayed up all night thinking about it and went through my phone and found the Proof where I payed on this sight I was shocked and disgusted they told me I didn’t pay and tried to get more money I went up to her and showed her proof caught her off guard and she had a guilty look in her face she knew what they had done and are doing and I got a refund for the $50 and left feeling used and disgusted. Worst place I’ve stayed at ever not because of how they treat people and run their business.

Reviewed May 26, 2019

See room deals

G'day there Abby, Thanks for leaving us a review. Please know that it wasn't intentional trying to overcharge you - we've had a lot of new staff members recently who may not have known that your reservation was already paid for. We apologised for the inconvenience and refunded the money immediately as it was an honest mistake. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

Responded May 31, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
4.4
Yiren from Taiwan
Solo traveler
10-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

Worst hostel I ever stay”

I booked 6night cuz I stayed Nomad in Brisbane it is good ,but here my 2th day they ask everyone check out at10 and packing stuff back check in 2pm very inconvenient ,then I change to a room was most Disrespect people (young German)play music in the room after 11pm and watching movie in the room after midnight and laughing loud every night, even I have my earplugs i can’t have a rest before 2am and after 8am.I ask for change room to the stuff ,they didn’t reply me ,I even thinking maybe just leave the place forget about the money I paid .

Reviewed May 01, 2019

See room deals

G'day there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm very sad to hear that disrespectful room mates are causing you to have a bad time. If you had approached Reception we would have moved your room immediately so you could sleep. We had to move your rooms due to a maintenance issue, for which we are really sorry for the inconvenience. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia, Best wishes Georgia.

Responded May 01, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
7.2
Very good
Manuel from Philippines
Solo traveler
Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Very good”

It's ok for a night or two.

Reviewed June 21, 2019

See room deals

G'day there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

Responded June 24, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
6.4
Good
Pascaley from Australia
Couple
King Double Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

King room - no aircon”

Room was ok, no aircon but they provided fans and a heater. Would be very uncomfortable if it was summer.

Reviewed May 27, 2019

See room deals

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

Responded May 31, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
2.0
YAN from China
Solo traveler
Bed in dormitory 6 SHARE FEMALE DORM ENSUITE
Stayed 7 nights in March 2019

Booked 4beds female room, set me to 6 beds room, have to call agoda to solve this problem. The staff”

The staff doesn't care or help to solve this problem. You have to call agoda by yourself if you booked 4 beds room and they set you in 6 beds room. Seems like it is your own fault. No apologies no helping. Kitchen is small and dirty. But good thing is near CBD.

Reviewed April 07, 2019

See room deals

G'day there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. I'm sad to hear you felt like our staff didn't help you with your booking error. I'd love more information regarding this to see where it went wrong so we can ensure it never happens again. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, Georgia.

Responded April 12, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
8.8
Excellent
KAN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
Stayed 7 nights in May 2019

Convenient ”

Just need to keep more attention to toilet cleaness

Reviewed June 03, 2019

See room deals

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia. Best wishes, Georgia.

Responded June 05, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
7.2
Very good
Jasmine from Malaysia
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory -- Mixed
Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

Convenient”

This hostel have lift, if you carry heavy luggage. This really a good choice.

Reviewed April 13, 2019

See room deals

G'day there! Cheers for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

Responded April 15, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
6.0
alan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Good location”

no free wifi at room, very small kitchen & long Q waiting for the pan cakes breakfast

Reviewed April 09, 2019

See room deals

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and have taken your comments on board. Our Pancakes are incredibly popular - but in winter months when it's a little quieter there isn't a cue at all - people gorge themselves on our free delicious pancakes! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, Georgia.

Responded April 12, 2019
Nomads Melbourne Backpackers
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss

null