Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
See all 29 photos

"The location is good and bed is comfortable."

Yi

26 November 2017

Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing - Bed Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing - Bed
See all 29 photos
Lobby Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Lobby
See all 29 photos
Bathroom Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Bathroom
See all 29 photos
Bathroom Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Bathroom
See all 29 photos
See map Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
See map
Exceptional
Location
9.0
See all 29 photos Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
See all 29 photos
Removed from saved list

Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier

Exceptional location
Have a question for Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Excellent
From 155 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
Recommended by 83% of guests
Value for money7.6
Location rating9.0
Has restaurantYes
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms

  • Hot tub

  • Bar

  • Laundry service

Room choices
8.1
Excellent
Room comfort & quality
Suite with Two Queen Beds
Suite with Two Queen Beds
...
  • 45 m²/484 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 2 queen beds
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Queen
Superior Queen
...
  • 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 single bed and 1 queen be...
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Room - Douglas Wing
Superior Room - Douglas Wing
...
  • 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Twin QQ
Superior Twin QQ
...
  • 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 2 queen beds
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Twin KS
Superior Twin KS
...
  • 30 m²/323 ft²
  • 1 single bed and 1 king bed
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Three Singles - Douglas Wing
Superior Three Singles - Douglas Wing
...
  • 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 3 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing
Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing
...
  • 30 m²/323 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 single bed and 1 queen be...
Enter dates to see prices
Graham Wing Room
Graham Wing Room
...
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Graham Wing Single
Graham Wing Single
...
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Douglas Wing Room
Douglas Wing Room
...
  • Shower
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier

More about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier

"Clean and cozy hotel with helpful staff."

Reviewed 04 January 2017

Zita from Hong Kong

|

Group

An overview

Show more

What they offer

"Polite staff."

Wing A. from Hong Kong

|

Couple
Show less

Property's guest policies

Show more

Some helpful facts

Show more

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (155)Booking.com Reviews (482)
8.1
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities7.4
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.1
Value for money7.6
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
Bahasa Indonesia
Deutsch
more
Room type
Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing
Suite with Two Queen Beds
Superior Queen
Superior Room - Douglas Wing
more
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 123 verified guest comments
12345
10.0
Exceptional
Melandy from Philippines
Couple
Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
BEAUTIFUL HOTEL WITH A VIEW”
Great hotel!
Reviewed July 30, 2018
Dear Melandy Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Kind regards, Lesley, Assistant Manager
Responded July 31, 2018
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
6.0
irwan from Indonesia
Family with young children
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Good place for spending sometime to have a nice view of glacier”
The Good Place for spending quality time with family and have a nice view for resting your mind in daily activity
Reviewed June 21, 2018
Dear irwan Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, delighted that you've enjoyed the view from the hotel. Kind regards, Lesley Schultze, Assistant Manager
Responded July 04, 2018
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
6.8
Good
Mohamed from Sri Lanka
Couple
Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
The only decent hotel in franz Josef ”
Although there is no concierge, and nor do they offer breakfast included for online bookings
Reviewed April 29, 2018
Dear Mohamed Thank you for your review, we do appreciate hearing from our guests and how their stay with us has been. Breakfast included rates are available online on our Scenic Hotel Group website. I hope you've enjoyed your travels in New Zealand. Kind regards, Lesley Schultze, Assistant Manager.
Responded May 03, 2018
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
7.2
Very good
Praewarin from Thailand
Couple
Superior Room - Douglas Wing
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Too Expensive ”
Too expensive and there is no any service for customer. There is no elevator comparing to price, this hotel is not worth for money.
Reviewed April 15, 2018
Dear Praewarin Thank you for providing feedback. My apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are mindful that the buildings do not have elevators to our first floor rooms and as such we offer porters to assist our guests. I do hope you enjoyed the region and indeed your travels within New Zealand. Kind regards, Lesley Schultze, Assistant Manager
Responded May 03, 2018
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
10.0
Exceptional
Elaine from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Exceptional”
Nice room. Nice bed.
Reviewed April 14, 2018
Dear Elaine Thank you for taking the time to place some positive feedback. Kind regards, Lesley Schultze, Assistant Manager
Responded May 03, 2018
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
2.4
Sarah from United States
Couple
Superior Twin QQ
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Disgusting room, incredibly overpriced ”
Way too expensive for what you get and poor customer service. We were placed on a first floor room that had no barrier between the windows and the street so anyone passing by could see straight into the room if the blinds were open. On top of having to be in a dark cave of a room for two days, the carpet was incredibly stained and dingy and the bathroom floors had not been cleaned based on the stains around the toilet and shower. When we told management, they said they would do what they could to remedy the situation, just to have the travel agent we booked with contact them directly. Travel agent has contacted them and the hotel has said the room was as advertised and they will not provide any reimbursement for the subpar room that cost over $250 a night. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else in Franz Josef!
Reviewed December 04, 2017
Dear Sarah, Thank you again for getting in touch. I totally understand that we did not manage to meet your expectations on a stay with us here at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier. You can believe me that I am as disappointed as you are but we provided you with a perfectly fine room that was advertised to you in the correct manner with photos that show exactly the style/type of room you stayed in. Your request for reimbursement reached us after you had departed the hotel and was lacking valuable reason that would have allowed me to authorize any refund. I have inspected the room you have stayed in and can't confirm correctness of your comments. I can further not confirm that you have been treated with poor customer service by the team as our ultimate aim is to look after our guests to ensure they take positive memories with them home. This statement is confirmed by the many positive feedback left on our review pages by other travelers. Kind regards, Alexander Tschampel, General Mgr
Show more
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
6.8
Good
David from Australia
Couple
Superior Room - Douglas Wing
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good”
Way too expensive for an average hotel room
Reviewed November 28, 2017
Dear David, Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us. You have visited us during our busy summer season where room rates are at its premium. Due to our seasonality we have to increase room rates as otherwise our survival as a business would be put into jeopardy. i trust you understand and hope you have still taken positive memories with you home. Please stay in touch and visit again. maybe next time in our shoulder or winter season where rates are a bit more relaxed. Best wishes, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Responded November 29, 2017
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
6.4
Good
Yi from Australia
Family with teens
Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Average”
The location is good and bed is comfortable. However, the room is far less than the 30 square meters as advertised ( approximately 22 sq at max). So, it’s definitely not worth the price around 300NZD.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
YOON from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Twin QQ
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017
Simply the best hotel in franz josef”
Location is great as it is walking distance to the main commercial street of franz josef that have convenient shop, restaurants and tour booking company. The room is spacious and clean with very comfortable bed. The hotel reception is very helpful and made good recommendations to us on what to do and where to eat. Appreciates that a lot.
Reviewed September 16, 2017
Dear YOON, Thank you for putting pen to paper and posting your kind review on our agoda.com site. It is rewarding to learn that you have fully enjoyed your stay with us and the central town location of the hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit in the hopefully not so distant future. Yours sincerely, Alexander Tschampel General Manager Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Responded September 18, 2017
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
6.0
Robert from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Above average”
Noisy, smelly room.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
7.2
Very good
Jillian from South Africa
Couple
Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Centrally located. ”
Centrally located. Clean and comfortable. All basic facilities e.g. Tea making facilities, tv, etc in room. Friendly staff. Breakfast was disappointing especially for the price.
Reviewed March 08, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Wing from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Very nice stay”
Clean and proper hotel. Polite staff. Nice environment. Nice stay.
Reviewed February 08, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Susan from United States
Family with teens
Superior Twin QQ
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
The Four Seasons of Franz Josef Glacier!”
Franz Josef Glacier is a small rustic village, kind of like a ski town without the snow. The Scenic Hotel is among the best accommodations in town (alternatives are mainly backpacker hostels, campsites, motels, etc.). Overall, the hotel is still a little rustic, but the rooms are clean & safe with modern amenities. If you're the outdoor-sy type but beyond camping, you'll be very comfortable here and quite satisfied.
Reviewed January 10, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
neil from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Nice”
All good
Reviewed January 07, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Zita from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Good location”
Situated near Franz Josef. Clean and cozy hotel with helpful staff.
Reviewed January 04, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Denise from United States
Family with teens
Suite with Two Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Nice place in an adventuresome town! ”
It was clean, comfortable, in the heart of town and nice people working there! All was good!
Reviewed January 02, 2017
6.8
Good
Djunaidi from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Queen & Single - Graham Wing
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
No facility ”
The hotel has no facility. Not matching with the price
Reviewed January 01, 2017
7.2
Very good
Ronnie from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Queen
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
a good place to stay at Franz Josef Glacier”
Scenic Hotel is located in the main street and very near to the local eateries and the heli ride tour operators.
Reviewed January 01, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Ravi from Australia
Family with young children
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Had Good Time, however somewhat disappointed by the reception service.”
We had booked and paid for additional bed, however upon check-in were told otherwise and risked not getting the bed and sleeping on floor. The receptionist didn't seem to care too much.
Reviewed December 25, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Ardison from United States
Couple
Superior Room - Douglas Wing
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Two Night Stay”
Arrived at the hotel driving all-day from Queenstown. Good spot (as most hotels are in Franz Josef) and the facilities were good. Everything is walking distance from the hotel and there is ample amounts of parking.
Reviewed December 08, 2016
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss