Book Now: Hotel North Beach

Good
From 177 reviewsSee what guests said
6.4

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (177)Booking.com Reviews (1328)
6.4
Good
From 177 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.1
Facilities5.9
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality5.7
Service6.2
Value for money6.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Svenska
Deutsch
more
Room type
Double with Shared Bathroom
One Twin with Shared Bath
Two Full Beds with Shared Bath
Two Twin Beds with Shared Bath
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 167 verified guest comments
2.4
Joseph from United States
Group
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Awful!”
Tiny rooms. Community bathroom. Mosquitos everywhere ready to bite the heck out of you. Rude staff. NO Parking! Definitely won't be back here. Tourists beware!!!
Reviewed June 05, 2016
5.6
SANGSUN from South Korea
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
soso”
public bath, but i dont know reasonable price
Reviewed May 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Thi from Vietnam
Couple
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Good location. Reasonable price”
This is a good hotel with the price. Even the room is small and no air conditions but its location is nice
Reviewed May 11, 2016
6.4
Good
Chi from Vietnam
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Good location”
Good location where you can get to attractive points closely. Very small room, staff is ok. In overall, average at all
Reviewed May 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Solo traveler
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
My stay was Awesome”
I had not one issue with my stay.
Reviewed May 03, 2016
2.4
Shuk from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 7 nights in March 2016
n/a”
n/a
Reviewed April 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Yongquan from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 5 nights in March 2016
good for thIs price”
tidy, good position, relatively cheap
Reviewed April 04, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Lili from China
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Nice location”
Location + Price + Food aroud
Reviewed November 24, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Yi from Taiwan
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Good place to stay for solo traveler. ”
Location. Staffs. Quality of the room.
If u r a solo traveler n don't want to spend too much money on the accomadation I think it's the best place for u to stay. The location of the hotel is good. It's pretty close to Chinatown. Also the major bus stops. The hotel room itself is nice too. U have ur own fridge, TV, sink n microwave. The only thing tht u might need to adjust is Ull have to share restroom n shower with other travelers. But...for me it's all good! :)
Reviewed October 16, 2015
2.0
Joshua from Australia
Couple
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
DO NOT STAY HERE”
We left the hotel immediately after arriving it is nothing short of crack den, all the linen was torren cigarette burn holes through out all of the bedding , showers were not even enter able due to the state of them , staff were rude and could hardly speak English, no one should ever stay here
Reviewed October 14, 2015
6.0
Muath from Saudi Arabia
Group
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
good”
clean nice staff good
great
Reviewed October 02, 2015
6.3
Good
Sandy from Australia
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Short walk to Fishermans wharf”
Staff were very helpful
Communal bathrooms need better cleaning and rooms smell but staff where very helpful
Reviewed September 28, 2015
6.0
An from Vietnam
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
Good location. ”
Good Location. Price reasonabe. Shuttle bus provided (fee charged)
Good
Reviewed September 24, 2015
3.7
Muhd from Malaysia
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
too warm in the room”
location
The room was too warm and without air-conditioning installed in the room. The carpet smell like they have not clean it for decades. However, the hotel is just within few steps to the famous Chinatown.
Reviewed September 23, 2015
4.0
Yi from Taiwan
Group
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Fine location, not friendly staff”
Locaton location n location
It was terrible. Someone kept yelling during the night. The restrooms are not so clean, didn't feel comfortable while using the bathrooms. A female staff wasn't friendly. If I couldn't choose again I wouldn't stay here again.
Reviewed September 13, 2015
5.3
Paulo from Italy
Couple
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Cheap for SF but TINY and shared bathroom w/ 30+”
Location. Price. Helpful staff
The worst hotel of my trip unfortunately. It's cheap relative to SF prices, which is great. Especially for a short stay. But expect to get what you pay for. It's worth investing a little more for a nicer hotel. Tiny room with no space for luggage (it barely fit on the floor next to the bed). Incredibly noisy bed. Bathroom is shared with the entire floor.
Reviewed July 28, 2015
6.0
Brian from United States
Family with young children
Two Twin Beds with Shared Bath
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
don't they read the special requests?”
location, comfortable beds, clean
it wasn't bad, the first 30 minutes aside. but i was amazed to find that my message, explaining our particular situation (i had booked the previous night expressly so i and my family, jet-lagged after arriving from China that morning, could check in at 9 or 10 am and immediately go to bed), had not been read by anyone. they just labelled us 'no show' and took our money. it took 30 minutes for them to assess the situation, find us a room, and straighten out payment. it was 2am China time, and we were paying close to 100 USD a night for a room without a bathroom, and contrary to my wish that we could check in quickly and get to sleep, we had to wait quite a while for them to deal with our situation.
Reviewed July 04, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Jesse from United States
Group
Two Full Beds with Shared Bath
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Affordable, Clean, Simple”
Location, Location, Location
Fine. The common showers and bathrooms are a bit annoying, but we never had to wait to use either. Just not as convenient as having it in your room. We stayed over Pride weekend (and while the Grateful Dead were in town). Everything else was $300-$400 a night in the city, so this was a pleasantly affordable alternative.
Reviewed July 01, 2015
7.3
Very good
EU from Singapore
Solo traveler
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 9 nights in June 2015
Good location. Near chinatown.”
Good location. Safe neighbourhood.
It was pleasant. Basic neccessities. Has microwave and mini fridge. The fridge was not working well. But cant freeze anything ice cream melted, good for drinks and leftover food. Room has no aircon or fan. So if weather is cooling. Room aint so stuff with an open window, but on some days it was warm. Shared bathroom facilities. Choked a few times. Hard to get a toilet to shower in the mornings. Counter staff was helpful. Airport transfer from hotel to airport was affordable too.
Reviewed June 19, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
elisiona from United States
Couple
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
EXCELLENT”
Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfy. Bathrooms are nice and clean
It was great
Reviewed February 09, 2015
6.3
Good
Chan from Malaysia
Couple
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Simple & basic yet adequate ”
Strategically located, near Chinatown, convenient
Our stay was pleasant although it was quite noisy as the hotel is located at the junction of a busy street. Adequate for backpacker standard, and you can easily get good breakfast at the cafe nearby.
Reviewed December 29, 2014
3.7
chou from Singapore
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
very noisey, no air conditioner, super small room”
shared bathroom, don't have to clean it by yourself. people simply use it and leave it.
Reviewed October 24, 2014
5.7
fang-wen from Taiwan
Group
Two Full Beds with Shared Bath
Stayed 5 nights in October 2014
First choice for nightlife lover”
Good location
Reviewed October 23, 2014
6.3
Good
Annie from Sweden
Group
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
More thank okey”
Location, clean, cheap
Good. Arrived very late but the straff was friendly about it. They helped us with all our needs. Small room but always clean. Shared bathroom but these were also clean everytime I used them. More than satisfied. Would absolutely come back. 3/5
Reviewed October 23, 2014
7.3
Very good
Yaping from United States
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Great location, worth the money”
location, price
Reviewed October 09, 2014
5.7
XING from China
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Good location.”
Location, location location
Average experience.
Reviewed October 05, 2014
6.7
Good
sonia from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Good location”
location location
Reviewed September 29, 2014
4.3
Andreas from Germany
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Very rude staff, not welcoming at all”
location
Unpleasant. Never experienced staff as rude as here, especially the night porter. Cleaning lady knocking on the door at 9am and wouldn't go away. A long list of rules to sign at check in. They don't treat guests with any respect at all but act like heavy handed officers. Only stay here for one night if you can handle this, I thought I could but it really wasn't worth the money after all.
Reviewed September 16, 2014
6.3
Good
Bo from United States
Business traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
Cheap in SF, so not decent”
Chinatown, transportation, safety
Reviewed September 10, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Fabian from Germany
Solo traveler
Two Full Beds with Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Good Value for this Price”
Clean Room
Reviewed September 10, 2014
3.3
Breanna from United States
Couple
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Not impressed. ”
The Chinese next door was yummy
I recently stayed the night with my boyfriend we booked because the reviews were nice and it was close to where we wanted to be. Not knowing the truth. The room was tiny! Smaller then the room I have at my house. The bed was so beyond loud that we couldn't even move around. When booking the room I knew there was a shared bathroom I didn't think it would be an issue until I realized that there was only one toilet and one shower. For one floor that seems ridiculous. We couldn't even go to the bathroom/shower without having someone bang on the bathroom door. There was no paper towels or soap in the restroom and at one point I went in and there was chew all over the floor. The tv was tiny ( maybe 10inches) our room didn't smell or anything so that's nice except it was so beyond hot I was sweating when I was sleeping. We couldn't open the window because it wouldn't stay open. The only thing nice I have to say about this place is that Chinese food next door was yummy.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
4.0
Wesley from United States
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Lame Hotel”
Location.
The front desk staff were terrible.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
4.0
Vanessa from Canada
Couple
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Steer clear, save your money”
Only good thing was location
Overpriced, flies in the hallways, and cramped rooms for more than one person. I understand its an older hotel but man, not worth the money. Bonus, had to listen to a couple getting busy a few rooms down in the middle of the night. That just topped it all off. Will never be back.
Reviewed August 30, 2014
6.7
Good
Michael from Canada
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Have stayed here before will stay here again”
Price, value, location
Overall, this hotel is reasonable for the price. I have stayed here many times before because it is affordable and gives you the accommodations that you require. Just remember that you will have to share bathrooms and the rooms are not air-conditioned. Also the Wi-Fi can be a little sketchy at times. Other than that it is in a great location and is at least half the price of most hotels in downtown San Francisco.
Reviewed August 16, 2014
7.3
Very good
Benjamin from United States
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Great value”
Cheap, location, and cheap
SF is really expensive. If you're staying for a week or two, this place has weekly rates which are a really good deal. I stayed in a few different weekly hotels and this was by far the best. It used to be a college dorm so you'll be staying in cheap dorm rooms, but they are clean, and they keep the bathrooms pretty clean all things considered. Some guests can be loud so if you don't mind the street noise ask for a room on the outside (most rooms' windows face an internal courtyard which captures noise). Staff is friendly but can be a little slow as they do everything by paper.
Reviewed July 25, 2014
7.3
Very good
Jordan from United States
Business traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 5 nights in July 2014
great value for SF”
location, price, location
stayed short term as I am searching for permanent housing in SF, definitely would recommend for that situation. can't find a less expensive hotel in the city either
Reviewed July 17, 2014
3.7
NIKORN from Thailand
Couple
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
room is very narrow and far form toilet”
free internet guiet and clean
not nice. staff not kindly. very small room.
Reviewed July 14, 2014
6.3
Good
Michael from Canada
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
3rd time staying here”
Location Price safety
Stayed here several times. Will stay again. Safe building. Good staff. Not bad rooms. Keep in mind this is a shared environment so bathrooms abd showers are communal. Otherwise its a good deal in my opinion.
Reviewed July 12, 2014
6.0
Michael from United States
Business traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Great location !”
Location ! Location ! Location !
Very convenient location for food and entertainment !
Reviewed July 09, 2014
6.0
Bit from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
t is like a hostel as gusts share bathroom/toilet”
lcation, budget rates, close to restaurants
It offers prvacy but ned o sre bathroom/toiet. The friege as working but ot the microwave oven in the room. Guests ae asked to pa $30 s aeposit ( not tld beforehand).The hote needs an oerhl or renvation. Rooms do ohave air conditioning or even fan ( it could be hot in summer at noon) It is a family run business. Only advantage is heap rtes but pay more to have a decent room.
Reviewed July 09, 2014
5.3
Wesley from United States
Group
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Location was good.”
Location. location. location.
I had to wait 25 minutes to check in despite the fact that there was another staff on duty who didn't check me in. The staff was polite.however very, very slow.
Reviewed July 07, 2014
6.3
Good
Dinesh from India
Business traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
The hotel was clean and well managed .”
Centrally Located in Business District,Close to Public Transport, choice of restaurents
Absolutely nothing to complain about,though it is quite steep for a room of this standard in USA .However it kind of off-sets the price you pay for cab rides in a large city like SF if you are on business.My overall stay was pleasant and the rooms were darn clean.
Reviewed June 28, 2014
6.0
Kart from Estonia
Solo traveler
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Not the freshest looking hotel”
Close to many restaurants, nice area, quiet.
It was ok. Got pretty much what I expected for my money.
Reviewed June 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Marcus from Canada
Business traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Adequate”
Cleanliness, price, location
-room was clean but small -bathrooms are shared but also relatively clean -no A/C -wireless was essentially non-existant on the third floor -damage deposit ($30) was not mentioned prior to arrival (only had CND$) -close to my new workplace and very central downtown to restaurants, chinatown etc.
Reviewed May 23, 2014
5.0
ahmed from Saudi Arabia
Solo traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
dis comfortable, good location ”
location, staff, location
Reviewed May 14, 2014
6.0
Thu from Vietnam
Group
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
central location”
location, airport shuttle, nightlife
The hotel is located between the food-goody Chinatown, the cultural hub North Beach, and the financial district. The room is small and you have to share the bathroom (one person use at a time, no big deal). However, it is quite clean and organized. There's a fridge and a microwave for you to heat your supermarket food if you want, but seriously, it's SF, go out and get some delicious stuffs right outside the door. The airport shuttle is quite convenient and affordable as well.
Reviewed December 05, 2013
5.7
Peng from China
Business traveler
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 6 nights in September 2013
Acceptable”
location, location and location
Reviewed October 22, 2013
7.0
Very good
Foo from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Reasonable and centrally located”
Clean room, near to downtown, with internet access
Overall stay is reasonable, but the room is small. Another inconvenience thing is the bath room is not inside the room. The hotel is located near the downtown and looking for food is not a problem. We used to walk all the way to Pier 39 from the hotel (it takes about 30 minutes walk) but it is worth it as we could explore the city better in this manner (little Italy, Chinatown...) Yes, Pier 39 and the surrounding area is a place not to be missed!
Reviewed October 19, 2013
6.0
Zhenlin from China
Couple
One Twin with Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
An old hotel, but clean and tidy.safe neighborhood”
safe clean convenient
safe neighborhood, great location, room is too small and the bed is not comfy at all, but what can i say, San Fran is expensive!
Reviewed September 16, 2013
3.7
Liwen from China
Solo traveler
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
the worst hotel I've ever stayed”
Hotel North Beach
there's no restroom, bathroom or air-conditioner in the individual room the room is very small for two of us the bed made annoying noise and the most important thing, it's not worthy of hundurd dollar with a bit more money you can stay- it was what we regret for.
Reviewed September 13, 2013