This property is in high demand!
Booked 19 times
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
Booked 19 times
|Value for money||8.2|
|Nearest airport||Dunedin International Airport (DUD)|
|Distance to airport||24.1 km|
Designed for both business and leisure travel, On Top Backpackers is ideally situated in City Center; one of the city's most popular locales. The city center is merely away and the airport can be reached within 30 minutes. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Metro Cinema, The Scottish Shop, Granny Annies Sweet Shop.
The facilities and services provided by On Top Backpackers ensure a pleasant stay for guests. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest.
Experience high quality room facilities during your stay here. Some rooms include television LCD/plasma screen, internet access – wireless, non smoking rooms, heating, desk, provided to help guests recharge after a long day. The complete list of recreational facilities is available at the hotel, including billiards. With an ideal location and facilities to match, On Top Backpackers hits the spot in many ways.
Children and extra beds
Minimum age of guests is: 18 year(s).
Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please ask the property for more details.
On Top Backpackers
If you don’t mind dunk and smoke British friends making noise at 3 o’clock in the morning , this is a nice place to go, no olive oil in the kitchen by the way. But there has nice tv and sofa, tv go through internet and the connectivity was really bad when we watching Shaun of the Dead, movie was continually stuck, beside that every thing is great.
Awful customer service. ”
Was due to stay here for 1 night but I was taken to hospital a few days before with pneumonia. When I messaged On Top Backpackers to try and cancel as the hospital wouldn’t allow me to leave as I needed continuous treatment they advised they wouldn’t refund at all or even partially. I therefore ended up having to pay for a night that I never even made it to Dunedin for and when I tried to explain my circumstances they’re now ignoring me.
Very clean and tidy. Very nice to have hair dryer provided in bathroom free of charge. Very convenient to have USB charging ports in rooms. But just the kitchen is closed for cleaning between 10:00 and 13:00 is a bit inconvenient for preparing lunch. Highly recommended!
Thank you Shui for your positive comments. The kitchen clean is after breakfast before lunch, the best time to clean facilities. We also clean on nights required after dinner around 11pm. It is between 10am-1pm and the duration depends on how dirty the kitchen is left by guests. We take pride in a high standard of cleanliness especially around food areas and shared facilities. This suits schedule as it is after check out and before check in, in preparation for new guests. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. All the best, Ontop Management :)
On top backpackers is in a super central location, just through the lane from the Octagon, walking distance to train and buses. Bunks are a little wobbly (!) but everything is clean and the facilities are otherwise good. Free breakfast and Pool 🎱 tables were a bonus :)
There is free breakfast starting at 7.30am. I liked the USH charging port and light besides each bed.
On Top is a lovely place to stay. Great location, great facilities and friendly staff.
Perfect home for backpacker”
Right in the middle of the city centre. Friendly staff. Toilet is clean. No need to wait for toilet or shower. Bunkbed is nice and tidy. Kitchen is spacious. All utensils provided. The lounge is comfortable. No Free WIFI. Highly recommend for backpacker or single traveler without a vehicle.
Thank you very much for your review. We have unlimited, fast-fiber WiFi of which you can access from everywhere in the hostel. It states this when you book and when you check in, but if you are unsure all you have to do is ask one of our friendly staff members at reception. We are ecstatic about all of the wonderful feedback you have given us about the cleanliness and facilities. All the best for your future travels. Kind regards, Ontop management
Nice place with a few extras”
Place is above a pool hall. Doesn't get too noisy. Dunedin is small so location is fine - just outside of city center - a 2 minute walk. Staff is good. Rooms are decent - stayed in 6 person dorm with decent room. Bathrooms for everyone are in main area but never too crazy busy. Kitchen is nice and big with outdoor seating area. Wifi off/on. Storage for luggage. Discount on beer down in pool hall. Cleaning 10am -2pm which is always a pain since you can't use bathroom and people in/out of your room. But overall, good place.
Thank you Adriana :) We really appreciate your positive feedback about the features we offer here at Ontop Backpackers. Cleaning is between the hours of 10am-1pm (after check outs until arrival check in) It is not always for the full three hours, it just depends on how dirty they are left by guests. Wonderful to hear you appreciated the central location in the heart of the city and our friendly staff who work hard to provide satisfactory service. All the best, Ontop Management
Very good location. Staff really helpful.
Within walking distance to local attractions. Parking available beside the building. Reception is at the bar next door.
Poor power socket in dormitory room, only two power sockets and two USB sockets in a room for 8 travellers, also have to push a bottom for power sockets and last for 1 hr only. Sometimes unstable hot water supply in shower room.
the first choice of hostel in central of Dunedin”
this is my second time to visit Dunedin, and I choose to stay at On Top Backpackers again, reasonable price and includes continental breakfast.
Simple hostel in Dunedin”
Good vibes, not too busy in the kitchen and bathroom.
Cheers Fumin :)
nice to stay
Thank you Siti :)
Good location, 1 min. walking to stores and restaurants. Good hostel, clean, enough bathrooms and showers, free breakfast (milk, cereal, bread, spreads). In the evening you might hear music from the poolhall downstairs. Overall good place to stay in Dunedin
Thank you Silvana for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your positive comments in regards to the location, cleanliness of facilities and the complimentary breakfast option we offer all guests daily. If there is ever any disruptive noise coming from the premises please do not hesitate to alert staff immediately and we will deal to it accordingly. All rooms are sound proof and this is usually not an issue as we have designed the Hostel with these factors considered however we will definitely take in this feedback and monitor closely. Kind Regards, Ontop Management
All good except for the late check in fee”
Good location and service, free breakfast, 24 hours hot water shower, everything is good except for your late check in fee. You haven’t been noticed that you have to pay extra $20 for late check in until you phoned them you’ll be late because of the bus regular timetable.
Hello Qianting, thank you for your review. I hope you did not shower for 24 hours haha :) We are super glad to hear you loved your experience at our hostel. Reception hours are from 7:30am - 10pm. Guests that arrive later than 10pm are required to pay a late fee if they still wish to keep their booking. The reason for this is because we have to pay a staff member that is available to remain onsite to check you in. We cannot leave keys on the premises as we are located on a main street of Dunedin city and you need your key card to gain access into the building. We do not synchronize service hours with other companies however there are 24/hour accommodation providers that do so. It was a pleasure hosting you and we wish you all the best on your future travels. Kind regards, Ontop Management
Located above a bar and prime location”
This is prime location and within walking distance to the Otago Museum and other fun areas. Staff was nice and friendly as well. Place was clean. Wifi is 500Mb/dollar so could be better, but hey it's good enough.
Thank you very much for your amazing review :) We appreciate your feedback regarding the high standard of cleanliness and friendly staff. We have to put some control on the WiFi usage so that it works fast and efficient for all guests and that it is fair usage for everyone. We allocate each guest 500MB daily FREE. Any extra is just $1 per code or free with any purchase at the bar. To purchase WiFi on phone networks it is $20 per GB just to put cost into perspective. We hope you enjoyed your time here in Dunedin. Kind Regards, Management
Good Points: -Reasonable price -Decent location -Free basic breakfast -Clean Bad Points: -Window was up at very high level - like a prison cell. -Electricity supply to rooms was on a timer - you had to keep pressing a button every hour or so to reactivate it - terrible for charging devices. -Heating was via noisy bathroom type fan heater, also on a timer that turns it off after an hour. Would be terrible for Dunedin winters. -Toasters in kitchen were broken - you had to hold the lever down the whole time for bread to toast.
HI Michael, thank you for taking the time to review our wonderful hostel. Your positive feedback about location, cleanliness and affordability are appreciated as this is very important when providing accommodation for backpackers on a budget! We apologise you had an inconvenient time making your complimentary breakfast, you just needed to report the broken toaster to reception as staff were unaware of this being an issue as only guests use these appliances. We have spare toasters when incidents like this occur. The rooms have sockets and USB points. The sockets are on timers due to safety and energy saving purposes. The USB points however are 24/7 charge. Due to the design of the building, the windows have to be up high to gain natural sun light into each room. If they were placed lower, they would be looking into the room in front. It offers great privacy in the rooms and if you have trouble opening and closing them you just have to let our friendly staff know and we can assist.
impatient staff ”
reception is at the bar when i check in the staff was not friendly and very impatient once she got the key deposit and gave me the house-rule memo the service is done not showing the way to the room at all when i ask for more info of the parking lot she just roughly told me where is it and i found its a private carpark with number marked on ground i was so afriad my car gonna be tolled thus i phone them to double check am i in the right place and the staff who pick up was so impatient too
Thank you wing for your review. It clearly states we are a Hostel "Ontop" of a Poolhall, bar and cafe on all booking sites. The hostel is situated over one level. We explain on check in how to get to your allocated guest room however we do not guide you up the stairs unless requested. This is because there is usually only one staff member on during the day and we have other customers to serve and a reception and bar area to monitor at all times. We apologise if you felt staff were impatient and not attentive enough when making inquiries. I will be sure to look into who served you and attend to the matter to make improvements to the service provided for future guests. Kind regards and all the best for your future travels, Ontop Management