Book Now: GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member Reviews

Very good
From 124 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (124)Booking.com Reviews (1965)
7.7
Very good
From 124 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities7.1
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service8.1
Value for money7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Deutsch
Italiano
more
Room type
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
1 Double Bed Nonsmoking
1 Queen Bed - Non-Smoking
Standard with 1 Double Bed
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 108 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Rebecca from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
Stayed 5 nights in June 2015
Gem Stay”
Location, staff friendliness
Reviewed June 14, 2015
5.0
Michael from United States
Couple
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Good Location”
Location, friendly staff, good size shower
Staff were friendly but when we arrived our reservation wasn't there. There was a glitch in the system and it took 20 min. to fix it. Next day We came back from a long day of sightseeing at 4:30 pm and our room was still not made up. All we wanted to do was relax in the room but he to leave for them to make it up. Also the bathroom walls were dirty and could have used a good scrubbing.
Reviewed May 26, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
KALPANA from India
Couple
1 Double Bed Nonsmoking
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015
Would love to stay again”
Location,convenience and cleanliness
The hotel location is excellent.staff very helpful.we arrived at 10 am at the hotel and were immediately allotted room.Rooms are small,but clean and well equipped.would love to stay again.
Reviewed May 25, 2015
6.0
Chu from Hong Kong
Couple
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Location is good but room is very small.”
Location good . Easy to find food , convenient for transportation and food.
Was ok but room is very small .
Reviewed May 03, 2015
6.7
Good
Andrzej from Poland
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Weekend with partner”
good location, modern, gym
Quite nice hotel, in good location. However room was too small.
Reviewed January 28, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Huu from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Boutique”
Nice location staff
It was good. NYE time so pricey everywhere
Reviewed January 13, 2015
5.3
Mark from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Clean hotel good frontdesk staff ”
Cleanliness front desk staff
Everything was ok until the cleaning lady tried to steal a pair of expensive shoes which was returned when we complained. Note: do not have your room cleaned when ur not around
Reviewed January 08, 2015
7.7
Very good
Peter from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
NYC Dec”
Location, clean, staff
Reviewed December 26, 2014
6.7
Good
Cillia from France
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Good location and clean room”
clean - location
Small room, but I guess that is the standard in NY. Would have been definitely too small for a couple with luggage. Room was dark and the AC noisy. Comfortable bed. No breakfast provided but alternative nearby. Hotel located a few meters for the metro station. Staff was not particularly pleasant, and I don't remember any of them smiling.
Reviewed December 24, 2014
6.7
Good
Cillia from France
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
convininet location”
location - clean
Small room, but I guess that is the standard in NY. Would have been definitely too small for a couple with luggage. Room was dark and the AC noisy. Comfortable bed. No breakfast provided but alternative nearby. Hotel located a few meters for the metro station. Staff was not particularly pleasant, and I don't remember any of them smiling.
Reviewed December 24, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Curtis from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
The gem was fine”
Location price clean
It was fine. A decent hotel in a great neighborhood at an affordable price. No frills, but that's ok.
Reviewed December 16, 2014
5.7
Nicole from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Great Location Small rooms ”
The location, Staff was friendly, Cozy Bed
It was nice, the location was great. The hotel was under renovation so it was a little messy in the lobby. The room was super small if you are staying with more than one person and no closet space.
Reviewed November 25, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Michelle from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Enjoyable. Highly recommended ”
Location quiet efficient
Excellent
Reviewed November 07, 2014
5.3
Todd from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in October 2014
NYC October Trip”
Location, Staff, Small hotel size
Remodeling the lobby - apparently no progress happened during our five night stay. Extremely inconvenient. Also, the rooms are modest, - however this is my third stay at the hotel so the size of the rooms isn't an issue for me… But it is now time to refurbish the rooms.
Reviewed October 29, 2014
7.7
Very good
Man from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Comfortable & Convenient ”
The room is clean, tidy & in gd quality
It was gd because it is close to Subway. Very convenient. But the lobby was still under renovation, which looked like a site when I arrived. Overall it's a gd hotel with relatively acceptable room rate in NY
Reviewed October 25, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jason from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Enjoyable Stay!”
Great Location; Friendliness of staff; Service
This was our first trip to New York. While the rooms were small, they met our needs. The staff at the hotel were friendly and accommodating. I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels that did not meet the same standard as The Gem Hotel. The hotel was located so that you could easily access the subway and travel anywhere you wanted to go. The roof top area was a nice place to relax and had a great view of the Empire State Building. They are doing some remodeling in the lobby area - can't wait to return to see the improvements! We will definitely choose The Gem Hotel again.
Reviewed October 23, 2014
7.7
Very good
Richard from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Nice, but small ”
Location
The hotel was nice , but the room was small.
Reviewed October 22, 2014
7.7
Very good
Fred from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
decent place to sleep in a good area”
location.
surprisingly small room but can't complain given the price and location.
Reviewed October 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Michael from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Great service, clean, nice bathroom, awful bed!”
Service, Cleanliness, bathroom
I enjoyed the hotel, the bed was like sleeping on a rock, not becoming of a hotel this nice.
Reviewed October 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
maria from Sweden
Group
Stayed 6 nights in September 2014
Smal room but evrything else was fantastic ”
The best was the girls in reception ,clen ,location
Localtion with all rest,subway and shops with food.The girls and ladies in the reception was so helpful all the time and with a smile
Reviewed September 24, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Brendan from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Trip to NYC Sep”
Location, roof top deck, small size
Reviewed September 22, 2014
5.7
Aliza from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Chelsea Stay”
Location was convenient, view from window was nice, staff was friendly
Everything was fine after we requested a different room then was first offered ( dark, window looked at wall) Rooms are super small but have what you need. Closet is non existent so don't pack anything longer than a shirt!
Reviewed September 18, 2014
7.3
Very good
Chen from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Midtown Hotel which is easily accessible”
Location, free wifi, free bottled water
The location is great if you're looking for a midtown hotel. It is located on 8th Ave and 22nd St, and thus, is not too far off from Times Square. Free WiFi provided throughout your stay, including free bottled water. Rarely does a US hotel provide bottled water, so that is a definite +. The hotel has some construction work going on though.
Reviewed September 13, 2014
7.0
Very good
Dinesh from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Good hotel for convenience”
great staff, nice rooftop patio, wonderful location
the rooms though were rather small, leaving very little room to even walk around the queen sized bed. perhaps this was the only sour point of the stay.
Reviewed September 12, 2014
6.3
Good
Dana from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Hotel in flux under renovation.”
Location, quiet, accommodating front desk.
Good location, nice people. Dreadful bed and very poor quality used pillows. Clean and decent, but not comfortable.
Reviewed September 12, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Leo from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Cheap and Cheerful!”
Location, Cleanliness and Staff
Excellent, staff where there for whatever I needed and rooms were well kept. Small but it is NYC; space is premium!
Reviewed September 02, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Jeremy from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Great base for Chelsea”
location, cleanliness, service
The GEM is perfectly located on the west side of Chelsea, the High Line, an easy walk to Penn Station or the West Village, and very close to the C and E trains. The rooms are compact but comfortable for sleeping. We enjoyed the grocery and cafe downstairs, and a little time on the rooftop as well. Although there are renovations underway, it did not impact our stay and the staff was apologetic.
Reviewed August 28, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Allison from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
what a gem!”
friendly staff, rooftop patio, great location
very nice stay. my room was clean and comfortable. close to the subway and everywhere I needed to go. adorable rooftop patio with a wonderful view of the Empire State Building. really good price! I would definitely stay again!
Reviewed July 27, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Claire from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Accommodating and relaxing in every way”
Chelsea neighborhood, staff, responsiveness
Better than your opening visitor composite "7.7" rating. From my son from California to husband , daughter, son, and granddaughter all missed it when our California son had to relocate uptown to a work appointed hotel for the business days of his stay in the city. He liked the GEM at least as much as any of hs did. Thank you for the much appreciated stay.
Reviewed July 22, 2014
7.7
Very good
Michelle from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in July 2014
Good value but not luxurious”
It was clean, a great location in Chelsea and close to awesome neighborhood restaurants and the Hudson River.
The stay was wonderful. I got a great deal, but if I had to pay more I would probably pick a hotel that had more amenities. They are in the process of building a bar, so that will be nice.
Reviewed July 11, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Frederick from Bahamas
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
good”
location
nice
Reviewed July 06, 2014
5.7
Bjorn from Sweden
Family with teens
Stayed 7 nights in June 2014
Short small beds for a 6 feet male, small rooms...”
Easy access to the city, close to deli's, walking distance to Chelsea Market
Two weeks in prior I contacted the hotel to get two nice rooms next to each other or at least close, when we arrived they told us that they had been forced to change that due to problems with another guest. We got 204 and 404, 204 was next to the staffs room who slammed the door constantly from early morning to the late night. We complained to the front desk but nothing happened, after three bad nights we contacted the manager Marc Ruff so after 4 nights we got a better room. The reception staff obviously needs training in customer focus.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
7.3
Very good
robert from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
cozy, clean, convenient”
cozy, clean, convenient
quite adequate for a long weekend. great chelsea location. side street = quiet and restful. reasonable amenities, however the room with queensize bend is small, even by new york standards (in my opinion).
Reviewed June 24, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ben from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Fantastic, newly renovated hotel. Rooms are small ”
Staff Location Cleanliness
Fantastic! Rooms a bit small but perfectly equipped
Reviewed June 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Fred from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
great location. the staff was very accommodating”
location, value, wifi
Reviewed May 27, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Douglas from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
All we could have hoped for”
location, location, location
Great long weekend in NYC and our stay at the GEM Chelsea was all we could have asked for. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was pretty standard as far as size goes for NYCb but it was clean, quiet and comfortable. Most of all it was perfectly located for whatever you might want to do while in town. Chelsea is one my favorite neighborhoods with so much to do. Great bars and restaurants. Shops. The Highline. Chelsea Market. And easy access to the rest of NYC. We'll definitely be back.
Reviewed May 23, 2014
6.3
Good
Michael from Germany
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
great location in Manhattan”
close to subway, in Chelsea,
I was visiting over the easter weekend so prices in Manhattan were very high. GEM had the best deal. The rooms are very small and dark. But in my experience that is the norm in Manhattan. The subway is right around the corner which is extremely valuable.
Reviewed April 29, 2014
7.3
Very good
Sascha from Sweden
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014
New York is an amazing city.”
Location, beds, rooftop.
Reviewed March 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Mark from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
It was a good stay.”
clean, good service, lovely tree top view of Manhattan side street.
Very good--the room was small, but well-organized and cozy--fine for 1 person--would've been a tight squeeze had it been 2 people. Chief (and only!) complaint: the heater. Worked randomly--didn't really adhere to temp. control--had to plug in very high temps to turn it on then it would get too warm, so had to turn it off until it got too cold etc….very annoying and frankly, uncomfortable. Everything else--fine for a 3-star hotel experience.
Reviewed March 29, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Roshan from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Cheap, clean, well located”
Cheap, clean, well located
Reviewed March 04, 2014
7.7
Very good
Jennifer from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
Super convenient and great Chelsea location”
Location, not loud, and intimate
Hotel was perfect for my work trip. Typical New York hotel; small and few amenities. There is a restaurant right next door, but didnt eat there. The hotel is in a great location and everything you need is right around it. Not a far walk to Chelsea Market. Cute stores along the way if you walk down 9th street. Staff was friendly. Rooms are not large but perfect for short term stays and great if you are single and want to save a buck.
Reviewed February 03, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
lyes from Sweden
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
the best”
personal,läge,renlighet
Reviewed January 24, 2014
6.7
Good
David from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in January 2014
An unpleasant surprise”
location, friendly staff, close to public transportation
Some of the better rooms are only available through the hotel website. I got a small room and that was it. I thought I was paying for more and got less. When my flight was canceled because of bad weather I elected to stay another night and they charged me an exhorbitent price for that night.
Reviewed January 24, 2014
6.7
Good
John-Ivar from Norway
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Clean room and friendly employes”
Clean room, friendly employes, close to city centre
We had a great stay. Nice and clean room. Very central and close to everything. 10 min walk from ESB. I recomend the hotel for turists.
Reviewed January 12, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Cloee from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
really good hotel in Chelsea”
comfortable, location, staff
Had a really nice long week end at the Gem hotel. Rooms are a good size for NYC bed was really comfortable. Close to all the restaurants , shopping, subway and Penn station. Would definitely return
Reviewed January 10, 2014
8.3
Excellent
neil from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
nice 1 night stay ”
clean clean clean
this is great little hotel you can walk or grab a cab to almost anything. 9 blocks to penn station/MSG little further to time square. if you need a big room this is not the place. perfect for me and my wife. very very clean room and bath room did not gross out my wife, which happens in most hotels. I would stay again with out hesitation and would have no issue recommending this place to any of my friends or family. trailer park bar 1 block over is a cool little bar with a unique atmosphere worth stopping for a cheap beer or pitcher of margaritas.
Reviewed January 07, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Thirada from Thailand
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
nice hotel, great location, tiny room”
clean room, nice design ang great location
it's very convenient location. close to subway, shopping, recreation, park and many attractions.
Reviewed January 07, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Mina from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Excellent service”
The room was small but cozy. The service was so unexpectedly excellent that I would absolutely return. I love being away from the crazy hustle and bustle of downtown but close enough to everywhere.
Great.
Reviewed January 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Fannie from Canada
Group
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Great hotel”
Proximity, clean room, great location
We arrived really early in the morning and they already had a room for us. It takes about 20min of walk from the terminus to the hotel. The room was clean but really small. The staff was great. The location of the hotel was perfect. In 20min, we were at Time Square. There's a lot of café around the hotel. We had a really good experience !
Reviewed January 05, 2014
7.7
Very good
Johannes from Germany
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Comfortable room, very clean and attentive staff”
Central location, clean room, free wifi
Our stay was completely satisfactory, as hotel was centrally located, the room was very clean and the bed comfortable.
Reviewed January 02, 2014