Book Now: Music City Hotel/Hostel

Very good
From 369 reviewsSee what guests said
7.4
Recommended by 84% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (369)Booking.com Reviews (1227)
7.4
Very good
From 369 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities6.9
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality7.1
Service7.9
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
简体中文
more
Room type
Dormitory -- Female Only
Junior Suite
Male Dormitory
One Double Bed Shared Bathroom
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 305 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Denis from Russia
Couple
One Double Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Great budget stay in SF”
The hotel is conveniently situated in the center of the city, and we could walk everywhere we planned to go. It was also convenient to arrive from the airport and go to the airport - we used Bart and just walked. The staff in the hotel is nice - we had a warm welcome and enjoyed communication every day. Everything was clean and we enjoyed our stay.
Reviewed October 31, 2017
6.8
Good
Corin from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Good”
Its cheaper than most of the hostels but still to much, but thats san francisco i think. There were free apples and the staff was nice and helpful. But there's no kitchen or common room
Reviewed October 10, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Kyla from United States
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Fab”
Really really nice for a hostel. Proper beds, nice linens, room was more spacious than most hostels in the area (and I was in the 6 bed). Also in addition to a bathroom, each room has its own little kitchenette.
Reviewed October 03, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Peter from China
Couple
One Queen Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Highly recommend ”
Highly recommend, good location, excellent service, I like Music City Hotel
Reviewed September 26, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Rene from Germany
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017
Nice and clean place for a short stay in town. Free apples and tea and coffee during office hours..”
No common area though so it's hard to in touch with other people than in your room. I really liked the music theme of the hostel which gave it a great character. Staff is welcoming and attentive, always eager to help you. One of the best hostel beds I slept in (room 108 lower bunk bed) with massive space for me as well as my large backpack. I would recommend it and would definitely come again!
Reviewed September 14, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Sasha from United States
Couple
One Queen Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Good ... but”
This was a good place to stay at if you don't mind the communal bathrooms and th3 no elevator
Reviewed August 19, 2017
7.6
Very good
Li from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Decent place and i would stay again”
goodside: The most friendly staffs and most comfortable bed I have across other hostels I stayed in SF and they make your bed! (many hostels let you make your own bed) They have coin operated washing machines but have to share with their housekeeping so don't expect to use it daytime. downside: no lift, steep staircase, need to climb at least 2 floors to reach reception. only limited toilet/bathrooms per floor. They use digital security door locks so if you room mate double locked the door you can't go in! Also the security card can be very sensitive sometimes they disfunction if you place it near electronic gadgets. it is located slightly further from central (BART/Union Square/Market Street) so do expect to walk a bit (15-20 mins) to get to central.
Reviewed August 08, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Monica from United States
Business traveler
6-Bed Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Kitschy vibe, clean rooms, hot coffee”
If you are looking for a good SF experience on a budget this is a cool place to stay. The aesthetic and color palette are loud kitschy and fun but somehow kind of chic. Decorated for the "experience", it has a fun and cool ambience, and cool place to see for someone seeing SF for the first time. The windows to the outside atrium area were quite pleasant with succulent-filled window sills, reminiscent of Europen neighborhoods, and a thick black curtain to block any early morning sunlight. The coffee was free and hot. Showers on one floor weren't functioning perfectly but the other (1st I think) worked wonderfully. Plan you showers smartly to avoid busy hours bc everything is shared and sometimes you have to wait. Clean towels. Free coffee and tea (and coffee mate creamer) in the morning. Good stay.
Reviewed July 25, 2017
8.0
Excellent
paul from Canada
Couple
6-Bed Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
can't beat the price”
stayed in the dorms. very affordable, clean and well staffed. the location is good. near transit and lots of restaurants, no homeless people hanging around anywhere near the building. shares facilities are cleaned regularly. my only gripe is the lack of any common area. would definitely recommend for any solo or couples looking to save on accommodations in a very expensive city.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
qin from China
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
super good”
On my 1st day when I arrived, Sarah was kind enough to let me check in in advance. Then she changed room for me again because of some construction work out of my window . The whole staff are just friendly and helpful. I like it.
Reviewed June 30, 2017
7.6
Very good
Dianne from Philippines
Group
One Double Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
Very good”
All is good except that it doesn't have elevators. Not recommended if you have many heavy luggages.
Reviewed May 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
CHENG-HAU from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
good”
good
Reviewed March 18, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Mohd from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
good hostel”
you get what you've paid. good location.
Reviewed March 07, 2017
6.4
Good
Jibson from Philippines
Group
Male Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Nice hotel”
Very clean
Reviewed March 02, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Duong from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Value for money, staff”
Value for money, staffs are nice. I was luckly to stay with 3 nice roomates. The location is not really good as it took 30 mins drive to Fairy Building.
Reviewed February 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Wan from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
You'll love it more if you're a fan of rock n roll”
Encore locates in the city center with lots food & drink options nearby. As public transportation & Uber is extremely convenient in town that I have no trouble getting to anywhere during my stay. In the basement of the building is a music studio and some performances/rehearsals were going all day long except for mid-night. Normally it stops at 11pm/12am or so but if you want to take a nap during that day, make sure you bring the ear buds! The room is satisfactory and the shower place is also maintained above average. I like the staff they're very informative and welcoming. I'd say this is the place highly value for money and you'd enjoy the budget traveling when you're in SF!
Reviewed February 03, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
xiaofei from China
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
nice”
service good
Reviewed January 21, 2017
3.6
Marc from Switzerland
Couple
One Double Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Mice or rats in the room!”
This overpriced hotel was a very bad experience. Our room was recently redone but lacked of comfort and minimal standards (no heating nor A/C, smelly and noisy rooms). The bed was very springy, the bathroom/toilet at the end of the hall was dirty and mice or rats were running around in our room during the night and ate part of our snacks. Finally, the hotel rents a band probe room and we could hear music until past 11pm.
Reviewed January 12, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Ekaterina from Russia
Solo traveler
6-Bed Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Very nice stay. Would stay there again”
I booked a bed in a female-only dorm with a kitchenette and ended up staying there for 4 nights. I really liked the external and internal appearance of this place. I met nice roommates and had a great time with them. I was lucky to get a bottom bunk bed that was wider and had a higher top bunk bed than other bunk beds in that room. Staff were always nice and friendly. 24-hour access to a microwave and filtered water (both cold & hot) was convenient, as well as a fridge and the bathroom in the room. They even had a nice selection of teas at the reception. They also give you a free 3-hour studio session (I didn't have a chance to use it, but I think it's a great opportunity). There were only two things that could have been better. One of them is that there was no heater in the room and it was cold, especially in the night (ask for an additional blanket). Another one is that the mattress was surprisingly hard. It didn't affect my sleep, but since the place doesn't have a common area with a couch, it was not always easy to sit on a bed when I needed to use my laptop. Despite these slight inconveniences, I would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed January 07, 2017
7.6
Very good
MING from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
One Double Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Staff is nice and helpful, everything is on point”
Overall a good experience
Reviewed January 06, 2017
7.6
Very good
kwan
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
overall good”
overall is good but hope the check out service will be 24H, as when i check out, the office only stated they open at 9am
Reviewed December 19, 2016
7.6
Very good
Ryan from Philippines
Family with young children
Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Location is great”
Location is great although there is a music studio on the 1st level. Fortunately, our room was at the end of the hotel so we weren't really bothered by the noise. Parking is a little tough although with a little luck, you might find a space along the road right in front of the hotel or around the block.
Reviewed December 04, 2016
7.2
Very good
Ho-Chen from United States
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 8 nights in November 2016
not bad”
床很舒服
Reviewed November 28, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Chia from Malaysia
Solo traveler
One Double Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Good value”
The staff is very helpful. He helped me carry my luggage which is really heavy from upstairs. The location is very good for taking bus and near to convenient shops. The late check-in procedure is simple and efficient. The WI-FI is good. The shared bathroom need to have indicator if there's people inside. It will be good if there's heater in the room.
Reviewed November 27, 2016
6.0
Delmar from United States
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Was nice”
The bathroom is collective but needs to be cleaner
Reviewed November 20, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ho-Chen from United States
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 9 nights in October 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed November 13, 2016
6.4
Good
Tanya from United States
Couple
Private Deluxe King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Pretty bad”
Balanced out
Reviewed October 26, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Natalia from United States
Group
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
holiday”
adf
Reviewed October 24, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Pailin from Thailand
Solo traveler
Private Deluxe King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
good”
the staffs are extremely nice!!
Reviewed October 08, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Rangsikorn from Thailand
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Clean, Nice Staff, good location”
Bed is very comfort. Good welcome from staff. Clean toilet.
Reviewed August 22, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Oon from Malaysia
Solo traveler
One Double Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
reasonable price”
reasonable price
Reviewed August 22, 2016
6.8
Good
wai from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
room”
so small
Reviewed August 10, 2016
6.4
Good
Marc from Spain
Family with young children
One Queen Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
good stay”
great location
Reviewed August 08, 2016
7.6
Very good
jacqueline from Australia
Solo traveler
One Queen Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Old fashion comfort”
We stayed for 2 nights. This is an old fashioned style hotel. Rooms were comfortable although nothing special. Share bathrooms were clean although need to have an indicator light that someone is inside ( currently you need to knock). It initially seemed expensive although that is a reflection that SF is one of the most expensive cities in the US. Fantastic staff with a particular shoutout for the lady ( Asian and didn't get her name) who was really patient and helpful when my room key did not work 3 times and gave me another room ( upper floor and quieter) Good location if you like to walk. Accessible to Union square and cable car.
Reviewed July 17, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
kimberly from United States
Solo traveler
One Queen Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Good”
Great place to stay
Reviewed July 02, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Huy from United States
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Good”
Good location , but smell in restroom no good..:)
Reviewed June 28, 2016
8.0
Excellent
CHIH from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
GOOD CHOICE”
I like the staff here. The bunk bed is not lousy but comfortable. One thing I really want to complain is that there are not many restrooms and shower rooms. I think only one for each in the floor where I stayed that was far less than enough.
Reviewed June 28, 2016
7.6
Very good
CHIH from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Good hostel, but can be better”
I like the staff here. The bunk bed is not lousy but comfortable. One thing I really want to complain is that there are not many restrooms and shower rooms. I think only one for each in the floor where I stayed that was far less than enough.
Reviewed June 28, 2016
7.2
Very good
PRAVEEN from India
Business traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
conference”
good place to stay in SF
Reviewed June 17, 2016
7.6
Very good
Tsung from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
it's clean enough for me”
My bed was clean and medium size. Six people lived in a room was a bit crowded. Bathroom was clean.
Reviewed June 17, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Will from United Kingdom
Group
One Double Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Overall a good place to stay”
I stayed here with a friend, location was excellent and staff was polite and helpful
Reviewed May 27, 2016
8.4
Excellent
JOUNGAH from South Korea
Couple
Queen Bedroom
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Was all good”
I loved the hotel.
Reviewed May 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
JOUNGAH from South Korea
Couple
Queen Bedroom
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Was all good”
I loved the hotel!!
Reviewed May 25, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Marlon from Philippines
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Nice Hostel”
Location and value for money
Reviewed April 20, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Aidan from Australia
Solo traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 6 nights in April 2016
Thanks encore”
Friendly and helpful staff. Good location central to SF. Good facilities , beds and housekeeping services as well as laundry facilities. Good job encore!
Reviewed April 08, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Laura from Canada
Business traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Just what a budget traveler needs”
Friendly staff, good location, clean and comfortable facilities.
Reviewed April 08, 2016
6.3
Good
ng from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Dormitory -- Female Only
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
clean room.”
clean.
Reviewed January 04, 2016
5.3
Fairul from Malaysia
Couple
One Double Bed Shared Bathroom
Stayed 7 nights in December 2015
Ok hotel for short-term stays”
Clean Hotel, Friendly Staff
Overall stay was ok. The staff was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is relatively ok but can be a little dodgy at night. There is a music studio below the hotel but they usually ends by 11.00 pm every night. The room is a little pricey even for San Francisco standards. The hotel is clean though and we had no problems with the shared facilities during our stay.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
PROF. from Philippines
Business traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
GREAT STAY”
LOCATION, WIFI, FRIENDLY STAFF
I had a great stay
Reviewed December 28, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
PROF. from Philippines
Business traveler
Male Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
GREAT STAY”
WIFI, LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF
I had a great stay
Reviewed December 28, 2015