Book Now: Grant Plaza Hotel

Good
From 154 reviewsSee what guests said
6.9
Recommended by 86% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (154)Booking.com Reviews (2059)
6.9
Good
From 154 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.9
Facilities6.2
Location8.4
Room comfort and quality6.4
Service7.0
Value for money7.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Français
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Double Room
Twin Room
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 132 verified guest comments
7.3
Very good
Tomaso from Canada
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
First time in San Fran”
Location could not be beat, staff were very welcoming and accommodating and last but not least it was a very affordable stay.
It was great, the hotel could use a few more touches though. It would have been nice to have had a mini fridge in the room and an ironing board. Other then a few small things value for dollar was there especially considering the alternatives you could be paying during peak tourist season.
Reviewed August 05, 2015
7.3
Very good
Radu from Romania
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Would stay again”
Newly renovated, location, value for money
Reviewed July 01, 2015
6.3
Good
Sin from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Casual short trip”
good location, fair price, friendly staff
this hotel is perfect if you do not plan to rent a car as it is pretty close to the main downtown. And it charges affordable price. But the room is pretty small and with no air conditioning.
Reviewed June 24, 2015
8.3
Excellent
toru from Singapore
Family with young children
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Grant plaza hotel San Francisco”
Nice staff, clean room, in front of China town
Reviewed June 02, 2015
7.7
Very good
Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
plain city hotel”
lacation, good staff
Reviewed May 21, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Ann from Ireland
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Fab holiday”
Ideal location, very helpful staff and good clean hotel room
Had a great stay found the staff really helpful with a very welcoming manner hotel was very central close to the centre of the city would recommend this hotel to family and friends
Reviewed May 09, 2015
4.7
Carla from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015
Not the Best... Not the Worst”
Close Enough to Union Square
We arrived to the hotel a little bit early and were able to check in which was great. The hotel is under renovations so the reception area is quite cramped. They didn't do renovations on the weekend which was good. The room looked better then in the photos as we got a renovated room I presume. It was quite small though, but most hotel rooms are in San Fransisco. The bathroom was quite nice as it had been fully revamped. The bed was TINY though. I'm not tall by any means and my feet hung off the bed. They have daily housekeeping service which was fantastic, however they didn't speak English. We had a problem with the hot water in the shower for the first few days. It was Luke warm at best. We told the staff and they came and looked at it after 2 days. (We had the Do Not Disturb sign up and he still knocked and just walked into our room) The walls are very thin. You can hear everything going on outside your door. As it's an older building so the floors creak quite badly. The staff at the counter never looked up to greet us when we left the hotel or came back which isn't the worst thing ever but common courtesy goes a long way. We checked out at 12:30pm and our flight wasn't till 11:00pm. They were able to keep our suitcases there until we left which was a nice touch, seeing as though I didn't want to lug it around the city. It was however off to the side of the construction area behind a privacy screen. Overall the hotel is what it is.... A cheap option not to far from Union Square. (Mind you it's about a 3 block walk away) If you want fancy stay in Union Square and pay more.
Reviewed May 07, 2015
2.0
Randy from United States
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
don't stay there. ”
Crappy room. Very cheap all the way around.
Reviewed February 09, 2015
4.3
Masheal from United States
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
The hotel does not come across my expectation.”
No comment.
It was not as I expect. The good thing is that we stayed for one night.
Reviewed January 12, 2015
6.3
Good
Tjong from Indonesia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Great location, but the room is to small”
Location, location, location
Reviewed January 02, 2015
3.3
anders from United States
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Bug bites”
Location,
Reviewed December 14, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Harry from Malaysia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
great location ”
location and cleanliness.
Reviewed December 06, 2014
2.0
Alexandra from Germany
Group
Double Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
horrible,associal,harshly,unfriendly,rude”
-
Unexpected costs.rude and harsh employees.not like the pictures online.dirty.stinky although "non-smoking-room". big problems after and while cancelling rest of stay.lying to us.never ever again.not willing to help.bad and unsecure parking situation.badest hotel we've ever been to.making bad comments on us.
Reviewed November 30, 2014
8.3
Excellent
LIM from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Great value”
Staff service, location, rates
I was happy with my stay at this hotel. Room was small however for what you pay it is acceptable. The staff were pleasant to deal with always. Location wise the hotel is well placed, with the nearby Chinatown being a great place for shopping and food.
Reviewed November 23, 2014
6.3
Good
MIYUKI from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
good location”
location, cost-performance, bath
it takes about 10min on foot from nearest BART station because of the slope, but it locates in China town, so it's good to look around and go to the restaurant. the best thing is cost-performance as staying safe place in SF.
Reviewed November 18, 2014
5.0
Dabal from Nepal
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in September 2014
Good location”
The location is very good. The hotel is average.
Reviewed October 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Reena from Singapore
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Good stay”
Location, reasonably priced
Good
Reviewed September 23, 2014
5.7
Christine from Malaysia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Convenient location”
location, friendly staff
Hotel is located at the chinatown, step out few blocks you will hv plenty choices of chinese foods, & convenient store to get fruits n drinking water. Cable car pick up point is at 2 blocks away, easy to hop on. hotel room wise, as ive read the reviews b4 so im kinda prepared that small room space, cracking bed sound and also poor room sound prevention. Bathroom shower head is power, that's what I like the most after alongday spent out, nice shower is needed indeed! Price wise it is kinda high on average however that's one of the best choice (queen bed w bathroom) available in downtown centre..
Reviewed September 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
jim from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Great staff. Nice location. Clean.”
The staff were helpful. I liked the location being on the edge of Chinatown. The room and bathroom were real clean.
The main problem to me is it was too noisy. The floors creak more than usual. I could hear people talking in the next room. I didn't sleep so well for my 2 nights.
Reviewed September 09, 2014
6.0
Kelly from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Good location”
Location
The photos on the Agoda website are very flattering of this hotel. My room was tiny & the I'm not sure if it would meet safety standards, if there was a fire. You can here EVERYTHING in surrounding rooms, every step. And the building definitely needs some love. But, it's in a good spot.
Reviewed September 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Miranda from Australia
Family with teens
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Great convienient and economical stay”
convenience, helpfullness, economical
We arrived very late but our check-in went well. Our room was basic but clean and tidy with hot showers. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and the staff were helpful, friendly and gave us the assistance we needed. Convenient location to the shops and the main parts of the city.
Reviewed July 27, 2014
5.3
Shandelle from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Simple, budget hotel in great location.”
Location, price, access to BART system.
Perfectly fine.
Reviewed July 22, 2014
6.7
Good
Jasmine from Singapore
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Good location in the downtown area”
Location, hassle-free, and a working wifi.
-
Reviewed July 19, 2014
7.0
Very good
KYE from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in May 2014
Supper location, friendly staff”
Good access to local traffic, walking distance to most tourist sight, close to airport by train ( BART ), good local food around, right in China Town,
Not to good at all. I was stayed in 8 / fl., it was very noisy because anyone step out the elevator, you knew it right away. All building floor was built by wood, that if you step on it, you can hear the noise zzzzz immediately. All day and night like this. I must very slowly in CAT walk motion moving around my room. The first day I did check in very late around 11:30 pm, when I was moving around my room, the room UNDER my room I.e. 7/fl., used a stick or ... To snap on his ceiling to tell me to stop all motions. All floor and wall are made of WOOD, it is a very old building. The last night was the worst one because someone was talking in ... Language very noise till 2-3:00 in the morning. The only good thing is the location, but this hotel is not cheap. I paid USD ~ 500.00 for 5 night. For a small room with one single bed, NO refreightor, very old room and bath room yeh..... I will not recommend to stay in this hotel at all.
Reviewed June 01, 2014
3.7
Lucie from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Loud, small rooms, thin walls, not in a good area”
Straightforward check in and out, no queues
Not recommended, the rooms are really small and double beds are 140cm, not 160cm. Walls are paper thin. Could hear everything from the neighbouring rooms, including a few acts of passion. Gross. The location, although close to union square and shops, is not recommended. Downtown San Fran is pretty rough and gross, and you'd be better off staying closer to fisherman's wharf IMO.
Reviewed May 17, 2014
7.3
Very good
Sam from Singapore
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Basic comfort and budget are satisfactory”
Good location, inexpensive and friendly staff
Satisfactory
Reviewed May 14, 2014
7.3
Very good
Supaporn from Thailand
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Great location”
Good staffs, great lication, close to all the activities
Great, will stay here again, great lication for sightseeing
Reviewed May 07, 2014
6.3
Good
Cindy from Taiwan
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
The room is fine with the price.”
Friendly front desk, wifi access, price
Reviewed May 04, 2014
5.7
Pin-chia from Taiwan
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
A good deal.”
Inside Chinatown.
Reviewed April 29, 2014
7.7
Very good
Ran from United States
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
Worth the money”
Location, room facility, fast and easy check-in
Everything Ok. It's noisy because the good location.
Reviewed March 22, 2014
7.0
Very good
PUI from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
This hotel is convenient to go out or eat. ”
Convenient, low cost and
Reviewed March 06, 2014
7.3
Very good
Choon from Malaysia
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Affordable”
Location
Affordable and adequate hotel. Good location within walking distance to Union square, financial district and cable car.
Reviewed February 11, 2014
6.7
Good
Tsee from Singapore
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in January 2014
Comfortable and friendly hotel”
Value for money, location and clean
No issue with check in and check out. Small room but clean and hot water has good pressure. No air con but has heater. Bed is fairly comfortable. Service is good. Internet ok speed. Provide coffee only in morning at lobby. No coffee in room. Common fridge and microwave to ask at reception. In Chinatown area, so great if you like Asian food. Nearby union square and financial district.
Reviewed January 17, 2014
6.3
Good
KA from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Good location”
Good location, friendly staff , nearby china town
The room was pretty small , bed is not comfortable .
Reviewed December 25, 2013
5.7
Hector from Mexico
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in December 2013
Average hotel”
location, location, location
The hotel doesn't offer many amenities. It's poor like the majority of hotels in San Francisco The room is small. If you are tall(large) person, you may have problems with the bed and shower. No coffee machine in the room neither water bottles. The only advantage is its location. It's pretty close to Union Square, Chinatown and the subway station is not far.
Reviewed December 17, 2013
7.3
Very good
Suchada from Thailand
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
Comfortable stay, easy walk to different places ”
In China Town, close to restaurants, easy walk to different places
Close to all the places I wanted to go, beautiful city, great food
Reviewed December 04, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Prapote from Thailand
Business traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Grant Plaza Hotel”
Simple and clean room with free wifi
It is in china town. There is only one elevator in the hotel. The room is simple, clean and not too spacious. This is considerably a budget hotel in china town. There is a very famous chinese restaurant named R & G. The food over there is second to none. The cod fish, honey pork and duck is excellent!
Reviewed November 06, 2013
5.7
JOSEFINA from United States
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Clean enough and centrally located”
location, location, location
The hotel is centrally located, just where Chinatown begins. It's near good restaurants and neighborhoods like Little Italy. Unfortunately, the room and its facilities are in poor condition. I won't stay there again.
Reviewed October 28, 2013
7.0
Very good
FRANCES from New Zealand
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
AVERAGE HOTEL BUT GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY”
STAFF ,SITUATION ,COST
We found our first room was dark and looked across an internal area to other rooms .We had no problem changing our room to a lighter room with a view .All staff were very helpful and pleasant .Our large amount of luggage was pleasantly stored for us before we left on a night flight .There was no problems with the airport shuttle that the staff booked for us .Do not expect an upmarket hotel . Good value for money .
Reviewed September 11, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Nga from China
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2013
Comfortable ”
Hot water for taking shower, clean, good location
Good location. Easy transportation to the main attraction. It's located near china town. Many different restaurants are around that area. The staff are helpful.
Reviewed August 30, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Loc from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
Small but clean room in central, safe location”
Clean, central, safe
The price is right because, although the room was very small, it was clean and I am glad they had finally threw away the old, smelly and goosebumps inducing nylon blankets. My room got clean white cotton sheets and blankets and the bathroom got new appliances. Chinatown is very safe and although busy in the daytime, turns quiet at night. The hotel is not luxurious, but the price is right.
Reviewed August 09, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Loc from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Small but clean room in a central location”
In the heart of safe Chinatown, clean room, quiet at night
This was my third time staying at this hotel and the quality has improved a great deal: they have replaced the ugly and uncomfortable nylon blankets with white cotton ones. The room is now also cleaner and the bathroom got new appliances. The rooms are very small if you book a single room, but the bathroom is comfortable enough. All in all, it is money well-spent, especially when it is right in safe Chinatown that turns quiet late at night for you to have a decent sleep. The only problem was I could never get on Wifi in my room. There is also a tv with CNN in the room which is important for you to catch up with the latest while not at home. I would stay there again, unless they raise the price.
Reviewed August 09, 2013
6.0
SHENG-YUAN from Taiwan
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Good location but room is small”
location, location & location
Reviewed June 25, 2013
6.7
Good
Serene from Malaysia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Clean room and great location”
clean room, friendly and helpful staff
Reviewed June 10, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Jane from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Fantastic location for the price paid!”
Location and Price
Reviewed June 09, 2013
4.3
HOOI from Malaysia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
poor and run down hotel”
strategic location
horrible experience. Poor and run down hotel not worth the money. small bathroom difficult to turn around when taking bath.
Reviewed May 18, 2013
7.3
Very good
Stephane from France
Solo traveler
Double Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013
Good value for good location”
Location Free Wifi
Very good location in downtown SF. Free wifi available. Clean room. Check-in and out was fast and without issue.
Reviewed April 11, 2013
6.3
Good
Laura from Australia
Business traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
Cheap and cheerful, if a little noisy”
Great location, basic but clean rooms, lots of natural light
Room was fine - pretty basic but clean. The hotel is old and a bit worn around the edges but perfectly fine as an affordable, central base to explore San Fran. Internet was good and free. Main issue was that the hotel is quite noisy - you can hear everything anyone says in the hallway and the floor above creaked a lot, plus there was some noise from the street. I didn't have trouble sleeping but you might if you're a light sleeper.
Reviewed April 10, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ran from United States
Business traveler
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Excllent location and quality”
Location, low price and cleanliness
Reviewed April 03, 2013
6.7
Good
Chomplearn from Thailand
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
good location but small and old room”
near China Town
Good Location -- near China Town. But small and old room.
Reviewed March 09, 2013