Book Now: Sumner Hotel

Very good
From 163 reviewsSee what guests said
7.1

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (163)Booking.com Reviews (554)
7.1
Very good
From 163 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities6.5
Location7.2
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.2
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Deutsch
한국어
more
Room type
Double with 2 Double Beds - Non-Smoking
Double with 2 Double Beds - Smoking
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Queen Room - Smoking
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 159 verified guest comments
5.3
Debra from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Rooms were really tiny”
location
2 nights
Reviewed September 10, 2014
5.3
Paul from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Fine Hotel for the area”
Bed, TV, Shower
It's a fine hotel. All the hotels in the NY area are overpriced so this is one of the few that gives you better value for your money.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
7.7
Very good
Carolyn from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Great Hotel”
Cleanliness, Comfy Bed, Pefect Television
My stay at Sumner Hotel was just right and comfortable! I really can't complain.
Reviewed September 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Sawaporn from Thailand
Group
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Budget Hotel Good Option”
Location, Price, Comfort
It's located in Brooklyn with very easy access to Manhattan. The subway station is just a 2-min-walk. I chose this hotel because of its location and I made a good choice. The hotel is clean and big enough - as of my standard. You know, it's New York, you'll be outside of the room for most of the time. The toilet was equipped with everything you need. They provided you breakfast which was not a full buffet breakfast seen in the hotel but at least it made you full.
Reviewed August 27, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Harrison from United States
Family with young children
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Good hotel. Clean . Convenience location. OK break”
Clean. Close to convenience fast food restaurant. Subway.
No issue
Reviewed August 07, 2014
3.7
Jay from Philippines
Solo traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Terrifying!!”
Cheap, cheap and cheap
The location is soooo bad... i really felt unsafe. if u r visiting NYC, i think it is wise to spend a little more and book at a hotel where u'l feel secured.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
7.3
Very good
Dave from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Not bad”
good price, clean, decent breakfast
So I have mixed feeling about this place. The place looks good, the staff was friendly to us, the breakfast wasn't half bad, and it is pretty easy to jump on the train from there and get around. That said, if you need to jump on the subway you need to walk a few blocks through a super sketchy neighborhood. I live in a city, run a food bank and deal with people in crisis all the time, and I felt very unsafe during the day, and would not go there at night. There were multiple police units there just hanging out, as if they knew something was going to happen there if they just waited. We felt safer in the Brox. So, if you don't need to use the subway, not a bad place to stay. If you do, I might consider somewhere else.
Reviewed June 20, 2014
7.3
Very good
Taylor from Australia
Solo traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in June 2014
Awesome location, staff looked after us well”
Location, right opposite a train only a few stops from nyc Manhattan area
Excellent! Comfortable clean rooms, simple breakfast if you're hungry, great location
Reviewed June 08, 2014
6.7
Good
Zed from Singapore
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Stayed here a year ago, no changes from before”
Near to metro, fast food and convenience shops in vicinity
Reviewed May 31, 2014
5.3
Douglas from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Bulletproof glass lobby receptiion w/ decent rooms”
cleanliness of the rooms, breakfast, ?
Not being from New York and staying in Brooklyn for the first time, I was told to stay near Williambusrg. I thought Hotel Sumner was a great deal considering location and price on a holiday weekend. I'll start with the pro's, the rooms are pretty clean and modern and Breakfast is included (I didn't eat it though so I can't comment). On the other hand though, the safety of the area is very questionable with public housing projects right across the street. I left my car overnight and didn't think it would survive the night. Moreover, the front lobby receptionist is behind bulletproof glass which should give you an idea of what kind of neighborhood you are staying in.
Reviewed May 27, 2014
6.0
Tyler from Canada
Solo traveler
Double with 2 Double Beds - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Short and sweet.”
Close to transit, rooms were modern, staff was friendly.
The only problem I had was the washroom was dirty when we arrived. Littered in the shower was old shampoo bottles and clumps of former guests hair.
Reviewed May 05, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Daniel from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
Great budget hotel, close to subway.”
Great price, easy access to Manhattan and Williamsburg, great staff.
Perfect
Reviewed April 17, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Joseph from United States
Family with teens
Double with 2 Double Beds - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
comfortable and very nice to deal with”
area, breakfast, comfort
great I would stay again. The people are very friendly and hotel is very clean and its so nice to have a breakfast before you start the day. I would definitely rebook rooms again in the future
Reviewed March 28, 2014
5.7
Mattia from Switzerland
Business traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
pretty decent”
3 stops from marcy av. (Williamsburg)
Rooms are nice clean, but forget the breakfast, it was terrible. The hotel is 3 stops from williamsburg, 30 min ride to the center.
Reviewed February 22, 2014
7.3
Very good
Felix from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Simple, straight-forward and budget-wise”
Close to transportation, decent view of surroundings from upper floor, clean
My stay was straight-forward, no fuss, no muss. The room was very clean. Check in/out was fast. Nearby local dining and transportation is a plus. One complaint is the cable was horrible. Static on many channels or not viewable at all. The only other complaint I have is that the ice machine was all the way in the basement, but I'm on the 7th floor.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
8.3
Excellent
kevin from Canada
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
Great value for money”
Clean rooms, comfy bed, good breakfast
We got a great deal on this hotel so the value for money couldn't get much better for NYC. Hotel is close to the skytrain so getting around the city was very easy. Rooms were clean and had everything you need. We stayed in a hostel for the same price as this hotel the night before and this was 10x better. Breakfast is basic, but good. Includes, juice, hot chocolate, coffee, yogurt, fruit and bread etc. The staff was kind but not overly friendly, overall a good stay.
Reviewed January 19, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Sahar from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Completely satisfy ”
Clean, friendly staff and good location
Completely satisfy because the room was Clean, friendly staff and good location.
Reviewed December 20, 2013
8.3
Excellent
FRANCES from United States
Solo traveler
Double with 2 Double Beds - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
COMFORTABLE STAY”
Proximity to Metro, Price, Free breakfast, and 4th...friendly staff!
I had a comfortable stay at the Sumner. Note, however, that the bed was a little too hard for me, pillows are very flat (some like them that way) and I think housekeeping should be checked a little more closely. I would recommend earplugs as the Metro rumble was audible and hallway noises were too (as with most hotels). The metro is 1/2 block away, drugstore 1/2 block away, Ihop right across the street (however, hotel self-serve breakfast was quite adequate). Staff was superb-answered all needs quickly. $25 ride to La Guardia.
Reviewed December 06, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Joseph from United States
Family with teens
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in November 2013
very comfortable stay”
breakfast, clean, close to subway
it was good, except for the dog barking in the middle of the night
Reviewed December 04, 2013
7.3
Very good
Catherine from United States
Couple
Double with 2 Double Beds - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
Conveniently located”
Clean, within walking distance to transportation, friendly staff.
Would stay here again. Beds were very comfortable. Room was modern and clean. We had a nice view of Brooklyn and NYC. Convenient to public transportation.
Reviewed November 27, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Asbjoern from Norway
Couple
Queen Room - Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in November 2013
Close to train to Manhattan”
Close to public transport, nice and clean rooms, and friendly staff
Good valua for Money, if all you want for a hotel is to sleep. Short way to Trains.Nice and clean rooms, and friendly staff.
Reviewed November 12, 2013
6.7
Good
Tai from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Near to Train Station”
Near to Laundry, Train Station and train station to town is about 15 mins.
Initially feel not save because it is negro area. However, every night in front of the hotel Police is patrolling. So i feel very safe and only the area around is a little bit dirty.
Reviewed November 04, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Chenying from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Good, will go there next time”
nice room; near metro station; everything was very good, worth your money
Reviewed November 04, 2013
8.0
Excellent
HENG from Malaysia
Group
Double with 2 Double Beds - Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Comfortable and satisfied”
Near the subway station, free breakfast, very clean room overall
It's near the subway station and it's not that expensive compare with other hotels in the central city of NY
Reviewed November 03, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Vladislav from United States
Family with young children
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Safe for tourists with kids.”
Clean and quiet room, friendly staff, close to subway. But run-down neighborhood.
Reviewed October 29, 2013
5.7
Libby from Australia
Family with teens
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
i would not stay here again”
room was clean
the hotel itself is good, with easy access to subway. the family that owns it however has either had too many bad experiences or should not have gotten into this business in the first place. they are rude and unhelpful, but more than that, insisted on me signing a blank credit card voucher when i checked in, then would not return it when i checked out. i was told that this was insurance against any damage to the room. i asked them to check the room then and there for damage and if there was none, to tear up or give me the credit card voucher. they refused. nowhere else, in my extensive travels has anyone done this. i told them i felt uncomfortable leaving a blank signed credit card docket, and the answer was just a shrug and too bad. i would never stay here again because of this and would recommend that no-one else does especially since they have already charged someone else $1000 for damage this person says they did not do (one of the other reviews of this hotel). the room itself was fine and the subway is only a few steps away. the neighbourhood is worrisome and the breakfasts were not very good. overall it's a good hotel that is spoiled by the staff.
Reviewed October 24, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
ngozi from United States
Family with teens
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Clean outside and inside”
Building looks well maintained , clean rooms . Breakfast not too bad
I was pleasantly surprised . I read a lot of the reviews before picking this hotel . Almost all were good . True the location is not too good . The hotel itself has well maintained appearance both inside and outside . Clean sheets, bathroom even the hallways are clean. The free breakfast I was great full for . They had bagels Hot and cold cereal, yogurt, little muffins fresh waffles, juice, coffee and some other little things. That's more than some other hotels.the rooms were cleaned everyday and you got fresh towels if you wanted . The room was spacious enough for my daughter and I. The staff are not very friendly they're not hostile either just kind of flat affect and they do stand behind what appears to be a bullet proof glass window while attending to you.
Reviewed October 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Mattes from Germany
Solo traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
good value for money in central brooklyn”
Easy access to public transport, supermarket nearby, central brooklyn location
Reviewed September 28, 2013
7.7
Very good
ZHOU from China
Business traveler
Queen Room - Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
good experience”
good location, clean room, close to MTA J, M train station
good location, close to many restaurants including Chinese, but most of them are fast food style; clean room; close to MTA J, M train station, just 1 minute by walk to the station; breakfast is very simple, just some breads, they even lock the yogurt in a cabinet, every time you want to have one, you have to ask the waitress to open for you!
Reviewed September 21, 2013
8.7
Excellent
sean from United States
Group
Double with 2 Double Beds - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
Good value, no problems. ”
Close to subway, value for money, clean/comfortable
Great to access the city, no problems. Definitely recommend.
Reviewed September 19, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
sean from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Fantastic. ”
Location. Price. Breakfast.
No complaints other than the card key for room not working (even after several attempts). But, minor inconvenience.
Reviewed September 06, 2013
7.7
Very good
Janice from Singapore
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
comfortable”
affordable, accessible, relatively safe area
Great, 2 mins walk away from the nearest subway and the area was relatively safe.
Reviewed August 19, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Zed from Singapore
Solo traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in August 2013
Consider staying here for visits to Manhattan”
near to subway, new interior, clean room
Reviewed August 14, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Brian from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Awesome and nice stay!”
breakfast, staff, rooms
I had a great stay at the Sumner Hotel. Such a nice friendly staff. Good wifi and good beds.
Reviewed August 05, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Brian from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room - Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Awesome stay! great hotel”
staff, rooms, breakfast
No issues with the hotel would stay again! Friendly staff and nice clean rooms!
Reviewed August 05, 2013
7.3
Very good
Victorino from Philippines
Solo traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Worth for the Money”
Comfortable Room, Near to MTA Station & Many Fastfood Restaurant nearby.
I'm quite satisfied with my stay in the Hotel, with free American breakfast, quiet place, easy access to Manhattan by MTA train, free internet and worth the value for money.
Reviewed July 29, 2013
7.7
Very good
Nart from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in July 2013
Good & clean budget hotel ”
Quite, clean & close to subway
The hotel is pretty good overall. Very close to subway and restaurants are all over. Quite and decently clean. Would definitely recommend for a comfortable stay in Brooklyn.
Reviewed July 23, 2013
7.0
Very good
Joonas from Finland
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Great value for money. Simple and easy.”
location, cleanliness, price
We stayed here for couple of nights. Really happy about the overall experience since the hotel was quite cheap.
Reviewed July 23, 2013
7.0
Very good
Eric from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Descent place, but in a sketchy area”
clean room, nice staff, near train station
Only stayed here because it was close to a concert venue. Turns out the neighborhood is pretty sketchy and not so safe. You can definitely find a similarly priced place in a safer neighborhood.
Reviewed July 22, 2013
7.3
Very good
Krish from New Zealand
Couple
Double with 2 Double Beds - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Great Location”
Clean room, Great location, Good Value for Money
Was a great stay. Friendly staff members and the room condition was great. Will highly recommend this hotel. The only downside was the breakfast. There was not many choose.
Reviewed July 15, 2013
7.7
Very good
Amanda from United States
Family with young children
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Nice!”
It was easy to get around the city from this hotel.
I really enjoyed my stay here at the Sumner Hotel. However, you should know check in is at 3:oopm!
Reviewed June 30, 2013
7.3
Very good
Nicholas from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Good value”
value, free breakfast, close to subway stop
Reviewed June 27, 2013
3.0
Charles from United States
Business traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Room is disgusting! Shameful housekeeping!!”
Close to subway
Maybe I got the worst room in the hotel, but room was thoroughly disgusting. The room has an overpowering sweat and/or decaying smell that is difficult to tolerate. The shower has an equally putrid smell that was very disturbing. I also found a very dirty and sweaty green polo shirt hanging on the bathroom door. I would attach photo if I could. Shameful housekeeping effort. As a seasoned business traveler, I'd advise travelers to avoid this hotel
Reviewed June 13, 2013
6.3
Good
Jamali from Taiwan
Business traveler
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
not clean”
Good location, good coffee machine and nice service
good location to train station. some convenience stores and Walgreen are close to. good coffee machine in 2nd floor. poor check-in service, very slow.
Reviewed May 28, 2013
7.7
Very good
Amgad from Egypt
Family with young children
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 19 nights in April 2013
Good stay close to ny & a lot of shops around”
close to subway station & nice location with everything you need around you & clean
Comfortable stay with below average breakfast though .. Overall the hotel is nice affordable place near ny
Reviewed May 22, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
michael from United States
Couple
Queen Room - Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
great location, comfortable room”
breakfast, location, comfort
Reviewed May 17, 2013
8.3
Excellent
suzana from Serbia
Group
Double with 2 Double Beds - Smoking
Stayed 8 nights in April 2013
Nice and comfortable”
frciendly staff, comfortable room and excellent location
Reviewed May 03, 2013
3.7
Wee from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Good for those with budget travellers”
Nearby subway station just 3 mins
Good for those with budget travellers. Nearest Subway station just 3 mins able to reach Manhattan and JFK airport.
Reviewed March 18, 2013
4.7
Chris from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room - Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Kinda divey, but you get what you pay for...”
Nearby several good Brooklyn restauraunts and a small natural grocery store
this is more like a motel than a hotel. not far from the williamsburg bridge which takes you right into soho/les, so if you are on a tight budget and want to explore those areas, it is an option. the front desk staff was indifferent and located behind plexiglass. they were flexible with my check in and check out times, which i appreciated.
Reviewed March 06, 2013
6.3
Good
Ton from Netherlands
Couple
Queen Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 6 nights in October 2012
Good and cheap hotel in Williamsburg/Brooklyn NY”
Good quality room, location not far from Manhattan NYC.
This fairly new hotel in Williamsburg has good quality and clean rooms. The breakfast room is way to small so you have to wait in line every day. No restaurant. The desk staff is doing their best but not always very efficiënt. There is a Subway station to Manhattan a few minutes walk away. The Williamsburg/Brooklyn area is becoming more and more attractive. For tourists it is becoming a real alternative for a stay in Manhattan.
Reviewed February 14, 2013