Book Now: Golden Gate Hotel and Casino

Good
From 191 reviewsSee what guests said
6.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (191)Booking.com Reviews (727)
6.8
Good
From 191 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.3
Facilities5.4
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality6.3
Service6.9
Value for money6.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
简体中文
Deutsch
more
Room type
King Suite with Sofa Bed
Queen Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 163 verified guest comments
6.8
Good
Michael from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
While it's a nice hotel, just stay anywhere else. ”
Pro- Nice "vintage Vegas" style and feel. Mere steps from everything! Con- I have been billed almost $200 extra due to them over billing me. When I call and ask to speak to someone in management I'm told there's no one on shift. What kind of business doesn't have managers or supervisors on shift? The front desk staff have been constantly rude from check in to check out. I should have known I'd have issues when they couldn't find my paid in full reservation and tried to bill me for it again (which they later did 3 times without me knowing). Further, I asked for and was refused, an itemized receipt. The excuse was "due to errors" on my bill and would be contacted by a supervisor and emailed my receipt. I go to Vegas about 4 or 5 times a year and have never had a problem. Truthfully, this is not a quality staff and you should pick somewhere else until they can train their people better.
Reviewed December 13, 2016
6.0
Arturo from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Get away ”
Rooms too small paid for upgraded bath not what we expected you can hear everything inside rooms could not sleep
Reviewed December 08, 2016
5.2
Maria from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
000”
No cold water, no remote control for the tv, too noise.
Reviewed December 08, 2016
5.2
Charles from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Head of Housekepping is always right..............”
Room was not cleaned for 2 days head of housekeeping said cause we asked not be disturbed. we left our room at 1 each afternoon for the day and requested housekeeping but none was done till Sat night around 10pm. so I guess the customer is wrong and they are right? I stay on Fremont all the time and never had this happen.
Reviewed December 08, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Richard from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
thats it folks”
thats it folks
Reviewed October 17, 2016
6.0
Steven from United States
Group
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Ehh.”
Our shower was super cold and didn't work properly. Also, we were told there would be a sofa sleeper in the room and there was just a chair. Was a bit upset over that but other than that, it was an ok stay.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
7.6
Very good
Louis from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Watch out for the 'Resort Fee'”
Overall, I had a good stay. The room was decent, the location was great and I won $100. But I was blindsided with a $22 'Resort Fee' at check in, which almost doubled what I was paying for my stay. Granted, the total bill was still right around $60, but it would be nice to know what I was paying up front.
Reviewed September 16, 2016
6.0
Tuan from United States
Family with teens
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
Above average”
The carpet was dirty and the bathroom door did not shut. The staff was unfriendly. It was still loud late at night due to the Fremont Street Experience but that's not the hotel's fault. Other than that, the hotel was fine.
Reviewed August 10, 2016
4.4
James from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Bad costermer service”
Room was over looking the street and band played to 2 am both days, if I would have known this I would have booked in a different area. I asked to be moved but was told, To Bad.
Reviewed July 20, 2016
3.0
wen from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
one of the worst hotels I had ever stayed”
fremont experience, free parking, 24/7 casino
One of the most noisiest hotels I had ever stayed. I can't sleep till 2am daily for 3 nights due to noises from the Fremont Street Experience which is right next to the hotel. Very old hotel more like motel to me with very thin walls which you can hear everything from the next doors and hallways. Plus they charged me $22.40 daily resort fee on top of the hotel rate. Read the review before you booked this hotel which is the mistake I did by not reading them.
Reviewed February 06, 2016
7.3
Very good
Kevin from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
l”
The television worked and it was was close to downtown
if this is a newly remodeled the hotel they messed some major considerations. Like maybe putting in a new bathtub where the hot water would stay consistent and not change from hot to cold. It might've been good to have somebody besides a third-grader do the tile grouting. And I'd suggest that they put in new windows so it's not so noisy. And finally I like to see a bed that's a long enough so my feet don't hang over the edge and I'm only 5'9".i'd hate to sleep in a bed like that if I was any taller . I enjoyed being able to look out on Fremont Street but that was about the only accommodation that I would say is 3 star rated.
Reviewed January 09, 2016
5.0
Greg from United States
Family with young children
Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Scam”
Nice casino, easy parking
I booked two rooms for 5 nights was not told about the "resort fee" which was more than the per night room cost it more than doubled the price of the room...
Reviewed December 26, 2015
8.0
Excellent
yvette from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Good stay”
Location price and atmosphere
Good I enjoyed it
Reviewed December 21, 2015
5.7
Krzysztof from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
My experience at Golden Gate Hotel, LV”
Location
Old hotel, smell of smoking in the rooms. Small inefficient, noisy rooms, dirty carpets, outdated windows and outdated bathrooms from 70's. Valet parking in the front, self parking outside and across the street.
Reviewed October 27, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Maria from Philippines
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
LV stay”
Locatiin, Dupar Restaurant
Hotel location was excellent, right at Fermont St, and a quick bus ride to the strip. Dupar restaurant was excellent! Hotel staff courteous. Room is small but clean and comfortable, but the noise from FSE can be loud if booked in low floors. There is no free wifi and the hotel charges resort fees even if there are no resort facilities.
Reviewed October 01, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Robert from United States
Family with teens
King Suite with Sofa Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Yay”
Cost
Reviewed July 23, 2015
4.0
Sean from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
not worthy”
price; location; nothing else
awful; too noisy outside, couldn't sleep; parking was inconvenient
Reviewed July 23, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Yvonne from United States
Family with teens
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
hotel stay”
i was in a suite
great
Reviewed July 17, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Dennis from Germany
Family with teens
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Nice Hotel”
The rooms are clean, quiet and airconditioned
A very nice place. I would stay there again. Enjoyed the comfy bed and the cozy room. As I am not much of a gambler, I cannot tell you too much about the casino, but it seemed nice. Not too big - good if you want to have a peaceful Las Vegas experience.
Reviewed July 02, 2015
7.0
Very good
Aaron from New Zealand
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Nice rooms, poor staff performance ”
Location, history, comfort
Pretty good overall on terms of rooms, but the front desk couldn't provide a few bowls for our cereal in the morning. And the morning we left early for our grand canyon trip there was a man sleeping outside a room a few doors down. No idea whether he was a guest or not. There was a bit of noise from fremont Street, but we were lucky enough to be in an internal room. Definitely recommend getting a room higher up and away from the street if you want to sleep. I did love the location right on fremont and close to the greyhound stop and buses to the strip. The bed was comfortable, although the bath had not been cleaned in some time
Reviewed June 30, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Shay from Australia
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Location!”
Staff, Location, Value for money.
Reviewed May 14, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Shay from Australia
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Great Location!!”
Location, Staff, Value for money
They have new and old rooms, the new ones are great value for money! The location is amazing!
Reviewed May 14, 2015
6.7
Good
Stefanie from Germany
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Nice Hotel but hidden Resort Fee”
It's a nice location right at Fermont St., clean rooms and comfy beds.
Our stay was quite okay but we were appeled by the fact that we had to pay a resort fee of 20$ per night that was hidden in the Hotel policy and not even told us, when we arrived at the Hotel. We didn't even knew the Hotel had a pool that we paid for. So you kind of feel cheated and the staff does not handle it very friendly either (I mean I can understand this, when they have to cope with the complains day in day out).
Reviewed May 13, 2015
5.3
hermelinda from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
too too small”
i will never stay there again. very small and they charge form fremont st.
Reviewed April 27, 2015
7.0
Very good
Garett from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Clean enough, cheap enough”
cheap, comfortable, as everyone notes, shower water temperature is hot or cold only.
Reviewed April 24, 2015
6.7
Good
Dee from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Room was a closet”
Casino floor, location,
The room was very small. The water was very hard to regulate. Showers either very hot or very cold. Never just right. Trash cans were so small a cup barely fit in it. BTW the shower was very small too. We will not stay there again.
Reviewed March 23, 2015
6.0
Michelle from United Kingdom
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Adequate stay for what we wanted!”
Location, Character of hotel and Price
We arrived late at night due to a delayed flight, we informed the hotel we would be late. Our room was held but we were given a small room in front of the Fremont St experience. The noise was loud from the bands directly outside the hotel window, good view though! The hotel staff apologised and said they could switch room in morning, however we didn't think it mattered as we slept through noise first night and went out the second night! If we had stayed longer I would have definitely asked to moved! Rooms clean but very small! One queen bed, adequate for 2 night stay. Close to everything you would need during your stay. Nice character hotel!
Reviewed March 23, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Bonnie from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Nice stay”
Cleanliness, value , and the very good food in the diner
We had a good time, and everyone was very pleasant. I would stay here again
Reviewed February 14, 2015
6.7
Good
beth from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
good”
location price tidy
Reviewed February 13, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
wonderful staff”
staff, location and room location
Pleasant
Reviewed February 13, 2015
7.7
Very good
beth from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
1”
clean room. proximity price
Good
Reviewed February 10, 2015
8.0
Excellent
jamey from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
gfb”
vgg
:)
Reviewed February 06, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
dennis from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Nice, very nice joint”
people, price and food
it was very nice
Reviewed February 03, 2015
3.7
Jeff from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Unbearable”
Coffee Shop
Miserable. The windows are from the 20s... single pane and do not close all the way. The noise from Fremont Street was unbearable... pounding and thumping worse than a nightclub until 1 am on a weeknight. At 5 am the street construction/repairs began... so loud I had to cover my head with a pillow to not go crazy. No sleep in this hotel... the front desk was unable/unwilling to change rooms for me, but they did offer earplugs.
Reviewed January 25, 2015
7.7
Very good
James from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
3 night stay in fremont”
on Fremont, close to bus, free wifi
Reviewed January 04, 2015
2.3
Donald from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
vegas”
not good
Reviewed January 04, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Rolanda from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
a night in downtown”
location. style. customer service
Great location. However, the room I had was facing the main stage of the Fremont experience. At times it was fun and exciting, it was a little loud. But who comes to Vegas to sleep?
Reviewed January 03, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Delvin from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
great”
price
Reviewed January 01, 2015
7.7
Very good
Carol from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Quick stop ”
We were only there for a few hours, pretty much just to sleep. It was perfect and quick. Great location (old Vegas).
Great, fast and simple experience.
Reviewed January 01, 2015
4.7
Rebecca from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
rudest front desk staff”
location
The guy at the front desk was extremley rude when i was checking in, not a very welcoming place at all i would not suggest anyone to stay at this hotel, yes its cheap and a good location! Nothing worse when u just need to relax and someonentreats u like ..
Reviewed December 21, 2014
3.3
arlette from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
terrible front desk employees”
bed
Not happy. At least i had a place to try to sleep.
Reviewed December 13, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Mohabir from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
good”
food,games,drinks
ok.
Reviewed December 04, 2014
4.0
Virginia from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Golden Gate Hotel and Casino”
-- The hot water in the shower not steady. -- There was too much noise at night time. Very difficult to sleep!
Reviewed December 04, 2014
6.7
Good
Jinesh from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
rooms facing the promenade on fremont so noisy!!”
location
Will stay only if need a cheap hotel in vegas and can bear the noise and discomfort of the spring mattress bed.
Reviewed November 24, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Jason from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Old Las Vegas Rules!!!”
Great Price, Great People, Great Food
There are not many issues with this hotel. The room was a little dirty, but I still clean. I felt a bit cramped, but for what I was paying, I am happy. Big plus for this hotel, it is not mentioned, but there is complimentary internet in the rooms. The casino in the hotel was very friendly and a great atmosphere. The Freemont Experience is way better than the strip and it is not as crowded. I recommend it here in Las Vegas. Pawn stars and the mobster museum are close to this area and are a must when visiting. Enjoy!!!
Reviewed November 16, 2014
8.7
Excellent
randy from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
great location to party on holloween night”
clean rooms, friendly staff,great location.
All was good. But if you stay in a front room, facing Fremont st, don't expect to bed down in the evenings until the street band is done playing:: 2:00 AM. There was loud speakers 10 ft from my windows. Open your windows to have that nearby speakers 10 plus on the volume scale!! in your room. Like front row seats to the band.
Reviewed November 07, 2014
2.7
Willy from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
bad service ”
bad experience , employers are rude and rooms are dirty
Reviewed October 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Vince from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
great stay to stay ”
Location, staff, vintage
Great, would be better if there was a coffee maker & a small fridge. Most hotels these days have that.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
5.3
Thomas from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
unclean”
location.
My bathroom tub was filthy. The bed was comfy. Thin walls
Reviewed October 24, 2014
4.3
Peter from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
So Noisy!!!”
Nice Staff,
Reviewed October 11, 2014