Base Sydney Hostel
Base Sydney Hostel
See all 45 photos

"Bathroom was clean and room was comfortable."

Ferdauzia A.

02 May 2018

6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory - Guestroom Base Sydney Hostel
6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory - Guestroom
See all 45 photos
Lobby Base Sydney Hostel
Lobby
See all 45 photos
Lobby Base Sydney Hostel
Lobby
See all 45 photos
Exterior view Base Sydney Hostel
Exterior view
See all 45 photos
See map Base Sydney Hostel
See map
Excellent
Location
8.8
See all 45 photos Base Sydney Hostel
See all 45 photos
Removed from saved list

Base Sydney Hostel

Excellent location
Stay in the heart of Sydney - See what's nearby
Have a question for Base Sydney Hostel?
Very good
From 214 reviewsSee what guests said
7.2
  • 180 meters to public transportation

  • Airport transfer

  • Heart of the city

  • Air conditioning

Room choices
This property is in high demand!Last booked 4 hours ago | 7 travelers are looking at this property right now
8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • 34 m²/366 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Sanctuary - Female Only
Sanctuary - Female Only
...
  • 25 m²/269 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
6 - Bed Mixed Dormitory
6 - Bed Mixed Dormitory
...
  • 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Double Room
Double Room
...
  • 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
4 - Bed Dormitory ( Mixed)
4 - Bed Dormitory ( Mixed)
...
  • 22 m²/237 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
...
  • 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • 22 m²/237 ft²
  • Shower
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
10-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
10-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
...
  • 40 m²/431 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Triple Room Shared Bathroom
Triple Room Shared Bathroom
...
  • 22 m²/237 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
  • 3 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Double Ensuite
Double Ensuite
...
  • 22 m²/237 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Base Sydney Hostel?
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Base Sydney Hostel

More about Base Sydney Hostel

"Good location"

Reviewed 19 December 2016

Jumaah from Malaysia

|

Couple

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What to eat nearby

Australian cuisine
Australian cuisine
Scary Canary Backpacker Bar
20 m Australian, Bar, Pub
Tempered Cafe
100 m Australian, Cafe
Sepia
130 m Australian, Japanese
Asian cuisine
Asian cuisine
Nyonya Laksa
80 m Asian, Malaysian
Hotel Sweeneys
100 m Asian, Australian, Brew Pub
Umami
140 m Asian, Japanese, Sushi
Cafe
Cafe
Alexas
70 m Cafe
Beans N2 Cream
170 m Cafe
Le Grand Cafe
190 m Cafe, French

What they offer

"Excellent location and friendly staff."

Hazel from Australia

|

Couple
Show less

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show more

Property's guest policies

Show more

Some helpful facts

Show more

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (214)Booking.com Reviews (2073)
7.2
Cleanliness6.8
Facilities6.9
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality6.6
Service7.3
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
10-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
4 - Bed Dormitory ( Mixed)
6 - Bed Mixed Dormitory
6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
more
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 166 verified guest comments
12345
9.2
Exceptional
Sabina from Philippines
Solo traveler
Sanctuary - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Very good location”
Very good location - it is just a walking distance from the train station, City Market, St. Mary's Cathedral, and other other tourist spots. Staff - they are friendly and helpful. I ordered online an Opal card before my arrival and requested them to keep it. :) I use the address of the hotel as the delivery address. Elevator - already old and slow :( Negative comment on the noise that you can hear from other guests :( occupying other rooms. But overall, highly recommended!
Reviewed September 05, 2018
6.4
Good
Krisana
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Good”
i booked double room but i got mixed room. i am not sure double room is mixed room or not and i am not stay at the hotel because in the room too smell and locker didn’t have key and no safety for my things and i cancel 1 day no need refund back for change the hotel. Staff at the hotel very nice and helpful but only 1 person at reception they sould be have 2 staff at the reception.
Reviewed August 30, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Lei from Singapore
Solo traveler
Sanctuary - Female Only
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
Best location, value for money”
As a solo traveler, I stayed in the female dorm which is at 4th floor, separate from normal rooms. It was quiet, not like other reviews that were annoyed by the music. There’re mirrors, bean bag, sofa and lockers in the room. The kitchen is big, plenty of storage space and seats. There’s only one shower and toilet per floor but I never needed to wait. Wifi only available at lobby and kitchen, a bit slow but good to have. Overall it’s a pleasant stay as it’s my first experience with hostel. If you are looking for value for money hostel, this is the right place to go.
Reviewed August 29, 2018
7.6
Very good
Marianne from Philippines
Solo traveler
6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
Stayed 5 nights in August 2018
At the center of the city”
Pros-centrally located; town hall stn is just across the street; very near Queen Victoria Bldg., Westfield, Sydney Tower, Hyde Park; has direct train to domestic and international airport; if you love to party, it's connected to a pub called "The Scary Canary" Cons- since it's connected to a pub, it's quite loud at night, rooms need bigger lockers for luggage.
Reviewed August 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Yoon from Australia
Solo traveler
6 - Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 5 nights in August 2018
Was really nice”
The place's located was really nice, in front of Townhall station by walk 5min, and the staff was kindly and friendly .
Reviewed August 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Syarul from Malaysia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
nice”
everything were superb
Reviewed June 20, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Miffy from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Exceptional”
It's been many years since I had stayed in a back-packers, and I was by far the oldest person staying there, but staff were welcoming all the same, and the occupants soon stopped staring at me! The location of Base was great - only a few minutes walk to Darling Harbour, or to Town Hall station, and actually Circular Quay and the bridge were walkable - about 30 mins max. So couldn't have been more central, especially for what I paid! I booked a private double room, would have preferred one with en suite but they were already booked. However, the toilet and shower were straight across the corridor and always clean, and by chance, never occupied when I needed them. The room was bright and clean, with a very comfortable double bed and TV. I didn't actually cook for myself but used the kitchen to make cups of tea, etc, and the facilities looked really good. Plenty of fridge and food storage space. I could happily have stayed there longer and would definitely stay there again!
Reviewed June 04, 2018
6.4
Good
Thi from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Sanctuary - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Good place”
Near the Town Hall station. Rooms are clean.
Reviewed May 08, 2018
7.6
Very good
Muhammad from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
ok hostel”
staff could have been more friendly. all in all it was a good hostel based on location and cleanliness. stayed in private room with shared bathroom. bathroom was clean and room was comfortable.
Reviewed May 02, 2018
Hi - thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We pride ourselves on customer service so it is disappointing to read that you found the staff unfriendly - we will pass on your comments and definitely do some more training. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Responded May 07, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
9.2
Exceptional
YACHU from Taiwan
Solo traveler
10-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Good spot ”
Good spot at Sydney!!! Easy to go anywhere. Room is clean and I love the under bed locker..
Reviewed March 17, 2018
Hi! Thank you for leaving a review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay :) We hope to see you again in the future. Much love, Base crew
Responded March 21, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
9.6
Exceptional
Stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
10-Bed Dormitory (Mixed)
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Nice place but ”
A nice clean place in the city you can't go past the price . But there is no Quiet areas for students to study with the music going 24/7 great for young travelers . No table in the room I had to study at . The first room had no light in shower / toilet & they changed me without trouble .
Reviewed January 16, 2018
Thank you for leaving a review. We're happy to hear that you liked the location of our hostel. Close to the hostel is a public library for eventual studies. We have a 24 hour reception and are willing to help you out any time with any issues and will resolve them as quickly as possible to ensure you have a comfortable stay. Much love, Base crew
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
7.6
Very good
XIANG from China
Solo traveler
Sanctuary - Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Perfect location”
It does have perfect location, walkable distance to pretty much everything. BUT you have to PAY FOR WIFI!
Reviewed November 21, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. We're happy to hear that you liked the location of our hostel. We offer free Wifi in our hostel from 7am until 7pm and you can purchase Global Gossip connection in you room at reception. Much love, Base Crew.
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
9.2
Exceptional
Hazel from Australia
Couple
Double Ensuite
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
Exceptional”
Have stayed there several times. Excellent location and friendly staff.
Reviewed July 02, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the future :) Much love, Base crew
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
8.0
Excellent
Tivyaanga from Malaysia
Solo traveler
6 Bedded En-Suite Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Very good”
The beds were really comfy & bouncy, I loved them. But they don't have electrical sockets near the beds in the dorm which was pretty inconvenient. The shower & the toilet are in separate rooms as well. I slept well when i stayed there especially because it was winter & they had a heater in the dorm, but one of my dorm mates said that it can get pretty loud if there's a party at the bar downstairs. Overall, a good experience though especially 'cause their staff was really friendly!
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Thank you for writing a review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved our awesome staff! Much love, Base crew
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
8.0
Excellent
CHUN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
6 - Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
good for lacation”
easy to located
Reviewed May 24, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. We're happy to hear that you liked the location of our hostel and we hope to see you again in the future:) Much love, Base crew
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
6.8
Good
Mark from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Not a place for sleep”
I went to hotel expecting be a tourist but I arrived on a Friday and the room they put me was above the club and I can hear the music and you can even feel the base from below.. it went till 3am in the morning and good luck sleeping through that kind of music.. if you are into that kind of scene.. this place is for you..
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. Apologies for any inconvenience during your stay.Unfortunately we can't do anything about the music from the club 'Scary Canary' next door. We can provide in earplugs to reduce the music and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Much Love, Base Crew
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
10.0
Exceptional
suying from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Value for Money”
The location is quite, but the pub beside the hostel may a bit noisy. If you are not a deep sleeper perhaps it is quite annoying to you.
Reviewed May 16, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. We're happy to hear that you liked the location of our hostel and enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the music from the club 'Scary Canary' next door. We can provide in earplugs to reduce the music and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again in the future. Much Love, Base Crew
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
6.4
Good
Darlyn from Philippines
Solo traveler
Double Ensuite
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Good Location”
not so fancy place, a bit expensive since location is good. But lift got shut down and didnt fixed. Credit to the staff who carries my luggage going up but it takes a lot of effort to bring it down for check out. Very devastating for me, not to say I booked en-suite. ):
Reviewed February 07, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. Sorry for any inconveniences. Please do not hesitate to come see us at our 24 hour reception if you have any questions or complaints. Much Love, Base Crew.
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
9.2
Exceptional
WAN-CHI from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Sanctuary - Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Good location, room was clean”
However some of the employees there seemed a bit indifferent and impatient. And check-in process was quite slow and confusing.
Reviewed January 09, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review. Apologies for any inconvenience during your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Much love, Base crew
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
5.2
Yi from Belgium
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Can't sleep”
There is a bar on the ground floor which is actually connected to the hostel. And the music will not be turned off until 3:00AM!!! It impossible to sleep at night... location is good. But will not chose this hostel again.
Reviewed January 06, 2017
Thank you for your review. Apologies for any inconvenience during your stay. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the music from the club 'Scary Canary' next door. We can provide in earplugs to reduce the music and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Much Love, Base Crew
Responded March 14, 2018
Base Sydney Hostel
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss