Book Now: Hotel Whitcomb

Good
From 136 reviewsSee what guests said
6.9

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (137)Booking.com Reviews (1096)
6.9
Good
From 137 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.0
Facilities6.0
Location7.5
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service6.8
Value for money7.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Standard King Room
Standard Queen Room
Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 102 verified guest comments
6.0
Chung from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Harassed by top management”
Something happened on the same floor as I stayed and the people in a room were being escorted out for some reason. I was walking back to my room with my partner and the top management person stared at us and said " yeah im the top dog you got a problem with that" something within that nature, I think because of how mad he was from the situation but don't put that negative attitude towards other guest. Just felt really disrespected as a paying guest.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
5.2
Toni from Australia
Group
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Noisy and out of date. To expensive for what you get. ”
Rooms are noisy. Heaters are very noisy and so are the surroundings. Had trouble with the door key system. Not just once but just about every time I left my room. The room needs at the least a kettle for hot water. The area around has lots of homeless people and is rife with drugs. You get asked as soon as you leave the hotel. Not the hotels fault I know but you would not go out by yourself at night. Also the wifi was crap.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
6.8
Good
Craig from United States
Group
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Guest services ”
Not accommodating or helpful
Reviewed February 02, 2017
7.6
Very good
Gill from Taiwan
Group
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
convenient”
great location, you can just tour the city by subway or take the muni outside of the hotel.
Reviewed December 09, 2016
5.2
Siming from China
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 9 nights in November 2016
Near to downtown area and golden gate bridge”
The price is a litttle bit high with respect to the facilities provided by the hotel.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Brooke from United States
Group
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Great Location to Bill Grahm”
The location to the Bill Grahm is perfect. Facilities are small for a normal room with the door opening straight into the room, small walk in closet and small bathroom. Windows are finicky but AC and heat are fine. Overall pleased with my experience. Note that parking is an extra $38 + fees a night and there is no room service but DoorDash, Uber Eats, etc. do deliver!
Reviewed November 28, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Richard from Australia
Couple
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Gracious Art Dec hotel”
On entering you step back in time; marble colonnades and high ornate ceilings. The rooms are clean and comfortable and staff attentive. A magestic hotel in its day and still retains that air.
Reviewed October 23, 2016
6.4
Good
Anna from United States
Business traveler
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Tolerable for the and value”
Would not recommend this hotel but for the good value and decent location.
Reviewed October 23, 2016
7.2
Very good
Amy from United States
Family with young children
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Clean Rooms ”
Remember this is an old building so outlets are in short supply. You are in the heart of down town but if you are going to an even at the Civic Center or the Orphium was a great location. Parking was very expensive there but was right off the BART line and had great access to public transportation of all kinds.
Reviewed October 10, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Jonathan from United States
Group
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Short stay ”
a great pleace to stay.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
7.7
Very good
YUE from Taiwan
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
It's a pretty historical and classic hotel.”
Perfect location,nice n friendly service,comfortable suites.
Recommend for next stay !!
Reviewed February 02, 2016
7.0
Very good
Wai from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
good location”
location, value for money, staff are nice
overall is good, especially location very close to BART station. just 30 mins from airport to this hotel by BART. staff are polite. however room is quite old style, and quite dangerous at night nearby as many black and homeless people around.
Reviewed November 29, 2015
5.7
Tomi from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Beautiful old building ”
Architecture, location close to Bart
Old beds, not very supportive, nice old building, good transport options at doorstep
Reviewed October 25, 2015
4.3
Jean from United States
Family with teens
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Don't Recommend”
Near City Hall
Please read my other review for this hotel. Overall, not good and would not stay here again.
Reviewed April 14, 2015
4.3
Don from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
old hotel”
location location location
Expensive parking, low water pressure, horrible heater/ac
Reviewed March 10, 2015
6.3
Good
Nor from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
good value”
good connectivity
the hotel is right above Bart station so it was convenient to go anywhere. you can also walk to union square which is a pleasant 10-15min walk. there were quite a number of homeless people hanging around in the evenings but that didnt bother us much. the room is a bit dated, but well kept. the lobby area seems posh at first but it is just a simple decent hotel. there we no kettles, hot shower is nothing to brag about. the good thing about the hotel is its connectivity and good value.
Reviewed November 25, 2014
6.3
Good
cheong from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Lovely hotel but small room.”
very near to bart station.....civic center
Lovely hotel...old design....historical building....but the room is small. Clean and comfortable....Starbucks is located at the lobby of the hotel....burger king is opposite the hotel....too many homeless people outside the hotel area at night....especially the park opposite the hotel. Wifi signal at the hotel is weak.
Reviewed June 15, 2012
7.7
Very good
Christine from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in November 2010
Can be Great - but Research Before You Go ...”
Good location for public transport, local food, historic architecture/decor
The Whitcomb is a great option if it suits your needs, but can be disappointing if you have unrealistic expectations. It's a large, old hotel and despite the gorgeous Edwardian era architecture and decor in the common areas, the non-suite guest rooms are a bit spartan. The location is dodgy at best - not outright dangerous, but if you're going to walk around in the vicinity of the hotel be prepared for lots of requests for money, attention, etc. and the occasional bout of screaming. On the other hand, the entrance for BART/MUNI rapid transit is a few steps from the front door of the hotel - use the 8th/Market exit and you can literally see the hotel sign as you come up the elevator. There are bars, restaurants (cross Market Street and walk up Larkin for some good Vietnamese and Thai options) and convenience stores close by and open late. The on-site restautant, while a bit formal-looking from the outside, proved to be a great place for a solo dinner at the bar. For history buffs - do explore the mini museum on the Mezzanine level, devoted to the history of the hotel - which was apparently very glamourous during the 1916-1929 period, after serving temporarily as San Francisco's City Hall in the aftermath of the 1906 earthquake.
Reviewed March 27, 2011
7.7
Very good
Velipekka from Finland
Solo traveler
Stayed 10 nights in January 2011
Good hotel and value for money”
Room was clean
this was my 3rd time in san francisco and i really had a great time there. the hotel was good and staff were polite. next time when i´m coming to san francisco i´ll be staying at this hotel.
Reviewed February 04, 2011
6.7
Good
sukwasa from Thailand
Group
Stayed 9 nights in January 2011
nice the room-pillow & bed are nice”
clean
1. no coffee maker in the room for 8 nights untitl the last night after we asked for--that's bad with this pice
Reviewed February 02, 2011
6.7
Good
Chainarong from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010
Good location, room is quite small for 2 people”
Location near subway, bus stop, nearby grocercy store
Nothing much to eat
Recommend if the price is low, location wise is okay for subway, muni bus, BART. Very few shop for dining. Close to walgreen to buy daily grocery.
Reviewed January 06, 2011
6.7
Good
Mark from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010
Beautiful lobby, good service, nice rooms”
Great historical building, decent location, windows open
No refrigerator, Market Street side can be noisy, slow check-in, hard to unload luggage to car
Overall a nice place to stay, location is not too bad if you go by taxi or public transportation. Easy walk to great shops, restaurants and bars in Hayes Valley. Perfect location to go to shows at the Civic Center. Strangely slow check-in, we were alone and it still took longer than any hotel I have stayed in the past few years, always saw a long line.
Reviewed January 04, 2011
7.3
Very good
gonzalo from Spain
Business traveler
Stayed 7 nights in December 2010
great value for your money”
Standard rooms are great, the ones in the upper floors even have a great view. There is a BART stop direct to the airport just in front of the hotel main entrance. It's just 3 blocks from San Francisco main downtown area.
There are many homeless people in the area (not as many as a few years ago...), but in general it is safe to walk in Market street to the downtown area, which is just a few minutes away.
I arrived one day late because of a missed connection due to weather and they just moved my departure date one day ahead, even though I had to leave when scheduled. In general the hotel staff were extremely nice and upon request they put me in a room in the upper floors with a view. I have been to this hotel many times, and never had a problem. Some rooms are nicer than others (the ones facing outside are better than those facing the inner patio), but in general its a very good value for your money. It is very fast and cheap (8$) to get to the airport, because there is a BART stop right in front of the hotel door, which is great.
Reviewed January 04, 2011
8.3
Excellent
CHAN from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 6 nights in December 2010
A classic hotel ”
convenient location
there are no firidge and coffee pot available
The staff are generally pleasant and helpful. The location is good as it's close to CBD and there is BART station near to the entrance. Overall, I'm satisfied with the services offered, including the reception and room services.
Reviewed January 03, 2011
7.3
Very good
Wei from China
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010
Great location but small rooms”
the history of the hotel
the attitude of the server need to be improved
It is a little noisy. The room is a little small. But it is near to the shopping centre and the traffic is convenient. If I visit this city next time, I will consider ordering the hotel again.
Reviewed December 27, 2010
6.7
Good
Pei from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Great location but small rooms & a tad too old”
Walkable from Civic Centre BART/ Free wi-fi access/ near BART & Muni
A lot of beggars/ tramps etc outside the hotel along the street at night
it's a nice historical hotel outwardly but the walkway & the elevators are old & feels dingy. since it is old, it is not as comfortable as a new modern hotel & it has a strange smell. what i really like about it is that it is really convenient & easy to take the bart from sfo airport to civic centre at $8.10 and walk to the hotel. for someone who is at san francisco for the 1st time, i could easily find the hotel.
Reviewed December 20, 2010
7.3
Very good
Chan from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 2 nights in November 2010
Nice hotel with good location”
The room is big and clean, and with free wi-fi access
The customer service of the staff
This hotel is very nice, it's located near a Bart station and in the heart of the city. The room is big and clean, it has free Wi-Fi access.It's good for this price.
Reviewed November 24, 2010
5.0
HYUNG from South Korea
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010
historical hotel”
none
parking fee
Too old hotel to stay in comportable. Room had specific smell and bed looked like not clean. Staff is not hospitable and arrogant.
Reviewed November 14, 2010
5.0
BOON from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2010
Nice but little old”
walking distance to Walgreens, BART station, Burger King and Starbucks, Hotel's structure lovely
room a little old, front desk staff not too friendly.
overall, ok. However, there is just too many beggers outside the hotel area. Very risky if return late at nite.
Reviewed November 14, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Piyavadee from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010
Great location for anyone who have no car”
The hotel is very close to BART Station (one of transportation in SF) which you can take from SFO Airport to the hotel at very cheap price than others..you can walk to Union Square for shopping and taking cable car at the start point.
Staffs were friendly..I so impress with the owner of shop at the lobby,she's very kind and helpful...For coffee lover, there is Starbuck at the lobby...Recommend this hotel for traveller who have no car and car.
Reviewed November 04, 2010
5.7
Min from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in October 2010
Great location but rooms are dusty”
Allows early check in, good location, near civic center, and fruit market on sunday
Rooms are small, and a bit dusty
Overall it was reasonable considering the price u pay. It's near union square and bus stop and muni metro is just within walking distance. There is a fruit market in front of civic centre on sunday morning, which sells organic fruits at bargain price. My husband found the room very dusty as he sneezes non stop once he is in the room.
Reviewed November 03, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Luis from Philippines
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010
hotel whitcomb San Francisco”
smack in downtown San Francisco, walking distance to shops, cable cars, starbucks at the lobby, bar & restaurant in the lobby
lot of bums surrounding the hotel
Enjoyed my stay here. Staff was really nice and helpful. The hotel is walking distance to a lot of shops. The Orpheum theater is on the opposite side of the street. Parking was hard to find and they charged per day. The shower can only fit 1 person.
Reviewed September 09, 2010
8.3
Excellent
naor from Israel
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010
great location, nice price”
location
small and old room
the hotel is in great aera, next to the bus station to the subway and nice dinner acrost the street. 10 min walk from union sqaure. the first room we got was very tiny, with two qoeen beds.(we were 4 people)we asked to change it, and we got a bigger room, which was ok. although the room is clean, you can feel it is old. but overall the hotel was ok.
Reviewed August 13, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Melissa from Afghanistan
Group
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
The Whitcomb is amazing!! ”
-location -friendly service -bargain -awesome house keeping -super clean rooms -has it's own bar -comfortable beds
-there's no fridge/microwave -Parking is 30 dollars (per day)
First off, the Whitcomb is an absolutely amazing Hotel!! I'd say, it's one of SF's best kept secrets!! It practically has everything you need to make your trip that much more awesome. All of the workers are super friendly and helpful for that matter. It's located in the middle of everything. You can walk to Union Square and Cab it to the Wharf for less than 10 dollars. A bargain for sure!! Not to mention, it's very own bar.... Enjoy this gem!
Reviewed May 20, 2010
8.0
Excellent
Ladda from Thailand
Group
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010
Comfortable hotel near subway”
Best convenient, Hotel located right next to Civic Center subway station. Very convenient to travel to shopping center or to other places around SF. Bus stop is also located right in front of the hotel. Plus, there's Starbucks in the hotel's lobby!
The room is rather small and old but cozy.The hotel is announced historical hotel. If you are looking for a classic style, this might suit you. No breakfast included (but that doesn't matter anyway).
Best convenient hotel. Subway station and bus stop are right in front of the hotel. I found it very convenient to travel to anywhere in SF. The hotel is in old fashion but has very well maintenance. Room is rather small but is clean and cozy. I'd love to stay at this hotel again when I visit SF.
Reviewed May 10, 2010
6.3
Good
Shengkai from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010
My stay at Whitcomb”
Very convenient location.
They oversold their rooms. I had to wait until 3pm to check in a corner room, where the curtains were not really light proof.I was told that all their rooms are like that.
The hotel is located at the Market street, the most convenient location to all places. I stayed there for 3 nights. Some of the front desk staff were quite friendly. Some appeared indifferent. They did not sound friendly also:( . I guess they always had too many guests and the quality of their service declined. Of course, their rate is quite reasonalbe given it is in SFO.
Reviewed May 04, 2010
7.3
Very good
Ricky from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2010
Excellent Location”
Local transportation at door step. Nice decor Wi-fi fast
Front desk not very friendly Many homeless around hotel
Nice old hotel in downtown with BART and MUNI at door step. Nice antique decor , plush beddings with lots of pillows. Starbucks Coffee at front door and many restaurants nearby. Good place to stay in San Francisco. One bad note. front desk personnel not too friendly.
Reviewed April 14, 2010
7.0
Very good
Viet from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2010
Relatively clean, good location (for some)”
BART/Muni light rail right outside via steps. Random fast food joint in immediate area if you really need it. Room was fairly clean, sheets were nice, bathroom was clean. Rates especially reasonable via Agoda during certain time (especially since you're in the city).
Location can be sketchy for some people (especially if you're not use to such environments). As with many places in the tenderloin, there can be a pretty fast shift from upscale to ghetto. Depending on time of your stay and due to reasonable price of hotel, you may experience loud annoying neighbors.
Needed a place for a couple of nights in the city near downtown with easy access to BART/Muni as I'll be transiting to South Bay (via Caltrain). Whitcomb fits price and location fairly well. The staff was nice and the room was clean (had a unit towards rear of building on third floor, beyond noisy neighbor, room was fairly quiet). Walls may be slightly thin but overall okay. High ceiling can be pro/con depending on your preference. Location is convenient but may be sketchy for out-of-towners that's not used to certain parts of SF. 8th/Market is brightly lit street and unless you're milling about past 2 AM by yourself, you should be fine. Area not for female to walk around by self at odd hours at night, IMO. There's a Starbucks attached to the hotel and a Burger King across the street, along with various other fast food joint in nearby walking distance. Though to be honest with Muni right down the stair outside, many good joints downtown are a few stops away.
Reviewed March 30, 2010
7.3
Very good
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2009
Great location, historic hotel”
Location, location, location. Beautiful historic hotel; very attractive lobby; comfortable room
Rooms do not have easily accessible outlets for laptop; bathroom long overdue for update (cracked tiles)
Reviewed September 19, 2009
7.3
Very good
OLAPOSI from Nigeria
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 8 nights in July 2009
MIXED FEELINGS”
The Hotel location is very good,the cranks-head are not many compare with other areas in the city. It is very close to wallgreens and other retails ooutlet.
Refregerator,Coffemaker and microwave oven were not in the room upon cheking in. At the price all this items should be in the room.
None of the rooms have ammenites like Coffe-maker, refregerators and microwave ovens in it. However coffe-makers and refregerator were provided on request.People may not know that they are available on request as we were not told at reception .Infact my wife scream and demanded that we checked out immediately.Especialy from someone coming from Las Vegas Hilton Grand vacation where we have everything we needed,I expect that reaction from her. We spent eight days there and the services is on average.
Reviewed August 28, 2009
7.7
Very good
Jern-yi from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 8 nights in May 2009
Whitcomb Hotel”
Historic hotel +++ nice interior finishings and bath BART stop at entrance of hotel - very convenient Burger King just across the streets for quick bites Walgreen, Chinese Wok, inexpensive Korean restuarant, pizzas just 5 mins walk nearby
homeless loitering outside door ice-machine not working on 6th floor small space for double side beds
My wife and I stayed 8 days with two 5 year old Chinese twin daughters and walked around the neighborhood - very central and near many conveniences as stated above. Walgreens is really very convenient with supply of milk, eggs and useful kitchen appliances as we need to cater to their needs. Nearby Asian eateries are a real plus as my kids are very particular about food.
Reviewed July 27, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Alexey from Russia
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in February 2009
Great Deal!”
Very charismatic appearance, good service, clean rooms/linens.
Location.
Market Street in SF is full of homeless and other weird people. Though, that was not a problem all those multiple times I was in SF. The hotel is very stylish. It looks like a lot of efforts are being made to keep it look "old". Personal is responsive and helpful. Rate was great, compared to other deals around.
Reviewed February 20, 2009
7.3
Very good
WAI from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2008
Old but cozy”
The location was excellent. There were a BART train station, tram/trolley bus stops right in front of the hotel.
It was very difficult to control the water tap at the wash hand basin. The water flow was either too weak or too strong.
The staff in the hotel was polite and helpful. The hotel was within walking distance from the shopping district, and China Town (about 20 minutes). Notwithstanding the cons, I enjoyed my stay there.
Reviewed February 05, 2009
8.3
Excellent
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2008
Repeat Visitor”
Nice clean room in a very convenient location at a good price with helpful and friendly staff.
Unfortunately the trade off for the convenient location results in a lot of noise but it's still worth it.
Overall this property is a great value for the dollar. The courteous and helpful staff along with the convenient location, clean and spacious guest rooms, and well appointed lobby all come together to make this a wonderful cosmopolitan get away. I would highly recommend this property for anyone desiring accommodations in the City by the Bay.
Reviewed December 22, 2008
9.0
Exceptional
Poh from Singapore
Group
Stayed 3 nights in May 2008
Hotel Whitcomb”
I forgot a pouch in the hotel lobby after I had checked out of the hotel. The staff were very efficient in locating and reacquiring the pouch for me.
Reviewed May 16, 2008
6.0
Chung from Malaysia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2008
Classic hotel”
It is overall good for the price in downtown San Francisco.
Reviewed April 09, 2008
5.7
KAR from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in March 2008
Whitcomb Hotel - San Francisco”
I was woken at midnight and when I asked who's out there, a lady said it was for housekeeping (It was 4.30 am!). I did not bother to open the door and went back to sleep.
Reviewed March 31, 2008
8.3
Excellent
gonzalo from Spain
Business traveler
Stayed 6 nights in December 2007
Good hotel for a good price”
They charge a $5 fee for booking a shuttle to the airport, and they don´t tell you in advance. Do it yourself. The shuttle is only necessary if your plane is early on weekends. Any other day you can take the BART right in front the hotel.
Reviewed January 04, 2008
2.0
Juan from Colombia
Family with teens
Standard Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Muy mal hotel limpieza terrible zona peligrosa no lo recomiendo”
Horrible favor no vieitar
Reviewed May 23, 2018
6.0
DIEGO from Spain
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010
Buena localización.”
Buena localización.
Viejo.
Dada su buena localización es muy fácil moverse desde ahí a cualquier punto de interés en San Francisco.
Reviewed January 17, 2011