Book Now: Michi Village

Review score
From 22 reviewsSee what guests said

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (22)
Review score
From 22 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Room comfort and quality6.1
Value for money4.5
Food and dining5.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 22 verified guest comments
Donna from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Friendly staff
The view of the river below and the rice paddies.
this hotel was not what i expected. lots of concrete, mirrors and tiles and too far to walk to town. not really suitable for children.
Reviewed September 10, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
David from United Kingdom
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
Quirky hotel in beautiful setting
Peaceful and relaxing
Michi is a fantastic option if you wish to explore the heart of Bali and particularly Ubud, which is a short taxi ride away, but wish to remain off the beaten track. Each room is themed (we stayed in Feng Shui, which has a chinese influence with low tables and a futon bed) and the whole sprawling complex of rooms and villas is covered in art and mosaic work. The staff at Mich are very friendly and helpful, suggesting tours organised by locals and explaining a little about the local culture. Overall Michi offers an authentic Balinese retreat, rather than a resort hotel.
Reviewed September 07, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
kate from Australia
Stayed 6 nights in August 2012
Amazing location
The location of this hotel is amazing, set high above the river with rice fields and volcano as you view. Amazing decor, mosaic rooms and pebble crete palm trees. Really friendly helpful staff. Great food in the restaurant.
We had a lovely 6 nights in Michi. Really enjoyed the escape from the busy hub of Ubud, while being just a short distance away. The rooms are amazing with their mosaic walls and ceilings. Decor is very unique.
Reviewed August 30, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Nina from Sweden
Family with young children
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012
excentric hotel. not worth its money
It could have been a great hotel if it was kept better. We were three days without running water and the drain in the zinc was clogged. The food in the restaurant was dull and overpriced. Location was great and quite except for all the dogs barking, rooster shouting and somebody using a chain saw or something seven o'clock in the morning. We will not come back and absolutly not recommend it to anybody. It is overpriced. The people working there were lovely, though and we had a great time anyway.
Reviewed August 29, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Patricie from Czech Republic
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Old hotel with problems
Very nice place
Hotel has interesting decoration and view, as you can see on photos/but: you will not sleep very well. Matrace is small and so old, that you drop all night to the also hear every world from next room. Wi fi so slow, that mostly does not work. We were dissapointed, for that money we expected different quality.
Reviewed August 10, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Harald from Germany
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Remote Hotel
Rund um das Hotel gibt es schöne Reisterassen
Das größte Problem ist aber das Hotel an sich. Es hat keinesfalls 4 Sterne verdient. DIe Hotelanlage ist noch eine Baustelle und wird von einer einheimischen Familie geführt, die sich nicht im geringsten im Hotelbussines auskennt. ALs wir ankamen war die Hotelrezeption bis auf ein paar Hunde verlassen und das ganze Hotel wirkte wie ausgestorben und sehr düster. Der Pool war extrem verdreckt. EBenso die Wäsche in den Zimmern. Das Hotel ist maßlos überteuert, extrem abgelegen und bietet keinerlei Komfort. Im bestenfall kann es als ein Guesthouse durchgehen...aber das zu dem Preis...?!?! Nachdem wir angekommen sind und das Hotel begutachtet haben, haben wir unseren Fahrer gebeten uns wieder mit in die Stadt zu nehmen. Dabei hatten wir wirklich keine hohen Ansprüche. WIr waren zwei Rucksackreisende, die einen Tag entspannen wollten.
Reviewed August 29, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Barbara from Germany
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
hotel needs definetely a lot of maintenance
good view
This hotel is definetely to expensive for what it offers. In the past the place was nice for sure, but now there are so many things to fix and respair! The rooms do not have a door between the sleeping and bathroom ....would not be a problem, if the bathroom not smeel like old and rotten water. Not enough light for reading at all. the pool is dirty and all the sun loungers are broken. no good place for relaxing! you need a motorbike to see anything, because it is far away from ubud, but the rental is terrible. you always have to ask for a free helmet. and if there is one free the helmet is broken and not safe. there are so many things, which make this hotel to a place were you do not want come back.
Reviewed August 26, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Filippo from Italy
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
posto d favola
struttura, camere, localizzazione e panorama
Reviewed August 15, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
Mark from Netherlands
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Spiegelpaleis van mozaiek
Ontvangst met een glimlach
Michi Retreat ligt heel afgelegen en is moeilijk te vinden. Ze hebben een 'shuttle-service' naar het centrum voor 40.000 rp. Een vriend van de bazin brengt je dan in een hele oude jeep. De kamers zijn groot maar oud en vies, vol mieren, muggen en salamandertjes. Deuren sluiten boven en onder niet, gordijnen sluiten en verduisteren niet waardoor je al voor half 7 wakker wordt van de sunrise.  Alles is van mozaiek, de vloeren, muren en plafond en de kamer is 1 groot spiegelpaleis! Geen tv, kluis, telefoon of minibar. Wij kregen 2 kamers, geen idee waarom, waarvan 1 kamer de doorloopkamer was naar de rest van de kamers. Geen deur in de badkamer dus privacy was ver te zoeken. Het zwembad was een beetje gelig, alsof het niet bijgehouden wordt. We hebben hier niet gezwommen. Het ontbijt was geen buffet maar je kon kiezen tussen eggs en toast, pancakes of fruit. Dit werd dan voor je gemaakt en was matig. Een diner of lunch was prima en lekker. Het uitzicht van het hotel is schitterend, tussen de rijstvelden en boven een rivier! Het vrouwtje zelf en de twee personeelsleden zijn heel lief. Het geheel geeft je een huiselijk gevoel! Al met al geen 4 sterren waard en niet voor herhaling vatbaar.
Reviewed August 18, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Takashi from Japan
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
ケチャックダンスを見て、部屋に戻りましたが、すでにお湯は出ませんでした。 冷たい水で体を洗いました。 朝には、水も出なかったので顔も洗えないし、トイレを流すことも出来ませんでした。どうやら、夜は節約?のためポンプやボイラーを止めてしまうみたいです。 フロントに電話しても、誰も出ません。朝の7時を待つしかありませんでした。 また、観光のため車を手配してもらい、先払いだと言われ、お金を払いましたが、 その日の最後に再び運転手に請求されました。フロントに苦情を言いましたが、結局は2倍払うことになってしまいました。お金を渡した相手の顔と名前を覚えていないあなたが悪いと言われました。
Reviewed August 27, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
YURIKO from Japan
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
バリ滞在最初の宿でした。 空港からジンバランのスパへ行き、スパが終わる時間にスパまで迎えを頼みました。事前にメールで依頼しましたが、日本語で大丈夫でした。 料金は無料ではなく、有料で、2000円ぐらいです。 スタッフの対応は英語のみです。オーナーらしきおじいさんは日本人で、チェックインのときだけ挨拶しましたが、それ以外で顔を合わせることはありませんでした。 部屋は個性的なインテリアが置いてあり、他にはないような宿です。 気になった点は、視覚にはなっていますがトイレにドアがないこと、部屋によっっては洗面台の水がなかなか引かないこと(部屋を変えてもらいました)、きれい好きの人にとっては清潔感にかけること(ホコリなど)、バスマットがないこと。。。など、いろいろありました。細かいことは気にしないという方には特に気にならないことだとは思います。 朝食はパンケーキやフレンチトーストなどです。 時間がないときは早めにレストランへ行きメニューを言えばパッケージしてくれます。 夜も一度だけ宿で食事しましたが、インドネシア料理や日本料理もありましたが、あまりおいしくなかったです。 立地ですがウブドの奥まったところにあるので、現地の人でも迷うほどです。 メイン通りに出る際に送迎を頼みました。無料ではなかったです。 チェックアウトの際に2000円ほど請求されました。 総じて私は「また泊まりたい」とは思えない宿でした。
Reviewed August 06, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?|
Angelina from Indonesia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Perlu renovasi, rekondisi ulang, tidak terawat
unik, tenang dan air kolam yang tidak berbau kaporit
Saya mengira akan mengajak keluarga saya untuk liburan di suasana pedesaan yang asri dan nyaman. Tapi ternyata hotel ini kurang terawat. Sebenarnya keadaannya yang unik sangat bagus tapi sayang kurang terawat beserta dengan pilihan makanan yang kurang bervariasi.
Reviewed January 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|