Hotel Reviews of Hotel Carlton Mill Christchurch New Zealand - Page 1
Book Now: Hotel Carlton Mill

Very good
From 76 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (76)Booking.com Reviews (625)
7.6
Very good
From 76 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities7.6
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality7.5
Service7.9
Value for money7.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Nederlands
Deutsch
more
Room type
King Studio
One Bedroom Apartment
Superior Studio
1 Bedroom Suite
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 64 verified guest comments
3.0
ian from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2014
Desert delights”
location,price,room layout
Overall very good,location is very good but during heavy traffic in and out access can be difficult.Room was clean and well setup for the traveller.Price was value for money.Stall very good. Dining is excellent with deserts are famous for their quality and size.Will stay there again.
Reviewed October 05, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Priscilla from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2014
Value for money”
Value for money, nice staff, warm rooms
Was a nice stay, warm and quiet.
Reviewed October 01, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Luke from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June, 2014
Had a great time”
Close to the airport , close to the CBD , affordable
Excellent
Reviewed June 12, 2014
5.7
SONTHIYA from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May, 2014
the heater is too small for the room”
The room is clean, friendly staff and good location
The room doesnt keep the noise from outside. You could here anything from outside your door; other ppl.conversations, ppl.walking sound and door shut, etc. In the first night, after we had a shower the bathroom doesn't have a fan to dry out the steam so the bathroom was all wet everywhere. The room we stay on the second night, the hairdryer doesnt work. So I have to sleep with wet hair in the winter night. Not fun!
Reviewed May 18, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Christine from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2014
Lovely hotel,very clean & comfortable”
Location,staff, comfort
Visited Christchurch with my daughter for a wedding. We decided to spend the last 2 days in the city & as we did not have a car this hotel was ideal as just a walk through Hagley Park took us to the city centre. Also as 2 females travelling we felt perfectly safe there. The attached restaurant, Strawberry Fayre, was excellent
Reviewed March 03, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Malcolm from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2014
Comfortable”
Comfy bed. Price. Location to the CBD. Strawberry Fare right next door.
Very comfortable. Rather dated but well maintained.
Reviewed February 09, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Michael from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in January, 2014
Clean and comfortable rooms”
Easy to find. Fast check in staff efficient. Close to local eating places
Hotel Carlton is a clean comfortable motel style with good access to Christchurch City Centre
Reviewed January 26, 2014
7.3
Very good
Aprizal from Indonesia
Family with teens
One Bedroom Apartment
Stayed 1 night in December, 2013
Pleasant Stay”
Large Room, Nice Bathroom, Close to the City
It was a pleasant stay. I liked the fact that the room was very spacious. Close to the city as well.
Reviewed January 09, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Bal from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2013
Very Satisfying”
Friendly Staff, best loaction and good food
Was very pleasing stay at Hotel Carlton Mill as it was kept very nice and claen and the service from the reception staff was excellent.
Reviewed January 09, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Erin from New Zealand
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in January, 2014
Clean, comfortable short stay room”
location, cleanliness, sale price
I was looking for a room for an over night stay as I was collecting someone from the airport late at night. The unit was small but just what I needed. The kitchen was well resourced. Shower had plenty of hot water.I found a sale price for the night required. Check in staff were friendly. It was suggested by the check in staff I leave the outside light on at the unit seeing I would be in late. Everything was clean and ready when I arrived late afternoon.
Reviewed January 06, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Mr from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August, 2013
self contained, spacious room, clean, enjoyable”
location, price, internet & kitchen.
Great, clean, spacious, own kitchen & garden area, cozy (electric blankets), Fast internet, close to shops & casino, 1 kM to city centre, & gardens.
Reviewed August 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Natalie from New Zealand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in June, 2013
Good value for money comfortable stay in a conveni”
Location, price, comfort.
Excellent. Warm and freindly staff, great facilities for the price. Easy walking distance to shops and great restaurants. For walkers, Hagley Park is just across the road and the museum, Art gallery and hospital are all a short distance away. I would recommend this hotel for those wanting an affordable stay in the city.
Reviewed June 17, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Stephen from United Kingdom
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in May, 2013
Comfortable and clean”
High speed Internet, close to shopping, close to the centre
Brilliant stay ended up staying longer than expected. Very helpful staff who are always willing to answer your questions the best they can.
Reviewed June 03, 2013
4.3
Aaron from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March, 2013
sad we had to end the trip here”
location,tv channels
Reviewed April 24, 2013
4.7
Aaron from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April, 2013
old & dated”
location, tv channels
we found this hotel really dissappointing. Old and uncomfortable . Was the worst place we stayed in for the entire trip
Reviewed April 24, 2013
7.7
Very good
IAN from Malaysia
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2013
Good hotel, above average standard”
Although not exactly in the middle of the city, this hotel is within walking distance to the city, easy access to food and close to airport.
Good stay, nothing has let me down. Very efficient front desk service, reception was fast iron both check in and check out
Reviewed April 24, 2013
3.0
David from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in March, 2013
Unpleasant and uncomfortable”
No good features
This was our only disappointing accommodation experience in 4 weeks in NZ. The photos shown on the internet depict a modern and clean room when in fact our room was tired and dirty. There were many other shortcomings including the rooms were noisy and the curtains covered less than 75% of the windows. In our view, the star rating should be no more than one.
Reviewed April 05, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Chris from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in February, 2013
Very helpful receptionist”
Kitchen set up was excellent and the hotel is close to restaurants and the park
Kitchen set up was excellent and the hotel is close to restaurants and the park
Reviewed February 16, 2013
6.0
Saniya from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December, 2012
was good as we loved the kitchen facilty.”
was above awesome restaurant called strawebery something
we stayed there for a night and enjoyed our stay mainly because of the kitchen facility. wifi was free however, was working only close to the windows and doors.
Reviewed January 05, 2013
7.7
Very good
Tim from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2012
Warm welcome to a pleasant stay”
Clean, efficient anmd friendly
We arrived to a very warm welcome from the reception staff; who after finding our that the Agoda booking hadn't highlighted the fact we were father and son (aged 14)so we didn't want to share a double. They quickly found a twin which was fine. The kitchen had all the basics and the beds were OK. The Carlton Mill is close to everything in Christchucrh and we both said we would have no problem recommending the hotel.
Reviewed October 19, 2012
5.7
Liang from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June, 2012
Not happy experience in this hotel”
Room ok
Not happy experience in this hotel, when issue do occur, hotel manager in a not willing to help attitude. NOT RECOMMONTED
Reviewed October 13, 2012
6.0
YONG from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September, 2012
it's a hotel not motel, not cheap”
have in room free wifi, free parking, close to a nice park
there's in room safe box, fridge and water boiling kettle. free wifi. not very good sound proof walls cos you can hear people talking in the corridor. there's a nice park just nearby so you can have a walk during day time. there's a Burger King just next door. But the room price is too high, wouldnt recomment it.
Reviewed October 07, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Battur from Mongolia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September, 2012
neat and tidy”
smells good and clean
We really liked the interiors and details in the unit. The unit we had was bigger and nicer than we thought. So we would say that we had a good time. The taxi driver finds the hotel easily and the location is pretty close to some dining places and gas station.
Reviewed September 29, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Mei from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September, 2012
Functional hotel with good service”
Good service, free internet
The staff was friendly - in particular, the receptionist offered to help me book a cab for my early trip to the airport the next day. The free internet (a rarity in new zealand) was also very good. The room itself was okay. The bed and electric blanket was good. However, the toilet was rather oddly designed (having 2 doors inside), and there was a window in the toilet where people walking past the corridor could potentially see through.
Reviewed September 09, 2012
3.7
ALI from Saudi Arabia
Couple
King Studio
Stayed 1 night in August, 2012
not very clean hotel”
for the amount i paid i expect cleaner hotel
it good hotel but for the amount i paid i expect morte. the vantaltion fan was very derty and not cleaned for number of years
Reviewed September 01, 2012
7.7
Very good
Vara from India
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2012
Good location and friendly staff”
Free parking and electric blankets
Overall good hotel to stay for couple of days and considerable distance to the city. Staff are very friendly and good.
Reviewed August 22, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Jamie from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in August, 2012
Awesome place to stay ”
Good location, helpful staff. Good price
Great place would defenitly stay again, awesome staff that were very helpful. 50m walk to awesome food and drinks. Room was small but good and well maintained
Reviewed August 15, 2012
8.3
Excellent
David from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2012
Comfortable and warm hotel”
Good heater and nice kitchen
The room is comfortable with flat screen TV, clean bathroom and kitchen. The bed was nice and soft but only a double size. It is an easy walk once across the busy road to the park and gardens. Next door is a comfortable pub and across the road from the pub are Chinese and Thai takeaways. It is possible to walk down town but there is much wreckage along the way.
Reviewed August 03, 2012
2.3
William from New Zealand
Couple
King Studio
Stayed 1 night in July, 2012
Review”
Localtion is the only pro
The most disappointing stay of our experience. Noisy, uncomfortable, out-dated. Would never return and would never recommend to anyone. Why don't New Zealand hoteliers get into the 21st century.
Reviewed July 13, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Ni from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June, 2012
lovely place”
location, facility
the place was really good. great location. excellent service. only 15 mins to city by walk. the food there was really famous and wonderful.
Reviewed July 09, 2012
6.3
Good
Tatsumi from Japan
Business traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2012
Good location”
Location
The sound of next room sounds well. Maybe the wall is too thin.
Reviewed July 09, 2012
6.0
Tatsumi from Japan
Business traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 1 night in July, 2012
Good location”
Location
The sound of next room sounds well. Maybe the wall is too thin.
Reviewed July 09, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Faasoa from New Zealand
Group
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2012
Comfortable room, great location and service ”
Rooms had all we would need. Comfortable warm beds. Bathroom was modern, clean and well set up. Water pressure in shower was great.
my sister and i stayed at the carlton mill hotel while in christchurch for a family function. the welcome was warm and friendly. the information shared by the receptionist was clear and easy to understand. on walking down the hallway to our room the floor felt like it was bumpy under our feet even thought the carpet was smooth, an unusual feeling. i wondered if it was a result of the earth quake. visitors that came to our room experienced it to. may staff should mention this to guests in their information. the room was warm, with comfortable beds and very well suited to all that we needed for example, comfortable beds, good lighting as needed, modern and well supplied bathroom, an area to prepare or heat up food, good sized tv and a slide door to outdoors. i booked this hotel because it was close to the hagley park so i could go for a run - perfect location. after my run we went to the restaurant in front of the hotel for breakfast - perfect location. we used a car for transport and the one caution i would give to drivers is that accessing the hotel from the wrong direction requires great caution. however even if coming from the airport direction there is a merging of traffic from another road, which is restricted by a giveaway sign, but is close to the hotel driveway. overall and enjoyable experience and i would look at staying at the carlton mill hotel again when in christchurch.
Reviewed July 06, 2012
8.0
Excellent
David from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in June, 2012
very nice...friendly, helpful service”
location to restaurants, highways, rooms got warm in winter
We could stay only one night; staff was very helpful with directions.
Reviewed July 04, 2012
7.3
Very good
Stuart from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2012
Nice Place”
Location
The hotel was very close to all facilities - clean, warm and tidy with nice staff. As a business traveller it was a smooth stay.
Reviewed May 15, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Paul from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
One Bedroom Apartment
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2012
Great motel and great service”
Clean and well maintained
Nice motel with friendly and helpful receptionist. Although its an older style its clean and well maintained. Close enough to walk to Merivale social scene.
Reviewed April 18, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Heike from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in January, 2018
Exceptional”
Alles bestens!!
Reviewed January 17, 2018
5.3
Bastiaan from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2014
Basic kamer op een fijne plek”
Fijne locatie en ruime kamer
Basic kamer (studio) met fasciliteiten om te koken. Personeel om te huilen. Toen ik mijn beklag deed over wifi zei de receptionist dat op mijn kamer niet werkte maar het maakte volgens niet uit omdat het 'complimentary' was. (Dit is overigens niet zo) Hij haalde zelfs aan dat hij ook een keer bij KFC was en dat ze geen kip hadden en ik had dus gewoon pech.
Reviewed December 05, 2014
7.7
Very good
Marij from Netherlands
Couple
Superior Studio
Stayed 6 nights in December, 2012
Goede kamers, vriendelijk personeel.”
Fijn restaurant, centrale ligging
Ruime, volledige kamer en een goede bedden. Het personeel was vriendelijk en behulpzaam. Helaas was met de kerstdagen het restaurant gesloten en was er ook geen hotelservice.
Reviewed January 07, 2013
6.7
Good
Nobuyuki from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September, 2013
ふつーのホテル。”
駐車場無料。コンビニ等が近い
Reviewed September 29, 2013
7.7
Very good
yoshimasa from Japan
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 5 nights in January, 2013
5日間宿泊したがリラックス出来た”
台所がついており簡単な調理が出来る
クライストチャーチは地震の影響で宿泊場所を探すのに苦労した(日本で)。現地に到着してみると20部屋程度のモーテル、ホテルが多数あり賑わっていた。私が宿泊したホテルも部屋に簡単な調理設備、トースター等があり近くのスーパーで材料を買ってきて朝食を賄った。豪華なホテルではないが何日間か滞在するには快適で過ごしやすかった。又公園等も近く市内観光にも良い場所だった。夜ドライヤーを使っている時ブレーカーがとんで真っ暗になった時は困った。フロントが10時で閉まり連絡が取れなくなったので手探りでベッドに入り朝まで待ったのも今になれば笑い話。
Reviewed February 04, 2013
5.3
Ken from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December, 2012
普通のモーテル”
立地条件
ホテルと言う名前ですが普通のモーテルです。 ホテルにしては安かったですが、そう考えると高くも安くもないです。 場所は中心まで歩けますので悪くはない。クリスマスの日に泊まったのでどこも(このホテルのも含め)レストランがやってなかったですが、何軒も近所にあります。
Reviewed January 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Siegfried from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior Studio
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2016
性價比合理”
地点適中,附近也有不少食店,油店便利店有24小時服務。
Reviewed December 29, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Hsin from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2014
不錯 但網路有點慢”
乾淨、晚到也能check-in 、舒適
Reviewed July 30, 2014