Urban Central Accommodation
HD Image
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed - Bed Urban Central Accommodation
Lobby Urban Central Accommodation
Entrance Urban Central Accommodation
See all 44 photos
Removed from saved list
7.8
Very good
/10
(323 reviews)See what guests said
See map
7.9
Very good
Location rating score
Very good location - 120 meters from city center
Popular neighborhood
Parking
Available
  • Eve Nightclub100 m
  • Emerald Hill Brewery280 m
  • South Melbourne Market440 m
  • Coventry Bookstore470 m
  • Southbank Library at Boyd470 m
  • Nest Shop480 m
  • Crown Casino580 m
  • Alexandre of Paris Shop620 m
  • Seafarers Bridge670 m
  • Butterfly Club690 m
  • Urban Central Accommodation

    334 City Road, Melbourne CBD, Melbourne, Australia, 3006 - See map

    This property is in high demand!

    Last booked 10 hours ago

    "Good value for money, friendly staffs, very clean public area and free coffe tea rice pasta!!"
    Ronald - 3 September 2018
    Exceptional reputation
    Recommended by 86% of guests
    Excellent service
    8.0 rating for service
    Very good cleanliness
    7.8 rating for cleanliness
    Very good comfort
    7.8 room quality and comfort
    • Airport transfer

    • Located in heart of Melbourne

    • Air conditioning

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Bar

    Cheaper than 99% of all properties in Melbourne in the last 24 hours

    Compared to 6,053 Melbourne properties at Agoda for various dates

    Property ranking|Compared to 6,053 Melbourne properties
    See all rankings
    Cheapest price score
    Room comfort score
    7.8/10
    Value for money score
    8.1/10
    Service score
    8.0/10
    Better than
    99
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Better than
    97
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Better than
    96
    %
    of Melbourne properties
    Value for money8.1
    Distance to city center1.9km
    Location rating7.9
    Nearest airportEssendon Airport (MEB)
    Distance to airport12.4 km

    Rooms available at Urban Central Accommodation

    7.8
    Very good
    Room comfort & quality
    Family Room
    Family Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 king bed and 1 bunk bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Bathroom - Mixed
    1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Bathroom - Mixed
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 bunk beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Room
    Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • City view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Room, Private Bathroom
    Double Room, Private Bathroom
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Basic Double
      Basic Double
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Bunk Bed In Dormitory Share _4Adults_
        Bunk Bed In Dormitory Share _4Adults_
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices
          Bunk Bed In Female Dormitory Share _4Adults_
          Bunk Bed In Female Dormitory Share _4Adults_
          ...
            Enter dates to see prices
            4 Person Mixed Dormitory - Shared Bathroom
            4 Person Mixed Dormitory - Shared Bathroom
            ...
              Enter dates to see prices
              Bed in Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
              Bed in Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
              ...
                Enter dates to see prices

                What people love about Urban Central Accommodation

                • 9.6
                  Exceptional
                  Spaciousness

                  "Large room with comfortable beds, modern bathroom."

                  Anita

                  |

                  29 October 2016

                • 10.0
                  Exceptional
                  Bathroom

                  "Public toilet is clean."

                  jia

                  |

                  4 December 2018

                • 8.4
                  Excellent

                  "Well priced budget accom."

                  Anita

                  |

                  13 October 2018

                Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

                Prices drop the moment you sign in!

                Sign in now
                More about Urban Central Accommodation

                More about Urban Central Accommodation

                6.8
                Good

                "Budgeted and nice location at South Melbourne"

                KEE W.

                |

                30 October 2016

                An overview

                Show less

                Most talked about facilities

                Housekeeping
                33 mentions
                Breakfast
                5 mentions
                Internet
                3 mentions
                Food & Dining
                1 mention

                What they offer

                8.8
                Excellent
                Bathroom

                "Comfortable beds & big bathroom."

                Anita

                |

                13 September 2017

                View all reviews
                Show less

                Nearest essentials

                Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
                Show less

                Food and dining

                Nearby restaurants

                Australian cuisine
                Australian cuisine
                Dimattina Cafe
                230 m Australian, Cafe
                Dead Man Expresso
                300 m Australian, Cafe
                Charlie Lovett South Wharf
                540 m Australian, Cafe
                Asian cuisine
                Asian cuisine
                sho noodle bar
                310 m Asian, Chinese
                Enlightened Cuisine
                520 m Asian, Chinese, Vegetarian
                Akachochin
                570 m Asian, Gluten Free, Japanese
                Gluten Free
                Gluten Free
                Cervo
                580 m Gluten Free, Italian, Pizza
                Byblos Bar & Restaurant
                710 m Gluten Free, Lebanese, Mediterranean
                Bohemian Bar & Restaurant
                830 m Gluten Free, Mediterranean, Spanish

                What's nearby

                Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
                Show less

                Property's guest policies

                Show less

                Some helpful facts

                Show less

                Reviews of Urban Central Accommodation from real guests

                Overall rating
                8.0
                Excellent
                From 1525 reviews
                Provided by verified guests of
                Agoda Reviews (323)Booking.com Reviews (1202)
                Rating via Agoda7.8
                /
                10
                Cleanliness7.8
                Facilities7.5
                Location7.9
                Room comfort and quality7.8
                Service8.0
                Value for money8.1
                High score for Melbourne
                Rating
                9+ Exceptional (53)
                8-9 Excellent (44)
                7-8 Very Good (70)
                6-7 Good (29)
                <6 Below Expectation (44)
                Time of the year
                Mar - May (49)
                Jun - Aug (71)
                Sep - Nov (65)
                Dec - Feb (55)
                All guests (323)
                All room types
                All languages

                Show reviews that mention 

                Showing 240 verified guest comments
                12345
                9.2
                Exceptional
                Yeh from Taiwan
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

                Very clean”

                Very clean rooms with big windows and very clean bathroom, that's the point. Near Yarra river and CBD, about 10 minutes walk to Spencer stop ( free tramp ) on the way to Spencer you'll see the Casino, DFO and Yarra river, very convenient. The place is also close to St. Kilda beach ( down south ) Overall, a nice place with nice people.

                Reviewed March 08, 2019
                6.8
                Good
                Aidid
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

                I wished for a better roommate ”

                I booked a room with AC, unfortunately there was a guy staying in my room prefer not to turn on the AC ( plus the ac button was next to his bed) i kept on switching it on 2-3 times but ended up with no AC for 3 nights in a row. Yeah bad memories for me.

                Reviewed April 23, 2019
                10.0
                Exceptional
                xu from China
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 1 night in September 2016

                Everything is good!”

                I have stayed here for 3 months, I met a lof funny friends. Free bastekfast , Cheap, and good loction. It's awsome. Only one thing is not good. There is no free wifi. You need to pay$3 per day. So expensive for backpackers.

                Reviewed December 11, 2016
                8.7
                Excellent
                Celia from Singapore
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 5 nights in November 2014

                Great location!”

                location, cleanliness, free breakfast

                free breakfast was a bonus. Room was clean and the staff was great. There could have been more power outlets though, other than just being in the lockers, cause that means you can't use it while it's charging :(

                Reviewed November 16, 2014
                8.3
                Excellent
                gayle from Australia
                Couple
                Double Room
                Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

                great location”

                easy acess to everything great value and breakfast included

                our stay at the urban was fantastic we had no trouble finding our way around to the popular stops in the city it was great value for money and included in the price was breakfast which was a bonus would recommened to family and friend to stay here

                Reviewed March 20, 2014
                7.6
                Very good
                Mitchel from Australia
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

                Very good”

                It is a HOSTEL, as such you are going to be randomly paired with other people. Lockers have tiny holes for the lock, so don't get a thick lock. I'd recommend a hotel if you have the money, but for students it's OK.

                Reviewed May 05, 2019
                3.6
                Yi from Australia
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 1 night in April 2019

                The staff remember Lisa claimed to be general manager was rude and she stole my money. ”

                There was a $10 cash deposit for the key when I checked in. After I returned the key, she refused to give the $10 cash back to me because according to her that turned into some late fee. I told her this was originally for the key deposit and once I returned the key I should’ve had the$10 cash back. Also, I told her I was willing to pay the late fee and she could charge that on my card. But she refused my payment and didn’t return the $10. I asked her for the receipt. She printed a receipt stating ‘deposit’ instead of ‘key deposit’. When I requested a clearer statement of what kind of deposit that was, she refused to make any changes and told me it was final. This is not the whole story of how she abused the power or how I was mistreated. I managed to record a short video of the situation. Pls advise how to fully explain the case, make an official complaint.

                Reviewed May 04, 2019
                5.2
                Lauranne from Australia
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 5 nights in December 2018

                Not so good”

                Honestly I was disappointed of this hostel, the price is quite high, no free wifi, they watch you a lot so that nobody outside of the hostel come, the staff is not really helpful, I was missed two of my booked nights and they make me pay full (never happened to me in Asia) and checked in at 2pm like everyone even if I was supposed to be in the hostel days ago and I paid for it !! The only positive point everything is so clean !!

                Reviewed December 29, 2018
                2.0
                xing from China
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

                not friendly that no hair men”

                not friendly that no hair men

                Reviewed May 24, 2019
                2.0
                xing from China
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

                not friendly that no hair men”

                not friendly that no hair men

                Reviewed May 24, 2019
                7.6
                Very good
                HARRIS from Malaysia
                Family with young children
                Family Room
                Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

                It's a budget accommodation”

                Good for solo traveler.

                Reviewed April 08, 2019
                8.8
                Excellent
                Nicole from Australia
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 1 night in November 2018

                great hostel”

                Brilliant cooking facilities, bar, and communal area. Bedroom was spacious and clean. Would definitely stay here again!

                Reviewed November 28, 2018
                8.4
                Excellent
                Nathan from Australia
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 7 nights in May 2018

                Great hostel when discounted”

                This was a great hostel to stay in as the room was discounted by 80% for my stay. However at full price I would have preferred to pay a little extra and stay in a hotel, even if that put me further out of the CBD. The facilities were satisfactory, however my room had two (2) broken lockers and bathroom facilities were often quite dirty and had broken equipment within.

                Reviewed May 22, 2018

                Thank you for rating your stay with us. It's great to hear you received an excellent discounted rate. Regards

                Responded October 06, 2018
                Urban Central Accommodation
                5.2
                Chris from New Zealand
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

                Typical backpacker stay”

                Rude uncaring staff, slightly condescending even, got my keys mixed up, cash only they don't take credit on that night. If you like the young crowd and student parties then it's for you. But location is quite far out. Can access central Melbourne by tram though which you have to get a card to do so. Bathroom sometimes ok but filthy at other times. But reminds me why I don't stay in hostels

                Reviewed May 08, 2018

                Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

                Responded October 06, 2018
                Urban Central Accommodation
                7.2
                Very good
                Ka from Hong Kong
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 6 nights in March 2017

                it's all about the people”

                i deeply understand that dorm sharing room doesnt always guarantees good dormmates but there were two people (not couple but did couple stuff) annoyed us a lot that they talked loudly at night even the lights are off and all sorts of "lacl of manners" stuff. this is personally and nothing much to do with the place but its just a bad experience.

                Reviewed April 02, 2017

                Hi Ka, Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. As you mentioned you cannot always guarantee whom you share a room with and if you had spoken to reception we would have tried to move you into another room. We are very disappointed that thoughtless people you shared a room with caused you to have an uncomfortable stay. We do hope that you come back and visit us again. The Urban Central team.

                Responded August 22, 2017
                Urban Central Accommodation
                5.2
                Hera from Japan
                Group
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 3 nights in February 2017

                Smelly woman in my room ”

                Smelly woman in my room . She had not shower and no wash clothes more than 3monthes. Her smell s Homeless cats and Cockroaches and str ong ODD. I couldn't sleep. Feels vomiting. I spread deodorant splay her bed ,and often open door. Location was far and anoying conbection tram from CBD. No free Wi-Fi. In morning, cleaner was anoying. I couldn't cooking with relax. Because cleaner had to much wash and wipe with lash, al ogance , self centred. man cleaner was kindly. Women's was rude.

                Reviewed February 09, 2017

                Hi Hiroko, Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. Unfortunately when staying in a shared room, you cannot always guarantee whom you will be sharing with. However if you told reception about your room mate we would have moved you into another room. I am disappointed that you had an issue with the housekeeper as we pride ourselves on our great customer service. I will bring up your comments with the housekeeping team. Again thank you for the time to pass on your feedback. Kind regards, The Urban Central Team

                Responded August 22, 2017
                Urban Central Accommodation
                9.6
                Exceptional
                Anita from Australia
                Business traveler
                Family Room
                Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

                Neat, tidy & well priced”

                Great location, there were 2 of us & we opted for a room that slept 4, just to ensure we had a room to ourselves. Large room with comfortable beds, modern bathroom. For the price & location this is well worth the price. Will definitely consider staying here again.

                Reviewed October 29, 2016
                8.8
                Excellent
                Tony from United States
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

                Great location ”

                Pros: Great location. You are very close to downtown. Across the bridge and 15 mins walk, or you can take the tram but why bother? Good $ saver. And very friendly super helpful staffs willing to help. Cons: bathroom can use better lighting. Bunk bed needs some repaire or updates. Overall: give up some comfort for the $ and location.

                Reviewed September 03, 2016
                9.6
                Exceptional
                Trixie from Australia
                Solo traveler
                1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom - Mixed
                Stayed 6 nights in June 2016

                Caring staff.”

                Awesome time stayed here. Staff happy to help. Missed my pickup for the airport and staff even ensured that I had sorted out my lift. Even came outside to check if I was ok. For an older person this made me feel very safe and cared for. Well done staff. will only stay here in the future

                Reviewed July 13, 2016
                8.0
                Excellent
                NIK from Malaysia
                Group
                Family Room
                Stayed 1 night in May 2015

                Great place”

                Breakfast, Location & clean

                It's a great placeto stay for us a it's not too city centre but it's not far to walk to the city centre. There is halal kebabs along the way from Melbourne city to the place. We were in the family room and it was super comfortable with double bed and a bunk bed. Definitely worth the price to stay here. There's a McDonald around and you can enjoy the simple but bountiful breakfast at this place. Were ther for one night only but would stay longer if time permits.

                Reviewed December 15, 2015
                12345
                This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

                Back to search results

                Back to room choices

                |

                Dismiss

                Urban Central Accommodation
                |Very good 7.8
                ×
                Check in. Step out.
                Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

                • Very good location
                • Melbourne Aquarium
                • Southern Cross Railway Station is within 1.21 km