Embudu Village Resort
Beach View Superior Room - Guestroom Embudu Village Resort
Bathroom Embudu Village Resort
Buffet Embudu Village Resort
See all 46 photos
Removed from saved list
8.5
Excellent
/10
(196 reviews)See what guests said
See map
9.1
Exceptional
Location rating score
Exceptional location
  • Emboodhoo Island70 m
  • En'boodhoofinolhu Island2.59 km
  • Vaadhoo Island (South Male Atoll)7.61 km
  • Vadoo Caves8.01 km
  • Velassaru Island9.37 km
  • Villa College9.57 km
  • Gulhi Kandu9.58 km
  • Usfasgandu9.6 km
  • Mandhu College9.62 km
  • Tsunami Monument9.66 km
  • Free Wi-Fi

    Embudu Village Resort

    South Male,Maldives, South Male Atoll, Maldives Islands, Maldives, 20012 - See map
    Exceptional reputation
    Recommended by 93% of guests
    Excellent cleanliness
    8.6 rating for cleanliness
    • Airport transfer

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Sauna

    • Steamroom

    • Air conditioning

    This property is in high demand!

    Last booked 3 hours ago for various dates

    Property ranking|Compared to 995 Maldives Islands properties
    See all rankings
    Location score
    9.1/10
    Value for money score
    8.5/10
    Room comfort score
    7.0/10
    Cheapest price score
    Better than
    93
    %
    of Maldives Islands properties
    Better than
    89
    %
    of Maldives Islands properties
    Better than
    87
    %
    of Maldives Islands properties
    Better than
    87
    %
    of Maldives Islands properties
    Value for money8.5
    Distance to city center8 KM
    Location rating9.1
    Nearest airportMalé International Airport (MLE)
    Distance to airport11.8 km

    Rooms available at Embudu Village Resort

    Over Water Villa
    Over Water Villa
    ...
    • Room size: 47 m²/506 ft²
    • Ocean view
    • 1 queen bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Beach View Superior Room
    Beach View Superior Room
    ...
    • Room size: 41 m²/441 ft²
    • Sea view
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Standard
    Standard
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      Standard
      Standard
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Superior
        Superior
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices
          Superior
          Superior
          ...
            Enter dates to see prices
            Water Front Bungalow
            Water Front Bungalow
            ...
              Enter dates to see prices
              Water Front Bungalow
              Water Front Bungalow
              ...
                Enter dates to see prices
                Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

                Prices drop the moment you sign in!

                Sign in now
                More about Embudu Village Resort

                More about Embudu Village Resort

                An overview

                Show less

                What they offer

                Show less

                Nearest essentials

                Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
                Show less

                What's nearby

                Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
                Show more

                Property's guest policies

                Show less

                Some helpful facts

                Show less

                Reviews of Embudu Village Resort from real guests

                Provided by verified guests of Agoda
                Agoda Reviews (196)Booking.com Reviews (294)
                8.5
                /
                10
                Cleanliness8.6
                Facilities7.6
                Location9.1
                Room comfort and quality7.0
                Service8.5
                Value for money8.5
                All languages
                All guests (196)
                All room types
                Showing 118 verified guest comments
                12345
                10.0
                Exceptional
                Kiran
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

                Embudu is one amazing place.”

                We went for our Honeymoon and totally loved it.Its got one of the best House reefs for Snorkeling and scuba. Food spread was brilliant.I would suggest to opt for full board.

                Reviewed July 22, 2019

                Dear Kiran It was a great pleasure having your stay with us.And thank you for sharing a wonderful feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed the hospitality and service provided during your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Specially we are happy to know that you have enjoyed snorkeling and Diving in our beautiful house reef. Once again i would like to thank you on behalf of of team for your kind words of appreciation towards our property. We look forward to welcoming you back again in near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager

                Responded July 24, 2019
                Embudu Village Resort
                9.6
                Exceptional
                Johanne from Canada
                Couple
                Over Water Villa
                Stayed 3 nights in July 2019

                Great resort, fantastic snorkeling and diving. Lovely staff and facilities.”

                House reef is amazing, teeming with all varieties of fish. Saw so many different species. Unbelievable! Water bungalow beautiful... A little disappointed about work site island and view of Male.

                Reviewed July 21, 2019

                Dear Johanne Thank you for choosing to stay with us.and thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased to know that you had amazing stay experience with us and loved our Water Bungalows.Specially snorkeling in our beautiful house with colorful fish,sharks,stingray and many others. Thank you sharing your concerns. your feedback is important for us. i assure you that i will share your feedback to our team. Once again i would like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation on behalf of team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in near future. Kind Regards Rasheed

                Responded July 24, 2019
                Embudu Village Resort
                6.0
                Russ from South Africa
                Group
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

                Mediocor”

                Arriving on the Island on the back entrance rather than the main jetty, gave a bad first impression. We requested a room close to the dive centre, which was granted, only to find that the dive boat leaves from the other side of the island. This only is an issue, as we have a ton of underwater photographic equipment to carry to the dive boat, each dive. Eventually, a plan was made with a trolly but communication up to this point was broken and frustrating. After our initial teething problems with the dive centre, they turned out to be friendly, efficient and professional. Our room, no 59, was old and run down and in need of redecorating. Being right next to the noisy generator and workshop area. The food was very good, with plenty of vegetarian selection aswell but presentation could be improved. Each evening at 18.00 is suppose to be an information meeting for all new arrivals but is only offered in German, which we can not understand. Please, stop using plastic straws at the bar.

                Reviewed May 04, 2019

                Dear Russ It was a great pleasure having you with us.and thank you very much for taking the time to share comments. We regret for the inconvenience caused that you had during your stay.and thank you for sharing your concerns. We use both entrance of the island for arrivals and departures.it mostly depends current and low/high tides. Room 59 we reserved as per your request for a near dive center.on your request second day we offer you a room change,but you decided to stay in the same room. Just for your info, In the bar we don't use plastic straws.since from December 2018.we use paper straws.also daily we have both German & English briefing for new arrival. Thank you for your kind comments about our delicious food. You feedback is important for us.and i will assure you that i will share your comments to our team and Diving team. so that we can continue to improve our service. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Embudu Village. Kind Regards Res Manage

                Show more
                Embudu Village Resort
                9.2
                Exceptional
                Constantinos from Singapore
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

                Excellent weekend excursion place”

                We loved the place in general. It was well located for easy access from Male, but far enough to have a decent coral reef and abundant sea life. The room was comfortable and clean, although quite basic. But for the price, it offered great value. And the food was top notch, offering a lot of variety. The one thing which I found shocking though is that there isn't a first aid kit anywhere on the island. We know because we needed it twice. I ended up with an open wound on my arm for 2 days, and my gf was limping with a bunch of sea urchin needles in her foot. So, take your own first aid kit, and you will have an awesome holiday.

                Reviewed March 28, 2019

                Dear Guests We thank you for choosing Embudu Village and thank you so much for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to learn that you highly appreciated our hotel food and the accommodation were met your expectation.and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our great property and warm hospitality. Thank you for sharing your concern points.just for future reference.on the island we have medical center with all basic medical equipment.maybe on that day our nurse was on leave. Once again i would like to thank you for your kind comments on behalf our team. We look forward welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager

                Responded April 04, 2019
                Embudu Village Resort
                9.6
                Exceptional
                Nida from Thailand
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 1 night in March 2019

                Very nice house reef ”

                We booked for one night and extended for one more night. The staff are every helpful. The food was OK but dessert is superb! The hotel is close to MLE Airport. It's very convenient. We saw so many baby sharks and stingray around the hotel. Bringing your own snorkeling gear is highly recommend.

                Reviewed March 08, 2019

                Dear Nida It was lovely having you with us.and thank you for sharing such a wonderful feedback regarding your stay. We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our warm hospitality and the service provided.and we are glad that you find our staff friendly and pleasant that they were successful in extending a brilliant service to you. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation about our food and the service.We certainly hope to welcome you back again in near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager

                Responded April 16, 2019
                Embudu Village Resort
                8.8
                Excellent
                Trine
                Solo traveler
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 6 nights in February 2019

                Beautiful island close to the airport ”

                This resort is close to the Airport only 20 minutes by speed boat. I enjoyed an early check-in and a late check-out, wich was very helpful because of my arrival and departure times. The best thing about this island is the amount of colourful fish that swims so close to the seashore, that they can be watched from land without a snorkel. Parrot fish, stingrays and baby sharks were among my favourite experience. The water is crystal clear and the colors of the ocean is just amazing. There is only one restaurantand a snack bar in Emboodhoo, so make sure you choose half board or full board, depending on your appetite. The food is good though. Being a vegetarian I found that there were a good variety of food to choose from in the restaurant. The snack bar only has a few vegetarian choices in the a la carte menu. For snorkeling and relaxing this little island is perfect. I enjoyed my stay very much. Only thing I did'nt like was the excessive use of insecticides in the rooms.

                Reviewed March 08, 2019

                Dear Trine It was a grate pleasure having you with us.Thank you for sharing a wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. We are truly thankful for your appreciation of the genuine hospitality.also we are pleased to know you had amazing stay experience.and enjoyed with white sandy beaches and swimming in crystal clear water with color fish. We are delighted to know that your experience at our resort was great and the team looked after you well.and thank you for kind words of appreciation towards our resort and the food. We look forward welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay with us in near future. Kind Regards Rasheed

                Responded May 11, 2019
                Embudu Village Resort
                9.6
                Exceptional
                renata from Netherlands
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

                Excellent value”

                Embudu is a very nice resort,close to Male just a 20 min boattrip which save you a lot of money in transfer.The housereef is bleached but still a lot of fish and baby reef sharks everywhere. Superior room highly recommended. In some placed reviews i read you have to get up early to lay your beachtowel on a sunbed but the resort was fully booked and this was not the case as there are plenty of beds.Excellent wifi on the whole island free of charge.The staff is very friendly and proffesional. Only comment is about table sharing with other guest this we did not appreciat,you are forced to communicate with people who do not even speak proper english.Advice for Embudu;more 2 person tables in the restaurant. St

                Reviewed February 24, 2019

                Dear Renata It was a great pleasure having you with us. and thank you for sharing a wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We glad to know that your had enjoyable stay with us.and overall you are happy with warm hospitality and service extended by our team. Specially snorkeling in our beautiful house reef with colorful fish,baby sharks and many others. Thank you for sharing your concerns about sharing table.your feedback is important for us. i will assure you that i will share your feedback to our team.so that we can continue to improve our service. We are glad that you find our staff friendly and pleasant that they weer successful in extending a brilliant service to you.and we are delighted that your experience at our hotel was great and the team looked after your well. We certainly hope to welcome you back again in near future. Kind Regards Rasheed

                Show more
                Embudu Village Resort
                10.0
                Exceptional
                Marta
                Family with young children
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 6 nights in February 2019

                True paradise”

                The resort is perfect for a family with an infant. Everything is nearby. The island is incredibly beautiful, peaceful, and well-maintained. It might be a 3-star resort but service is beyond 5 stars! Very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are simple but you will find everything you need, even a fridge. The only downside (which is subjective) are the hard bed mattresses. The staff cleans the rooms every day and bathroom towels are also changed daily. You are also given beach towels which can be changed upon request. We booked full board and we upgraded to all inclusive when we arrived because we didn’t want to bother when having a drink or two. The food buffet was amazing! Many options for every taste - fresh and cooked veggies, meat, fish. The bar is a very pleasant place to spend the hours after dinner or to watch the sunset from the beach deck. It was our first time visiting the Maldives and we would definitely return to this place and would recommend it to all our friends.

                Reviewed February 09, 2019
                6.0
                Max from India
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

                Un expected costs ruins the over all experience ”

                Nowhere was I told that the transfer cost is 150 USD until arrival. That made the trip 20% more expensive. All the add ons for water3USD, bear 6USD etc..made us feel cheated. The staff is really tired. In summery: Embudu is a 3 Star resort with a 2 Star service with prices like they believe they are a 5 Star resort.

                Reviewed May 06, 2019

                Dear Guests Thank you for choosing Embudu Village for your recent stay. and thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. it always helps us serve you better. Please accept our apologies if we were not met your expectation in some areas during your stay.As you book with Agoda.com they mentioned on Agoda Embudu site Transfer charges to be paid direct to resort on arrival U$ 75 Per person.and as kind gesture from the hotel we gave you additional discount on transfer charges.also your booking was confirmed with Half board ( breakfast + dinner ).without beverages. so beverages to be paid separately.we always try to provide the best service to our valuable guests. Your feed back is important for us. i will assure you that i will share your feedback to our team.so that we can continue to improve the standards of our service. We hope w'll have another opportunity to welcome you back.so that we can provide a better service. Kind Regards Rasheed

                Show more
                Embudu Village Resort
                10.0
                Exceptional
                Marijana from Ireland
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 6 nights in January 2019

                Best holidays of our lives! ”

                We can't stop talking about Embudu and whole Maldives experience. Embudu is only 30 min away with Speadboat from main Male Island which makes it very convenient and not expensive to get to (75$). It's the most peaceful place we had ever visited. You will see people only on dinner and wonder where are all this people during the day, that's because there is so many beaches on island where u will have a feeling u are alone on the whole island. Staff is brilliant, happy people who are always willing to help. Food was amazing, dinner is always different, from Italian night to Asian night... Water is so clear, it's full of sharks (baby ones) stingrays and many many different fishes which are friendly and you can snorkel all day and never get tired <3 We will be back for sure. Amazing !!

                Reviewed January 23, 2019
                3.6
                Minjong from South Korea
                Solo traveler
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 4 nights in January 2019

                Bed bugs & Dead corals ”

                This is the second visit to Maldives and Embudu village is the first time. I’ve stayed at 4 nights. I was very disappointed to Embudu village. First, I found that I was bitten by bed bugs all over my body on the third day. I was upgraded to over water bunglow. (I went to the doctor and he gave me the cream which didn’t work at all. $12 useless. Too itchy)I Second, house reef is so disappointing as corals are all dead. There are colorful fish, though. I saw a shark. That’s all. Third, my table server was so unkind and rude that I couldn’t enjoy my meals. Food was not tasty as well. However, there are some good things. Early check-in and late check-out. Only 20mins from Male by speedboat. Beautiful lagoon and sand beach.

                Reviewed January 22, 2019
                8.8
                Excellent
                Milan from Slovenia
                Family with young children
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

                Tropical Green Island surrounded with stunning underwazer world. ”

                More or less Everything perfect, location, underwater world around the Island is amazing. The size of the Island is just right to find some privacy if you want as there is no crowd at all. Good Food, good WiFi. Only transfer to the Velana Airport was a bit pricey for 45 min. drive with slow boat... , and as a minor small parts of walls painting falls of on some spots.

                Reviewed December 20, 2018
                7.6
                Very good
                Michael from Australia
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 5 nights in July 2018

                A pleasant stay”

                The resort is nice, but plain. With strictly allocated seating at meals and a bar area that is quite under utilised, it lacks much ability for mingling and meeting other travellers, but for couples/families that want to keep to themselves it is probably fine. My personal preference is for a pool and bar area combined, which the island lacks. The resort seems to be aimed at German travellers and while there were a few couples from other countries, the dive school and most other aspects were focused upon Germans and so we did have a few communication challenges, nothing bad, just a point of note for other Australian or English travellers. The snorkelling around the island was nice. The meals were great with plenty of options. Don't book this resort without the full package (meals and drinks) as you are charged heavily for even drinking water and alcohol was very expensive.

                Reviewed August 20, 2018
                7.6
                Very good
                Thomas from Switzerland
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

                Great value for money. People reserving sun beds annoying. ”

                You get a lot for what you pay. Greatest beaches, good snorkeling, quiet environment and good food. You always find a quiet stretch on the beach and a sun bed. But a lot of people keep sun beds reserved for hours (even though there is enough for all)! So you have to walk around quite a while until you find one. That's annoying because it's really unnecessary. Tell people not to reserve please! Staff are not extremely friendly which was surprising as everywhere else in the Maldives people where always extremely nice.

                Reviewed January 29, 2019
                8.8
                Excellent
                Ardashir from India
                Group
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

                Great place”

                Fantastic reef, fantastic staff especially f and b manager Niranjan

                Reviewed May 30, 2019

                Dear Ardashir It was a great pleasure having you with us.and thank you so much for taking the time share your experience regarding your stay. We are delighted to know that you had wonderful stay and loved our resort. Specially snorkeling in our beautiful house reef with colorful fish and many others.Thank you for the kind words towards our Staff and F&B manager Niranjan. We are glad that you find our staff friendly and pleasant that they were successful extending brilliant service to you. We are delighted that your experience at our resort was great and team looked after you well. We hope to see you soon to experience another pleasant stay with us. Kind Regards Rasheed

                Responded June 01, 2019
                Embudu Village Resort
                10.0
                Exceptional
                Valentina from Russia
                Family with teens
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

                Paradise.”

                Only pros. It was the best holiday ever. The staff were friendly and helpful. The house clean every day. The island is small, but there is everything to relax and enjoy the life.

                Reviewed May 01, 2019

                Dear Valentina It was a great pleasure having you with us.thank you for sharing an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay. We are truly happy to know you had fantastic and comfortable stay with us.we are very pleased to know you loved everything of our hotel and enjoyed our warm hospitality extended by our team. I am glad that you find our staff friendly and pleasant that they were successful in extending a brilliant service to you. and we are delighted that your experience at our hotel was great and team looked after you well.thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We certainly hope to welcome you back again in near future. Kind Regards Reservations Manager

                Responded May 04, 2019
                Embudu Village Resort
                10.0
                Exceptional
                jun from China
                Family with teens
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

                Wonder place ”

                I will definitely come and stay here again Best snorkel spot and lovely rooms with big space Everything is very clean and the stuff was very helpful

                Reviewed December 28, 2018
                8.0
                Excellent
                Paola from Switzerland
                Solo traveler
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 4 nights in April 2018

                Solo travel quiet days”

                Was much in need of these 5 days of tranquil simplicity and rest only. I was very warm welcomed and taken care of. Housereef is one of the richest in terms of fishes seen in Maldives and very easy to enter/exit.

                Reviewed April 17, 2018

                Dear Paola Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us .We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all your compliments. Once again we thank you for your comments on behalf of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in future to our resort. Kind Regards Rasheed Reservations Manager

                Responded May 12, 2018
                Embudu Village Resort
                10.0
                Exceptional
                Angelisa from Italy
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 7 nights in March 2018

                Unforgettable little piece of Paradise”

                Our week at Embudu exceded all expectations! We loved the stunning nature on the island, on the white sandy beaches and underwater! The staff was extremely kind, the food very tasty and the experience with the diving school also very positive. We felt so good every day there and it was sad to leave such a paradise! We are looking forward to coming back soon!!!

                Reviewed March 22, 2018

                Dear Angelisa Thank you very much for your wonderful words of compliments regarding your stay with us.We deeply appreciate all your positive comments towards our property, Staff and Services provided. Once again we would like to thank you for your comments on behalf of our team. We really look forward to welcoming you back again in future. Kind Regards Rasheed Reservations Manager

                Responded June 19, 2018
                Embudu Village Resort
                9.2
                Exceptional
                Dan from United States
                Couple
                Beach View Superior Room
                Stayed 5 nights in March 2018

                Great for snorkelers and sun bathers”

                Our 5 days in Embudu were our first exposure to the Maldives, and we loved it! The snorkeling around the house reef was beautiful, the fish were colorful and varied, and the clarity was generally excellent. I'd estimate that we saw 60 different species of marine creature including a turtle, octopus, moray eel, and many sting rays close enough to touch (on a boat excursion). We snorkeled for a couple of hours twice a day on the house reef. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. There's a great ambiance in the Dive shop. Sometimes dive shops are not very friendly toward snorkelers, but this was definitely not the case at Embudu. One other good thing about Embudu is that it's reasonably close to Male so the transfer was by boat and not too expensive. The beaches were ever so white and the grounds are swept regularly.

                Reviewed March 16, 2018

                Thank you for choosing Embudu Village for your recent stay.and thank you very much for your kind comments about your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and glad to know that your love very much snorkeling our house reef under water marine life.we really appreciate your kind comments about our staff and services. Once again we would like to thank you for your comments on behalf of our team We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable vacation with us. Kind Regards Rasheed Reservations Manager.

                Responded March 19, 2018
                Embudu Village Resort
                12345
                This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

                Back to search results

                Back to room choices

                |

                Dismiss

                Embudu Village Resort
                |Excellent 8.5
                ×
                Check in. Step out.
                Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

                • Exceptional location
                • Open Sports and Recreation park