Book Now: Gusde House

Very good
From 27 reviewsSee what guests said

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (27)
Very good
From 27 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Room comfort and quality7.9
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Room type
Deluxe Garden View
Private Pool Villa
Deluxe Pool View
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 26 verified guest comments
Rhian from Australia
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Quiet, clean hotel with old world charm
Relaxed, spacious, quiet but not far to the town
I really enjoyed my stay there. The rooms were spacious and had a nice view over rice fields. There is a pool (not quite finished when we were there), but it should be finished soon. The breakfasts were excellent, cooked on order in the morning and different everyday.
Reviewed July 16, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Nuraidila from Malaysia
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Private location, attentive service
Very private location, big room and patio, nice open air bathroom, great views as located in the middle of rice fields, attentive service
Architecture of the place allows for a lot of privacy, we didn't notice the other guests. It was very quiet and peaceful, even though they were constructing a pool just in front of our cottage. The cottage comes w a lovely patio and a big bathroom with open air pool/tub. But don't worry about being too exposed, it's surrounded by foliage and a tall retaining bamboo wall. The cottages have a very nice rustic feel. The cottages are also located in a nice area, surrounded by rice fields. Shame they had already harvested when we were there, otherwise it would have been emerald green everywhere. The service was attentive without being intrusive. As the place it a bit far out from the town centre to walk, we asked if we could rent a bike and one was provided to us within 15 minutes of us asking. It cost us IDR50,000 a day. Breakfast was served at the patio--eggs with toast, tropical fruits and fresh juice. Good size helping. Only downside is that it's a bit far out of town. Quite a walk. But ok if u can ride a motorcycle/scooter or ok to cycle out. It's about 5-10 minutes drive to town. (maybe less...)
Reviewed July 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
MOHAMMAD from Malaysia
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Out of the way but peaceful
Very quiet with padi fields all around
gusde was present to greet us on arrival which was a nice touch. as there was no one else we got upgraded to the family villa. this is the only villa with a pool. the remaining villas are of a different design with a lounge to hang out on the ground floor. the family villa has a bale instead. be sure as to your selection of villa. the villa is about 10 minutes by car south of hanoman street and the villa does provide free shuttle back and forth to town. this is necessary as there are no restaurants nor shops near the villa. walking it is a possibility but only for the fit and hardy - there's a steep slope to overcome. not good if you have elderly folk with you. for the price it was a bargain and if you're out and about then it makes more sense as its just a bed for the night. and a comfortable one at that too. but if you choose to stay make sure you have a good book to read or good company as there's little else to do.
Reviewed June 22, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Jasmine from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Quaint village house feel
privacy, quiet, kampung (village) environment, personal butler service
I stayed in Gusde House with my family (6 adults and 1 child) from 16 to 18 May. Overall , we loved the setting and location of our private house which was just right next to green paddy fields although our driver had difficulty locating the place on our first night. Our two bedroom village-style house came complete with a kitchen, open verandah housing a dining and separate living area. To access our house, we had to walk through a pleasant and beautifully landscaped garden path. We hardly noticed our neighbours, that's how thoughtfully laid out the houses were! The beds were comfortable. Linen and towels provided were clean. However, the en-suite bathroom on the first level had low water pressure whilst the shower/bathtub en-suite downstairs had an open concept. Not something for the modest, non-exhibitionist types as the first level balcony provided a clear view of the lower floor shower area. On the first night, everyone who entered the lower floor bathroom had a fright as there was a Buddha carving placed on the wall overlooking the shower/bathtub. I hope Gusde House management would consider relocating that. It was really weird disrobing and showering in front of a Buddha image. Felt almost like blasphemy(!) The breakfast provided wasn't something to write home about. In my opinion, IDR75,000 was quite steep for a slice of toast with scrambled eggs, a platter of local fruits and a glass of local orange juice. We loved out cosy verandah which opened out to the garden. We loved the various plants and trees in the garden and it was thoroughly relaxing. We give it a 8 out of 10 rating.
Reviewed May 22, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Nikki from Indonesia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Hospitable Staff but Unprepared
Located in a very quiet padi field not far from Ubud Centre
they upgraded our 2 bedroom family unit to the 2 bedroom villa but unfortunately they were unprepared for our arrival. only 1 bedroom [lower one] was fully prepared and decorated, while the other rooms [upper one] did not even have pillows. we booked for 5 persons including an extra bed and we had to wait awhile for the bed to come, plus it was raining so we had to wait longer. there were only 2 towels for the lower room, none provided for the upper room. the staffs are very hospitable and helpful, which compensate the bad arrival experience. dont expect too much from breakfast menu because its either fried rice or fried noodles but with freshly squeezed orange juice.
Reviewed March 26, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
matthew from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Cool staff and a peaceful location
Spacious rooms,large entertainment areas with comfortable bed and outdoor bathroom
my stay was a pleasant 3 days in a very large villa room for just one person,great views and gardens,nice breakfast and enjoyable staff.the location is close enough to the nightlife and busier areas of ubud...if you want a great room for a cheap price gusde house was worth it but no pool only if you book the top room etc
Reviewed January 11, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Noah from United States
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Amazing paradise nustled away from the city
Amazing villas, great breakfast
This was a dream location. My wife and I had three nights there and it was exceptional. We had the pool villa and loved every minute of it. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They rented us bikes for a day and showed us where to ride to see rice terraces. This place is not five stars because they don't have millions of staff bothering you with every need. They leave you to yourself. They will give you a phone to call whenever you need anything. We had a car so location was not a problem. However, if you don't they provide transportation. The only downside was there was no restaurant or close places to eat. You can order and they will deliver through their place, or you can use the villa kitchen to prepare your own food. Overall, this place is awesome and I will stay there for sure if I return to Bali.
Reviewed January 04, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Shahirazi from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
Great Place
Good accomodation & service
Lovely place to stay for families as it is isolated & peaceful from the busy Kuta area. But, it is a bit secluded & transportation might be a problem for backpackers
Reviewed December 27, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?|
Yasmin from Germany
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Incredible. Villa between Rice Terraces..
Price, Villa, Location, Pool, Service, everything.
I booked the "one-bedroom-villa with private pool". I am usually too lazy to write reviews, but this guesthouse was so great and since there are so few reviews around, I think I have to. I was hesitant to book the villa because it has only two stars, but forget about that! They probably don't have more stars since they don't have 24-h-room-service etc., which I don't need anyways. The villa lies between rice fields and has a small but beautiful clean pool and an extra breakfast/dining area at the other end of the pool. Interior of the villa is beautiful. Everything looks like the official photos. Seriously, since when does that happen? Breakfast is included, you can choose between American and Indonesian breakfast. Compared to the others breakfasts I had in Bali, it is pretty good (but nothing special). The villa is in Mas, south of Ubud, but don't let that put you off since central Ubud is pretty crowded and free shuttle (15 mins) is included. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Two tiny complaints: - The windows don't have any mosquito nets, so you can't open them at night (well at least I didn't) - Maybe a small fridge within the villa would be nice, though I didn't really need it So book it now. Or no, wait, maybe don't because then it might be fully booked when I want to go for next time. :)
Reviewed October 18, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?|
Scott from United States
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Lovely countryside cottage with brilliant service
Gorgeous surroundings, friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast, free shuttle service to central Ubud
gusde has created a little oasis outside of central ubud. his attention to detail and the serenity of his property was a welcome respite after the fun madness of kuta. the two bedroom cottage doesn't have a pool but my friend and i were content to just relax in the spacious open air living area and just zone out in the evenings. gusde is happy to arrange transportation and tours and the driver he provided for us gave us an outstanding trip to the largest rice terrace in bali, a royal temple, and we capped it all off with sunset at tanah lot. breakfast is included and is very tasty and shuttle service is provided to gusde's (fantastic) restaurant bali pesto on monkey forrest road in ubud. wifi wasn't available in our cottage but is free to use in the restaurant in town. we were gusde's first american guests but he's consistently busy and the german tourists we met seemed to really enjoy staying with him as well. he's expanding his business and constructing a new building so some hammer and saw noises are to be expected but mostly you'll be serenaded by chickens, crickets, and the occasional monkey howl. highly recommended.
Reviewed August 16, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?|
domitille from France
Deluxe Pool View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
nous avons eu la mauvaise chambre la première nuit : pas d eau chaude, chambre sentant l humidité. nous avons eu une superbe autre chambre le lendemain, réactif, navette allant dans le centre, petite piscine , endroit tranquil
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
Natalie from Germany
Deluxe Garden View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
Ruhiger und entspannter Aufenthalt in der Nähe von Ubud
Das Gusde House befindet sich 2 km vom Zentrum von Ubud entfernt. Die Unterkunft bietet einen kostenlosen (zu bestimmten Zeiten, außerhalb der Zeiten ein kleiner Aufpreis) Schuttle zum Stadtkern an. Dadurch könnten wir Ruhe genießen und waren trotzdem schnell in Ubud, wenn wir dort etwas unternehmen wollten. Das Frühstück wurde frisch zubereitet. Das Personal war immer freundlich und zuvorkommend. Da wir einige Touren gemacht haben war es uns nicht immer möglich das Frühstück in der Unterkunft einzunehmen. Uns wurde ein Frühstück Für unterwegs bereit gestellt. Die WLAN Verbindung war teilweise durchwachsen. Das sollte im Urlaub aber weniger schlimm sein :)
Reviewed April 29, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
Stefano from Italy
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
villa molto bella
la villa e' molto bella ed il servizio molto buono,e' stato molto bello stare li e il proprietario e' molto simpatico e attento al servizio. posso anche consigliare i ristoranti del proprietario dove si mangia molto bene il rapporto qualita' prezzo e' eccellente.
Reviewed September 11, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?|
Dennis from Netherlands
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011
Sfeervol, vriendelijk met een zacht karakter
Rust, ruimtelijk, sfeervol, puur, ontspannen
Heerlijk thuiskomen na een dagje Ubud en (af)gelegen in een omgeving van rijstvelden en rust. Lieve mensen om je heen maken het verblijf nog aangenamer. Je bent wel een stukje bij het centrum vandaan, maar ze hebben een (gratis) dagelijkse transfer van en naar het hart van Ubud.
Reviewed October 09, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?|
Teddy from Indonesia
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
施設はWebでみるものよりもその半分の質だと思います。 ACも無く、カヤ無しでは虫に襲われるし、誇りが多く、掃除をお願いしても”今朝したから"と言われるし、バス・トイレも野外で虫や爬虫類のオンパレード。
Reviewed October 19, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?|
kyunghee from South Korea
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
방을 마음대로 바꾸는 거스드
여행객을 돈으로 보는 숙박시설 필요에 따라 자기마음대로 방을 바꾸는 행위
Reviewed August 06, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|