Book Now: First Cabin Akihabara Hotel

Excellent
From 465 reviewsSee what guests said
8.6
/
10
Recommended by 100% of guests

Reviews of First Cabin Akihabara Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (465)Booking.com Reviews (117)
8.6
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness9.3
Facilities8.8
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.4
Service8.9
Value for money8.7
All languages
All guests (465)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 417 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Barret
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Exceptional”

Near JR station. Very nice appearance. Friendly staff were very helpful.

Reviewed April 18, 2019
8.3
Excellent
MUZAMIR from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015

BUDGET CABIN HOTEL”

LOCATION, CLEAN, FRIENDLY STAFF

This hotel provides almost similar system to capsule hotel, but the 'room' is slightly bigger and there's no door; but they use like a curtain to close your cabin. So by that you could not lock your door. Male and female occupants will be located in different floors. The room was very clean. The front desk staffs were amazing. Very helpful and well versed in English. The hotel was located about two blocks from the JR Akihabara (Showa Dori's exit). Everything else was okay, except (as being mentioned by other user) it is very noisy since you could hear everything around your room, since you could not properly closed your 'curtain door' and room was very close to each other. But in my general view it is value for money since the price is very reasonable.

Reviewed December 07, 2015
8.0
Excellent
MUZAMIR from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015

CABIN BUDGET HOTEL”

LOCATION, CHEAP, CLEAN

This hotel provides almost similar system to capsule hotel, but the 'room' is slightly bigger and there's no door; but they use like a curtain to close your cabin. So by that you could not lock your door. Male and female occupants will be located in different floors. The room was very clean. The front desk staffs were amazing. Very helpful and well versed in English. The hotel was located about two blocks from the JR Akihabara (Showa Dori's exit). Everything else was okay, except (as being mentioned by other user) it is very noisy since you could hear everything around your room, since you could not properly closed your 'curtain door' and room was very close to each other. But in my general view it is value for money since the price is very reasonable.

Reviewed December 07, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Syafiq from Singapore
Family with teens
Room for male guests only
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

First class capsule hotel”

Cleanliness,staff awesome helpful, adequate room amenities

Staff there were not only very friendly but went beyond the call of duty to accommodate our needs. Capsules were very clean and amenities provided were way beyond standards. Will drop by again in future.

Reviewed July 24, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Zechariah from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 10 nights in April 2015

best hotel stay in Akiba”

value for money, location, food

I really love it here. it's close to the metro akiharaba line, it's quiet and peaceful, the cabin I stayed in is clean and linens are changed everyday. breakfast is available every morning for 300 yen, or you can get food from vending machines in the lobby. best hotel I've stayed in tokyo

Reviewed June 22, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Eric from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

upscale backpacking”

free wifi, clean, sauna

The hotel can be classified as an upscale backpacker hostel. I really like the business class concept and the hotel is definitely great value for the money. I highly recommend it for backpackers travelling light as there is not much space for your luggage. However, it's cheap, good and comfortable.

Reviewed June 01, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jules from United States
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

Better than a regular capsule hotel”

size of the cabin was nice compared to capsules; staff was excellent; amenities were good

If you're claustrophobic than this place or a capsule hotel is not for you. It's much larger than a regular capsule hotel though so it's pretty nice. The staff is surprisingly helpful and nice. The Wi-fi runs at a good speed; the amenities are plentiful (sleeping attire, spa, cotton swabs, vending machines with hot food also, etc). The biggest plus is that inside the cabin is a storage compartment that is keyed to store your valuables in. However, if you have big luggage it will be hard to store it inside your cabin. But you can keep your luggage with the staff at the lobby where they will keep it for storage per your request. It's not noise-proof but it does the job; you can only really here loud snorers if you pay attention to them. the bed is comfy. Only downside for me was the outlets inside the cabin. You need their special adapters or you have to go downstairs to charge your electronics. The outlet voltage inside the cabin fries up your cords and equipment like hot butter. Overall though, I like the place because it's in a quiet part of Akiba but not so far away from it that you can't do anything.

Reviewed May 27, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Arruk from Thailand
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 6 nights in April 2014

High Class Capsule Hotel”

capsule room , near JR station , onsen and bathroom

Amazing! First time in Tokyo that fantastic when i found this hotel. This hotel are mixing with good and strong point of hostel and hotel so that very good choice for backpackers can get something like hotel (private area , private watching TV , private locker , very clean and luxury) but can spend money look like a hostel for single backpacker. The location is very nice for transport just walk 3 mins to Train station (JR Line and Tokyo metro) and nearly the Akihabara landmark (Gundam Cafe, AKB48 cafe , Yodobashi Elec mall)

Reviewed May 19, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
On from Canada
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014

A superb value-for-money choice of accommodation ”

Excellent location w easy access to JR and metro station.

An excellent budget choice in Tokyo esp for single traveler like me! 1) Excellent location - easy access to JR and metro stations. Only less than 10 min of JR train to Tokyo JR station where u can take the narita express to narita airport; 2) easy-to-find location; 3) daily supply/change of clean towels, bed sheet and slippers; 4) face wash, body wash, shampoo and conditioner available in the common bathroom (so with #3 and #4, in fact you may bring a lot less belongings so that you can free up a lot of luggage space for your shopping in Tokyo! ); 5) very clean everywhere I had been to even tho there were quite a lot of guests here and there; 6) friendly staff who can speak English and are quite helpful; 7) spa available 24 hours. The only bad thing is that sometimes it might be a bit stuffy inside the cabin and you cannot adjust the room temp as the AC is centralized. Well given this price and cleanliness what's more you can ask for!

Reviewed April 26, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Sin from Singapore
Solo traveler
First Class Cabin for Male
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

Clean, very value for money, good location”

Clean, very value for money, good location

I like the hotel for its cleanliness. As it is a hybrid of a boutique accomodation and a capsule hotel, it is very value for money and you basically pay for what you essentially need. It's a truly frills-free hotel! :) The hotel staff are also polite and professional, and more importantly they can speak good English. As the cubicles cannot be locked, you have to make sure you are comfortable with the following: - Ensure your luggage and your belonging cupboard is properly locked before you leave the cubicle (but it is unlikely that anyone will break into your cupboard or luggage). - The entire level/building is somewhat sound proof, but not in between the cubicles. So if you have difficulty sleeping with someone snoring at night, just remember to get the ear plugs for free from the reception. - Some inconsiderate customers may leave their luggage along the walkway. Though the walk way is wide and visible at night, you just have to be careful when you go to the toilet at night. I would advise booking the larger rooms as that gives you more space to put your luggage.

Reviewed April 20, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Sin from Singapore
Solo traveler
First Class Cabin for Male
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

Clean, very value for money, good location”

Clean, very value for money, good location

I like the hotel for its cleanliness. As it is a hybrid of a boutique accomodation and a capsule hotel, it is very value for money and you basically pay for what you essentially need. It's a truly frills-free hotel! :) The hotel staff are also polite and professional, and more importantly they can speak good English. As the cubicles cannot be locked, you have to make sure you are comfortable with the following: - Ensure your luggage and your belonging cupboard is properly locked before you leave the cubicle (but it is unlikely that anyone will break into your cupboard or luggage). - The entire level/building is somewhat sound proof, but not in between the cubicles. So if you have difficulty sleeping with someone snoring at night, just remember to get the ear plugs for free from the reception. - Some inconsiderate customers may leave their luggage along the walkway. Though the walk way is wide and visible at night, you just have to be careful when you go to the toilet at night. I would advise booking the larger rooms as that gives you more space to put your luggage.

Reviewed April 20, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Hema from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

a good night sleep in a brand new capsule hotel”

clean cabin, free internet, great amenities

this is the first time i stayed in a capsule hotel in Tokyo. although the room is slightly more expensive than a regular capsule hotel, this hotel offer much more. it is only few minutes walk from Akihabara station. the hotel interior is new and clean, staffs were very friendly and helpful, room is quite comfortable but there is no space to store your luggage in the business class cabin, so if you have plenty of stuffs, better take the first class cabin, or you can also keep it at the front desk. amenities were great and the common bathroom was very clean.

Reviewed April 06, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Shu from Singapore
Solo traveler
First Class Cabin for Male
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014

close to Akihabara JR line + Tokyo metro”

cleaniness, location, security

strict check in rule at 5pm, can't accommodate despite i requested early check in during booking. guest would be given a access card to their specific level and a locker key given to lock your belongings. 3 mins walks to Akihabara JR line which link up to major Tokyo tourist area like Shibuya,Shinjuku,Tokyo Main station,Harajuku. would recommend for solo traveler whom does not want to stay in capsule hotel yet does not want to risk burning a big hole in their pocket for staying prestige hotel

Reviewed March 14, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
shamsiemon from Malaysia
Group
Room for male guests only
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Always feel sleepy”

Black color, silence and private cave

the day before I return to Malaysia, the three of us stayed at this hotel. we are thrilled to enjoy this once safe and peaceful. This place painted with black color silence is a matter of great importance here. Caution you must be always silence. but what was the sadness story was my friend watches left in the bathroom was missing and could not be detected by us.

Reviewed March 02, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Mark from Philippines
Business traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 5 nights in February 2014

Awesome”

Clean, Near transport station, Staff is good in english

The hotel is easy to find, it is near the AKIHABARA station. The staff is good in english so you can understand each other, the room is fair if your luggage is small, if you have a big luggage then you should get the first class room. One thing is get some earplug before you sleep so you will hear some snoring and walking people near you

Reviewed February 18, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
KWOK from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

much better than ordinary capsule”

location, open bath, wifi

really a pleasant stay. hotel itself is different from ordinary capsule. more spacious bed and much cleaner and stronger wifi covered the whole bldg. With both open hot bath in G/F and private shower rooms in each floor for u to choose from. Also, even though daily clean up at 10am, but u could stay there and no need to be kicked out. in terms of ur own space, i will recommend an upgrade when u check-in. ard 1000yen more per night and u ciuld hv a bigger space with table and locker. if u are staying more than 1 night, check this w/o regret. helpful and well spoken English staff made my trip easier too.

Reviewed January 25, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Jian from Singapore
Group
First Class Cabin for Male
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

clean and nice concept”

location, concept, convenience

it was a very interesting experience for me and the stay was comfortable. small rooms but at least still bigger than capsule hotels. the location was awesome! and 1 stop to Tokyo station for train to the narita airport.

Reviewed January 20, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jian from Singapore
Group
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

clean and nice concept”

location, concept, convenience

it was a very interesting experience for me and the stay was comfortable. small rooms but at least still bigger than capsule hotels. the location was awesome! and 1 stop to Tokyo station for train to the narita airport.

Reviewed January 16, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
nora from Austria
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

fantastic, super experience”

capsule, clean, everything was there

I really enjoyed my stay there. the hotel is new so everything is super pretty and clean. it is an amazing experience to sleep in a capsule. It did not bother me at all to hear other people because Japanese are known for being very quite, and they were. The hotel offered anything you could possibly need. from pj's to make up remover and lotions. I loved that the skincare stuff was from Sheiseido which is a really expensive brand. They also had machines with warm food and cold beer which can be very handy. With the description they have on their website it was easy to find. I loved Tokyo and the hotel.

Reviewed January 15, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Xiang from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Location was great!”

Location, simple and comfortable

My first "capsule" hotel experience and it was great! Actually, the name of the hotel best describes the room; it's really more like a cabin than a capsule. If you're looking for a no frills experience, and short term stay, this is it. Might not be recommended for light sleepers, as there are no doors separating the room, only a curtain. (Ear plugs are provided upon request though) The shared bathroom area had three showers, and a "make-up" area (hair dryer, hair curlers, cotton pads, etc are provided) It was just a 5 min (or less) walk from Akihabara station, making it very convenient. I wld def stay here again!

Reviewed January 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Nurulain from Singapore
Group
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in October 2013

A Unique Experience”

Unique, Fast Internet and Clean

It has the values of a capsule hotel with high end faciilty and features. Ladies and men are separated on different level. The spa is great, the public toilet is very clean, equipped with good Japan products like Shiseido Facial range, Tsubaki hair wash, etc. I like the concept of an individual privacy even though it is a shared level for females. The thing that can be improved, will be the shutter of the bed, it gets loud when sliding up and down. And also check in time can be shifted to earlier like 3pm instead of 5pm. All in all, it is a good place with good wifi connection and close to the Electronics Palace: Yodobashi and Akihabara Station.

Reviewed November 01, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Peter from Germany
Business traveler
First Class Cabin for Male
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013

For western people it's a bit uncommon.”

Close to Akihabara station, affordable, simple concept.

If you are ok with a lack of privacy due to the Capsule concept the hotel is great. The key is to respect other people's privacy and quietness - otherwise sleeping can become complicated. Besides that it's a very modern, clean and comfortable capsule.

Reviewed October 14, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Tidarat from Thailand
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

Cheap+great+clean+awesome experience”

Clean, design, style

Very stylish capsule place. Separated floor for females and makes. Security at max level. Fast Internet. Very close to metro station. Clean shared-bathroom and amazing ofuro (hot-spring bath) very very different experience- recommended for solo traveller.

Reviewed July 26, 2013
9.2
Exceptional
Julian from France
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Great experience in the most luxurious capsule hotel”

As a first experience in a capsule hotel, I must say it was really pleasant, The facilities are great, very clean and safe. No noise allowed and people really are respectful of the rules. However the beds are really hard and if you are a light sleeper (people can snore) you may not be able to sleep. The hotel is really close to the Akihabara metro station and JR station.

Reviewed September 12, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Alison from United States
Couple
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

First time in a capsule”

24 hours in Tokyo and this is the perfect place to stay for a lot of money relative to other parts of SE Asia but less than the other option....great staff and service. The capsule was actually 8' by 8' by 8' (or 2 meters by 2 by 2) so "big" but the door is a sliding bifold. Be Quiet!!! and every one was (except for snoring!)...good experience...expensive city

Reviewed June 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Linden from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Great place for the experience”

Really easy central location, great staff, very clean and well kept, nice cabins, good showers etc.... very very quiet too . So if that's what you're looking for this is the place. Highly recommended everyone

Reviewed April 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Bridget from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Value for money”

Location is superb. This property is well-maintained and facilitated. The staff are friendly, helpful and extremely polite. There are many good Japanese restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely recommend this great value-for-money hotel.

Reviewed October 24, 2016
7.7
Very good
Andrew from Australia
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015

Great location ”

1. Location 2. Cleanliness 3. Friendly Staff

Conveniently located just a short walk from Akihabara Station. Hotel itself has drink and food machine available 24 hours, and 7-11 store with ATM is just a on the next street. Self contained shared toilets, bath and spa area (male & female on separate floors). Overall great experience if u don't mind capsule type of accomodation

Reviewed September 01, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Steve from United States
Family with teens
Room for male guests only
Stayed 1 night in July 2015

Perfect Japanese Experience”

location, cleanliness, weirdness

It's a capsule hotel. It's not a dreadful idea. quiet, clean, easy to maneuver. well thought. It's a $20,000 room on Emirates 1st class. Otake at the reception is a doll. (thanks for your help!) a million little restaurants in the area. 2 blocks from Akihabara Electric City Madness. My 15yo son loved it, and called it a 'Modern Hotel'....

Reviewed July 18, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Margaret from Indonesia
Family with teens
Room for female guests only
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015

The best one I stayed in Japan!”

Comfortable, clean, near the station.

I stayed in this hotel on April 2015 with My mom and elder sister. The bedroom (?) is comfortable. They change your slipper and bathrobe everyday. They provide the place to hang our jacket. You can get extra pillow on shelves near the bathroom. There are also hangers there to hang your towel. We can put our things inside the safety box and lock it with key. The bathroom is clean. You can drink the tap water. They provide us the soap, shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, curly tong, hairdryer, cotton, cotton-bud: the common essential for women! I am impressed! It is located near the Akihabara station, approximately 5 minutes. Near the restaurant, bakery, cafe, and shopping mall. It is a little bit expensive though, but I really like the services. We will definitely stay in this place again next time we go to Japan!

Reviewed July 08, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Alaine from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in July 2014

EXCELLENT, amazing, very fun”

Location, price, decor

Amazing area to stay in, very near to attraction, food and subway. Amazing decor, very nicely decorated and clean. Definitely will recommend staying here and will stay here again if I am back in this area. EXCELLENT.

Reviewed May 04, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Aditya from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015

Convenient for solo traveller”

Location, facilities, cleanliness

Fantastic! Location is close to Akihabara station which has many train lines. I love the bathroom the most, clean and convenient. Room obviously bigger than the usual capsule hotel. The only minus for me is the bed, a bit too hard for my liking.

Reviewed April 23, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Fiona from United Kingdom
Group
Room for male guests only
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

fabulous stay ”

the staff were superb; the cleanliness of the cabin; the location

It was our first time staying at a budget hotel and we loved it. We would definitely recommend it to anyone. The location of the cabin was excellent, we were within 4 mins walk from everywhere you wanted. The staff spoke excellent English and was always on hand to help us out with our requests and give us advices on what we wanted to do. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

Reviewed April 19, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Cedrych from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014

Excellent”

Great location, polite staff, clean

This was my 2nd time staying here. As with my last time at the hotel, I had a pleasant stay. Location is a mere few minutes walk from the heart of Akihabara and Akihabara Station. Plenty of 24-hour food outlets nearby, including CoCo Ichibanya (Japanese curry), Matsuya (beef bowl), Yoshinoya (beef bowl), and Korakuen (ramen & Chinese food). Yodobashi Camera, a massive 9-floor mall filled with every kind of electronic item you could want, is also very nearby. Be sure to check out the restaurants on the 8th floor. The well-known okonomiyaki chain Fugetsu is there, as is popular sushi chain Sushizanmai. The hotel itself is clean, and staff are polite. Cabins are cosy, although I personally found the air-conditioning/heating a little too warm. The key to enjoying your stay here is to manage your expectations. Sound does travel from the neighbouring cabins, so snoring may keep light sleepers up. However, the hotel provides free earplugs. There isn't a lot of space to pack and unpack your suitcase, and such activities should also be kept to normal waking hours to avoid rousing other occupants.

Reviewed December 17, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Lim from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Nice twist to capsule hotel”

Quiet, clean and well-equipped

I had wanted to try a capsule hotel stay but thought this might be a better choice after looking at the pictures. The 'room' was small but definitely bigger than the usual capsules, and adequate for a good night's sleep. Everyone was just minding their own business and keeping quiet throughout, which makes for a comfortable stay. Good for solo travelers as cost would be halved of normal hotel room rate, and there is a 'business class' cabin which offers bigger space too.

Reviewed December 13, 2014
6.0
Jasmin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Modern japanese concept”

New, clean and interesting concept

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was alright. The place is clean and modern concept if you want to experience something new. But it is a bit small for some people and if you happen to travel with luagage bag, there is no space in the cabin.

Reviewed November 29, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Stewart from United States
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 8 nights in November 2014

Excellent stay for the money”

cost, ease of use, cleanliness

Staying in a capsule hotel requires a bit of patience. Every day, one has to pack up and bring your suitcase downstairs to leave at the front desk. All your valuables can stay in the room safe. Akihabara is a touch out of the way, relative to places like Roppongi, etc., but it is a happening place at night (Electric Town). Plenty of restaurants and shops are around. Not far from both the subway stop and the JR line station. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed November 19, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Amos from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 6 nights in October 2014

First Cabin Akihabara Hotel, Great value for money”

Great Location (5mins walk to Akihabara Station), Good Amenities (Laundry, Food Vending Machine), Superb level of Cleanliness

The hotel was rather easy to find and the check in & check out process was fast and efficient. The hotel is situated rather close to Akihabara Station (about a 5mins walk) which makes it excellent for moving about. Stay was pleasant with very courteous staff, their command of English was sufficient to get things done and sorted out. The amenities provided were adequate, a very easy to use washing machine (intuitive to use but a simple guide written in English would have been fantastic) and a vending machine which dispenses food as well which is great for quelling the late night hungers. Room cleaning was also provided everyday along with a fresh set of towels, disposable toothbrush and a set of clothes for moving about the hotel which is very convenient. Body Soap, Shampoo and Conditioner is provided in the Shower room and Soap, Shaving Cream and disposable shavers are provided in the public dressing room. Security was good, a side locker for the Business Class Cabin which allowed me to put quite a number of things inside. Upkeep of the place was in tip top condition and the Hotel was very neat and tidy. Would definitely recommend for Solo Travellers. Group travellers tend to talk in the Sleeping Area which is a no noise zone. Some are more considerate, keeping their volume down and keeping the duration of their conversation as short as possible whilst some speak loudly and without restraint which might be annoying at times. Fortunately these occurrences only occurred once and was not a frequent affair. Would definitely go back to First Cabin if I am in the area. 10/10 recommend to any travellers out there looking for a superb accommodation with low cost.

Reviewed October 20, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Jeremy from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

Great location & service”

The cleanliness of the place was beyond expectation, the location is superb and the service is top notch

Service was very good. The staff were very helpful and it was a plus that all the staff that I came into contact with could speak English. The facilities such as showers were always clean. The capsules were big enough so you won't feel claustrophobic. Overall it's an affordable and comfortable place to stay.

Reviewed October 05, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Teng from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014

Great value for money choice”

Value for money, great location, clean

This was recommended by my Japanese friend while I was choosing for a place to stay in Tokyo while I'm already in Japan! Very last minute option but I think it was one of the best choices after looking through airbnb, agoda, etc... great for sole traveller like me who don't want to spend too much on hotel stay (value for money). Location was great, just couple of minutes away from Akihabara JR stn! Very clean, there's washing machine and dryer too. Better than capsule since I'm able to stand up on bed without my head touching roof. There's TV in room but only Jap programs. Didn't order any meals so can't comment on food. Overall great! Will go back again if I'm back.

Reviewed September 29, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Yoke from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014

One of the best hotel for solo travellers”

Location, cleanliness, friendly staff

This is my second time staying with first cabin Akihabara. I just love this hotel :) Unlike the traditional capsule or backpacker hotels, First cabin give enough personal space which allows travellers to rest well with very reasonable prices. This is probably one of the best options for solo travellers. One downside is there is no sound proof. If you are a light sleeper and happen to meet some inconsiderate travellers who talk and laugh out loud (which shouldn't have happened according to the hotel's policy) at 1am without noticing other people are probably sleeping, you will have a rough night. Still, I will defo staying in this hotel again when I visit Tokyo next time!

Reviewed August 06, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Lei from Macau
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

Great for backpacker”

Tidy, Compact and convenient.

The hotel/capsule hotel is very close to the Akihabara JR railway station. Just cross the road and 1 minute walk. Location is prefect for backpacker who does want too much walking everyday to and from the station. The room is big when compare to the real capsule hotel. The place is clean and tidy and for budget travelers, this is a great place to stay.

Reviewed July 31, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Bobby from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 12 nights in July 2014

Pleasant Surprise”

Location, Price, Service

My stay in first Cabin Akihabara was really a pleasant surprise. First of all, this is not like other capsule hotel. The "capsules" are actually just tiny rooms, rather than a coffin with a bed. You even get a surprisingly spacious lock box to store all your belongings, and so long as your luggage isn't too big, you can have the option of just putting it outside your room or putting them at the front desk. The best thing about this hotel is that you don't have to check out every day of your stay like other capsule hotel, and you can just leave your stuff in your room's locker. Service was impressive, and the place was modern looking and clean. Hotel is only 5 minute away from Akihabara and the subway station. I highly recommend this for travelers to Tokyo.

Reviewed July 27, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Nate-Chanok from Thailand
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

luxurious capsule hotel”

modern, clean, sophisticated

I've always wanted to try a capsule hotel, but most were for men, and usually doesn't look so polished and seemed incredibly narrow. This hotel had a concept of a cabin rooms like in the air plane, so it felt really sophisticated and functional. Everything was spotless clean, and staffs were friendly and helpful. Quick in, quick out, easy breezy. Definitely recommend for budget travellers who wants quality.

Reviewed July 07, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Cedrych from Singapore
Group
Room for male guests only
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

Excellent stay”

Comfortable and room cabins, equipped with TV, hotel able to store baggage at reception

Excellent stay. I was pleased with my previous stay at a capsule hotel (9h Kyoto), but this surpassed it. At First Cabin, they can keep your luggage for you and issue a luggage claim tag. The cabins are comfortable and decently roomy. Mattress is big enough to sprawl in. There is a small bedside ledge where you can place belongings, and also includes a built-in locker. Cabins are cosy. A screen can be pulled down to separate the hallway from cabin. You are allowed to bring your luggage up to the cabins. Most of the guests kept their luggage just outside the cabins while they slept, and deposited it with the reception while out during the day. TV had basic channels like NHK and TBS (which aired the World Cup live while I was there). There is a 3.5mm audio socket built into the wall for you to watch TV quietly. VOD is also available at 1000 yen a night. As for controls, there is a knob to adjust lighting (dimmable), and a knob to adjust fan speed (off/low/high). Temperature is not adjustable. I personally found the cabin too warm, although the hallways were well-cooled. Wi-fi is fast and I did not experience any dead zones, even in the lavatory. Lavatory and bathroom are separated. Both are well-equipped. There is a free spa/onsen at the first floor. The hotel offers a free wake-up service and specifically requests that you use it instead of your own alarm, in order to avoid waking other people. During my stay, it was generally quiet but there were some guests who unpacked and whispered quite noisily for a short while when they returned at midnight. In one of the other hallways, I could hear someone snoring very loudly when walking past on the way to the bathroom. Fortunately, the hotel provides free earplugs. The cost of staying here was twice as much per night as compared to another capsule hotel, and nearly twice as much as a hostel I stayed at in Tokyo but you get what you pay for. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed July 02, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Sofia from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

Amazing”

Comfort, Cleanliness, Facilities

I stayed for two days, and its amazing. They have everything you need(atleast for me). Phone chargers, hairdryers, face wash, soap, lotion, towels, sleepwear... I didn't need to unpack much stuff when I stayed there as everything is provided. Totally worth the price and stay. Would definitely comeback and stay again.

Reviewed July 02, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Keer from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014

They provide everything you need for your stay”

toiletries and sleepwear all provided, staff performance is great, and wifi is strong

Very very good. Not just your average backpacker hostel, its a level higher. The beds are comfortable, they have extra blankets for free if you want, toilets and bathrooms are very clean, and they provided everything you need, from sleep wear, flip flops, facial wash, shampoo, shower gel etc.. so you can leave the space in your bag for other things. Its near to Akihabara station, you need to follow the instructions given if you dont want to get lost. They do cleaning from 10 am to 12 pm, but if you stay more than a day, you can opt for no cleaning and can stay in the room (bed) if you want to. Wifi is strong, which is very good. Overall, really enjoy my stay here, and will definitely go back again!

Reviewed July 01, 2014
8.3
Excellent
LEE from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

unique, interesting and fun!”

value for $, near train station, unique experience

I tried the Kyoto one before I moved to Akihabara. Very adventurous experience by being solo traveller and i only booked hotel at the very last minute. Heard so much about capsule hotels in Japan and always wanted to try. After some research, i realised more of them are not suitable for single lady (offered to man only). Chanced upon the First Cabin and immediately i am attracted to the price plus the concept. no regret. i highly recommend my friends to try out (provide travel light as no space for big luggage and to display your fashion show) . First Cabin also just set up one branch in Singapore! will try it when i have the chance :)

Reviewed June 26, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Nicholas from United States
Group
Room for male guests only
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014

Surprisingly comfortable, even a bit fun”

Clean, fast, inexpensive

Check-in, check-out and everything was fast and easy. Bathrooms were very nice and well thought-out (ex: toilets had automatic sinks, while separate lavatory had manual sink and hair dryer etc). Didn't realize it had a spa, which was also quite nice. Staff was really friendly, although their English was only alright. Only problem might have been you can basically hear everyone on your floor, so sometimes it's noisy.

Reviewed June 26, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Tze from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 10 nights in June 2014

Excellent Location and superb cleanness ”

Location, Location and Location

Hotel Located about 2 mins walk to Akihabara, the centre of electrical, games and anime goods. Very close to a major subway transfer station, lots of great food nearby. the only complaint is the room doesn't have a lock (due to the law issues) and also bad/no sound proof as during my stay, I was staying with an inconsiderate customer who were talking to his/her phone all night in his room.

Reviewed June 16, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Esther from United Kingdom
Couple
Room for female guests only
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Cheap. Stayed for the novelty factor”

Location, access to public transport, good wifi

The cubicle was as I expected - small. Was very clean and had lots of nice toiletries, dressing gowns etc. Check in was 5pm and check out at 10am!!!!! That was the worst part. They at least let you keep your bags there.

Reviewed May 26, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Hoon from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

Clean, convenient, just great.”

Sparkling clean, good amenities, close to trains.

Very clean, even though it was shared shower rooms and toilets. Room has no doors, just blinds, so noises might be heard throughout the night. Little luggage space if you get the business cabin. Overall good, very close to both metro and jr stations, and it's within walking distance from the heaven of anime stuff. Staffs were friendly and made the effort to explain everything. Great stay!

Reviewed May 23, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Chor from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in January 2014

reasonable price, clean and tidy”

reasonable price, neat and tidy, convenient location

surprisingly it provides good quality shampoo/shower gel/ conditioner. cabin and washroom very tidy and clean luckily people surrounded are not noisy but its a bit stuffy and hot inside the cabin. getting better after a while when you are used to it wanted to try their hot spa but there were insufficient time. will try next time

Reviewed May 21, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Jeffrey from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 18 nights in March 2014

Friendly Staff, Clean, Affordable”

Wi-Fi Service, Location and Convenience

At the front of the building it says: 'Compact & Luxury Hotel' when in fact it's just another capsule hotel - HOWEVER - this isn't your average capsule hotel cause the rooms are surprisingly bigger! (Imagine, I'm 5'6 tall and I can stand on the bed, head just touching the ceiling). Staff is very precise with Check-Ins (5pm) and Check-Outs (10am) times, you can leave any belongings with you behind the reception area. Shared toilets and bathrooms/showers. There's a spa if you're interested in ground floor (Didn't bother trying it). Men and women are on separate floors. There's a lounge area for chilling out and having breakfast. Rooms and toilets are cleaned daily at 10am, rooms have TV's (didn't really use it) they provide headphones. Breakfast is available at an extra cost, (didn't bother trying it so I can't really comment on how good it was). Vending machines are available at your own expense. Wi-Fi is awesome, I get good Wi-Fi coverage in my room way up in the 4th floor! Staff are friendly, they acknowledge your presence every-time you go in and out of the building and they can all understand English to some degree. Some managers on site actually is quite good at english. Location wise it's very close to Akihabara Station. This place was hard to find at first (Small alleyway street!) but once you find it, everything gets so easy. Overall as a solo traveler/backpacker who has used this place for more than 2 weeks (yes, two weeks), I can honestly say that this place definitely delivers in terms of convenience (lots of shops and restaurants around), location - The Akihabara line links you to so many major train lines in Tokyo so you can virtually go anywhere easily! The Wi-Fi service is soo good and the staff are all very accommodating. Although this place is still a capsule hotel, so for families wanting to stay, it really isn't ideal but for people like myself, I highly recommend it. Price is just about average but for the service you get, it's very good.

Reviewed April 29, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Daniel from United Kingdom
Couple
Room for male guests only
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014

Ideal for a short sight seeing break in Tokyo”

Location, Cleanliness, Fast Internet

Great. It is within 5 minutes walk of Akinhabara station (two stops from Tokyo station) and from here you can easily reach anywhere in Tokyo. I was worried the tube was going to be expensive but it's not (not much more than a couple of pounds for each trip). Disney was about 30 minutes away, Purio Sanrio land about 30 minutes, Shibuya about 20 minutes, Kawasaki about an hour. I stayed in a business class cabin for four nights. The cabin is narrow and short, just over the size of a single bed but there are hooks for hanging your backpack and clothes in the room. There is room to do this as the ceilings are tall, there is enough room to stand up on the bed. You are provided with bed clothes, towels, all toiletries inc toothbrush, toothpaste, ear plugs and slippers. All bed sheets, clothes, slippers etc are replaced every day. There is a long narrow safe in your compartment which is about 100cm deep, 30 cm wide and about half the length of the bed so it's perfect for storing your laptop, camera, wallet etc. There are two USA style power points and a large TV. The showers are powerful and clean. The toilets are the super Japanese techie type, which also super clean. Everywhere is painted black and with low lighting it really creates it great atmosphere for getting some sleep. The internet was the fastest I've ever experienced in any hotel. There is also a steam room, but I never visited it. I slept very well every night and would recommend staying here for a sightseeing trip to Tokyo.

Reviewed April 26, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Julia from Australia
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014

great experience”

price, comfort, location

I was a little nervous to stay in a capsule hotel but this was great and I would definitely do it again in a place like this. The facilities were great, the bed was comfortable, easy access to the JR station, restaurants. Wifi was fast. The bathrooms were clean and had Shiseido products. although you don't have a door to your 'room' there is a slide down panel, the Japanese guests are good at being quiet during sleeping hours, other Western travelers less so, so if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs.

Reviewed April 24, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Ilona from Indonesia
Group
First Class Cabin for Female
Stayed 1 night in April 2014

Amazing capsule hotel”

Location, Cleanliness, Amenities

- great location: hotel is a walking distance from Akihabara station, which is two train stations away from Tokyo station. - spacious: we booked the first class instead of the business class cabin, and really appreciate the extra space. we can put our luggage inside the capsule room so it was very convenient. - great amenities: there are extra pillows & blankets provided if you need any. bathroom comes with a wide range of cleansing products. there are vending machines provided in the hotel, awesome if you need any midnight snacks.

Reviewed April 20, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Rakel from Sweden
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 13 nights in March 2014

Excellent value”

Friendly staff and great service. Excellent value for money.

This hotel offers cabins, a slightly roomier version of the classic Tokyo capsule. You get a bed, a storage box and a flatscreen tv. Nothing fancy, but a good option if you're travelling alone and looking to save on accomodation. I had a great stay at First Cabin. Everything was very clean, the bed was reasonably comfortable and the staff was friendly and attentive. I would gladly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed April 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Kate from United States
Couple
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Had to stay in a capsule hotel!”

Price, ameneties, staff

My friend and I wanted to stay in a capsule hotel but not one that was so small. The rooms here are more like a box, I could almost stand-up on the bed without touching the ceiling. The toiletries in the bathroom were an added bonus, and although we didn't use the onsen it was a nice benefit that the ladies floor and ladies onsen was locked and required your room key, so no men could sneak in.

Reviewed April 11, 2014
7.7
Very good
Andreas from Austria
Solo traveler
First Class Cabin for Male
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Good experience, but not suitable for everybody”

Experience, style, location

The hotel's sytle is unique from the outside and it is easy recognizable. It was easy to find and close to Akihabara Station. I stayed in a First Class Cabin, the room was clean and looked pretty new. However the First Class Cabin has a gap over the door, so it can not be completely darkened, the Business cabin door can theoretically be closed completely if you can find space for your luggage. It was pretty silent throughout the night but still I could not sleep very well since there was always something going on. (I easily wake up though) If you Need darkness and silence than I would go elsewhere, but still for the one night experience you might want to try this.

Reviewed March 27, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Greenwood from United States
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014

Great experience, can't beat the price!”

Comfortable space, close to major subway and shopping.

I had a fantastic experience at First Cabin Akihabara Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and knew English enough to communicate without misunderstands. I took advantage of the sauna at least once a day, it was delightful! I thought the space in my cabin was all I needed for a short stay, and found it very cozy. I fell asleep nearly as soon as I hit the bed every night. Some tips for hotel guests that I picked up. There's a cart in the back of the floor with extra blankets, pillows, etc.. If you think the bed is too stiff, you can grab an extra fluffy blanket, and put it on your bed to use as an extra mattress. Just go straight to it at check-in time, because the items are snagged pretty quickly. Also, while the tv only has a few channels (all in Japanese) there is a ticket machine on each floor next to the soda machines that for 1,000 Yen, will let you purchase Video on Demand (VOD) on your tv. There were many English Language/Hollywood movies to choose from. It's also only blocks from Akihabara Station, and the shopping district. Easy to get to. Also, Akihabara Station is close to many other stops (only 2 stops away from Tokyo Station!) including Ueno Station which is where most of the airport trains stop off. There was great wi-fi service on every floor, and a comfy lounge with tables, and charging outlets. It's not a place to go for food (there was a microwave food vending machine), but there are many noodle places on the block, and everything you could ask for in the neighborhood including a Denny's, McDonald's, and a Burger King around the corner, if you came all the way to Japan to eat American food. I highly recommend this hotel for the solo, or very small group traveler.

Reviewed March 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Huang from Malaysia
Business traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 1 night in March 2014

Good Budget Stay”

near Akihabara train station, many 24h restaurants and easy access to Ueno and Ginza shopping areas via metro

very clean and quiet, new and pleasant, excellent location about 2 mins from metro station with plenty of excellent restaurants and 24 hours food, toiletries and clean towel available will stay there again; only downside is room is a bit small, no luggage space except to keep luggage with staff, centralized heating is a bit stuffy in a small space cabin room - quite an experience

Reviewed March 12, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Siti from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014

Comfortable, clean and quiet.”

Cleanliness, shower facilities, comfort

Being quiet is very important. They have earplugs for you, but I don't have a problem with sleeping (while hearing other people snore or when they're packing). In fact, I'm the type that needs "sound" to sleep. So it was a suprised for me that I actually enjoyed the silence it gave me. Also, its really very clean. I love their shower amenities (Shiseido products), shower room and powder room. The bed and pillow may be a little hard for some people, but I'm Ok. There is TV with headphones for you to listen to. This is just like a high-end capsule hotel (more space). The only thing is, your luggage can either be kept with the counter or in your room (with no locking door) - so its based on trust. Overall, I'd come back here again.

Reviewed February 21, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
khairuddin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
First Class Cabin for Male
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

Amazing”

New hotel,Awesome Spa,Cool toiletries

I decided to stay for 2nights at this hotel because it is a new hotel (open in 2013).I believed I made the right decision because I fell in love with the hotel when I first step inside the hotel.It doesn't matter if this is a high end capsule hotel. Yes the room is small but comfortable (I took the first class room) and there is hardly any people that make noise on the floor where I stayed. The spa is awesome and I have it to myself most of the time as there is hardly any patrons. The toiletries is awesome as they are using UNO product which is not available in Malaysia. Two thumbs up!

Reviewed February 08, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Ronald from Australia
Couple
First Class Cabin for Male
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Very enjoyable, comfortable and fun!”

Innovative design, privacy of own room and clean!

I have stayed in quite a few hostel throughout my travels and this is truly on a different scale! For the same price as a normal hostel you get a little cabin with a sliding door for your room. Inside is a self contained bed, TV, innovative storage, your own air conditioning control, clean robes/towels/slippers and a desk for you to leave your things. The hostel is split between male and female sections with communal toilet for each gender. I found the rooms very clean and all guests were considerate of each other when going back to their cabins. This is a great concept as it is priced as a hostel, but you have your own space and room still. Highly recommended!

Reviewed January 22, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Ronald from Australia
Couple
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Affordable, great location and really cool!”

Room size, cheap and clean!

I have stayed in quite a few hostel throughout my travels and this is truly on a different scale! For the same price as a normal hostel you get a little cabin with a sliding door for your room. Inside is a self contained bed, TV, innovative storage, your own air conditioning control, clean robes/towels/slippers and a desk for you to leave your things. The hostel is split between male and female sections with communal toilet for each gender. I found the rooms very clean and all guests were considerate of each other when going back to their cabins. This is a great concept as it is priced as a hostel, but you have your own space and room still. Highly recommended!

Reviewed January 22, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Terence from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for male guests only
Stayed 10 nights in November 2013

Clean and affordable capsule hotel, good location”

Cleanliness, Central location, High speed internet in all parts of the hotel

It is a capsule hotel, so the capsules that you will be sleeping in are very very small. However, they are quite clean and comfortable as long as you have no issue with the size. There is also a lounge area on the first floor where you can do your work or talk on the phone or eat, but otherwise, you are not supposed to talk loudly when you are in your room as all the capsules are very close to each other.

Reviewed December 23, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Veronica from Canada
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 8 nights in November 2013

Affordable Luxury Hotel”

Good location, friendly staff and clean cabins

Great first experience! Good location, friendly staff and clean environment. Loved the facilities such as the make up and spa rooms. Staff were also very helpful and informative regarding finding the pharmacy, shopping for specific items and sharing their IT experience!

Reviewed December 16, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Ho from Singapore
Solo traveler
Room for female guests only
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

Good option for solo travellers”

Location and rooms

Location was good, just 3minutes walk from Akihabara Station, which is 1 stop away from Tokyo Station. A good spot to access to Tokyo area. It was easy for me to find the hotel, just follow the map the hotel's website provide. Although rooms were very small, it was clean and the showers and all were clean as well. Rooms are definitely not soundproof, so if you're a light sleeper, the hotel provide earplugs for free!

Reviewed December 01, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
CHOW from Malaysia
Group
Room for female guests only
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013

Fun and Exciting”

Friendly and helpful front desk staff, clean and secured environment

Fun & relaxed. The front desk staffs are very helpful & attentive. When we were facing problem in ticketing to Mt. Fuji trip, we were well assisted. The hotel is about one minute's walking distance from Akihabara station, provided you know the exit direction. It is very convenient! We tried the simple Japanese breakfast buffet & it was really tasty with 300 yen only. You have to place the pre-booking before before midnight. The capsule experience was great, except we have to trouble the hotel staff as we are not use to keep the luggage at the ground floor. However, I'm confident that I'll be more efficient in packing my necessary stuff in my next stay.

Reviewed November 23, 2013