Nomads St Kilda Beach
HD Image
10-Bed Mixed Dormitory - Bed Nomads St Kilda Beach
Lobby Nomads St Kilda Beach
Interior view Nomads St Kilda Beach
See all 37 photos
Removed from saved list
7.6
Very good
/10
(258 reviews)See what guests said
See map
8.2
Excellent
Location rating score
Excellent location - 820 meters to the beach
  • Shrine of Remembrance3.34 km
  • National Gallery of Victoria4.2 km
  • Melbourne Cricket Ground4.52 km
  • Melbourne Aquarium4.72 km
  • Federation Square4.77 km
  • Emporium Melbourne5.46 km
  • State Library of Victoria5.77 km
  • Old Melbourne Gaol5.96 km
  • Queen Victoria Market6.23 km
  • Melbourne Museum6.37 km
  • Nomads St Kilda Beach

    24 Grey Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia, 3182 - See map

    This property is in high demand!

    Booked 16 times

    "Good location, near to the beach, Luna Park, supermarket, and the CBD."
    Alexandrine - 17 September 2018
    Excellent service
    8.0 rating for service
    Very good facilities on premise
    7.5 facilities on premise
    Very good cleanliness
    7.0 rating for cleanliness
    Good comfort
    6.4 room quality and comfort
    • Airport transfer

    • 820 meters to the beach

    • Breakfast [free]

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Separate living room

    Cheaper than 99% of all properties in Melbourne in the last 24 hoursCompared to 6,103 Melbourne properties at Agoda for various dates
    Property ranking|Compared to 6,103 Melbourne properties
    See all rankings
    Cheapest price score
    Service score
    8.0/10
    Room comfort score
    6.4/10
    Value for money score
    7.8/10
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Better than
    95
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Value for money7.8
    Location rating8.2
    Nearest airportEssendon Airport (MEB)
    Distance to airport16.4 km

    Rooms available at Nomads St Kilda Beach

    10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    Enter dates to see prices
    8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
     6-Bed mixed dormitory
    6-Bed mixed dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Dormitory for 6 persons (Female)
    Dormitory for 6 persons (Female)
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    Enter dates to see prices
    6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
    6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    Enter dates to see prices
    Private Double Room
    Private Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    12-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
    12-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
    ...
    • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    12-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    12-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    Enter dates to see prices
    16-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    16-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    Enter dates to see prices
    Private Twin Room
    Private Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    Enter dates to see prices

    What people love about Nomads St Kilda Beach

    • 9.2
      Exceptional

      "Really good beds!"

      Jessica

      |

      11 October 2018

    • 9.2
      Exceptional

      "Warm showers."

      Jessica

      |

      11 October 2018

    • 9.2
      Exceptional
      Staff 

      "Nice friendly staff."

      Jessica

      |

      11 October 2018

    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about Nomads St Kilda Beach

    More about Nomads St Kilda Beach

    4.4
    Review score

    "Good location close to st Kilda main area."

    Lisa

    |

    7 December 2018

    An overview

    Show less

    Most talked about facilities

    Housekeeping
    14 mentions
    Breakfast
    8 mentions
    Beach
    6 mentions
    Food & Dining

    What they offer

    9.2
    Exceptional
    Staff 

    "Best bed since long time and awesome nice staff!"

    Andreas

    |

    12 March 2018

    View all reviews
    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Food and dining

    Breakfast options

    Continental

    Nearby restaurants

    Australian cuisine
    Australian cuisine
    Cacao
    150 m Australian, Cafe
    MWR Cafe
    220 m Australian
    Hide + Cheek
    770 m Australian, Cafe
    Asian cuisine
    Asian cuisine
    Myeong Ga Madang
    900 m Asian, Korean
    The Little Pho Cafe
    900 m Asian, Cafe, Vegetarian
    Chow Baby
    1.7 km Asian, Chinese
    Gluten Free
    Gluten Free
    Da Noi
    2.6 km Gluten Free, Italian, Mediterranean
    Ecco
    2.6 km Gluten Free, Italian, Pizza
    Fiesta Mexican Restaurant
    2.7 km Gluten Free, Mexican

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of Nomads St Kilda Beach from real guests

    Overall rating
    7.4
    Very good
    From 656 reviews
    Provided by verified guests of
    Agoda Reviews (258)Booking.com Reviews (398)
    Rating via Agoda7.6
    /
    10
    Cleanliness7.0
    Facilities7.5
    Location8.2
    Room comfort and quality6.4
    Service8.0
    Value for money7.8
    High score for Melbourne
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (53)
    8-9 Excellent (12)
    7-8 Very Good (19)
    6-7 Good (8)
    <6 Below Expectation (46)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (18)
    Jun - Aug (67)
    Sep - Nov (37)
    Dec - Feb (16)
    All guests (258)
    All room types
    All languages

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 138 verified guest comments
    12345
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Garrett
    Solo traveler
    10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

    Amazing Location and Hostel”

    This hostel is in the perfect location. It's right next to the tram so it makes getting around super easy. Its a short walk from a major restaurant street, local attractions, and the beach. The staff is very friendly and willing to give you a lot of recommendations. There were a lot of people staying here during my stay but didn't make as many friends as I do in other locations for what its worth. Overall, I still recommend this hostel for the value and location.

    Reviewed March 08, 2019

    Hey there, it does sound like you had a pretty good time! a shame about the friend situation, but this can happen from time to time :) We will make a big effort to make sure the long-termers aren't dominating the vibe too much, as this can happen! see you next time!

    Responded March 28, 2019
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Sam from United Kingdom
    Family with young children
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    Exceptional”

    Free WiFi Airport shuttle (free) 24-hour front desk Terrace and Bar A 16bed share gets you: Shared bathroom Fan Heating Shared Toilet Power ports for each bed with a shelf for stuff. free breakfast and homemade pancakes.

    Reviewed June 04, 2019
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Alexandrine from Australia
    Solo traveler
    6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 7 nights in September 2018

    Exceptional”

    Staying at Nomad was a good experience! Good location, near to the beach, Luna Park, supermarket, and the CBD. Not expensive, and clean... I really like the curtains on the beds! I really recommended this hostel! Al.

    Reviewed September 17, 2018

    Hey there Alexandrine!!! We are glad you had a rocking time with us!! Have safe and amazing travels!! xo

    Responded September 24, 2018
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    5.6
    Adam from United States
    Solo traveler
    8-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    Not the best”

    Very old building, bathrooms weren't great, and location was less exciting than it sounded when reading about it.

    Reviewed July 02, 2019
    6.0
    Vanessa from Australia
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory for 6 persons (Female)
    Stayed 7 nights in March 2019

    There are mice/rats”

    Mice or rats in the kitchen area. Didn’t get a very welcome vibe from this place, felt extremely clique-y. The staff were fine, it was more the guests. I’m personally not a fan of ensuite dorms but they were kept clean at least. Way too expensive for mediocre facilities, but that’s normal for nomads

    Reviewed March 26, 2019

    Hey there, thats a real shame to hear you were confronted with this. This is something many hostels might face around the world..the hope is just that those hostels are winning that fight. Luckily I can assure you, we are. Its a rare event that you experienced, and one we wish you had told us about at the time, as we could have acted on it, and helped you enjoy your stay a little bit better. Sorry once again for this. we hope we can be better for you next time. thanks.

    Responded March 28, 2019
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    8.8
    Excellent
    FIRMAN from Indonesia
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 7 nights in June 2019

    Excellent”

    Check in process fast and easy, Staff so far so good, breakfast menu i love it. Good receomended

    Reviewed June 25, 2019
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Jess from Australia
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

    Great hostel! Stayed here for 2 months and made loads of friends. Staff are really helpful ”

    The hostel is only 5 mins from the beach and close to shops, restaurants and bars. Beds have curtains so you have privacy and also have usb chargers for convenience

    Reviewed June 11, 2019
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Gonzalo from Peru
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

    Very convenient ”

    Free breakfast including coffee, bread, milk and pancakes. Friendly staff, curtains in the beds and activities almost everyday. I would definitely stay again here.

    Reviewed May 24, 2019
    5.6
    Hassan from Australia
    Solo traveler
    6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 1 night in December 2018

    Thieving alcoholic bartenders who would steal your bevs! Do not trust them”

    Great hostel to stay at, despite the very early curfew times whilst everybody is still up and end up drinking outside. Floors were dirty and never cleaned even I when I asked for that. Staff were one of the loveliest, except for one bad fruit bartender "Belgian" guy who stole one unopened beer I left at the table, and when I asked my mate who took it he pointed him out, and when I confronted him he denied it and blamed it on someone else, then sleazily faked being friendly to me throughout my stay. Dishonesty in staff makes me very uncomfortable in terms of safety.

    Reviewed January 28, 2019

    hey there, thanks for your review. It sounds like you had a real mix bag of experiences. We are sorry for the ones you didn't expect or deserve. We are unsure what happened with the above situation, but we assure you, dishonesty is something we always try to stamp out in staff. In particular regards to the one mentioned above, they are no longer with us for those reasons you mentioned. So we appreciate your honesty and light on the situation! continue to have a great time abroad. cheers.

    Responded March 30, 2019
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    8.4
    Excellent
    Pia from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory for 6 persons (Female)
    Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

    It's a good hostel.”

    I got the 6-bed female dorm so we had our own toilet and shower. That was convenient for me since I only had 5 other girls to share it with. The room had storage under the beds, which fit my medium-sized suitcase and still had enough space to fit a small duffel bag and an extra pair of shoes. Bed seemed fairly clean. Wifi's free at the common room, and it's pretty fast. Staff is accommodating and helpful. I also like the "no food in the dorms" rule since I read in previous reviews that there were rats/mice running around but thankfully I didn't see any and I totally credit not seeing rats/mice to the "no food in the dorms" rule. It was also quiet enough at night (not like the reviews I read that claimed it was rowdy at night). I'd stay here again if I'm traveling alone.

    Reviewed January 25, 2019

    Hey there, thanks for leaving us with your feedback. Continue to have a great time abroad!

    Responded March 30, 2019
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    4.4
    Lisa from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

    Acceptable”

    Good location close to st Kilda main area. Nice breakfast, just simple cereal, toast tea and coffee. Rooms weren’t very clean and bathrooms were dirty. Had an issue with plumbing when I was there however still needed seeing too. I wouldn’t stay again.

    Reviewed December 07, 2018

    Hi Lisa, we are really sorry that you didn't have the experience you probably wanted too. Our premise is very old and we do what we can to make sure the plumbing is okay. Sometimes, especially during peak season when it is extremely busy, it gets the better of us. We apologize that this affected your time with us. we are however very happy you were able to enjoy our prime location in St. Kilda, and that our proximity to the beach made up for your stay! We hope you continue to enjoy the rest of your adventure. Safe travels.

    Responded December 08, 2018
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Jessica from Sweden
    Solo traveler
    10-Bed Mixed Dormitory
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

    Exceptional”

    Really good beds! Warm showers. Nice friendly staff. Close to the things you want. Stores, food, drinks, beach, trams. Not a crazy party hostel but there is always a good group that will be up for some fun.

    Reviewed October 11, 2018

    Hey there Jessica, Thank you for leaving your awesome feddback. Have safe and amazing travels NSKB Team

    Responded October 15, 2018
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    6.4
    Good
    Chrisley from Australia
    Couple
    Private Twin Room
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    Noisy ”

    In St Kilda but I wouldn't recommend it I couldn't sleep

    Reviewed June 17, 2019
    9.6
    Exceptional
    Beth from Australia
    Couple
    6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
    Stayed 18 nights in February 2019

    5*”

    Love this hostel! Really comfy beds, cheap bar, really nice staff and there’s always socials every night like bbqs and drinking games where u get to meet everyone.

    Reviewed April 02, 2019

    Hi Beth, We appreciate you leaving us a review, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed our social nights ;) All the best, NSKB

    Responded April 03, 2019
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    3.6
    Aileen from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory for 6 persons (Female)
    Stayed 3 nights in September 2018

    Unpleasant”

    The staffs were friendly but unfortunately the room that was assigned for me was a messy. The "roommates" were as if owning the whole room since there clothes were all over, not only that but as well as their trash. The room was smelly and the unused beds seems to be used and messy. The shared bathroom was full of empty shampoo bottles. Instead of staying there for a period I booked, I decided to check out immediately because the girls in the room were not as friendly in sharing the room.

    Reviewed March 13, 2019

    Hey there, thankyou for leaving us with your feedback, even if it does sound like you didnt have a great time. We apologise that you had an experience you weren't probably expecting. Sometimes the long-termers get a little too comfortable and I assure you, we do our best to maintain this. It can be quite difficult to both respect the long-termers' right to be here, as well as to hold their boudaries, for simple things like keeping their room clean for new guests checking in. We thank-you for your feedback and will recommit to doing better for our new guests. So thanks for the heads up. travel safe! Cheers.

    Responded March 30, 2019
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    10.0
    Exceptional
    billy from Australia
    Group
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    goood”

    great staff, clean beds, nuff said.

    Reviewed June 04, 2019
    10.0
    Exceptional
    gideon from Australia
    Group
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    sweet place”

    shops nearby, bars just around the corner, and staff were great.

    Reviewed June 04, 2019
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Grace from United States
    Couple
    Stayed 1 night in June 2019

    Great stay”

    lovely hostel with great staff!

    Reviewed June 04, 2019
    7.2
    Very good
    Eng from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    VALUE FOR MONEY”

    BOOK EARLY TO GET PROMO PRICE.

    Reviewed March 18, 2019

    Thats right! you know the drill! thanks for staying. see you next time.

    Responded March 28, 2019
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    8.4
    Excellent
    Hazel from Philippines
    Solo traveler
    Dormitory for 6 persons (Female)
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

    Near the tram and beach”

    I love its location and its simple breakfast spread. Needs ventilation on the rooms though, specially during the summer. The rooms get stuffy.

    Reviewed February 26, 2019

    It does indeed get hot at this property, but we always have fans on to go! come back next time and see! cheers for your review :)

    Responded March 28, 2019
    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    Nomads St Kilda Beach
    |Very good 7.6
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Shrine of Remembrance