Book Now: Riff Hotel Chelsea

Good
From 61 reviewsSee what guests said
6.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (61)Booking.com Reviews (1509)
6.8
Good
From 61 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.5
Facilities5.2
Location8.8
Room comfort and quality6.8
Service6.9
Value for money6.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Español
Français
more
Room type
Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
Double Room with Private Bathroom
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 60 verified guest comments
5.7
Jonathan from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Satifactory service, usatifactory price .”
Location, staff friendliness, good alarm clock
The noise from 8th ave was very negative, along with the poor water preassure when taking showers. . Overall good hotel, the only complaint was the high price of the stay.
Reviewed March 20, 2013
7.0
Very good
Chang from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Good location”
Good location, clean, affodable
Reviewed March 13, 2013
6.3
Good
Christopher from South Africa
Couple
Stayed 10 nights in November 2012
Manhattan hotel slap across road from Irish pub”
Well-placed in Manhattan, economical, friendly
One block away from Madison Square Gardens & the Penn Station Underground train service. Greek breakfast place around the corner in 8th Avenue, Irish pub Molly Wee on oppposite corner. What more do you need ? Oh Yes ! No elevator for the exercise. And a bed for the rest.
Reviewed March 08, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Wilke from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Great hostel with excellent service”
Nice rooms, great location, not too expensive
Nice rooms, great location, not too expensive, dorms are only shared with 4 people, there is free coffee for breakfast, and many shops around. Staff are helpful with any request, bathroom in room is very good.
Reviewed March 07, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Ursula from United States
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Great location, nice staff, fun vibe!”
Quirky rooms, nice back patio, free coffee and tea in the morning, helpful staff, unbeatable location
We stayed at the Chelsea Star for three nights and had a great time - the room was clean, the shared bath was always available, the staff was helpful, and the location (right by Madison Square Garden) is fantastic. The bed was sort of like sleeping on cardboard, and, yes, it is rather noisy outside at night, but it's still a great deal. We'd definitely stay there again.
Reviewed March 06, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Geneva from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
a great hotel in tje middle of the city”
it was really clean and quiet
This hotel was really nice. With first glance it doesnt seem like it would be. The hot water did take a full day to really kick in though. I liked the location of it. It was near all kinds of eating places. And close to 42nd st. So there was always things to do. Overall i have to say i loved it alot
Reviewed December 26, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
LIN from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
nice hotel”
It's pretty cool that each room has different style and decoration. The location of the hotel is great as it's kind of in the middle town so it's convenient to go both uptown and downtown.The front desk of the hotel gave us lots of trip guide.
Reviewed November 25, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Nigel from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Great location but noisy from road.”
Location & friendly knowledgeable staff
chelsea star was perfect for us, within 100mts of penn station & right "in" new york, we could walk to everything. try the "high line" walk it is only 400mts from chelsea star & the deli across the road was superb, also the pizza restaurant just around the corner. our room faced the road & was noisy all night, but we were only there for 1 night so it wasn't that big a problem, would ask for a room away from front of hotel if staying longer though.
Reviewed October 13, 2012
6.7
Good
Fabricio from Brazil
Family with teens
Stayed 5 nights in July 2012
Everything was perfect, until...”
Big room, kitchen, nice bathroom, near subway station, grocery and restaurants
The hotel came as a surprise! We were 6 and we had a room with 3 queen size beds. The A/C was good and it had a good kitchen (microwave and fridge). The hotel is near the Madison Square, subway station and some fast-food stores. Everything was going really well until we receive an unpleasant visit of a mice... Everybody knows that NY is famous about the huge population of rats and mice but the room was at the 4th floor! Anyway, besides the mice, the hotel was really good!
Reviewed August 09, 2012
6.3
Good
pratit from Thailand
Group
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great location, not very good condition”
Very close to Penn Station -- can walk to and from the station even with large suitcase
The people are nice and helpful. Rooms are a bit dated and noisy, practically no sound insulation. The location is superb; it is right in the midtown with only 5 minutes walk to the Penn Station. We can conveniently catch Long Island Rail Road train to Jamaica Station to connect to Air Train for JFK. We initially got a two bed room apartment for three of us for the first night. Then, the next the morning, there was a problem with sewage pipe above our room. They have moved us to two double bed rooms with no pantry, no microwave, no living area. In our new rooms, we need to ask for hair dryers from the front desk. The great thing about this hotel is its location which is in a walking distance to many midtown attractions and shoppings.
Reviewed July 30, 2012
3.3
Ikumi from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
so terrible”
None
The hotel is terrible. Don't recommend at all. My room was next to W30th street, and it was so noisy all the time. I woke up in the midnight a couple of time because of the noise of the cars and trucks. As the fun was attached to the window, the window fails to shut off noise from outside. Besides, the building shakes when a truck passes and so does the mirror in the room. The bathroom doesn't look clean, either. It doesn't worth it.
Reviewed July 08, 2012
6.7
Good
Nga from Hong Kong
Group
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Great location, good efficiency but not perfect”
near the subway, a garden on the second floor of the hotel, godd efficiency of the staff
the place is very near to the subway station so it's very convenient, and when we had questions or problems which we needed to call the staff, they answered us right away and fixed it quickly. A fine place to stay.
Reviewed June 28, 2012
7.3
Very good
Wai from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 7 nights in June 2011
Great location ”
Near subway and train station - handy for 24 hour delis on 8th Ave
Very handy - close to Madision Square Garden, so close to the Subway, Trains (airport - New Jersey) and the Metrobus (coaches to many major cities Philadelphia, Boston, Washington etc. Rooms are very basic - Bed and small tv. No chair or table so should you decide to eat in your roo, then you'll have to balance everything on your bed or suitase. Rooms with windows facing 34th Street or 8th Ave will be very noisey. Traffic starts at 6:30am, however, this was a blessing in disguise as it means you're up nice and early to visit the sights. Bathrooms are shared with the floor - around 8 rooms. I didn't have any trouble whilst I was there as I was usually the 1st one using the bathroom around 7:00am. Also if your bathroom is busy - then you can use one on another floor. You get what you pay for. My only gripe was that my sheets weren't changed for the 6 nights I was there.
Reviewed August 24, 2011
9.7
Exceptional
david from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in June 2011
great clean hotel”
clean, friendly staff, good location
we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, this is a great hotel, very clean, helpful staff, great location. shared bathroom but was realy clean all the time!! we have booked this hotel again for when we return back to new york! would highly recommend for cheap hotel in newyork city centre!!
Reviewed July 17, 2011
7.7
Very good
Sairung from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in June 2011
Little hotel with great location”
Great location - close to Penn Station
the staffs are very friendly and willing to give you the information. location is very good. room is a bit old but good enough.
Reviewed June 25, 2011
3.7
Jesus from Venezuela
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2010
A fiasco”
I did not like the hotel, it was a fiasco...
The rooms need more than improvements, the need to be rebuilded
The worse hotel ever. Literally I was sleeping in a Jacuzzi. The rooms are super small and unconfortables. The price super high, I spent in Cancun in a five star hotel and I pay less than in this... Please try to be more sensible...
Reviewed September 08, 2010
4.3
ZHENYU from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in August 2010
Chelsea Star Hotel”
good location
relatively high price compared to other hostel
Reviewed August 27, 2010
6.7
Good
Sandra from Uruguay
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Placentera, en un hotel con buena ubicación.”
Bien ubicado, buen precio
Agradable. Es un hotel modesto, pero está limpio y muy bien ubicado. El personal es amable, atento y dispuesto a asesorar y ayudar al viajero. Si bien el baño es compartido en la habitación que elegí, está limpio y disponible sin mayor dificultad.
Reviewed October 29, 2013
7.3
Very good
ASUNCION from Spain
Family with teens
Stayed 6 nights in April 2013
Apartamento muy bien ubicado en Manhatan”
Ubicación, comodidad, atención y amabilidad
Reviewed April 10, 2013
5.3
Eloisa from Spain
Couple
Stayed 6 nights in June 2012
Muy cerca de Penn Station, juvenil y alegre”
La decoración juvenil, el patio interior, buenas comunicaciones.
Nos venía muy bien por su cercanía a Penn Station. Eso sí, las habitaciones son baratas si tienen baño compartido. Por lo demás tenía café y wifi gratis y un patio interior con terraza muy acogedor para desayunar.
Reviewed July 07, 2012
7.3
Very good
Hinda from France
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in May 2013
super!!”
propreté convivialité emplacement
Super séjour! Hotel génial personnel super cool on a gardé contact. Emplacement parfait pour déplacement a pied (centre de manhattan). A recommander ++ Petit bémol : pas de restaurant dans l'hôtel
Reviewed June 22, 2013
7.0
Very good
DAVID from France
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Emplacement idéal”
Bon service
je cherchais un hôtel où passer mon week end sur new york. j'ai donc recentré mes recherches sur manhattan et je suis tombé sur le chelsea star hotel. cette hôtel est idéalement bien placé pour se déplacer à pied du madison square garden à centrale park, en passant par time square...
Reviewed December 19, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
lionel from France
Couple
Stayed 7 nights in January 2010
Que du bonheur!!”
Hotel très bien situé dans Manhatan, personnel super disponible: pour se reperer ans le métro, les visites, les parcours conseillés etc... et encore merci pour la salle de bain perso sans supplément
un peu bruyant mais on ne peut pas tout avoir, c'est New York!!!
Bonjour à tous!! Nous sommes partis à New York du 8 au 15 janvier 2010 ,on a organisé notre voyage tout seul, non sans appréhensions...Quel bonheur!!Chelsea hotel est super bien placé, Nous avons eu la chance d avoir une salle de bains perso, la chambre est confortable, et surtout le personnel est super sympa!! Vraiment à l'écoute, pleins de conseils pour nos visites.Et merci pour le Caf du matin
Reviewed January 21, 2010
5.0
Heiko from Germany
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in May 2012
Lage top, Zimmer winzig!”
zentrale Lage, nettes Personal
Sehr laut!!! Nicht ohne Ohrstöpsel einchecken. Die Zimmer sind winzig. Wir hatten einen Double Room mit Doppelbett und das Bett ist für einen 1,91 m großen Mann viel zu kurz. Wir wurden aber sehr nett vom Personal empfangen und auch die Lage ist einfach unschlagbar. Man ist direkt am Madison Square Garden und auch der Times Square und das Empire State Building sind nicht weit entfernt. Im Preis ist leider kein Frühstück enthalten, wie in den meinsten amerikanischen Hotels. Dennoch fanden wir den Preis unerhört hoch für das, was einem dort geboten wird. Zumindest die Shared Bathrooms waren sauber (wohl auch, weil alle Hotelgäste sich benommen haben).
Reviewed May 12, 2012
4.3
SHINICHI from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
ドミトリー”
NY Penn駅に近い、1階にサンドイッチのSubwayがある、地下鉄の駅に近い
ドミトリーと思って行かないとビックリするかも? シャワー・トイレは共用です。(個別に部屋には有りません。) 学生にはOKかもしれませんが、円出すなら、近くのペンシルバニアホテルやニューヨーカーホテルをお薦めします。
Reviewed February 07, 2014
5.7
SUGISHIMA from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
う~ん。。。”
駅から近い、ホテル周辺にパブが多い、ニューヨークのホテルにしては安いかな。。。
ニューヨークのホテルが高すぎるため、ここに滞在しました。値段の割りに部屋が。。。格安旅行者にはニューヨークは会わないかなと実感させられた旅でした。
Reviewed August 02, 2013
5.0
KIYOTAKA from Japan
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013
立地”
駅から近い 洗濯機がある  
ベットのきしむ音が半端なくひどかった  部屋の壁も薄く、冷蔵庫がなく不便でした ニューヨークでこの段値段なのでなのしかたがないのかもしれません
Reviewed March 31, 2013
6.7
Good
Nozomi from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 6 nights in November 2012
スタッフが気持ち良い応対!!”
駅が近い
私は6人部屋に5泊しました。毎日入れ替わりで新しい人が入ってきます。バックパッカーの人が利用するのが多いみたいで皆さん少ない荷物で、周りの人に気を使ってくれる人ばかりでした。ただ、シャワーがあまりよくなかったです。低予算の方にはオススメの宿です。立地もよく駅近で、観光するにはもってこいだと思います。
Reviewed November 16, 2012
4.7
WEIDONG from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
ロケーションだけで選らんだけど、失敗”
地下鉄駅に近い
部屋はかなり狭いです。この値段でこの狭さはちょっと納得行かないかも。しかもトイレとシャワーが共同です。
Reviewed June 29, 2012
5.3
Marut from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
มันคือ Hostel ราคาแพงนี่เอง”
ทำเลดี, การตกแต่งดี, พนักงานดี(แล้วหร๋อ)
วันที่ไปถึงหาไม่ยากใกล้ใต้ดินเดินแค่บล๊อคสองบล๊อกถึง เพิ่งปรับปรุงใหม่เปลี่ยนชื่อเป็น Ritt?อะไรสักอย่าง เป็นที่พัก4ชั้น ไม่มีลิฟต์!!! ย้ำไม่มีลิฟต์ ลากกระเป๋าใบใหญ่เกือบ25kgขึ้นไปพักชั้นสี่ แล้วพบว่าคำว่าห้องน้ำรวมคือ ทั้งชั้นประมาณ8ห้องมีห้องน้ำสำหรับอาบและถ่ายหนักเบา1ห้อง สภาพห้องน้ำเรียกได้ว่าแย่ น้ำไหลไม่แรงไม่ว่า น้ำไม่ร้อน!!! นิวยอร์คตอนสิบองศา อาบน้ำเย็น บ้าไปแล้ว โดยรวมไม่ประทับใจอย่างยิ่ง ถ้าจะต้องจ่ายเงินราคานี้แล้วได้การบริการที่แย่ขนาดนี้ ยอมจ่ายแพงแต่สบายกว่านี้ดีกว่า
Reviewed November 12, 2014
2.0
Haerim from South Korea
Family with teens
Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
쥐를 본 최악의 호텔”
호텔이라 말할 수 없음 바쁜일정으로 이제야 후기를 단다 여행일에서 2달이 훌쩍 지났지만 꼭 후기를 달것이라고 마음 먹고 항상 기억하고 있었다 외국에서 공부하는 나의 아들, 딸과 남편과 6개월만의 해후이고 뜻깊은 가족여행이었다 그러나 리프호텔은 최악이었다 으시시한 느낌 호텔인지 바인지 헷갈리는 로비 4인실로 예약한 룸은 2인실에 침대두개가 덩그러니 놓여있고 큰 소음 불안정한 공기 어찌할봐 몰라하며 침대에 앉아 이리저리 살피다 바닥으로 생쥐한 마리가 출몰한 것을 보고 아연실색하며 당장 다시 비싼돈(1일 백만원이 넘음)을 지불하고 숙소를 옯겼다 지금도 생각하기 싫을 정도이며 리프호텔은 증거가 없다는 이유로 환불은 커녕 사과한마디 하지 않았고 아고다 역시 같은 이유로 똑같은 태도를 보였다 어떻게 이러한 숙소를 호텔이라고 버젓이 사이트에 올려 중개업을 하는지 이해할 수 없고, 숙소를 이용한 손님이 증거가 없다는 이유로 조용히 대응하니 더이상 신경쓰지않는 점은 있을 수 없는 일이다. 그날 쥐를 보지 않았으면 억지로 그냥 잤을 것이고 생각만해도 끔찍하다. 숙소를 옯기면서 다시 발생한 숙소요금등 정신적, 물질적 피해에 대한 어떤한 대책도 없는 리프호텔과 아고다 측에 계속해서 사업을 하고싶다면 나와 같은 피해가 나오지않도록 최선을 다하기를 바란다.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
5.3
Zhen from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
太小。公用浴室”
服务不错,地理位置比较好
用手机定的房。手机里未显示是公共浴,也没标明房间大小,房间只有十个平米不到。床太闷,不透气。卫生也不好。没电梯,三楼搬行李很困难。路边太吵。
Reviewed January 11, 2014
5.7
zhang from China
Group
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
很便宜但是住宿条件很差的酒店”
很便宜。位置也很好
这个酒店位置离时代广场很近,价格相当便宜,但是床的声音很大,一动就会响,单人房间的话空间太狭窄,挺压抑的,但是就冲这个价格也没啥可挑剔的了
Reviewed November 23, 2012
7.7
Very good
YANG from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
位置优越但客房空间很小。”
位置很好,走几分钟就到麦迪逊花园站了。
房间很小,放下箱子后基本上就只能呆在床上了。旅馆很干净,卫生间干净无异味。 房间里出现了老鼠,把我买的几块打算送人的巧克力全毁了!这个太令人沮丧了。 交通方便,megabus站就在附近,地铁站更近。
Reviewed October 14, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Pujo from Indonesia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Hotel ini sangat rekomendasi untuk para wisatawan ”
mudah di temukan, pelayanan yang ramah dan pemandangan yang sangat baik dari dalam hotel.
saya sangatsenang dengan kondisi hotel yang bersih dan menarik bagi para wisatawan yang kebetulan berkunjung ke negara amerika. sangat puas dengan pelayanan hotel ini.kondisi toiletnya juga bersih.
Reviewed April 09, 2015
6.7
Good
Fajar from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
lokasi stategis”
Lokasi sangat stategis, kamar mandi bersama bersih dan mudah terjangkau
dalam pemesanan saya melalui Agoda, disebutkan pemesanan merupakan kamar double namun yang saya dapatkan adalah kamar single yang sangat sempit hanya sekitar 1,5X2 m dan staf hotel mengatakan itu adalah kebijakan baru hotel. Kelebihan hotel ini adalah lokasinya yang strategis dikelilingi dengan berbagai tempat wisata/belanja dan aksesibilatas angkutan umum yang memadai (karena hanya 3 blok menuju Penn Station). Adapun kekurangannya adalah staf yang kurang ramah, kamar mandi yang tidak ada air panas dan selalu kehabisan sabun serta kamar yang sangat sempit!
Reviewed October 09, 2014
5.7
Aleksandra from Russia
Business traveler
Stayed 8 nights in October 2013
отель в стиле -купе в поезде (где все "Выключено")”
близкое расположение к центру и метро , не плохой Wi-fi
Комната 2,5*2,5 метра, половина которой занимает кровать. Я не очень притязательно отношусь к шуму, но здесь ощущение, что спишь в коридоре. За стенкой туалет - всю ночь как-будто к тебе в номер ходят... Кроме кровати в номере тумбочка с зеркалом. Постоянный застоялый запах. окно открывается на 15 см. с видом на крышу и стену. В душе кафель не чищен очень давно… горячая вода - спускала очень очень очень долго. Больше чем на одну, две ночи категорически не рекомендую. Wi-fi, расположение, персонал (очень доброжелательный) – это единственные плюсы.
Reviewed November 18, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Aleksey from Belarus
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Отличное местоположение, но очень маленький номер ”
Доброжелательный персонал
Отель расположен примерно в 15 минутах ходьбы и от Times square, и от Chelsea market. Недалеко станция метро и супермаркет. Номера очень маленькие с удобствами на этаже. Заявлен телевизор, но смотреть такой маленький, еще кинескопный ящик уже не комфортно. Есть Wi-Fi сеть с доступом в Internet. Идеален отель для тех, кому нужно только забросить вещи и прийти на ночь. Персонал приветлив и доброжелателен, круглосуточно может помочь решить проблему. После выселения можно оставить вещи.
Reviewed January 19, 2013
9.2
Exceptional
Sara from Sweden
Family with teens
Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
Närhet till allt”
Litet rum men läget var bra!
Reviewed February 10, 2016
7.7
Very good
Wei from Taiwan
Group
Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
不錯”
去哪都很方便!
Reviewed February 12, 2016