Book Now: Strathcona Hotel

Very good
From 116 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (116)Booking.com Reviews (2035)
7.8
Very good
From 116 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities7.5
Location9.4
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.8
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
Deutsch
more
Room type
Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
Twin Room
Deluxe Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Suite
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 110 verified guest comments
9.0
Exceptional
sujeong from South Korea
Family with teens
Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
good location!”
good service good food good location
Reviewed March 24, 2015
7.3
Very good
Danielle from Canada
Group
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Great Location, Awful Sleep”
Location, character, convenient
Great location, however the room was small, and the mattress was the most uncomfortable I've slept on in years. The price was good for the location, but because of a few issues we had with the bar staff and the uncomfortable beds, we won't be staying again. Not all beds were like ours, we stayed with a large party and other beds were much more comfortable than ours.
Reviewed January 10, 2015
5.0
Gonzalo from Mexico
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Cold, Noisy and Dirty.”
Price
The room was very cold, the heater was not enough to maintain the room at a comfortable temperature. One of the beds was not done, the towel had hairs. The room was noisy.
Reviewed January 05, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Brandon from South Korea
Couple
Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Perfect hotel in Victoria”
Location, Clean room and staff
This hotel is underrated hotel. Really cheap with perfect condition hotel.
Reviewed December 16, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Laurence from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Downtown”
location, bars and restaurants
For the money you can't go wrong. Great location for walking around Victoria
Reviewed October 30, 2014
7.7
Very good
Fung from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Friendly staff of the hotel enhanced our stay”
staff & location
The reception staff recommended a great tour for us as we sought her help to book a tour to see whales. The tour staff extended our tour duration as we were only able to see quite many whales at a very late time. The description provided by our guide on the boat was also great. Also, we joined the guided tour at the parliament and were surprised by a staff act as Victoria queen. She actually supplemented the tour guide in providing more description on the queen's history. Our stay at Victoria was short but was full of fun.
Reviewed July 01, 2014
6.3
Good
ZHONG from Canada
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Great Location”
Location, Location, Location
The hotel is very old and not well-maintained. The only advantage is the location. It is located close to the inner harbour of Victoria and very easy to access to the main attractions, shopping and resturants.
Reviewed June 22, 2014
7.3
Very good
Gertrude from United States
Family with teens
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Comfortable, pleasant, convenient to ferry.”
Location, location, location, convenient to Burchardt Gardens, ferry, transportation, entertainment
Reviewed June 19, 2014
8.0
Excellent
prapasri from Thailand
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
brief stay. Hotel is in good location”
Location. Value for money. Convenient
OK
Reviewed June 14, 2014
6.0
wilson from Singapore
Business traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 6 nights in December 2013
it was pleasant”
location location location
pleasant for a return
Reviewed May 17, 2014
6.3
Good
Jeffrey from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Great location but can be noisy at night.”
Good location near to Victoria bus terminal if you need, easy walk to all the main streets and inner harbor,
Breakfast not too good and can be noisy at night. No fridge available. Reception will not be able to make calls for you and likely not be able to book tours for you. You have to call from your hotel room. The positives are centrally located near to inner harbor and easy access to Victoria downtown.
Reviewed May 16, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Huong from Canada
Family with teens
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Great location”
Great service, great location, very nice and clean
Very good, I will cone back again.
Reviewed April 27, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Siow from Singapore
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Basic and comfortable”
Very close to most of the attractions
Generally comfortable and easy access to many attractions. The main con is they don't provide a kettle to boil water and when we asked whether there is a flash for hot water for my medication, was told that we have to go downstairs to get a pot of warm water from their restaurant.
Reviewed April 08, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Casey from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Great location ”
great location, clean rooms, friendly staff
Good service, and value for your dollar. Not the best hotel but great location in the heart of the so easy to get around.
Reviewed January 13, 2014
6.3
Good
Wee from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Very central location but poor wifi and no air-con”
Central location
The hotel is conveniently located right at the heart of the city on Douglas street. It is set in a historic/heritage building which adds to the romance of spending a night in this historic city. The wifi, however, is patchy and unreliable. There is also no air conditioning and it can get very hot on a summer afternoon. Not sure if I would stay there if I am in Victoria again
Reviewed January 03, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Suk from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Big discount and comfortable stay”
Old tradition, Classics decoration, nice staff
Reviewed December 28, 2013
5.3
Frank from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
You get what you pay for!”
Central location, good price, nothing much else
Terrible! Room was ice cold. The tiny 3 ft baseboard heater could not keep up with the cold coming in through the single pane glass window. We used the extra blanket provided in the room and also needed an extra quilt from the front desk. Room was tiny. No pen or paper. The TV was built in the 80's. The bed was old and squeaky. The room was noisy and we heard everyone coming in from the bar.
Reviewed December 12, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Jonathan from Canada
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Nice clean hotel with old charm great value!!”
Best value, central location, friendly staff
Excellent! Love it for its price. of course it's not as nice as 4 star hotels but the price you pay you will like what you recieved. Room was clean. I usually stay in a little more expensive hotels. But this trip was a "business" trip and I didn't feel like spending so much So I decided to keep my costs down. Found this hotel and I'm pleased to what a recieved. Would highly recommend this place. Did exactly what I expected to be! Close to shopping, parks , harbor!
Reviewed October 29, 2013
4.0
Alexia from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Don't plan on sleeping”
Walking distance from the main sights, checking out, breakfast coffee
Other than the central Iocation of this hotel, there is no other reason one should stay here unless you plan on partying the whole night or enjoy listening to every word said next door. We informed the staff that we had rowdy neighbours and could hear doors slamming down the hall and all they offered was an "upgraded room" for an additional . She also informed us that the hotel was adjacent to a bar/club- which explained the late night fighting and yelling outside on the street. When we checked out the next day, another family was also complaining about how noisy the hotel was. The noise aside- the bed is incredibly uncomfortable. They had a plastic cover on the mattress - perhaps to protect agains?! The tv is also from 1975.
Reviewed October 22, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
great value”
excellent location 1 block from Empress; nice older rooms, clean, good bathroom;
Excellent service, great value; not the fanciest but a nice clean, older European feel. Location is so perfect at such a great price.
Reviewed October 01, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2013
great value”
great location, center of downtown victoria
Reviewed October 01, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Donna from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in August 2013
Reasonable, centrally located hotel”
Centrally located, easy walking distance to inner harbour and historical attractions, restaurants close by.
Pleasant stay. Rooms are clean, comfortable beds. Due to downtown location, it is somewhat noisy at night, but despite the noise, it is a great place to stay. Continental breakfast buffet was good if you are just looking for a coffee and a quick snack. Otherwise, there are plenty of cafes and restaurants serving full breakfast very close to the hotel. We found that our deluxe queen room was very small, however, we had no problems switching to a larger, more spacious room for the majority of our stay, and the staff was excellent, making sure that we were comfortable and locating us away from most of the street noise.
Reviewed August 31, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Anna from Canada
Family with teens
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Great location!!”
location, affordable, vintage
All around good. An older hotel in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Small, older rooms but clean!
Reviewed August 27, 2013
5.3
John from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013
Never again”
The Hotel Bars, The Hotel Bars, The Hotel Bars
If you want a hot breakfast, if you want a early morning alarm call to go to the airport, if you want nice soft towels that fit round your waist, if you want WiFi that does not switch off suddenly, if you want places to charge your equipment other than the bathroom, if you want your toiletries topped up daily Do not stay here.
Reviewed August 11, 2013
6.3
Good
ZHONG from Canada
Family with teens
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
antiquated hotel with great location”
great location, close to shopping areas and attractions
The hotel is at a great location, just several minutes walk to the inner harbour, but the facility and decoration inside is very antiquated and far from comfortable. The breakfast is very simple and crude as well. On the whole, the hotel is not worth its price at all.
Reviewed July 14, 2013
8.0
Excellent
NORMAN from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Great location, room was sufficient.”
The location, breakfast and it is an older building which has character.
We like our stay overall but it would've been nicer if there was coffee maker in the room. It is not air-conditioned and we were on the top floor so it was quite warn during the day. But it worked out okay since we didn't return to the hotel room until late at night.
Reviewed July 10, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Irene from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
great location and friendly staff”
great location, friendly staff and comfortable bed
Reviewed July 02, 2013
6.7
Good
Yuan from China
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
old and small”
staff is nice, close to Downtown Victoria and close to bus stop
Reviewed June 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Kristin from Canada
Family with teens
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Good value”
1. Location 2. Price 3. Cleanliness
Reviewed April 30, 2013
7.7
Very good
Marc from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Great location and close to city center”
Location, cleanliness and helpful staff
The location is really close to sight seeing. Staff were really friendly.
Reviewed April 23, 2013
6.7
Good
Xiaojie from China
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Good Value for the Money”
Location, Fast Check-in, Close to transit
Reviewed April 20, 2013
7.0
Very good
Hurni from Switzerland
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Nice City Hotel”
Staff, Location, Breakfest
The Hotel is very close waterairport and just 100m from the mainstreet and the shoppingstreet. The Staff is verry friendly and helpfull.
Reviewed April 16, 2013
7.0
Very good
Jennifer from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2013
Great location”
Close to everything in the downtown core of Victoria
Reviewed April 12, 2013
6.0
Dave from Canada
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
good and clean”
It was place to sleep
Reviewed April 06, 2013
7.7
Very good
xinchun from China
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Good Location ”
Receiption service
Goog location in city center. Bus stop to Buchate garden and ferry terminal is in front of the hotel. It's a pity that bedding is too simple.
Reviewed March 13, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
NODOKA from Japan
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
good location, kind”
good location
location is the best to enjoy downtown. staff is very kind. room is always clean without tip. free breakfast was also good.
Reviewed December 25, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Danielle from Canada
Couple
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Great location. Smaller rooms but did the trick.”
Location, complex
this hotel had a great location and the staff were nice. they were good to let us check in late and sleep in as well. this was great for us. the room is on the smaller side and a bit dated but clean and good for a few nights. it was totally worth what we paid.
Reviewed November 27, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Patricia from United States
Family with teens
Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Great Hotel in the Center of Town”
Right Downtown
Very convenient. Staff was helpful and nice. The rooms were large and comfortable.
Reviewed November 26, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Si from China
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Unexpect, wonderful hotel, must live”
Highest speed internet WIFI ever met. close to everything.
they have breakfast, very high speed of WIFI internet access, and cheap price.
Reviewed October 15, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Helen from Canada
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Perfect location with helpful staff”
Location
Great location to stay at for downtown. Really great for the Victoria marathon
Reviewed October 10, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Li from Australia
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
good location”
close to everywhere, good sized room, friendly staff
overall, I am happy with the service provided by the hotel. The location is really good. The only thing is that I was bitten by something in one bed, so I moved to sleep in another bed.
Reviewed October 01, 2012
7.3
Very good
brian from Australia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Rooms large but very bare in appointments”
Great loaction
We were placed in a first floor room fronting the main street and next to a roof top bar. The noise on the Sunday night was not good and had trouble sleeping. The floors above would have been a lot better. Service was good and one day wifi was not working and they immediately had it fixed.
Reviewed September 21, 2012
7.7
Very good
Lynne from Canada
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
great hotel”
location
hotel with great location. free breakfast is pretty basic but decent: coffee, tea, toast, bagels, muffins, and cereal. room is nothing fancy but comfortable.
Reviewed September 09, 2012
7.7
Very good
Didier from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Good hotel”
Nice hotel, perfect location
This hotel is located on the main street in a perfect location. Breakfast is nothing special but oke, rooms are not super nice but clean. Staff was very vriendly and helpfull. Lots of bars in the same complex (not much noice at night though). Overall is this still a nice hotel because the location is perfect and the price is right. In the beautiful area of Victoria BC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Kim from New Zealand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Centre of town couple blocks from water”
Old character hotel
Centre town with parking and wifi, couple of bars and huge restuarant. Most things in walking distance. We were lucky to be there on a Sunday when there were markets on the waterfront. Breakfast included but the cold Canadain one we have become used to.
Reviewed August 15, 2012
7.0
Very good
Nancy from Canada
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
great classy old hotel, small rooms”
roof top patio bar, classy old buildings, great atmsophere
This place was a lovely surprise around each corner, I can only imagine it's history. Beautiful old classy decor with fixtures, moldings and mirrors. Great atmosphere. The roof top patio bar was great, it was a sunny afternoon and the appies were two for a nice way to spend the afternoon. The rooms were small but very clean, had no air conditioning but the windows did go up so we were not hot at night. It is very conviently located. My Daughter and I did a "walk on" the ferry and caught a bus right from the ferry terminal and were let off a half block from the hotel. We walked every where that weekend and saw everything we came to see. No taxes or buses neccessary till we ventured home.
Reviewed July 31, 2012
8.7
Excellent
carol from Canada
Couple
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Location Location Location”
Entertainment
Could not have found a better location to stay in Victoria.Walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do
Reviewed July 24, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Candace from United States
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Fantastic location”
Great location, near restaurants & city features
our room was tiny, and there was no fridge, but wifi was fast and easy. the hotel was clean and convenient with parking nearby. breakfast was adequate but short on protein options.
Reviewed June 18, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Albert from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Great hotel”
Comfortable bed...great location
the restoration of the hotel is magnificent..the use of the timber throughout is very tasteful. staff very pleasant. only downside we could see was that it was quite noisy ..being a great venue for the young people (and it was the weekend). but still a very enjoyable stay
Reviewed May 18, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Christie from Canada
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Clean, comfortable and great location”
Room is clean and comfortable style
I was surprised at how nice the hotel was considering the low rates! Usually I lower expectations at this price point but this location exceeded those expectations 100%. Room is nicely styled, beds are comfortable and above all it's very clean. Location is perfect for a stay in downtown Victoria with a lovely bar/restaurant downstairs. I have heard it can be a bit noisy here but on the 5th floor we had a nice quiet sleep.
Reviewed May 07, 2012