Book Now: King George Hotel

Very good
From 319 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8
Recommended by 85% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (320)Booking.com Reviews (1105)
7.8
Very good
From 320 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities7.1
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality7.6
Service8.0
Value for money7.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Superior Room with King Bed
Superior Queen Room
Superior Twin Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 226 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Linda from United Kingdom
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Lovely little gem of a hotel in a lively San Francisco area ”
Don't be misled by the 3 star status. This hotel is 5 star in everything that counts. We were treated as valued guests from the second we stepped over the threshold and greeted cheerily every time we went to the lobby. Our room was compact but very comfortable, exceptionally clean and furnished to a very high standard. Access from the airport is easy, just get the BART to Powell and it's no more than a five minute walk even with your suitcase. You are close to all the centre sights and it's a short walk to the Ferry Building and trams to Fishermans Wharf and Pier 39. And if that's not enough there is a complimentary glass of wine or beer between 5 and 6 each night. The only downside is there are currently noisy building works nearby but that should be short lived. Thoroughly recommended.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
8.4
Excellent
John from New Zealand
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Excellent”
Stayed while on a short stopover in San Francisco. The hotel was ideal - compact room, nice bathroom, great location very close to Union Square and all public transport. There was some construction noise in the area but wasn't a big worry. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
6.4
Good
Judy from Canada
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017
Great location but extremely noisy ”
Great location and lovely room however it was extremely noisy. I had prepaid 2 rooms and upon arrival, one of the rooms had been cancelled. The staff member checking us out said sometimes they don't read the email confirmations for reservations closely enough so miss the fact that 2 rooms were booked, not 1. This was an unsatisfactory response.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Thank You for your review, We apologize that you had to experience noise, I hope were able to accommodate you to a quieter room. Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Elaine from Canada
Couple
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Beautiful Christmas stay”
This was a treasure! Our room was small but charming. Great location. Perfect for Christmas in San Francisco.
Reviewed August 03, 2017
Thank You for your review! Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
8.4
Excellent
TAMMY from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2017
Excellent”
Great location- comfy bed. Bathroom was tiny though
Reviewed July 03, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates and room categories. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
8.4
Excellent
Steven from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 8 nights in May 2017
Nice hotel, ideal location.”
The hotel is situated very centrally. Most of the staff were very friendly and our room was of a reasonable size. Our room was very clean and well-stocked. It was regularly freshened up by the friendly cleaning staff too. One thing we didn't like was the height of the bed, it was awkward to get on to - especially so for a person of less than average height. There are no restaurant facilities available in the hotel.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Gisela from Argentina
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Great location small bedroom”
Location was great, just a few blocks from mayor atractions & bus lines.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Adam from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Excellent value”
Excellent value, great location, rooms small but comfy, just lacking in facilities as it's an older hotel (one lift, steep stairs) but for the money stay was excellent. Would stay again.
Reviewed June 05, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
6.0
Get from Australia
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Above average”
1)Check In was longer than expected as hotel only had 3 rooms instead of 6 booked. They blamed Agoda for this. The counter staff was unhelpful, impatient n service was poor. 2)Heater not working. Despite promise to send a small portable heater to me, it never materialised. 3)Water pressure was on low side. Bearable but wud be better if stronger.
Reviewed June 05, 2017
We apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience with us. I came on board we were able to resolve the issue for you and refund your monies owed. I hope we have the opportunity to make your next stay most enjoyed. Please reach out to me directly on your next visit and we will do what we can to make it great. Thanks Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Show more
King George Hotel
7.6
Very good
Benjamin from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in May 2017
Great Location, Small Clean Rooms”
The King George Hotel is situated in a very convenient location, close to the BART Powell St station and numerous MUNI metro bus and tram options. Union Square, Chinatown and the Downtown district are all minutes walk away. Don't read too much into reviews saying the area is unsafe, as I felt it was fine. Whilst there are homeless people about, there wasn't heaps and most of them are pretty harmless and just want some loose change. The room we got given at the King George Hotel was fairly small, smaller than we expected and what the photos make them out to be. The rooms were clean however, but what was the most annoying fact about our room was that our bathroom had no floor drain. With a shower curtain for the shower only, it meant out floor got flooded easily and there was nowhere for the water to go. Otherwise if you are looking for a simple place to stay in a convenient location, it is a fairly good option.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
7.2
Very good
helen from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2017
good location but little else positive to say”
Room small bathroom inadequate , bar area dark and dreary
Reviewed May 27, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
8.8
Excellent
Ann from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Great location, good value”
Close to everything, rooms small but comfortable, friendly staff, cosy bar area.
Reviewed May 26, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
Catherine from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Great location to explore San fran”
Great hotel. Location is right in the heart of San Fran. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Staff helpful and friendly. We would recommend this hotel and stay here again.
Reviewed May 02, 2017
Thank You for your review, Please book directed with us on your next visit for deals on rates. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards, Jerome Collins, CRDE Director of Front Office Operations The King George, A Greystone Hotel
Responded May 01, 2018
King George Hotel
8.0
Excellent
Jenine from United States
Group
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Okay hotel”
The experience was okay, location is everything but the room was so small
Reviewed January 17, 2017
Hello Jenine , Thank you for taking time to share your review with us. We are happy that you liked the location. Also we promise you will have bigger room next time. Looking forward to seeing you at King George Hotel.
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
9.6
Exceptional
Bryony from United States
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Central, newly remodeled, pleasant old charm, exceptionally clean”
Highly recommended if you want to stay downtown. Most comfortable bed! Quiet, quaint, helpful staff. Very central but note that this is the beginning of the tenderloin so the area has some unique characters ;)
Reviewed January 01, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion on The King George Hotel. We take pride in giving outstanding service to every guest and we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation.
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
8.4
Excellent
Nic from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Convenience, clean”
This hotel is close to the Bart station and many good dinner restaurants. The room is clean. I have nothing to complain.
Reviewed December 29, 2016
Hello dear Nic, Thank you for taking time to leave great review about King George Hotel, We are so happy that you found everything enjoyable here. Looking forward to seeing you here. Sincerely.
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
3.6
Hung from Vietnam
Family with young children
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Too old”
Location is central but the facility is way too old. Not worth!
Reviewed December 29, 2016
We’re sorry to hear of your less than satisfactory experience with the King George Hotel and hope you will accept our sincerest apologies. Thank you for your review and will make note to make your next experience a better one.
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
9.2
Exceptional
KwangSeop from South Korea
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
good”
nice
Reviewed September 29, 2016
Hello Kwang, It is great to see you nice review about King George Hotel. We will be waiting to see you again. Sincerely, Team King George
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Steven from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
Great hotel”
Great hotel
Reviewed August 02, 2016
Hello Steven. Thank you so much your your nice review. Hope to see you again. Best Team King George
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
2.7
Jenni from Finland
Group
Superior Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Bad customer service”
Man in the bar
When we (3 adults) arrived at King George, we heard that there was no reservation and no room for us. They told that the hotel was fully booked. We showed the confirmation with all the payment information etc. Didn't help. It was late at night and We were really tired and stressed out for the whole situation. They told us to wait 10 minutes. We waited for an hour and a half. When we finally somehow got the room, there was two small beds that never ever could have accommodate three adults. So again, we had to go back to reception and ask for proper room for three. They said that they don't have room for three. Finally after really long debate and crying they gave us the room that we paid for. The experience was really bad and customer service was arrogant. The hotel made us feel that it was our fault that there was no room.
Reviewed November 21, 2015
7.0
Very good
Sainath from India
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Convenient small Hotel close to Union Sq”
Location
Staff were friendly and arranged a cot for our baby free of charge. However the rooms while clean were quite tiny, not much place to move around. But the location makes up for it being close walking distance to Union Sq. No parking validation though so you add on $36 per day for that.
Reviewed July 09, 2015
Hello dear Sainath, Thank you so much for taking time to share your nice opinions about King George Hotel. As King George Hotel , we are so happy to hear that we made your stay convenient. Hope to see you in future. Best Team King George
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
9.0
Exceptional
Tessa from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Delightful. We will return!”
Staff. Location. Accommodations
Lovely
Reviewed February 02, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion on The King George Hotel. We take pride in giving outstanding service to every guest and we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. Sincerely Team King George
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
4.3
Bill from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Nasty room”
would never go back
Reviewed January 28, 2015
6.3
Good
herbert from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Locotion was great”
Location location location
Location was great
Reviewed January 27, 2015
Hello Herbert, It is great to see that you loved the location of King George Hotel.Looking forward to seeing you here. Best Team King George
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
7.7
Very good
Kathryn from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Close to everything we needed.”
Location, value and transportation accessanility.
Enjoyed our stay. Staff was very helpful and it is close to everything in the City.
Reviewed January 19, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to share your nice words on The King George Hotel. We take pride in giving outstanding service to every guest and we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. Best Team King George
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
A super deal”
great staff, location, and rooms are nice.
Excellent and a great value.
Reviewed January 09, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion on The King George Hotel. We take pride in giving outstanding service to every guest and we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation.Looking forward to see you here at King George Hotel. Best Team King George
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
9.7
Exceptional
Laura from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Gem Downtown”
The location was close to food, shopping, and the theater!
Our stay was comfortable and the staff was very friendly! We will definitely stay there again!
Reviewed January 02, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to share your opinion on The King George Hotel. So happy to see our staff made your stay comfortable. We take pride in giving outstanding service to every guest and we're overjoyed to receive your compliments and appreciation. Best Team King George
Responded May 04, 2018
King George Hotel
7.7
Very good
Him from China
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Great hotel for city visitation”
Location, good value, free wifi
Reviewed December 31, 2014
7.7
Very good
Hendra from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 7 nights in December 2014
Best location”
Location, cleanliness, wifi
Convenient location, wifi was very fast, sadly our check-in was complicated
Reviewed December 28, 2014
6.7
Good
Naria from Indonesia
Group
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
good location”
location
hotel service was good and the location is the best.
Reviewed December 11, 2014
7.0
Very good
Lilei from China
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014
1 week staying”
location
overall not bad, very good location which is close to Union Square and many stores, but no breakfast, no any drinks in the room.
Reviewed November 26, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Tito from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Have the best location in sf”
Next to lori diner 24hrs, near union square, opposite public parking rental car
Since is a short trip is been helfull cause hotel is in the central near union square, easy to find food, room clean, view to busy street of San Fransisco
Reviewed November 07, 2014
7.3
Very good
William from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Great Staff and assistance”
Location; staff assistance
Great location, right in the center of the city. Considering the location, price is good.
Reviewed November 03, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Stephen from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Hospitality at a great price”
Cleanliness, location, friendly staff
We had a fantastic stay at the King George during our honeymoon. The staff went out of their way to make me and my wife feel welcome and make our trip special. The King George would be my top choice next time I visit San Francisco!
Reviewed October 29, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Faisal from France
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Good hotel dowtown”
Location, clean and friendly
We stayed two nights. Hotel is very well located, staff are friendly, rools are clean though not big but acceptable. Didn't not dine so ignore my ranking of 3 on food. Recommended.
Reviewed October 22, 2014
7.3
Very good
BEE from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Nice located and friendly staff”
Nice location, luggage storage, nice staff
The hotel is located 1 block away from the metro, transportation is super convenience around that area. The staff are friendly and helpful. Room a bit dark, lighting is not enough. Other thing was good.
Reviewed October 21, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Brooke from Australia
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Fantastic ”
Staff, location, facilities - Wi-Fi and Business Centre
Fantastic - only negative comment I can give is that the lighting isn't great in the bedroom area, but that's very minor. Staff were all wonderful and perfectly attentive, a nice change after a few unsatisfactory hotel stays on that trip.
Reviewed October 07, 2014
8.7
Excellent
wang from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
perfect location for your stay in union square”
perfect location, valuable rate and good service
I just stayed one night in King George Hotel because of its perfect location, just 5 minutes walk to Union square and there are a lot of good restaurants nearby. But the room is very small and no parking lot served, you need to park you car in the public parking lot cross the street. And the parking fee is very high!
Reviewed September 24, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Ronald from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Convenient location”
Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Convenient location for what we wanted to do.
Reviewed September 19, 2014
2.7
Nancy from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
Pleasant Surprise”
Comfort, quiet, location
We enjoyed our stay and we will be back
Reviewed September 17, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Paul from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Great location”
Location. Clean. Quiet...
Had a lovely time at the hotel. Next time I'll book a larger room tho, as it was very small for a couple. No refrigerator in room, but staff offered to store items for us...I would stay here again...
Reviewed September 16, 2014
8.3
Excellent
anne from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Just enough to return.”
The staff, the location and the charm.
We love the character and charm of the small SF hotels which includes King George. The location of the hotel is perfect being in the Union Square area. The room was a decent size. The staff was the best part....welcoming, friendly, fun and helpful. My only negative comment which can be easily fixed is that they should include more storage space for stuff above the sink. My friends were in a room that did have a shelf installed above theirs but ours didn't. So add a shelf and I'm good :)
Reviewed September 16, 2014
7.7
Very good
Allen from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
Very good location and good service”
Location, front desk service, nice lobby
My stay was comfortable and the location of the hotel is superb as there were restaurants and cafes just next to the hotel along Mason St. However, the room finishes were old and dusty, and sound proofing was missing between the rooms. Overall, however, its good location and very good front desk services offset these issues with the rooms.
Reviewed September 08, 2014
6.3
Good
Sehee from South Korea
Business traveler
Superior Room with King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
ok”
location location location
ok
Reviewed August 20, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Central location”
Easy check in and out, great location, comfortable bed
We chose this hotel for its location and we were not disappointed. The taxi driver knew exactly where it was, easier and cheaper to get airport shuttle back to SFO though. The staff were helpful at check in and out. The hotel is central to everything and easy to find your way back. It is not far from union square and market, you can catch a street car all the way to Fisherman's wharf, but you must be willing to stand on the edge and hold one, quite thrilling going downhill very fast! The room was small but as expected for the location, price was good and we slept well in the comfortable bed. The only downside is that the building us quite old and the plumbing us quite noisy, you can hear toilets being flushed in rooms on the floor above, during the night it is loud enough to wake you up, but then again guests should be more considerate to others. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment, unfortunately we could only stay one night, we would have liked to stay longer. If we return to SanFrancisco we would definitely want to stay here again.
Reviewed August 11, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Gina from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
good location”
location, friendly staff, value for money
although the internet in the room was really slow.
Reviewed August 09, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Elaine from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
affordable and clean”
location, staff, beds
Had a nice stay location great, staff friendly, prompt. rooms small but comfortable beds. remodel great. only drawbacks, no air condition, ceiling fans adequate though. small elevator.
Reviewed July 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Leslie from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
convenient and comfortable ”
conveniently located, well-maintained, friendly staff
Reviewed July 26, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
YURY from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Can't Complain”
Location, cleanliness, pricing
Reviewed July 25, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Marita from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
Good value for our short stay”
Location, price and staff
Comfortable and easy.
Reviewed July 21, 2014