Book Now: Hotel Wolcott

Very good
From 157 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
Recommended by 87% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (157)Booking.com Reviews (1331)
7.7
Very good
From 157 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities6.4
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service7.5
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Deutsch
Svenska
more
Room type
Junior Suite
Standard Queen Room
Standard Twin Room
Triple Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 140 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Kathryn from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Great location, very comfortable room.”
I was meeting up with a friend recently in New York, and we shared a twin-bedded room at the Wolcott. Fine place. We hope to return. I did have to pay for the internet service, but given the good price we got on the room, that was okay with me. Wonderful subway and bus connections in this area.
Reviewed June 09, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Oren from Mexico
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Location location location”
Clean, service and location
Reviewed March 28, 2016
2.0
Hussain from United States
Business traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
They are bad .......”
I got there for one night . Staffs are rude and helpless . Also , when I left I checked my account they charged me 25$ for no reason ..
Reviewed March 17, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Youjin from South Korea
Couple
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 8 nights in February 2016
Reasonable”
I really enjoyed my travel thanks to this hotel. Reasonable price and great accessibility to anywhere in NYC.
Reviewed March 17, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Liu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Valuable, Friendly, Great Location”
Close to Metro station, friendly staff, Clean room. Comfortable bed. but heater can not be adjusted.
Reviewed March 17, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Omer from Israel
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Good value for money”
Pros: location, great staff, comfortable bed, good value for money. Cons: Air condition in the room was very noisy, no wi-fi in the hotel, hot water took about 20-25 minutes to achieve when operating the shower water handle.
Reviewed March 13, 2016
4.4
Fatma from United States
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
It was awful”
It was awful
Reviewed February 27, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Tony from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Cute room!”
Everything was excellent couldn't be happier. Reason for 4 stars on facilities is because there was no control over the heat only could control Ac unit. No big deal. Temp was good in the building anyways
Reviewed February 25, 2016
8.0
Excellent
alan from United States
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Good value, nice rooms”
location, bed, bathroom
Some reviewers complained about room size- for a NY hotel it is roomy - same size as a room at the much more expensive Algonquin. Plenty of hot water in bathroom, rooms clean, neat. Quality mattress and linens. Good moist muffins for breakfast. I'll stay here again by myself or with partner. If I was going to spend a week in NY, would want to stay at more of a suites-type hotel.
Reviewed February 16, 2016
5.3
Francesca from United States
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Dingy, small and smokey - but good location ”
The location, the comfortable bed, fairly quiet
The room was small (as expected for NYC), which I wouldn't have minded if it didn't REEK of smoke--despite our request for a nonsmoking room. The water pressure was very poor and the plumbing questionable. The location is good if you're traveling around the city-- but honestly I have stayed in nicer hostels, and this is a *hotel*. Don't be fooled by the pretty lobby photos...the rooms look and smell like they were last updated in 1985.
Reviewed December 11, 2015
7.0
Very good
yazmin from Philippines
Solo traveler
Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
great location”
location, location, location
overall our stay is good but considering the price paid, wifi access should have already been inclusive. even in the public areas, there's no wifi access. also, the sink is too small and would be good to have an extra pillows ( 1 pillow in each bed was provided)
Reviewed November 30, 2015
7.7
Very good
Colin from Ireland
Group
Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
GOOD HOTEL BUT WATCH FOR AFTER CHARGES”
Location, staff and cleanliness
Everything was fine, rooms , staff location and a clean hotel. My only problem is that I prepaid in full AGODA before my arrival and on check out I was told my bill was settled but when I got home THE WOLCOTT had hit my card for 45.00euro, I have mailed them and they do not reply , I have heard nothing regarding the charge, so my advice to you would be to be vigilant regarding getting them to print you a final bill on departure as I took them on face value. I will continue to chase the hotel up and will try to get AGODA involved to see what they can do. I really thought those days of sly over charges were gone..... But there you go.
Reviewed October 22, 2015
8.3
Excellent
anruo from China
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Not bad”
The location is awesome
near k town
Reviewed September 15, 2015
8.0
Excellent
MICHAEL from United States
Solo traveler
Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Decent Hotel”
Location, Comfort, Location
Everything was very agreeable, except for the lack of free WiFi. For that amount of money, free WiFi should be made available.
Reviewed August 11, 2015
8.0
Excellent
david from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2015
Great location, nice place and good value”
Location, price and lobby area
Good value, great location, worked out fine, great value for $
Reviewed July 16, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Sommer from Germany
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Fair value ”
Price, location, relatively clean
Reviewed July 08, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
June from United States
Couple
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Grandson's graduation from NYU”
Great towels, muffins and coffee in morning, comffortable beds
Very good - bathroom a bit too small but adequate - no place to put toiletries
Reviewed May 26, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Barbara from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 6 nights in April 2015
Perfect”
The foyer, location . Friendly staff
We enjoyed every moment have no complaints
Reviewed April 24, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Mary from Ireland
Couple
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 6 nights in March 2015
good value for money”
1.location next to Empire State building with easy access to the Subway .2. linen changed every day if desired. 3 internet price under $100 for a twin room
Cosy room. clean bathroom complementary tea/coffee with muffins 7 to 10.30 am helpful staff
Reviewed March 10, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Nantiya from Thailand
Group
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
This hotel really in great location, nice!”
Location,Room,Staff
Reviewed January 20, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Kyle from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
A Good bang for your buck!”
Location, Price, and Amenities
The stay was wonderful! Friendly staff, great location for all things NYC, and can't beat the bag check service so you can continue to explore without lugging your luggage around!
Reviewed December 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Henry from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Triple Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
Good Value Hotel ”
Good Value Hotel, good central location
Very comfortable stay. Staff very pleasant and helpfull. The only fault was that it did not have Tea or Coffee making facilities in the room or in the hotel other than 0630-11am which I found very strange.
Reviewed December 17, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Mike from United States
Group
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Great location”
Location. Comfortable bed. The appearance.
I enjoyed it
Reviewed December 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
John from United States
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Hotel Wolcott”
Location, cleanliness, value
Reviewed December 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Amy from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Nice Hotel with lots of outside noise!”
Price, location and cleanliness
It was good. The noise from outside was loud but it was tolerable. I would definately stay at Hotel Wolcott again for the price that we paid.
Reviewed December 06, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Family with teens
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
a ok!”
location. historical. style.
Fine
Reviewed December 04, 2014
7.7
Very good
Barry from Belgium
Family with teens
Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
well located hotel”
location - type of roms - reasonably priced
Quite a good stay for the 3 of us in a 3/4 studio room - very friendly staff - very good free muffins and coffee/tea in the morning - well located : 10 min from Penn Station and 20 min from Times Square - reasonably priced - to be recommended
Reviewed December 02, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Jacqueline from United States
Family with teens
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Awesone”
hospitality, cleanliness, freindly
Comfortable and homie
Reviewed December 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Katie from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Great place to stay in the city!”
breakfast muffins, location, cleanliness
Loved that the hotel was close to everything, but away from the madness. Free muffins in the morning were excellent. Staff is not the friendliest, but they answer any questions you have. They will hold your bags after you check out, which is nice. Convenient parking across the street that is discounted when the hotel validates the ticket. Not having free wifi is the downside. Rooms are very spacious for NYC, so that is definitely a plus!
Reviewed November 29, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Eng from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Simple but good muffin and coffee”
Location, clean, value for money
Reviewed November 19, 2014
6.7
Good
Scott from United States
Business traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Art trip”
Location, price, customer service
Reviewed November 11, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
LOUIS from United States
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Nre York stay”
Charming lobby. Clean neat room
Very comfortable
Reviewed November 08, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Jacqueline from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Loved this hotel”
Great location. Spotlessly clean. Lovely coffe and muffins every morning.
We had a lovely stay at the Wolcott and would definately stay there again. The hotel has a lovely charm about it and is warm and welcoming. The room was lovely with plenty of space and even a glimpse of the Empire State Building from the window!It was quite noisy but i suppose this is due to the fact that we are in New York city. The muffins and coffee every morning were a real bonus and set us up for the morning. The location ia excellent being a stones throw from 5th Avenue and the Empire State Building as well as many other attractions.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Good Value”
One of the cheapest but good Hotels and Location
We wanted to explore Manhattan and Wolcott is on 31 street between 5th Avenue and Broadway and one of the cheapest Hotels in a good location, so it was easy to walk to Empire State Building, Macy's, Times Square,and Rockefeller Center. The number 6 train on 28th street took us to China Town and we booked a bus on 5th Avenue at 29th street to take us to South Street Seaport which included a Circle Line Harbour Cruise to the Statute of Liberty.
Reviewed October 21, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Kathleen from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Problem with staff -- would not give me a receipt”
location, location, location
I believe it is a serious issue when you cannot get a receipt from a hotel. I still don't know if I owe them anything. Also, on check in they made me sign a paper saying they could charge my credit account for my whole stay, plus any other expenses I incurred during my stay. The problem with this is that I already paid ahead of time for my stay. I would not mind signing for additional expenses, but I do not see why I had to agree to pay for my stay again even after it was completely paid for. I will never stay at the Wolcott or use Agoda again because of these problems.
Reviewed October 06, 2014
6.0
David from South Africa
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in September 2014
Unfriendly staff.”
Location, Clean, morning coffee and muffins.
The elderly staff on the morning we arrived were extremely miserable and unfriendly. After a 16 hour flight I expected a more friendly welcome. The younger staff on the afternoon shift were far better.
Reviewed September 29, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Makoto from United States
Family with young children
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
very good”
good location, staff is very kind
We had a good time at the hotel wolcott.
Reviewed September 13, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Judie from United States
Family with teens
Triple Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Short getaway”
Great location - clean room-easy check in/check out
We had a wonderful stay. Everything about the hotel was great except for the concierge . She seemed like she didn't want to be bothered. Older hotel, but clean and beautiful .
Reviewed September 11, 2014
8.7
Excellent
william from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 7 nights in June 2014
New York”
Location, Location, Location
Great location. Could do with breakfast. Only coffe Tea and muffins available.
Reviewed August 07, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Eileen from Ireland
Family with teens
Triple Room
Stayed 6 nights in June 2014
Comfortable, enjoyable and inexpensive.”
Very pleasant staff, excellent location for buses and subways, and walking access to great shopping outlets.
Most enjoyable. The only thing we were not aware of was the "fitness centre" until the last day, our teenage and adult children would have enjoyed this facility if we were aware that it existed. It was not evident in advance that we would be charged for internet access. Some TV channels were free, but other channels were "pay as you go".
Reviewed June 28, 2014
6.7
Good
Tanti from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Recommended for holiday season and short visits”
location, cleanliness, interior
Reviewed June 03, 2014
6.3
Good
James from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
clean and centrally located”
clean room, polite staff
Reviewed May 24, 2014
7.3
Very good
maria from United States
Family with young children
Triple Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Pleasent ”
the location, the appearance and the staff
Very pleasant, with they had free wifi and a better continental breakfast
Reviewed January 29, 2014
7.0
Very good
KIYOSHI from Japan
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
Good Location”
Location
Reviewed January 12, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Verity from Australia
Group
Triple Room
Stayed 5 nights in November 2013
Great location, staff and price.”
price, option of three single beds, location
Booking with Agoda was cheap, easy and hassle free with no problems encountered. I have stayed at the Hotel Wolcott multiple times and will continue to. Staff are friendly and helpful and it is in a great location (close to subways, places to eat, Macy's and Times Square. Having the option of a room with 3 single beds was perfect for me and my two sisters (no sharing needed!) and the rooms ae big with high ceilings. The only downside is that you do have to pay for the internet and it is pretty pricey which is odd as every other US hotel I have stayed in offers free wifi. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a decent, clean, centrally located hotel that doesn't cost a fortune.
Reviewed December 23, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Debbie from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 7 nights in November 2013
Great value excellent location”
Spacious room, good bathroom. Good location within easy walking distance to Times Square and shops.
No problems at all, room was perfectly adequate, the view wasn't great, but who cares I didn't spend much time looking out of the window! I was able to print out our boarding passes for the flight home easily and for nothing. The hotel is located in an area that I felt perfectly comfortable about walking back later on at night, even though I was just with my daughter. Staff were friendly and always available if needed. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I ever come back to New York I would certainly stay here again.
Reviewed December 07, 2013
5.0
Anthony from Australia
Family with teens
Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
just adequate”
location, location, location
Pretty basic. Overpriced, but perhaps that's New York!
Reviewed December 01, 2013
7.0
Very good
TAT from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Centrally located hotel”
Location, reasonable size room, small breakfast provided
The best point about the hotel is the location on 31st street between 5th Avenue and Broadway. As such, it is just three streets away from the Empire State Building and Macy's. It is walking distance to the 34th street Penn Station and also walkable to Times Square uptown and the Flatiron Building downtown. Many twenty four hour convenience stores and pharmacies nearby. The room size was reasonable given that this is New York and space is a premium. A nice touch was that a small breakfast is provided - coffee and tea and muffins. I will recommend it for the location mainly.
Reviewed November 28, 2013
7.7
Very good
Laura from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Great location”
Centrally located, easy access to Penn Station to get anywhere, near to many local amenities/attractions
You don't go to New York to spend it in your room, and this is a perfectly serviceable place to stay. Vintage decor is cute, and I slept well on their bed.
Reviewed November 19, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
jane from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 7 nights in November 2013
reasonably priced, super location, comfy hotel”
customer service, comfy bed, central location
Reviewed November 18, 2013