Book Now: Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Very good
From 85 reviewsSee what guests said
7.6
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (85)Booking.com Reviews (1705)
7.6
Very good
From 85 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities8.2
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality6.5
Service7.6
Value for money6.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Español
ภาษาไทย
more
Room type
Superior King
Superior Queen
Superior Double
Deluxe King Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 64 verified guest comments
7.7
Very good
Dustina from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
A quick visit 1st time visit to Boston”
The room was very very small. We did have eat at the restaurant. The hotel is close to the subway and the food court. The parking is ridiculous in price and accessibility.
We never seen a conquer at the desk. The room was nicely remodeled for being so small. It was very very clean.
Reviewed November 06, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
David from United States
Group
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Great value”
Location, staff and quietness
Excellent
Reviewed November 05, 2014
7.3
Very good
Debora from Indonesia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Nice room”
Location, near park, spacious room
Reviewed November 05, 2014
5.7
Hirotaka from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
hurt by glass pieces”
location, price, large lobby
I was hurt by glass pieces which were on the floor inside of the room. It was not acceptable, and tell this matter to the manager of the front. He said that the hotel would refund the fee for stay later.
Reviewed November 03, 2014
6.7
Good
Eric from Canada
Family with young children
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Probably not again”
Location.
Mistake on the phone charges, dirty room carpets, very old hotel, broken elevators, very overpriced room service :$14 meal came to $35 before tip.
Reviewed November 03, 2014
6.3
Good
JOSEPH from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Good location is woth a lot but it's not everythin”
good location is worth a lot but it's not everything. room temperature was comfortable and easy to control, access to coffee and pastries in the morning was good
My wife liked the hotel and the room just fine. She would go back. I would not. There are too many choices of good hotels in Boston to settle for small room, small bathroom and one rickety old straight back chair. Yes, that's correct. Our room had only one chair and it was very uncomfortable. The bed was essentially the only thing we had to sit on; especially if we both wanted to sit down at the same time. The staff were okay but certainly not among the most gracious and courteous.
Reviewed October 31, 2014
5.0
joshua from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Not worth the prce.”
friendly staff, beautiful lobby, hot water
The room was very small and the lack of amenities certainly did not help. No in room wifi very basic cable channels. I have had more spacious accommodations and free wifi at hotels half as expensive. Very little temp control in the room and other than a flat screen tv, the room was old and in need of refurbishment. Push bar toilet, smack against the shower. I get that it is an old building, but at over $200 a night I expected more.
Reviewed October 29, 2014
6.7
Good
Rudolf from Austria
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Best Downtown hotel”
Lokation Lokation Lokation
It is the perfekt place for sightseeing Boston
Reviewed October 07, 2014
5.7
Paul from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Eh...”
Location
Outdated rooms that were not very well cleaned. At one point was reaching around underneath the bed to find an outlet and I discovered garbage and other items that had been left by previous guests.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Kelly from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior King
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Great place”
Location, service & value
Great hotel. Very pleased, would highly recommend
Reviewed September 03, 2014
6.7
Good
JOLINE from United States
Family with teens
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
we blew thru quickly, just an overnight”
close to the subway, staff was friendly
We found the room very small, the food prices were very expensive, there was no clock in the room to tell time.
Reviewed July 03, 2014
6.7
Good
donna from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
nice”
convience, clean and comfortable bed
The stay was good, except there was only two elevators working that day/night and we where on the 10th floor. The walls are thin-could hear people walking by the door and the bathroom was clean but small.
Reviewed June 16, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Caroline from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Memorable, unique, beautiful, fun, exciting”
location, service, grandeur
It was a great stay. We actually were upgraded after we were placed on a floor that had been reserved for a giant group...Amazing upgrade, awesome and friendly staff-- Nicole at the front desk was awesome, patient and very funny--she made everything so easy. I will definitely be returning
Reviewed June 06, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jonathan from United States
Family with teens
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Met expectations”
1. close to T, 2. close to dining, 3. impressive decor
Reviewed June 05, 2014
7.0
Very good
Dawn from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Comfortable and enjoyable”
Location and history of hotel
Reviewed June 01, 2014
7.7
Very good
Nancy from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Good room in good location; hotel in transition”
1 block from transit - nice & clean room - good dollar value
The hotel is being remodeled -- it is a busy commercial place -- not elegant but worked fine
Reviewed May 31, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Shenghan from United States
Family with teens
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Very nice hotel. Convenient location. Great sevice”
Location, price, cleanness
Reviewed May 31, 2014
7.0
Very good
ROBERT from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Great location, beautiful lobby, TINY rooms”
Great location, beautiful lobby, easy access to public transportation
From impressions on the website, it appeared to be a luxury hotel. However, the rooms were so small, it was a little ridiculous. I might expect the small nature for a hotel in NYC, but not in Boston. When you go to open bedside drawers or doors only to hit things that are placed too close in the rooms construction/design, that is concerning.
Reviewed May 27, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Kevin from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
We had a wonderful time.”
Centrally located, clean rooms, fantastic restaurants in the hotel
We spent very little time in the actual room since we were out sightseeing most of the time, however, the room was clean and very comfortable. It was a little small, but that's to be expected, I think, when staying in a major city.
Reviewed May 11, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
John from United States
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
good stay”
location; staff; cleanliness
Reviewed May 08, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Melinda from United States
Solo traveler
Superior King
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Comfortable ”
The beds, the eggs benedict and the service!
It is always amazing! I was visiting a friend who had major surgery at Mass General. I have stayed at the Park Plaza a few times and just love it.
Reviewed April 22, 2014
5.7
Joseph from United States
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Not worth the rates.”
location, location, location
The rooms are incredibly small and laid out very awkwardly. My partner and I had a difficult time moving around the room and getting in and out of the restroom without running into each other. The furniture in the room seemed out of place and had an overall cheap look. While the staff is very friendly and the public spaces in the hotel are quite nice, this hotel is incredibly overpriced...and I was staying there on a DISCOUNTED rate. Based on the room this IS NOT a four star hotel.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
7.0
Very good
Jessica from United States
Family with teens
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Adequate accomodations.”
located near BU, subway station
Beds were very hard. asked for a egg crate foam pad for the bed and was told hotel does not have anything to make beds more comfortable for their guests.
Reviewed April 21, 2014
4.0
Ryan from United States
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Don't Stay Here!”
Leaving.
Check in was smooth and the front desk clerk was kind and helpful. I got to my room and tried to open the door. It took 14 tries before the key card would work. I got in, put my stuff down and went to use the bathroom. I expect a small room in an old hotel and an fine with it, but to say you needed to be a contortionist to be able to use the toilet is an understatement! I'm an average sized guy and I did not for between the wall on one side, the tub on the other, the oddly present handicapped bar even though it is clearly not a handicap accessible room and the ineptly located toilet paper holder. I literally could not sit down on the toilet. I decided to ask the front desk if they could give me a room with a larger bathroom and recode my key card. They said if the key worked at all then recoding it wouldn't solve anything; that the locks are "just finicky sometimes". They also said that the size of the room and subsequently the bathroom Is what I had paid for, but if I wanted to pay to upgrade they would be happy to help. Apparently it's now acceptable to have bathrooms that average sized people cannot actually use as a bathroom. I used the lobby bathroom instead of spending more money here. Lastly, the fire alarm went off at 2:20am and has continued to go off until now. As I made my way to the lobby to evacuate, I saw people returning up the stairs. The staff in the lobby had no clue if it was safe to return or not. They were useless, to put it as nicely as I can. Once I did return to my room, the alarm continued to go off, advising me to leave, followed by a garbled mumbled announcement saying to stay in my room and the the problem had been resolved and that this would be the last announcement. This cycle happened 3 times. Clearly the staff continued to have no idea what was going on. My effort for a quiet and comfy night of rest was ruined by this hotels poor customer relations, small loving quarters and inept staff.
Reviewed April 17, 2014
5.7
Laura from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
not helpfull and did not reassure us”
bed TV elevator
Staff was not friendly very disappointed
Reviewed April 15, 2014
7.3
Very good
Bernard from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Great Location... Nuff Said”
Location, Friendly Concierge, Decent Price
Had a decent stay.. rooms are not the largest nor the fanciest, but the location is fantastic! Special thanks to our concierge, Gigi who gave fantastic restaurant and sightseeing recommendations!
Reviewed April 15, 2014
3.3
LISA from United States
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Bad! ”
None
Fire Alarm went off in the middle of the night- those things can happen- the way the staff managed the false alarm was horrible! No communication, no help- walked down 15 flights of stairs in bare feet only to stand outside with no directions or apology after the alarm was deemed false. Hundreds of people in lobby and street unaware of what was going on. Poor management, nothing mentioned the next morning at check-out. Heard from other guests that this is a common occurrence at this hotel.
Reviewed April 14, 2014
7.3
Very good
Brendon from United States
Family with young children
Superior King
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Could have been better...”
Location, Location, Location
Two of the three nights I stayed there the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night (2:30-3 AM). The first night I chalked it up as a fluke, especially since it took almost an hour before they figured it all out - the alarm had restarted three times... The hotel is nice for the most part, when they remodel the restrooms I expect this could be one of the primary spots as it was very central. a block from the Commons, about 15 minutes to Prudential and Bombing Memorial (when that springs up). About 20-30 minute walk to North End, Fanuel Hall, the Wharf, and about the same to Fenway Park (not to mention the walk to and from the game is awesome with bars and other social life.
Reviewed April 13, 2014
5.7
Stephanie from United States
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
short but ok.”
I could get a room. breakfast kiosk.
Fine, but check in was terribly slow and disorganized. Concierge was not very helpful.
Reviewed April 13, 2014
7.7
Very good
Michael from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Night stop after a long journey”
Location near to subway station, comfortable, central location
It was a comfortable stay in an upgraded room.
Reviewed April 11, 2014
7.0
Very good
Fazlerab from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Post-Doc Student Traveller”
Close to subway T stop; Nice restaurant; Free W-Fi in public places
It was neither great nor unsatisfactory.
Reviewed April 05, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Sandra from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Dr”
Ok
Reviewed April 02, 2014
7.7
Very good
CHO from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Nice location”
nice location, clean , nice staff
nice location, clean , nice staff, its location is not far from exhibition.
Reviewed March 04, 2014
4.3
Gloria from United States
Family with teens
Superior Queen
Stayed 5 nights in February 2014
very unpleasant and uncomfortable ”
location only
I recognize the hotel is considered a historic landmark but definitely the hotel needs to keep up with maintenance and renovation. For example the room did not have A/C or heater system; the room was super stuffy at night time with no air circulation for 4 nights and 5 five days it is impossible to enjoy the stay
Reviewed February 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Magnus from United States
Couple
Superior King
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Boston city hotel”
Good value, great location, friendly staff.
Reviewed February 25, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Peter from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in August 2013
Great hotel, in a great location and great staff.”
The staff, comfortable bed and the hotel's location.
Had a great time staying here. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Superb location near Boston Common, but if you need to go further afield the subway is right outside the door (almost!).
Reviewed September 07, 2013
7.0
Very good
Juan from Colombia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Titulo”
Ubicación Lobby Ducha
Incómoda la habitación (1070) El ruido del aire acondicionado del pasillo esta justo en frente y hace un ruido muy fuerte toda la noche. No deben cobrar el wifi de la habitación. Eso ya no le queda bien a un hotel. La cafetera de la habitación no servia.
Reviewed November 10, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
DAISUKE from Thailand
Couple
Superior King
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
選んで良かった。”
リッチ条件がとても良くどこに行くのも便利でした。
Reviewed April 17, 2018
8.0
Excellent
SHOICHIRO from Mexico
Group
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
立地がいい”
地下鉄の駅まで数十メートルはなにかと便利
Reviewed April 03, 2018
6.3
Good
Motoki from Japan
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
部屋の設備は古いけど”
立地、歴史風格、従業員
水回りは古さを隠せない。バスルームは狭くて使いづらい。エアコンがうるさくて不快。ドアもクローゼットも古い。 しかし、立地はとても良く、ホテルの外観と従業員の応対は歴史と風格を感じさせる。
Reviewed November 08, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
piyarada from Thailand
Solo traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Love this place a lot ”
All good love it lot I ll be back soon
Reviewed May 25, 2018
6.0
INWOO from South Korea
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
시설은 괜찮았으나 직원들이 너무 불친절했음”
중심지에 위치
Reviewed April 11, 2014
6.0
Qianqian from China
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
性价比不高”
地理位置和服务
Reviewed September 08, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Natalia from United States
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Очень хорошее месторасположение ”
Хороший персонал, удобно расположен
Reviewed November 01, 2014