Book Now: Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel

Very good
From 103 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (103)Booking.com Reviews (331)
7.5
Very good
From 103 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities6.7
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.7
Value for money7.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
1 King Bed
1 King Accessible with Bathtub
2 Double Beds
2 Double Beds Corner
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 85 verified guest comments
8.3
Excellent
Lim from Singapore
Group
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Love it!”
Friendly and approachable staff, central location, comfortable room!
It was a pleasant stay. We arrived late at night for our check-in But it was hassle free and convenient. The hotel staff took initiative to offer us an extra roller bed with no extra charges upon seeing 3 of us. When we checked out the following day, thebhotel helped to stow our luggage and the bell services helped us to hail a cab to the airport. All in all,good service and very central location with metro station nearby.
Reviewed May 31, 2013
8.3
Excellent
APILAK from Thailand
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
good and comfort”
good service
Reviewed April 24, 2013
6.0
Sui from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
2 Queen Access Bathtub
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Grent location”
Service, Location and Nice
Very nice comfortable hotel with friendly staffs. Within walking distance to supermarket. For those who choose not to drive, a few train stations are also nearby which will get you to most of the place of interest. Not much choice of food nearby especially during weekends & evening.
Reviewed April 10, 2013
7.3
Very good
Boon from Singapore
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Lovely hotel”
friendly service
Very nice comfortable hotel with friendly staffs. Within walking distance to supermarket. For those who choose not to drive, a few train stations are also nearby which will get you to most of the place of interest. Not much choice of food nearby especially during weekends & evening.
Reviewed March 03, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
SHIH from Canada
Business traveler
2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Grent location but smll rooms”
very good location
Very good hotel. Nice location the only bad thing is very hard to find restaurant around this hotel and the parking is expensive around.
Reviewed November 30, 2012
7.0
Very good
Cynthia from Australia
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
it was good but location is not great”
nice rooms
hotel is good but as LA is so big next time I will stay closer to the hotel as you need to rent a car anyway
Reviewed November 20, 2012
5.0
Khin from Malaysia
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Over Price And Customer Service To Be Provided”
Comfortable Room
The room is kind of small however it's clean in general for 2 nights stay in LA. The hotel parking is valet type and charges is USD 30++ and there is no complimentary internet in the room. If i remember correctly the charges is USD 20 for 24 hrs internet usage. Over price hotel i would say.
Reviewed November 01, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Lei from China
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
great hotel and best service”
great living condition
The service is very good and the room is very comfortable to stay. Also, nice location in the downtown.
Reviewed October 04, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Master from Indonesia
Family with teens
2 Double Beds
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Great Location”
The Location
the location of this hotel is beyond expectation. i can easily walk down to any shops in downtown. macy is only 2 blocks away and starbucks is just across the road. the space of the room and most of all is the pillow is extremely comfortable. every morning and afternoon, there is always coffee, tea and refreshment. i will definitely come back and stay in hilton checkers. definitely!
Reviewed October 03, 2012
7.3
Very good
Kareen from Australia
Family with young children
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Would stay at this hotel again...”
Close to starbucks, Macy's and
Lovely hotel in the financial district. Macy is just a very close walk away, so is starbucks and a convenience store. Room was spacious and clean. Would recommend and stay at this hotel again.
Reviewed October 02, 2012
5.7
Khin from Malaysia
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Comfortable But Small Room”
Nice decoration
parking is very expensive - valet with tax is about $40 and no complimentray internet access.
Reviewed September 26, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
zhuoran from China
Group
1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
lovely hotel and service”
great location, excellent service
very good location, good staff and facility, parents are all satisfied with the hotel
Reviewed September 08, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Mourina from India
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles Hotel”
Checkin process not so smooth.view not good from lower florrs and too small pool
Checkin process not so smooth.view not good from lower florrs and too small pool
Reviewed September 06, 2012
7.3
Very good
Rhiannon from Australia
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Nice quiet hotel with stunning rooftop pool”
Rooftop pool, quiet location, helpful staff.
We stayed at the Hilton Checkers for two nights and overall enjoyed our stay. This older style establishment has slightly smaller rooms than newer hotels, however we found our room to be comfortable and convenient. The rooftop pool and spa has great views of the skyline and is perfect after a long day of sightseeing.
Reviewed August 28, 2012
6.0
allisya from Malaysia
Family with young children
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
nice hotel”
nice view from roof top
the view from the top is nice. ous trip to disneyland, anaheim from the hotel been a disaster. going to the wonderland transportation was arranged by the staff from hotel. we were charged $100 and were told that was reasonable. coming back from the hotel was really painful, it took us more than 2 hrs as the taxi driver (that we get at the park) was misleaded by gps. however, he was nice to just charged us $80. overall, the hotel is nice but not so convenient. i would said it is over price
Reviewed August 19, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Sebastian from Chile
Business traveler
2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Good hotel”
location is perfect
the hotel is ok, normal for hilton brand, a little old, need to be updated but the location is perfect. easy to go to shopping and sightseen. recommended
Reviewed August 17, 2012
6.3
Good
Ann from United Kingdom
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Great location shame about the room without a view”
Great location
Great location and clean hotel shame the room provided on the first floor did not have a view of LA. I don't class an air conditioning unit a room with a view. Noisy air conditioning unit and poor response to issues.
Reviewed August 15, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Eric from United Kingdom
Group
2 Queen Beds
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
Great hotel. Wonderful atmosphere and great servic”
The beds and pillows were a dream!
We stayed for one week to see LA (we're from London). The location is central, the jewellery district right next door and the metro and bus services a block away. We had a great time. The service was really nice. The guys on security always welcomed us back. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in LA.
Reviewed August 14, 2012
8.0
Excellent
John from United Kingdom
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile”
Courteous and helpful staff
A really conveniently located hotel, just off the freeway giving access to Venice, Hollywood, Santa Monica and a range of museums. The friendly and attentive staff, clean comfortable rooms as well as the range of services and swimming pool made our stay really enjoyable. When we return to this area we will not hesitate in staying here again.
Reviewed July 13, 2012
8.0
Excellent
SUKANYA from Thailand
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
great location”
great location, practical to go around LA
practical location, centrally located and nice hotel rooms with comfortable beds
Reviewed July 10, 2012
7.3
Very good
SUKANYA from Thailand
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
practical location”
central location
comfortable bed, central location but got charged for a slightly late check out
Reviewed July 10, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Lau from Hong Kong
Group
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
good location with excellent service”
location is easy to access
good location with excellent service. the only thing that had upsad me wss they were unable to advance my check in time.
Reviewed April 26, 2012
6.7
Good
Pak from Canada
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Clean rooms and good service”
roof top pool and spa
I had a good stay for 2 days at this hotel. The bed was very comfortable. TV had all the channels. It was too cold for a swim on the roof top pool but I'd definitely go for a swim if it was warmer. Sunday morning the sauna and steam room was both out of order and there were no towels in the spa.
Reviewed March 07, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Nuanporn from Thailand
Group
2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Nice hotel with good service”
service with smiles of staffs
The hotel itself is very fabulous and staffs are also nice. We have very good moment while staying at this hotel. It's not far from subway and public tranportation. Very convenient!
Reviewed December 31, 2011
3.0
Tim from Australia
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Good location but very disappointing stay”
Location
2 night stay while going through LA and going to Disneyland. Man at front desk said there was no wifi in the rooms and that the only way to get to Disneyland was by hotel car or cab. I specifically asked if trains go that way and he said no. I asked another lady and she arranged free wifi in our room. Some online research showed trains went to Anaheim and a $10 cab ride put at us at the front steps of Disneyland. After a 14 hour flight all we wanted was a good sleep. At 645am we were awoken by a ruckus in the corridor. I investigated and found a team of removalists installing new beds in all the rooms on our floor. They were yelling at each other and jumping on the plastic wrapping that the beds came in. We lay awake in bed for 2 hours while listening to their arguements and door slamming. Not exactly the best hotel management for guest comfort. So much for a good sleep. The rooftop pool and hot tub were under construction. Great location for a quick getaway
Reviewed December 30, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Thikumporn from Thailand
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
nice service”
service
Located near by Metro line ,easy for walk and in city center
Reviewed December 16, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
earl from United States
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
Impressive”
timely check in, clean, friendly
while there i was impressed at the time it took to check in i believe was under 2 mins, the door hops were friendly as well as the concierges. the place was immaculate and clean. in-expensive to be located downtown. definitely a place i'd return too.
Reviewed December 13, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Serene from Singapore
Group
1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in November 2011
Exceeded expectations!”
Location, staff
My friends and I wanted a hotel downtown as we didn't know how to drive. Being first-timers to LA, we were told it was very inconvenient if we didn't drive. So we were prepared for the inconveniences that came with travelling by public transport. However, the location of the Hilton Checkers couldn't have been better suited to our purpose! Two red line Metro stations were both less than 7 mins stroll away from the hotel (Pershing Square, 7th St/Metro Ctr). (The red line Metro serves Universal City where Universal Studios is. The red line also takes you to Hollywood Boulevard where you can see the Walk of Fame, the Kodak Theatre and all.) Just a mere 4 min stroll from the hotel doorstep is a public bus that takes you straight to the Citadel Outlets where we spent the entire day. Richard from Reception and Ruben the Doorman were 2 God-sent angels in the City of Angels. They answered our incessant queries with smiles and warmth, every single time. What they didn't know, they were more than willing to check online until they yielded the results needed. They definitely made our stay worthwhile. My 2 friends stayed in one room, and I, in another. We all agreed the room size were just right for 2 people. Not too small like some hotels that I've stayed at. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, bathroom with a bath-tub was the right size. Housekeeping staff were all very warm and helpful. Getting to and from LAX - It might be a good idea to get the hotel to arrange a car to send you to the airport. At LAX we took the Super Shuttle (a shuttle bus that plies the airports and hotels in the city) to the Hilton Checkers. It took about an hour for us to get to the hotel & costs USD$16 per person one way. Waiting time for the shuttle was about 15-20mins. The hotel car worked out to be more or less the same for a party of 3 and we could leave when we wanted and head directly to the airport. The travel time by the hotel car took roughly 25mins.
Reviewed November 24, 2011
7.7
Very good
Brenda from Ireland
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
Really lovely hotel with great staff”
bed linen, pillows, bathroom accessoies and staff
hilton checkers is a really nice hotel. the staff are so friendly, from reception to the bar and restaurant. i will stay there again.
Reviewed November 24, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Kit from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
a 4 star hotel”
comfortable bedding
good hotel with everything fair to be a literally four stars hotel. good location in downtown, lots of bargin parking around during weekends, valet park also available in hotel. near to metro station also. free wifi in lobby but charged in room. very comfortable bedding and bathroom. a sure choice with hotel discount!
Reviewed November 18, 2011
6.0
AH from Australia
Solo traveler
2 Queen Beds
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Quaint hotel located in downtown LA”
Quiet and convenient business hotel, limited eating options.
Hertitage hotel in need of an upgrade, more of a 3 star residence that allows you to have a good night sleep.A bit overpriced given the lack of amentities.
Reviewed October 22, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Michael from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2011
Very Elegant hotel in quiet area”
Very efficient service and excellent food in restaurant
stayed on my own for 4 nights. service is excellent if a little aloof. food in the restaurant is superb but not easy to get a light breakfast. waiting staff know their food and their wine and are happy to give advice. quiet location in financial district but only 1.5 blocks from metro to downtown shops etc.
Reviewed October 12, 2011
6.7
Good
Indriani from Indonesia
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Small room, less than expectation”
Good location
suprised to see the room, expected bigger than the actual. but the large lcd tv helps to reduce the dissatisfaction:) location in downtown is good. convenience store is located near the hotel. as overall, it was a nice stay.
Reviewed October 11, 2011
6.0
Warapong from Thailand
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in September 2011
Room size is OK but not refridgerator”
Privacy
The hotel is fine, the room size and location is downtown. Need to walk a few block to Metro station. No breakfast provided. No refridgerator but ice machince is available. No bath robe and there is a bathtub but the water stopper is missing so couldnt use the bathtub.
Reviewed October 01, 2011
7.0
Very good
denise from Philippines
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011
nice hotel”
Its in downtown and there's starbucks accross
Park either at the back of the hotel or in Paragon Parking as the hotel's valet is expensive. Nice front desk guys and helpful
Reviewed September 27, 2011
7.3
Very good
Mark from Australia
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2011
Nice hotel ”
Great Bed
overall we enjoyed our stay at the hilton. its a short walk to the metro. nice breakfast in the morning. sadly, the room doesnt have a fridge so its hard to have drinks in the room.
Reviewed September 15, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Jamie from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Nice hotel”
Room was big, clean and very comfy
Hotel was excellent and close by to the public transports. However anyone travelling for holidays, I would recommend staying in Hollywood rather than Downtown LA; which is where this hotel is located simply because there isn't much going on in Downtown LA especially during the evenings.
Reviewed September 02, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Wai from Singapore
Group
Stayed 1 night in December 2009
Good location”
Location is central in downtown LA Rooms are comfortable Service is good, free coffee in the morning
No slippers provided in the room Near slums of LA
It is a good hotel to stay. Staff are friendly, the in house restaurant is good, opposite is located a nice coffee outlet, great for breakfast In general, a good hotel keeping with the standards of Hilton
Reviewed January 20, 2010
6.3
Good
Sachin from India
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2009
Nice Hotel ”
Clean and beautiful rooms Nice zym
View is not great Very expansive...
Hotel is good if u have nice money that u can spend. Otherwise for a general stay this is very expansive and you can get better hotels in the town.
Reviewed December 13, 2009
7.3
Very good
Anja from Germany
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Gutes Hotel für Downtown”
Netter Service
Das Hotel ist gut für die Erkundung von Downtown
Reviewed June 02, 2014
7.7
Very good
keiichi from Japan
Solo traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
天井や壁が薄い”
清潔、備品、スタッフの対応
深夜に上部階の宿泊者の振動で眠ることができなかった。翌日、部屋を変えてほしいとお願いして、部屋を変えてもらった。壁が薄いように感じた。
Reviewed September 25, 2014
6.3
Good
AMANO from Japan
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
便利でこじんまりとしたホテル”
仕事場所から近い、レストランに近い、コンビニが近い
コンベンションセンターに行くために使用しました。ホテルはそこそこ綺麗で、ベッドも良かったです。 ドライヤーも部屋に備え付けられており、アイロンとアイロン台も部屋についていました。風呂用石鹸は、マッサージ出来る形の石鹸でした。 ただ、難点も。まず冷蔵庫が部屋にありません。近くにコンビニがあるのですが、買ってきても冷やすことができません。また、Wifiは有料です。
Reviewed July 10, 2014
7.3
Very good
shota from Japan
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
clean!”
Clean&good location
地下鉄の駅も近く、夜到着したが周辺にコンビニやレストランもあった。バス停までも徒歩圏内でサンタモニカビーチなどへも出かけることができた。
Reviewed February 02, 2013
6.7
Good
MAURIZIO from Italy
Couple
2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
プチゴージャス”
お部屋はきれいでした
チェックイン時にagodaの予約が見当たらないとのことでしたが、柔軟に対応してくれました。街まで少し遠いです。
Reviewed January 19, 2013
8.0
Excellent
MOMOKO
Business traveler
1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
快適なホテル”
食事もおいしい
二回目の滞在でしたが、快適でした。広いホテルではありませんが、アメニティなども品質がよく、安心して使えます。館内のレストランも利用しましたがとてもおいしかったです。お部屋にセキュリティボックスがないので、もしかしたら不便に感じる人もいるかもしれません。1階に自由に利用できるセキュリティボックスがあったので私はそれで十分でしたが。 どこにアクセスするにも比較的便利な場所にあります。コンビニやスターバックスも近くにあるので便利でした。
Reviewed April 23, 2012
8.0
Excellent
yoko from Japan
Group
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
アメリカらしい、純白のホテル。”
アメニティセットのセンスがいい
ヒルトンにしては非常に小さいホテル。屋上にジムやプールがあってここからの景色は素敵だった。アメニティはいいものがおかれているけれど部屋のWIFIは有料。ただしビジネスセンターのインターネットは無料。
Reviewed February 05, 2012
7.7
Very good
Yuki from Japan
Group
2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
ロケーションはいいが、部屋が少し狭い”
スタッフが親切でサービスが最高でした
女友達2人と旅行をした際に利用させてもらいました。 場所がダウンタウンにあるので、便利ではありますが 夜はすこし治安が悪いなと感じました。 ホテル自体はロビーも部屋もとても清潔感があったのですが 3人部屋にしては少し狭いかな?とい感じです。 それでもスタッフの方はわからないことがあっても 丁寧に教えてくれ、近くの美味しいレストランなども 教えてくれ、とても満足できました。
Reviewed January 22, 2012
7.3
Very good
Takashi from Japan
Couple
1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
こじんまりとしてサービスの良いホテルです”
ふつうによいホテルです。
近くにおいしいレストランがあり、ラッキーでした。 コンビニも近くにあり、非常に便利なホテルです。 フロントの対応も翌日のサンタモニカへのバスでの行き方に、PCの画面を出してくれて丁寧に説明してくれ、わかりやすかったです。 価格的にも非常にリーズナブルです。
Reviewed August 21, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
Nuanporn from Thailand
Group
2 Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
โรงแรมดี พนักงานบริการเยี่ยม”
ความสะอาดของห้องพักและการบริการที่เป็นเยี่ยม
ตอนจองห้องพักจองไว้เป็น double bed แต่เมื่อเข้าพักขอเปลี่ยนเป็นเตียง queen bed พนักงานก็จัดการเปลี่ยนให้ ห้องพักมีเนื้อที่ที่มากพอ ไม่เล็กจนเกินไป สะอาด ห้องน้ำใหญ่ โรงแรมอยู่ไม่ไกลจากสถานีรถไฟใต้ดินเดินทางสะดวก พนักงานทุกคนให้บริการอย่างเป็นกันเอง มีกาแฟบริการตอนเช้าให้ฟรี คุ้มค่าเงินที่เสียไป
Reviewed January 04, 2012
4.0
xiaoxiang from China
Family with teens
2 Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
住Hilton真的让我们心情很差。早上7点钟就敲门要来打扫卫生?有毛病吗?Wi,Fi简直是废”
没有什么好的
Reviewed May 19, 2014