Book Now: Mystic Hotel

Excellent
From 138 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
Recommended by 84% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (138)Booking.com Reviews (1203)
8.0
Excellent
From 138 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities7.4
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.9
Value for money7.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
한국어
Español
more
Room type
Mystic Junior
Mystic Room
Mystic Studio Suite
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 112 verified guest comments
6.4
Good
Manon from Australia
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2017
Very noisy. Too expensive”
This hotel is far too expensive for the level of service. The staff were friendly at check-in, but the servers in the breakfast restaurant pretended you weren't even there. The housekeeping was terrible and the hotel is extremely noisy because it is such an old building with Street and laneway frontage. The rooms are nicely renovated, but small and very dark. For the price, definitely not worth it.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
7.2
Very good
Zachary from New Zealand
Couple
Mystic Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Lower level rooms have a view of a wall or directly into offices across the ally. ”
San Fran is so very expensive. This is a budget hotel price in a fancy pants hotel. If you need to save money like us then this place is great. If you can afford it stay somewhere nicer.
Reviewed July 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Heath from Australia
Couple
Mystic Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Do yourself a favour and stay here”
We decided to stay at the Mystic Hotel whilst in San Francisco for our honeymoon. The staff were courteous and helpful, the hotel is in an excellent location, breakfast daily was more than adequate and filled us up well beyond lunchtime, the rooms were very clean and tidy and there were complimentary choc chip cookie's available each day (the cherry on the top). You will not be disappointed if you stay here!
Reviewed May 18, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
harshan from India
Business traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Exceptional”
1. Most parts of downtown are easy to reach either by walk or public transport. 2. This place is near Montomery and Powell BART station; so it is well connected to places outside downtown as well. 3. Staff were cooperative; complimentary breakfast was good. I fully recommend this place; serves the purpose when travelling to SF on business.
Reviewed March 25, 2017
8.8
Excellent
KER from Malaysia
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Nice boutique hotel”
Right next to all the shoppings and restraurant. Very convenient.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
this place is amazing”
epic staff. great rooms. good food and a lovely atmosphere
Reviewed February 24, 2017
6.8
Good
Ikey from United States
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
bad choice”
rooms way to small,no place to store luggage or clothes but had a good free breafest. very disappoint for the money.
Reviewed January 31, 2017
6.4
Good
Ikey from United States
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Be careful”
very good breakfast but small rooms. Small area to store luggage and clothes.
Reviewed January 30, 2017
6.4
Good
Kristin from United States
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Elevator went down around check out. One, vintage elevator for an 8 story building”
the nightclub adjacent pounded music until 4am
Reviewed January 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Thomas from United Kingdom
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017
Mystic in great location”
Great value for dollar,,great location,, From SFO get Bart train to Powell,5 minute walk from there and just under 9 dollars,,,
Reviewed January 20, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Michael from United States
Couple
Mystic Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017
Awesome ”
I went to SF with my gf. We had an awesome time. This hotel is great. Trendy. In a good location. Free breakfast. Clean.
Reviewed January 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Chanmi from South Korea
Family with teens
Mystic Junior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Great”
Really good! Good location, nice meal, kindly receptionist, very clean room!
Reviewed January 16, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
juna from Philippines
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Satisfactory ”
Very nice place to stay in SF
Reviewed January 10, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Russell from United States
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Surprisingly good”
We got an incredible deal on this hotel, which is why we got it in the first place. However, the staff is super nice and very courteous. From the checking in, coming in late at night, breakfast, and check out, they were super kind and attentive. While parking in SF is a nightmare, the garage across the street isn't too bad, but it isn't the one the hotel offers. In reality, it was cheaper to actually use that garage, too (we just took everything out of the car). Also... their breakfast is pretty good, though I admit I really wanted a pancake or waffle or something. The peppered bacon made up for it.
Reviewed January 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
jareewan from Thailand
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Worth every penny”
Everything is good except the noise outside!! Not inside. Before I booked I said I can live with it but it was really bad that I was actually couldn't stand it. It was from the dumpster area. They came really really early in the morning like 6.30am if I'm not wrong.If u stay by the back of the building , back alley. Just be aware of the outside noise. It's very disturbing. Other than that. It was excellent stay!! Highly recommended. One other thing, the street is actually in the tunnel so it doesn't connect to some of the streets. Uber drivers sometimes lost their way. Look up map
Reviewed January 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
ANNABEL
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Brilliant Bohemian Chic”
Fantastic location. 5- 10 mins walk from BART station. Staff very helpful. Double Room on the small side but large enough for one person. Best breakfast I've had in years. Definitely recommend this hotel.
Reviewed January 04, 2017
7.6
Very good
Chris
Business traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Nice spot, too loud”
In a 5th floor room by the stairs - I would not stay again due to noise of stairs and elevator and extremely thin windows allowing a huge amount of sound/rain noise in from ally. I got almost no sleep.
Reviewed November 27, 2016
5.2
Anne from Canada
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Never again”
No air conditioning. Very noisy. Bar with music beneath the room. Much too expensive for the offer.
Reviewed November 14, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Renee from Australia
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Great location and bar ”
Modern room and great breakfast
Reviewed October 22, 2016
6.8
Good
Risma from Indonesia
Group
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Good hotel”
Good location and convenient hotel
Reviewed October 14, 2016
7.2
Very good
Amanda from Malaysia
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Clean and convenient. Would recommend friends and family to stay”
Nostalgic lift that impress me a bit
Reviewed September 02, 2016
6.7
Good
Qianru from Singapore
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
Good Location”
Location
Location was good. It is walking distance to Union Square, a little more walk will get you to Chinatown. There is 24hr supermarket opp the hotel and a small convenience beside the hotel. quite quiet at night. Carpark is behind the hotel and parking is not free. Breakfast with little selection everyday. Small room but clean.
Reviewed March 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Shinesh from United States
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
A hidden gem ”
Location, staff and bar
I love staying here because it's so nice. The staff is Amazing, they make sure your well taken care of.
Reviewed March 08, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Richard from United States
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Weekend stay”
Firm beds, clean, nice hotel bar
Reviewed January 23, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Ferdian from Indonesia
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Good location but not so convenient”
Room, Cleanliness, Location
The room was not big, but it was nice and clean with good bathroom size and amenities. It was modern yet classic, new yet traditional. The bed was spacious and comfortable. This hotel has a good location with very close proximity to Union Square; however, it was not that strategic. Since there was bus stop right in front of hotel's main and only entrance; therefore, it was not very convenient for guests with luggage since the taxi nor shared van refused to stop in front of hotel to drop them of or to pick them up.
Reviewed October 21, 2014
7.7
Very good
Paulius from Lithuania
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Nice hotel with great restaurant & coctails”
Restaurant, bar, cleanness
Reviewed June 23, 2014
7.7
Very good
Craig from United States
Business traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Disapointed that there was no in-room coffee”
Location, affordable price compared to comp set, the restaurant
There was only one hangar in the closet and the desk lamp was not functioning when I arrived. When I called to let the front desk know, I was put on hold for 7 minutes. Overall the hotel was charming and the restaurant was excellent. My biggest complaint, and this may keep me from returning, was that there was no in-room coffee service and even if I was willing to walk downstairs and pay for my cup of coffee, it wasn't available until the restaurant opened at 7:00.
Reviewed June 20, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Kathleen from United States
Couple
Mystic Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Best trip in a long time. ”
Proximity, Breakfast, Staff attentiveness
Wonderful. Everything I was looking for. One night stay felt like a week long vacation. So much fun
Reviewed June 19, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Melissa from United States
Business traveler
Mystic Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Stayed here again, much better experience”
BREAKFAST, design, comfortable bed
In my last review, which is probably directly below this one, I said I wouldn't stay here again. But, apparently, the lure of the croissants at breakfast was too much for me to resist. It was the best price available for this level of hotel during the dates I was staying, and I was able to book a better room than the one I had last time. It was a MUCH better room, the bathroom was clean and it didn't smell, and the internet was significantly faster, assumedly because there was a better signal. The bed was again, very, very comfortable. Both times I've stayed here I was on the third floor, which I recommend. First floor is obviously lobby, second floor is dining room, and third floor is the first with rooms. Since the elevator is so painfully slow, I'll try to request a room on the third floor next time, just to make sure I don't have to walk up and down any extra stairs, while avoiding the lift.
Reviewed February 04, 2014
7.0
Very good
Melissa from United States
Business traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Overall, pretty disappointing”
BREAKFAST, design, comfortable bed,
I was disappointed by my stay. The room was cute and comfortable (especially the bed), but the bathroom stunk like hell of mildew. Really, unbelievably strong smell of mildew, so much so, that I couldn't leave the bathroom door open at night, or the smell would keep me awake. Surprisingly, the bathroom was very clean, though it had very low water pressure, which made things hard. The elevator was incredibly slow, to the point of basically being nonfunctional. So, if you don't like walking up and down the stairs, request a room on a low floor. Really, the only saving grace of this entire experience was the breakfast, which was included in the price. They had the best little miniature croissants I've ever had. And you can eat them with Nutella. I also liked that they had boiled eggs, which was a nice way to get some protein in the morning. Overall, I would definitely NOT stay here again. But I want might wander into the dining room in the morning and pretend I'm a guest, to get another one of those croissants...
Reviewed November 12, 2013
7.0
Very good
katie from United States
Group
Mystic Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
weird location but super convenient”
clean safe and comfortable
It was what one would expect at a decent hotel. friendly staff, good rooms, easy transactions
Reviewed October 27, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Mariko from Canada
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Excellent boutique hotel with attentive staff”
Room comfort , location, small size hotel
Great . Bar was noisy and could hear it til it closed but nothing earplugs couldn't cure
Reviewed October 22, 2013
6.3
Good
de from France
Couple
Mystic Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
small cozy hotel, but be patient with the lift !”
cool bar, great location, very clean
Ideally located downtown SFO, the hotel's immediate access by car isn't that easy. No parking in the hotel. The atmosphere is great here, the staff is nice and helpful, however be prepared to wait for looooong minute for the only "vintage" lift of the hotel... can be annoying
Reviewed September 15, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Sarah from Australia
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
great location, great food, excellent service”
location, food and service
It was great. The staff were friendly and even gave us an upgrade as there was renovations in the room next door. Locations is close to shopping and the restaurant had amazing food and drinks. The breakfast was a little underwhelming but it was free so couldn't complain.
Reviewed June 17, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Isabel from Australia
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Comfortable and Central”
Location, Comfort, Great Food
Reviewed May 13, 2013
7.3
Very good
Marcelo from Brazil
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
Very nice, despite the old and broken elevator”
Location, breakfast, comfort
Nice at all, the only troubles we faced was with the elevator, old, malfunction, and the hotel staff unlikely to solve the problem.
Reviewed May 06, 2013
7.0
Very good
SHAHRIN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Mystic Studio Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Very Good Location”
Clean rooms, comfortable bed, and fantastic location
Reviewed May 05, 2013
6.7
Good
Sara from United States
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013
Great location, imperfect modern updated old hotel”
location, price, character
things were rather rough around the edges. if you are picky about polished details like professional staff,white glove treatment etc. This place is for people who don't mind quirky grunge, somewhat hip character- yet not well executed style. I can see the kind of hotel the Mystic is trying to be, but it is just "veneer" and not "solid wood" quality. I didn't mind so much cause it was close to union square. Berritt room had some nice ambiance and breakfast was a plus- noisy at night. No TV channels worth mentioning, so don't stay here if that matters to you. Renovated room had nice details and modern elements but still had a shabby feel. Walls can be paper thin- so be prepared with earplugs and afternoon rendezvous might offer more privacy than evenings. I would carefully recommend Mystic to those who don't really care about perfection -feel OK buying thrift clothes types- and want somewhere in SF with location to Union Square.
Reviewed May 02, 2013
7.7
Very good
Patricia from United States
Business traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
fine for attending a local conference”
clean, close to a shuttle, breakfast
Reviewed April 29, 2013
7.3
Very good
James from United States
Business traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
VERY stylized hotel”
The reservation was easy to make; breakfast was good; and the staff were friendly
The fire alarm went off late at night while we were there, was INCREDIBLY loud, and we had to evacuate even though it was nothing. This and the lack of remediation efforts by the hotel for our inconvenience were unfortunate. But the staff were all still incredibly nice nonetheless. And the hotel had a very nice breakfast.
Reviewed March 13, 2013
4.3
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Mystic Studio Suite
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Cool room, nice people”
Simple but good breakfast, nice room
First 4 nights of honeymoon. Nice room and bathroom. Free wifi. Noisy bin collection outside window at 6 each morning.
Reviewed February 16, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Dominique from United States
Couple
Mystic Studio Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Loved this Hotel. Great Value!!!”
Nice Suite, roomy and comfortable.
Great Value! High quality rooms at lower rates than much higher priced hotels.
Reviewed February 06, 2013
8.7
Excellent
MATTHEW from Australia
Couple
Mystic Studio Suite
Stayed 6 nights in January 2013
Great boutique hotel in the heart of San Francisco”
Location, comfort of room
suite, room 611 was amazing. large room, very well appointed with fabulous boutique feel
Reviewed January 20, 2013
7.7
Very good
Travis from Australia
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
great location downtown”
location
when we checked in we got a room that had an unpleasant odour. reception gladly moved us to another room. in the morning reception advised that they would find us a better room and upgraded us for the rest of our stay. great location at union square and short walk to tram stop that goes to fishermans wharf.
Reviewed January 18, 2013
6.7
Good
Michael from Philippines
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Good boutique hotel very near union square”
free breakfast, internet, near bart, union square
Great stylish hotel with free internet and breakfast just a few blocks away from union square.
Reviewed January 05, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Fanyuan from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Budget hotel at great location ”
Great location. Union Square is within 5 mins walk
It's a decent budget hotel at great location. However, if you are a light sleeper like me, try to book a room that's not facing the main road as it can get pretty noisy with the cable car passing nearby.
Reviewed January 03, 2013
6.7
Good
Tanya from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Stylish boutique hotel ideal for site seeing”
Beautifully appointed rooms. Great staff. Complimentary breakfast.
the hotel is small but well laid out and this is reflected in the rooms. the hotel is long and narrow so don't expect great views unless you have one of the few rooms facing the street. the hotel is 2 minutes from union square where you can get the cable car or site seeing buses to tour the city. if fact it's only a 20-30min walk to fisherman's wharf where you can take boat trips to the golden gate or alcatraz. the staff are pleasant and very helpful with maps and directions. the complimentary continental breakfast was a nice surprise. this is an ideal hotel for singles and couples wishing to enjoy the city.
Reviewed November 21, 2012
7.0
Very good
Lee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Avoid Room 309”
Great Location and near main shopping streets
I have never written a review on a hotel before, but after staying at The Mystic Hotel, I just felt other travelers needed to be warned . After opening the door to my room (309) I was speechless, and not in a good way. There are two windows in the room but both of them are frosted. It came to find out later that one of the window over looked to the back alley and another one down the basement. There is only a chair in the room with no table. I thought this was going to be the worst of it, however, at 6a.m., I woke up to a startling noise and realized that there was a dumpster truck right outside my window. Needless to say, I was not able to sleep right after that. That is still not the end to my nightmare. Not too long after that, I also realized that my room is right next to the door leading to the alley so I was constantly waking up to noises that were coming from the corridor. In addition to that, the flush in the room was malfunctioned and can only be use once a day. It was really frustrating knowing that the hotel is fully aware of how awful this room is and still continues to scam people by putting them in this room Even though this hotel has a great location, near main shopping streets, restaurants, convenient access to public transport & cable car, it is still a hit and miss of what you will get.
Reviewed November 20, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Lawrence
Solo traveler
Mystic Junior
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Excellent hotel and great service! ”
Comfy bed and clean room
After travelling for a while, I was delighted to get a room at the The Mystic. It was just what my sore body was in need of. The bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless. The breakfast in the morning was also outstanding. Great location in downtown San Francisco and would stay here again for sure.
Reviewed October 19, 2012
7.7
Very good
Joshua from United States
Couple
Mystic Junior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Nice and all you really need”
Nice and expensive feel, brick wall reminds me of NYC, small fridge for food. Location.
Nice and expensive feel, brick wall reminds me of NYC, small fridge for food from the farmer's market, leftovers, or drinks. Good location near Union Square. Breakfast could have been a little better, and towels could be softer.
Reviewed September 08, 2012