Book Now: Quality Inn & Suites New York Avenue

Good
From 79 reviewsSee what guests said
6.4

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (79)
6.4
Good
From 79 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.7
Location5.5
Room comfort and quality6.4
Service7.2
Value for money6.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
日本語
한국어
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 79 verified guest comments
7.0
Very good
Ninive from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
Great but with interruptions”
Room, Price, Location
It was great, we were able to extend our check out an hour later BUT housekeeping came in our room twice... once at like 8am and the other at 11am. It was annoying. Otherwise, front desk staff was really nice.
Reviewed October 02, 2013
8.7
Excellent
kazuya from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Good location”
Location, good staff
the hotel is very close to the station which you go to the airport or downtown in Portland. Good location is the best point of the hotel. Moreover, clean room, fast internet.
Reviewed September 30, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Choon from Malaysia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Friendly staff, comfortable room”
Shuttle, bed, and breakfast
Reviewed September 24, 2013
6.7
Good
Johannes from Austria
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Only stayed for 1 night, everything okay.”
cheaest in the inner dc area
only stayed for a night, room was nice, beds comfortable, would stay there again
Reviewed September 02, 2013
3.0
charles from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Acceptable”
nothing was pleasant. The beds were comfotable
carpets dirty. old hotel. no pool. poor parking.Not in a very nice area. I was afraid to go out at night. The advertisement and the pictures did not match.
Reviewed August 28, 2013
3.3
ALMA from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Sucks! It was too expensive!!!”
Staff were great!
It was ok! I liked the shuttle service.
Reviewed June 29, 2013
4.0
DR from Bangladesh
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Not a comfortable hotel, far from city”
Nothing is good for the hotel
Ir is a budget type hotel, breakfast was simple, far from the city & union station, nothing was surrounding, nothing to do in the evening.
Reviewed June 26, 2013
7.0
Very good
TING from China
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Comfort hotel to stay”
Have shuttle bus to access to public transportation; Staffs are friendly; not too far away from downtown
In general it was a nice stay in the Comfort Inn & Suites. The staffs are friendly and helpful for travel tips. The location is not in the center of town but got free ride to union station.
Reviewed May 10, 2013
4.7
Arthur from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
Acceptable but probably would not return.”
cleanliness, accommodating staff, buffet breakfast.
As I was checking in the police arrived in response to a call of a dispute among guests (no staff involvement), returning one afternoon there where three police cars responding to another call. Much door slamming on sleeping floor.
Reviewed April 22, 2013
3.3
MR from Thailand
Group
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Bad experiences”
There was none of the best things about this hotel
The hotel location is not near the union station as advertised. No taxi cap comes to the hotel and picks up hotel guests to the Union Station in the morning. My friends and I had to get a cap to the Union Station to catch a 6.40 am train to NYC. I requested the hotel to call a cap for us at 5.30 am. When we were at the hotel lobby at about 5.30 am, there was no cap waiting. I asked the staff at the reception desk if she call the cap. She just said she had called but there was no cap coming. Anyhow, she did not try something else to get us a cap. Finally, I had to get out of the hotel to flag a cap at the curve in fornt of the hotel by myself. Moreover, as I had booked a twin bed room for 3 persons. After checking in, I had asked for extra blanket. What they gave me was a very junky one. The hotel services are very poor.
Reviewed March 30, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Very clean and nice room.”
Friendly staff
Couldn't find reservation at first but quiclkly found and took care of it. The location was good for me as I was headed into center of DC in the morning. I would definitely stay there again.
Reviewed January 17, 2013
6.0
Anuparp from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Great”
Food
I like this hotel. They have good service. It is probably a 3 star-hotel. The room is quite big and very comfortable. Breakfast is good. The swimming pool is pretty reasonable size. The service is average.
Reviewed December 04, 2012
6.0
Anuparp from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Great”
Food
I like this hotel. They have good service. It is probably a 3 star-hotel. The room is quite big and very comfortable. Breakfast is good. The swimming pool is pretty reasonable size. The service is average.
Reviewed December 04, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Sanjay from India
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Decent hotel with decent service”
Spacious , well furnished and comfortable rooms with useful shuttle service
I booked the hotel online and had certain apprehensions about the cleanliness of the room and location of the hotel.However I had confidence in Comfort Inn as my earlier stay at San Diego had been nice. I, along with my wife had a wonderful stay in the hotel.The front desk were courteous and helpful. There guidance really helped us in planning the sight seeing. The complementary buffet breakfast was delicious with good variety. The free shuttle from hotel to Union Station every half hour was really helpful.
Reviewed December 01, 2012
6.0
Steven from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Hurricane Sandy - no refund”
sounds like the shuttle to station is good
We were scheduled to stay the night of hurricane Sandy. We were in New Jersey and travel to DC would have been crazy. We could not get a refund. I realize the policy is no refund but a hurricane - give me a break. After multiple emails we were offered a rebook within 5 months. Unfortunately that would mean another flight and car rental. Believe it when they say no refund - even if the world is ending.
Reviewed November 23, 2012
6.0
Chun from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Cheap but too far from train station”
Cheap and comfortable
Service staff attitude not friendly. Room is huge n price is cheap. Shuttle to the train station oni runs a certain timing. U missed it it will take u 45 mins to walk back, thats if u know exactly which route to take. Free wifi in room. Room service available for restuarant around the hotel. They deliver to your room. Min $10 order. Break1st is good compared to other motel standard. Have sauages, pancakes n scrambled eggs.
Reviewed November 22, 2012
6.0
RON from Australia
Group
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Misleading promotion”
breakfast was ok
It's an outrage they add "near Union Station" to their masthead. It's miles away. The free shuttle is variably reliable - sometimes waited ages - once more than 75 minutes (in rain). Drivers were also variable ('Mike' was terrific). Ditto service staff but plaudits for 'Donald' at the front desk and the lady organising breakfast. Room was OK - reasonable comparative value for the money.
Reviewed November 03, 2012
7.0
Very good
elmer from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
nice hotel, decent breakfast ”
shuttle was important
I walked five miles to get to hotel.construction. made their route much longer.
Reviewed October 30, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Vinod from India
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Good hotel. ”
Reasonably priced. Neat and clean
We had a very comfortable stay at the hotel. Sam, the manager was very helpful, when the taxi we had booked for 6 in the morning, did not come on time. Though not in the main tourist centre, this drawback was overcome by the free shuttle service provided by the hotel to the Union Station from where the hop on hop off bus tours commence. Therefore, we did not face any problem. Overall we had a very comfortable stay.
Reviewed October 16, 2012
6.0
Ian from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Shuttle bus made it workable”
The daily shuttle to and from Union Station
Whilst the hotel is away from the city, the Comfort Inn runs a morning and evening shuttle to Union Station that connects the hotel well with the city. The hotel is busy, the breakfast good and the room comfortable and well maintained. The trains behind the hotel did not prevent sleep. If you afre looking at a budget but still want access to the city, this is a good placde to stay.
Reviewed October 08, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Ewa from Poland
Group
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
clean and very nice”
separate bedroom and living room
The front desk gave us double room instead of suite we paid for so after checking out the room we had to go back to the front desk - the situation was not nice because I think they did it on purpose. After all we were given the suite. The room was big and clean. The area is not very safe so we had to use a shuttle bus - there was no shuttle between 11 AM and 5 PM. Anyway I would stay there again.
Reviewed September 24, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
TIFFANY from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Great Service!”
Free breakfast; where you can make your own fresh waffles. Shuttle service to downtown D.C.
in other reviews there were comments about a loud train, and it being in a seedy area. well, i did not hear a train, even though it was right outside my window. the are wasn't that great, but i felt safe in the hotel, and really had no reason to go walking around in that area. there was a very nice size refrigerator in the room, and a comfy bed; which all i need when visiting an area with so much to do and see. the room was very clean, as well as the rest of the hotel. we had a great experience and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Reviewed August 27, 2012
7.0
Very good
Di from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Clean and comfortable”
-
The 'near Union Station is a it of a misnomer - but they did supply a shuttle bus at regular intervals. Rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfast was provided - on a help yourself basis.
Reviewed August 21, 2012
3.3
Darren from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Comfort Inn & Suites near Union Station”
At first glance the hotel looks inviting
Entering the lobby on a hot day in August it was quiet cool, clean and inviting until you meet the desk clerk Gita. Rude, no interpersonal skills whatsoever. At the unlikely rudeness I began to scan the lobby and come to find out that people are living in this hotel as a Hostel or some type of residential area. If you think that is bad let me tell you the hallways to the rooms on a hot day was just as hot as it was outside. But, as you enter the room everything is update and you have control over cooling your room and environment. Sounds good perhaps but no one ever told me about the train tracks behind the hotel. A freight train set there idling for over an hour and I could hear this on the 7th floor. Afterwards, you hear the zips of the Amtrack and subway trains that you can live with because the moment is short lived. Doing good huh? No wait I awaken to people taping on doors it was 8:30 am and the housekeeping staff knocking on doors checking to see who had checked out the hotel. Should the desk clerk make them aware of what rooms are available for immediate cleaning prior to checkout? Not finished yet, come to find out that yes they are near (3 miles) away from the Union Station metro and yes they do offer a shuttle. Guess what if you check out the hotel at 11:00 like you are scheduled to do so you have no transportation to Union Station because the free Shuttle does not run until the Shuttle is full and then no Shuttle runs between 11:00 and 5:00 pm. WoW! a Forced Check-out. if I've ever heard out it. Worse than a Used Car Salesman! Only use this hotel if you have a choice of sleeping on the street as your only other option.
Reviewed August 08, 2012
6.0
Zhiyao from China
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
good hotel”
Bed was big and the room was quite comfortable
Room was quiet good, but the only pity was that I lost my phone in the hotel, but the servers in the hotel have helped me to send it back to me.
Reviewed July 18, 2012
3.0
Gordon from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Really bad location”
Room was OK rest of hotel below average
staff not particularly helpful nor friendly. common walkways dirty and overall condition of hotel is very tired. whilst they have a shuttle bus to union station is is really not "near". it is about a 15 minute drive from union station and the bus does not run all the time.
Reviewed June 24, 2012
8.3
Excellent
LI from China
Business traveler
Stayed 8 nights in May 2012
Good service and convenient transportation”
Good breakfast, convenient shuttle bus and room service
It was really nice to stay in this hotel and I will choose this hotel again next time.
Reviewed May 29, 2012
8.3
Excellent
LI from China
Business traveler
Stayed 8 nights in May 2012
Good service and convenient transportation”
Good breakfast, convenient shuttle bus and room service
It was really nice to stay in this hotel and I will choose this hotel again next time.
Reviewed May 29, 2012
7.7
Very good
Alan from Australia
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in March 2012
Good motel with large room & good shuttle servic”
good shuttle service to Union station, large room, comfortable bed, friendly staff
the motel is a bit out of town but there is a good, efficient shuttle service to union station (and the metro system)morning and evening. the room was a good size with king bed, clean and wll-equipped. wifi was free and breakfast included
Reviewed March 20, 2012
4.7
Agung from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
not "near" union station”
Don't know what's the good one
the name "near" union station has actually mislead customers. the location of the hotel is not near union station. near means walking distance, and this hotel was not walking distance to union station. though there was a free shuttle service to union station, however it's not operating at all time. the neighborhood of the hotel was also not really secure and the hotel itself was pretty old so that it looked not too tidy. though the room was clean, but certainly this hotel needed to be refurbished soon.
Reviewed March 07, 2012
7.7
Very good
ADIL from India
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in November 2011
Very good plus point was breakfast”
No Pros
Very good plus point was breakfast.
Reviewed November 24, 2011
7.7
Very good
Prinya from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 6 nights in September 2011
Good value for money”
Price, room size, cleanliness, free continental breakfast, free WIFI and free shuttle to/from Union Station
Hotel Feature Tip : Nice breakfast, Friendly staff
Reviewed October 04, 2011
6.0
Ashok from India
Group
Stayed 1 night in July 2011
Average Motel, rundown location”
Close to Downtown DC; free breakfast
Service without a smile or friendliness Had to go back down after moving all the baggage (for 4 adults).
Reviewed August 01, 2011
7.3
Very good
Liu from China
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in June 2011
Lovely hotel but not good location”
nice rooms
need shuttle to the downtown area. Booked 2 queen beds, but was told no this kind of room available, changed to other room.
Reviewed July 02, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Vicki from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in June 2011
noce hotel, nice staff”
not far from station, shuttle every half hour or so
i liked the hotel and staff were fine. only stayed one night so didnt bother complaining that we were put in a room with one kingsize bed (rather than the one we booked which should have had two queen beds)the room had coffee maker but the machine was minus half of its component(the bit that holds the liquid !)but this also didnt bother me too much because there was ample tea and cofee in the lobby (and as i said we were only staying the night)the shuttle was good, no need for taxis. brekkie was included and was fine(but it was continental:no bacon, sosses etc)only cost me £71 for myself and daughter. that was great value compared to everything else on offer.
Reviewed June 19, 2011
7.7
Very good
Dong from South Korea
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in May 2011
big room, good service...”
big room, good service...
Room was big, and the service was good. The hotel location was near the convention center. 7 to 8 dollors by taxi . However, no taking a walk after sunset near the hotel because of security problem. There was a hotel suttle to convention center and union station in the morning. free suttle. It was good.
Reviewed June 01, 2011
6.0
Lam from Macau
Group
Stayed 3 nights in May 2011
not-so-good location but with shuttle bus”
the rooms is ok
the room is ok, in normal size. the location is not so good, as you have to take a shuttle bus to go out to union station.
Reviewed May 26, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Barry from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
Good value for money hotel”
Price, room size, free continental breakfast and free shuttle to/from Union Station
It's been refurbished since I last stayed here 5 years ago so represents even better value for money than before
Reviewed April 23, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Cathy from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011
Friendly Staff,”
shuttle to Union Station was great Very good breakfast
I would recommend staying at this Comfort Inn. 3 miles outside the inner city, but the shuttle was confient and took us to Union Station where we could catch the Metro.
Reviewed April 16, 2011
8.7
Excellent
Anna from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2010
Good”
waffle maker for breakfast, free WiFi, clean room
no restaurants nearby
We enjoyed our stay here. It is a decent, clean, no-frills hotel. The breakfast was delicious and there were many choices. The Wireless internet worked fine also. It is not very near a metro station - if coming from Union station you most definitely would need to take a cab (roughly $15). There are also no restaurants nearby, but they have a few menus of delivery places from which you could order.
Reviewed April 06, 2010
8.3
Excellent
Alissa from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2009
Great value in Washington DC”
Extremely inexpensive for the Washington DC area. Convenient to have breakfast included. Room very comfortable. Staff extremely nice and helpful.
Far from the Capitol Hill area where my meetings were.
I searched quite a bit to find a reasonably priced hotel in Washington DC. The Comfort Inn was half the price of the other hotels I found. True, it wasn't as convenient geographically for my specific purposes but the savings to my company made it an excellent choice in spite of the additional cab fare. There was always a cab available when I needed one right there in front of the hotel so that wasn't aproblem.
Reviewed November 08, 2009
7.7
Very good
gan from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in October 2009
A comfortable hotel”
Hotel is close to Greyhound station and Amtrak
Difficult to hail a cab and the room faced the railway tracks,
The hotel lived up to its name that it is comfortable. We added a bed for less which also included breakfast. There was also a microwave oven. The staff taught us how to catch Bus D4 to Union Station and we seniors paid only 60cents fare. However we could hear the train which interrupted our sleep. On the whole, we enjoyed our stay in D.C
Reviewed October 19, 2009
3.0
Angela from Italy
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
posizione scomoda, camere rumorose”
nessun pro
la posizione e molto scomoda dai punti centrali e inoltre il servizio navetta e attivo solo in alcune fasce d'orario quindi crea maggior disaggio. Le camere sono molto rumorose perche si affacciano da una parte sulla ferrovia e dall'altra parte sulla strada
Reviewed October 31, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Takahiro from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
手ごろなホテル”
部屋がきれい
立地は都心からやや離れた位置にあります。 駅までのシャトルバスがあるようですが、本数が限られておりました。 今回は車だったのでそれが不要であり、車でくる人にとってはいいホテルだと思います。 部屋はきれい、価格も手ごろ、フロントの対応も親切だと思いました。
Reviewed December 12, 2012
3.0
Toshio from Japan
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
ロケーション、サービスともにきわめて低い”
なし
near Union Stationという名ながら、ユニオン駅まで遠く、タクシーでないといけないし、ホテルのシャトルは8時から10時までで、しかもなかなか来ない。フロントでタクシーを頼むと白タクがきて、通常の3倍の値段を請求された。
Reviewed September 18, 2011
6.3
Good
LI from China
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in July 2011
丟失了iphone的酒店”
房間大設施還滿全的,有定點接送車,免費早餐
服務態度不好,其間丟失了一個iphone就在酒店的房間里,晚上鬧鈴響了就隨便扔到床上了,因為是備用手機,打長途用的,所以過了2天才找, 但是就消失了,找前台的問,”答覆是我能幫到甚麼?“ 酒店硬件於價格成正比,服務態度差
Reviewed July 26, 2011
7.7
Very good
kiseokim from South Korea
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
저렴한 호텔”
가격대비 저렴, 조식제공
가격이 저렴합니다. 조식도 무료로 훌륭합니다. 객실내 전자렌지제공합니다. 주차비 유료입니다. 워싱턴시내 접근이 용이합니다. 직원들이 친절합니다.
Reviewed November 19, 2012
5.0
SeungDoo from South Korea
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in August 2011
아침 식사가 좋았던 호텔”
아침 식사
미국 동부지역을 여행하면서 호텔 아침식사를 잘 못하고 개별적으로 식당 또는 빵 등으로 식사를 하였는데 이곳에서는 아침식사가 그래도 잘 나왔다. 그래서 인지 아이들도 아침에 다양한 메뉴를 마음껏 먹을 수 있어서 부모로서 마음이 푸근했다. 다만 담배냄새가 방안에서 진동하여 환풍기를 돌리고 돌려도 없어지지 않았던 것은 별로...
Reviewed August 09, 2011
3.3
Jianbo from China
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
位置一般,房间不干净”
感觉很差,给我们分配的房间根本还没打扫,换了一间房也不算干净。
Reviewed October 25, 2014
6.7
Good
weiqi from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
离联合车站蛮远的,但是有shuttle bus很方便。房间不错,早餐好。”
房间布置、早餐、到联合车站的摆渡车
房间和服务员都不错,早餐和去联合车站的摆渡车也挺好。就是酒店位置不佳,离各景点远啊远,没有摆渡车就很不方便啦。
Reviewed October 08, 2013