Book Now: Grand Hyatt New York Hotel

Very good
From 149 reviewsSee what guests said
7.9

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (149)Booking.com Reviews (4510)
7.9
Very good
From 149 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities7.5
Location9.3
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.7
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
Deutsch
more
Room type
1 Queen Bed
1 King Bed
2 Double Beds
1 Queen Accessible Tub
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 110 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Obinna from United States
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Traveled with my wife”
Weekend getaway with my wife
Reviewed July 04, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Ba from Vietnam
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June 2016
Prime location”
Value for money. Just 15' walk to Times Square
Reviewed July 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
tristan from South Africa
Family with young children
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Brilliant ”
Awesome location staff rooms state of the art
Reviewed May 22, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Sheila from United Kingdom
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Great Hotel”
We were on a mini-break in NYC and although we did not spend much time in the hotel we were very satisfied with with our contemporary room. Very comfortable to come back to after hectic days out. With Chrysler building on one side and Grand Central Station on the other, short walk to Bryant Park and Times Square - great location. Lobby amazing and helpful staff. Cant rate the facilities as were did not use any.
Reviewed February 29, 2016
7.7
Very good
Monica from United Kingdom
Couple
1 Queen Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Perfect location”
location, location, location :)
Reviewed January 11, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Chao from Taiwan
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Awesome stay ”
Location ,awesome staff ,nice food
Reviewed November 26, 2015
8.7
Excellent
scot from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
great”
location, clean
Reviewed November 12, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Kenji from Japan
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Quiet stay in the middle of Manhattan”
Restaurant, Atmosphere, Location
Reviewed August 21, 2015
7.3
Very good
louis from United States
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Grand Hyatt is ok”
Location,location,location
Ok
Reviewed July 07, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Katherine from United States
Group
2 Double Beds
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
Four Comfortable Nights at the Grand Hyatt”
We appreciated the coffee pot and supplies. The towels were nice and thick. The market by registration was good for quick food as needed.
We like to stay in the hotel that hosts the choral rehearsals. This lets us get more sleep and allows us to not worry about getting to another location on time. Our stay was comfortable...we had everything we needed. Check-in and check-out went without a hitch.
Reviewed June 01, 2015
8.3
Excellent
JASON from United Kingdom
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015
Good stay”
Location, location location
Good
Reviewed May 26, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Lydia from Malaysia
Couple
1 Queen Bed
Stayed 6 nights in May 2015
Strategic location”
Location, transportation and clean
It was very pleasure stay
Reviewed May 22, 2015
7.3
Very good
Yue from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
2 Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Need to charge for left luggage”
Good location, noisy, 3 star service
Good location but cannot believe a hyatt would charge for left luggage. 3 dollars for each bag. No bell service. I requested hot water and front desk suggested a coffee machine to be sent to my room, and it finally took 2 hours after chasing for 4 times for it to come. Location is good, room is modern and clean, room size is reasonable considering it is in NYC, but do not expect service from a normal 4 stars.
Reviewed May 20, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Barry from United States
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Good location and it met our needs. ”
Location staff clean quiet
Stay was good and the location perfect.
Reviewed May 20, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Jutima from United States
Family with teens
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Great location ”
location - customer service - safety
we were there for a night which easy to go out and meet some friends .The staffs were great .I do love the location even the parking lot is costly .
Reviewed April 28, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Hang from Vietnam
Family with teens
1 Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Grand, yes, but old hotel.”
Very good location, fast elevator.
The room facilities should be improved. The light control system is quite inconvenient, as you have to turn on and off all the lights the same time. The tap is old and quite difficult to operate.
Reviewed March 16, 2015
4.3
Hock from Singapore
Business traveler
1 Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Not a grand hyatt standard”
Location
Service staffs were all below a minimum grand hyatt standards.
Reviewed March 02, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Debbie from United States
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Excellent location and value”
location; professional/friently staff; value
excellent - will definately recommend and plan on booking upcoming trips at this hotel!!!
Reviewed February 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Katie from United States
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
An introduction to New York City”
Centrally located, helpfulness of staff, food at hotel's restaurant
This was my first time to New York and it was an amazing visit. Part business, part leisure. The location made it super easy to get around. The room was spacious and comfortable with a good view of the city.
Reviewed February 10, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Pey from Australia
Family with young children
Club King Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
good experience”
location comfort and clean
God
Reviewed February 05, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Jasma from United States
Group
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
birthday blizzard 2015”
location, staff, location
Besides the blizzard it was great.
Reviewed February 01, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
glenn from United States
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
A place to stay”
Location, courteous staff, comfort
Reviewed January 31, 2015
7.0
Very good
Richard from United States
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Agonda and hyatt”
Location
It was great but the agonda.com through hotels tonight didn't hook into the hyatt system so they had to book it at the front desk... Now I have 2 charges on my card for the same night and I have to dispute it with the CC company
Reviewed January 29, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Tom from United States
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Another great stay at the Grand Hyatt NYC”
1. Location 2. Comfort of rooms 3. Gym
We had another great stay. Love the location.ve the gym. Really like the changes made to the rooms since our last visit (e.g., temperature and lighting controls; HD television).
Reviewed January 28, 2015
6.7
Good
David from Australia
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Aging hotel, still Hyatt standard”
Location and helpful staff as expected with Hyatt
In middle of NY winter the old room heaters just could not really keep the room warm, and when they're on full it becomes very uncomfortably dry. Despite asking twice they did not have a humidifier available so I wasted a lot of water running the shower (which was also only like warm) to overcome the dryness a bit. If you're used to a cold climate this might be Ok but if not I'd avoid this Hyatt in winter. Also the mail room charges $5 or $10 to receive packages, something I've never encountered at any other hotel. Overall it's still quite a good hotel and the staff always do their best.
Reviewed January 20, 2015
6.3
Good
Sakura from Japan
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015
Doesn't deserve 4 star rating”
Location and relatively approachable staff.
I was very disappointed to see a Grand Hyatt hotel group can have inconsistent quality. I know a few good ones like the one in Tokyo, but this one in NY grand central is a failure. Arrived at 2am on a freezing night of January, and they didn't have a room ready due to stuffing issue. It took 45mins to get a room, which felt longer as I had just come out from a 25 hours flight. No hot shower after midnight for my entire stay, ice cold water every time I got back from a long day at work. Room service took a long time to answer even at off peak hours. They even charge if you want to leave a luggage for a few hours. The queue at check out was ridiculously long. They had about 6 front desk counters, but there were only two (and eventually 3 while I waited) serving a long queue. It was at 9am on Friday. You dont need to be a hotel expert to expect a busy morning. Why didnt they get more staff to serve, rather than let the queue to grow longer and longer right in the middle of the lobby. There are too many thing that made me wonder how they got to call themselves a four star hotel. Hotel staff are friendly in general who were also generous with their apology when something went wrong. But friendly staff alone doesnt make it a good hotel. They have too many operational problems to fix. I would call it a big hotel in a big city with mediocre quality. Star-wise, I would rate it three, definitely doesn't deserve four.
Reviewed January 18, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Linda from United States
Solo traveler
1 Queen Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
See NY without the hassles ”
Location, room comfort, friendly bar staff
Reviewed January 11, 2015
6.7
Good
Lai from Singapore
Solo traveler
2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Not so good service”
Great location, comfortable room and 24-hour cafe right at the lobby
Grand Hyatt offers comfortable room. The lobby was very nice and there is a 24-hr cafe right at the lobby and the prices are reasonable. However, getting the wifi was a hassle (only available at the lobby). Why will a 4-star hotel charge for wifi, especially when the room rate per night is so high? Then, the check in counter was slow and seriously understaffed. We had to wait at the line for quite a while before being served (two staff were on duty). There should be a separate desk for current occupants/guests at the hotel, to answer to their queries, rather than joining the queue together with the rest.
Reviewed January 08, 2015
8.0
Excellent
KANVIPHA from Thailand
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 11 nights in December 2014
Nice hotel to stay in NYC”
Location
Very good and will be back again.
Reviewed January 05, 2015
6.3
Good
David from United Kingdom
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
New Year Vacation”
Location, location lication
Small room, functional but failed to clean room for last day of stay
Reviewed January 03, 2015
7.0
Very good
Voon from Malaysia
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 9 nights in December 2014
Good location”
Good location, decent size rooms and helpful staff
Excellent
Reviewed January 01, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
SHAMIM from Bangladesh
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
EXCELLENT LOCATION IN NEW YORK CITY”
NICE LOCATION, EXCELLENT RESTAURANT, CLEAN ROOM
Reviewed December 23, 2014
6.0
Lucky from United States
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014
they did not clean room very well. ”
rational price, vaforable location, close to the subway station
Free coffee from market
Reviewed December 09, 2014
7.7
Very good
John from United States
Family with young children
2 Double Beds
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
a”
b
c
Reviewed December 01, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Wayne from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Great Location ”
Location, good rooms, efficient
Enjoyed our stay, would use this hotel again.
Reviewed November 25, 2014
6.3
Good
Gregory from United States
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
unclean rooms, noisy on 23rd floor”
location, location, location
Was surprised the Hyatt hotel group would allow a stellar location like this to descend into uncleanliness. Our room was billed as a "grand king" and yes, the bed at least was king size. The room was full of stains and dirt from years (it appears) of glossing over the cleaning process. We were on the 23rd floor and the street noise was deafening due to the window construction. The room was constantly hot despite adjust the thermostat down. The bathrooms were incredibly tight and poorly planned (ie: water handles under a tight shelf).
Reviewed November 17, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Margaret from Australia
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Central location, very helpful concierge ”
Central location, very helpful concierge and the bed was extremely comfortable
Great stay over all. Will choose Grand Hyatt again.
Reviewed October 03, 2014
5.0
Ajahn from United Kingdom
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Good location”
Location, Room Size, Bed
Great location. Quite pricey
Reviewed September 22, 2014
6.7
Good
Spiro from Australia
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Quite impersonal and not really at the standard ex”
Location to amenities. good sized rooms,
If you are after a place to sleep in mid town NYC without any fuss or high expectations on service then this property does the trick.
Reviewed September 18, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Artha from Indonesia
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Perfect”
Location, location and location
Perfect
Reviewed July 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Darneece from United States
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Comfortable and relaxing”
Location Staff
Good and short and expensive. I probably wouldn't stay again for the price. The room was small.
Reviewed July 14, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Ann from United States
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Very nice hotel”
location, cleanliness, staff helpfulness and courtesy
excellent
Reviewed June 16, 2014
4.3
John from United States
Couple
Executive King Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
just ok”
location
just ok
Reviewed June 10, 2014
6.7
Good
Sean from United States
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
NYC Grand Hyatt”
Location
I would say that the overall experience of the hotel was great. The room was very modern and kept very clean. The only knock I had on the room was that the shower seemed to need a facelift. The floor of the shower had seen better days, but as I said this did not have a negative impact on our weekend. Room service was pretty poor. It took an hour for them to deliver a small bottle of shaving cream. The manager was very apologetic and sincere in their tardiness. The location of the hotel is great. It's in midtown and adjacent to Grand central station. Surrounding area is great with shops and restaurants.
Reviewed May 27, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jo-Ann from United States
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Excellent hotel location, clean, quality service”
Clean Location Service
Excellent and will go back soon! Love the rooms and very comfortable and not small as many hotels in NY
Reviewed May 22, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Everest from United States
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Big Birthday Celebration”
Central location, Comfortable Room, Friendly staff
Very nice- we had adjoining rooms with our adult children, in for my wife's birthday celebration .
Reviewed May 05, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
weixing from China
Family with young children
1 Queen Bed
Stayed 7 nights in February 2014
Wonderful stay”
Lobby, Room and service
Reviewed February 26, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Fred from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Great Christmas stay in heart of Manhattan”
The location at Grand Central station is fantastic, loads of shops and eating places. Large room and executive club facilities and food very good.
Loved our stay over christmas 2013, the large room and the free drinks and snacks made for a very enjoyable visit to central Manhattan, Great staff, friendly and attentive. Great alround city hotel
Reviewed December 29, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Rinolva from Indonesia
Family with young children
Club King Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Great Location”
Location, next to grand central station, spacious room
We loved the location, being right beside Grand Central Station, and we were able to walk to Bryant Park, Times Square, and the Rockefellar Centre.
Reviewed December 29, 2013
6.0
John from United Kingdom
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
A little disappointing”
location, excellent steak, proximity to shops
The room was far more basic than I had expected and in need of a makeover.
Reviewed December 16, 2013