Sydney Star Backpackers
Sydney Star Backpackers
See all 30 photos
Double Room - Guestroom Sydney Star Backpackers
Double Room - Guestroom
See all 30 photos
Lobby Sydney Star Backpackers
Lobby
See all 30 photos
Interior view Sydney Star Backpackers
Interior view
See all 30 photos
Interior view Sydney Star Backpackers
Interior view
See all 30 photos
See map Sydney Star Backpackers
See map
Very good
Location
7.4
See all 30 photos Sydney Star Backpackers
See all 30 photos
Removed from saved list

Sydney Star Backpackers

Very good location
Have a question for Sydney Star Backpackers?
Very good
From 88 reviewsSee what guests said
7.2
  • 380 meters to public transportation

  • Airport transfer

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms

  • Balcony/terrace

Room choices
Double Room
Double Room
...
  • City view
  • 12 m²/129 ft²
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • City view
  • 20 m²/215 ft²
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
...
  • City view
  • 20 m²/215 ft²
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • 22 m²/237 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Sydney Star Backpackers?
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Sydney Star Backpackers

More about Sydney Star Backpackers

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What to eat nearby

Australian cuisine
Australian cuisine
Locanda Olivetti
70 mAustralian, Healthy, Italian
Lounge Restaurant
150 mAustralian
Flour and Stone
270 mAustralian, Cafe, Gluten Free
Asian cuisine
Asian cuisine
Bibim
120 mAsian, Korean
Miss Chu
140 mAsian, Vietnamese
Sushi Yachiyo
300 mAsian, Japanese, Sushi
Cafe
Cafe
Safira Verde
190 mCafe
Ray's Cafe
240 mCafe
Gloria Jeans Kings Cross
370 mCafe

What they offer

Show less

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show more

Guest policies

Show more

Some helpful facts

Show more

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (88)Booking.com Reviews (658)
7.2
Very good
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.5
Facilities6.7
Location7.4
Room comfort and quality5.6
Service8.0
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
繁體中文 (台灣)
简体中文
more
Room type
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Double Room
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 62 verified guest comments
1234
8.4
Excellent
Lindsey from United States
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 1 night in July, 2018
Give it a go!”
Overall, it was a great place to stay. Glad I found it. Blankets were small but cozy, individual toilets and showers, clean kitchen, simple breakfast (they even had orange juice!!), and great reception. My window was over an area either drunk or homeless people were because I heard them shouting both nights. That was the only non pleasant thing but it’s nothing the hostel can do.
Reviewed July 12, 2018
Hi Lindsey, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part though we must apologize for the incident from our neighbors. unfortunately this is something out of our control. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Sydney. Safe travels!
Responded July 14, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
8.4
Excellent
Sebastiaan from Belgium
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2018
Great bang for your buck. ”
The hostel is good for it's price. The kitchen/living room and terrace are Nice. Facilities are clean and there is quite a locker for you valuabels. The only cons were that my room had no closet or storage place for my clothes/lugage at all, other rooms had though. This made the Already small room feel cramped with all our stuff. Staf is friendly and there are vending machines.
Reviewed July 09, 2018
Thank you for those kind words Sabastiaan, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of replacing the old storage units for those rooms. Sincerely, Sydney Star reception team.
Responded July 14, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
8.8
Excellent
Krzysztof from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2018
Backpaker”
Value for many, Cleanliness reallly good, staff very helpfull
Reviewed June 28, 2018
Thank you for those kind words Krzysztof. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Sydney. Safe travels! Sydney Star reception team.
Responded July 02, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
9.6
Exceptional
Ka from China
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in June, 2018
The staffs are nice haha ”
What I need is good location, clean and good bathroom, clean and not crowded room for sleep. And yup this hostel is good. Recommend !
Reviewed June 26, 2018
Hello Ka, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sincerely, Sydney Star reception team.
Responded July 02, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
9.6
Exceptional
Aika from Japan
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in June, 2018
Very nice”
Staffs are very nice and friendly. Location is very good. You can go anywhere by walk. You can use locker for free, so it’s very safety.
Reviewed June 08, 2018
Hello Akia, Thank you for your kind words and the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the location and our free locker service provided to our guests. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Sydney. Safe travels!
Responded June 09, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
8.8
Excellent
Megan from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2018
Excellent”
Good for the price you pay
Reviewed May 17, 2018
Hi Megan, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you the next time you visit Sydney. Kind regards.
Responded June 09, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
8.8
Excellent
Alex from China
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2018
Good place to stay ”
Couldn't be more happier to check in this hostel after last terrible hostel experiences! Very nice and helpful receptionist,clean kitchen and bathroom. And even a sink and tap in four bed room!
Reviewed April 30, 2018
Hi Samuel, Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to write us a review. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Sydney. Happy travels! Sydney Star Reception Team.
Responded June 11, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
10.0
Exceptional
Samuel from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in April, 2018
Exceptional”
Comfortable beds, quiet room, friendly guests and reception staff SUPER nice and helpful. I loved the breakfast, simple but just what you need.
Reviewed April 25, 2018
Hi Samuel, Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to write us a review. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Sydney. Happy travels! Sydney Star Reception Team.
Responded June 11, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
8.0
Excellent
Dan from China
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 4 nights in September, 2017
Nice place to meet new friend”
It's convenient to go to sightseeing and at night, the canteen is the gathering place for meeting the nice people from all the world. Great and happy experience!
Reviewed March 13, 2018
Hello Dan, Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to write us a review. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Sydney. Happy travels! Sydney Star Reception Team.
Responded June 11, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
4.4
Janette from United Kingdom
Couple
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2017
Don't believe the photos”
I think they need to update the photos on the web site. These were obviously taken when it was newly painted. The roof terrace was more like a laundry room, the outdoor furniture needs replacing, there was no lock on one of the toilet doors ( 0nly 2 toilets per floor). The shower was dirty. It needs updating.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
Hello Janette, We apologize that your stay could not have been better. Since you stayed with us there have been massive changes in all levels of staff, cleaning standards and improvements made to our facilities. The rooftop terrace is enlarged and a small section dedicated so that our guests can easily wash and dry their clothing. The quality of the furnishings is fine and we are in the process of replacing our current stock. There are two ADDITIONAL toilet and shower blocks on the first floor, the lock has been fixed and all of our shower facilities cleaned in deep since you last stayed with us. Our new management team take maintenance issues very seriously. We would encourage you to book with us again to notice the difference. Kind regards, Sydney Star Reception Team.
Show more
Sydney Star Backpackers
6.8
Good
Scott from Belgium
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in August, 2017
Just okay”
Nice staff A bit noisy Not super clean
Reviewed November 18, 2017
Hello Scott, We apologize that your stay could not have been better although next time we would appreciate some constructive feedback to better understand your grievances with the property. Since you stayed with us there have been massive changes in all levels of staff, cleaning standards and improvements made to our facilities. Regarding the noise we have introduced night time curfews for our common areas to ensure noise levels are kept to a minimum. We would encourage you to book with us again to notice the difference. Kind regards.
Show more
Sydney Star Backpackers
10.0
Exceptional
SING from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 4 nights in September, 2017
Good location ”
Locker in the room must 1 person 1 locker ,Just happen When I late check in , All locker full , somebody occupat All locker
Reviewed September 09, 2017
Hi Sing, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your helpful feedback. Kind regards, Sydney Star Reception Team.
Responded June 11, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
8.8
Excellent
LIEW from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 6 nights in August, 2017
Good n nice”
Feeling nice
Reviewed September 01, 2017
Thank you for those kind words Liew. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Sydney. Kind regards.
Responded June 09, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
9.2
Exceptional
Francis from Philippines
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 8 nights in January, 2017
Great place and value for money!”
You will never go wrong here! The staff was very hands on. The kitchen was great! Gives you a sense of community.
Reviewed June 27, 2017
Hello Francis, Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to write us a review. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Sydney. Happy travels! Sydney Star Reception Team.
Responded June 11, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
6.0
kong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2017
You get what you pay”
Everything was fine, just the bathroom, since is a shared bathroom, can't complain much!
Reviewed May 12, 2017
Hello Kong, We apologize that your stay could not have been better although next time we would appreciate some more constructive feedback to better understand your grievances with the property. Since you stayed with us there have been massive changes in all levels of staff, cleaning standards and improvements made to our facilities. All the bathrooms have been cleaned in deep. We would encourage you to book with us again to notice the difference. Kind regards, Sydney Star Reception Team.
Show more
Sydney Star Backpackers
8.8
Excellent
daniel from Spain
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
good hostel close to center.”
Agoda didn' t send me information of what to do for late arrival,but luckily some residents let me in and the receptionist was still there and attended me kindly.
Reviewed May 09, 2017
Hi Daniel, Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff work exceptionally hard to ensure every guest feels comfortable here. Kind regards, Sydney Star Reception Team.
Responded June 11, 2018
Sydney Star Backpackers
2.4
Vijay from India
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2016
Worst Ts Staff”
Worst, highly irritating, no-co-operative Nepali Ladyboy ts staff, no value for money, not clean, not a convenient location for anything, no facilities, better don't stay here
Reviewed April 24, 2017
Hello Vijay, We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us however we have never had a member of our reception staff from Nepal. Since you stayed with us there have also been several changes in all levels of management, staff, cleaners and our facilities. All of the rooms, common areas and bathrooms have been cleaned in deep and our current housekeeping team are working hard to ensure that the best standards of cleanliness are met. We would encourage you to stay again with us to notice the difference. Kind regards, Sydney Star Reception.
Show more
Sydney Star Backpackers
5.6
Stuart from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2017
Nice place but rooms are a bit cramped due to workers staying in the same rooms ”
Workers should be kept in separate rooms to travelers if possible
Reviewed April 20, 2017
Hi Stuart, We apologize that your stay could not have been better although next time we would appreciate some constructive feedback to better understand your grievances with the property. Since you stayed with us there have been massive changes in all levels of staff, cleaning standards and improvements made to our facilities. Some of our guests work long hours and this can be a problem sometimes for other guests which is why we do our level best to separate the two but this cannot always be avoided. We would encourage you to book with us again to notice the difference. Sincerely, Sydney Star Reception Team.
Show more
Sydney Star Backpackers
3.6
pornpan from Thailand
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Very durty”
I don't suggest this hostel for everyone because it is very durty and no water in the toilet man for taking a shower.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
Hi Pornpan, We apologize that your stay could not have been better although next time we would appreciate some constructive feedback to better understand your grievances with the property. Since you stayed with us all the bathrooms have been cleaned out and routinely checked by staff to ensure that the best standards are met. Our new housekeeping staff are working exceptionally hard to ensure our facilities remain clean and we would encourage you to stay with us again. Kind regards, Sydney Star Reception Team.
Show more
Sydney Star Backpackers
4.4
Judi from Canada
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 14 nights in January, 2017
walking distance to cbd”
There are never any cups or bowls to use in the kitchen, all the pots and pans are in horrible shape. they have free cereals for breakfast but they did not have any coffee for the last few days. owners are too cheap to hire proper cleaners. a cleaner comes in for 2 hours a day to clean after 70 people it is not enough. It's passable, I stayed because I can walk to my work in 20 minutes from there.
Reviewed February 25, 2017
Hello Judi, We apologize that your stay could not have been better. Since you stayed with us there have been massive changes in all levels of staff, cleaning standards and improvements made to our facilities. Any guest who walks into our kitchen will notice there are ample utensils, bows and other implements. The breakfast items are refilled upon request and our reception staff are happy to oblige. Our cleaners, especially during your stay work for for more hours than you have described, our reception staff are also responsible and we have a night cleaner to ensure that the best standards of cleanliness are met. We would encourage you to book with us again to notice the difference. Kind regards, Sydney Star Reception Team.
Show more
Sydney Star Backpackers
1234
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices