Book Now: The Burrard Hotel

Excellent
From 114 reviewsSee what guests said
8.3
Recommended by 100% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (114)Booking.com Reviews (958)
8.3
Excellent
From 114 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.6
Facilities7.5
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.6
Service8.7
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Standard Queen Room
Superior Queen Room
Double Room with Two Double Beds
King Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 104 verified guest comments
8.3
Excellent
Lana from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Very clean, comfortable and affordable. ”
Location, Friendly helpful staff, clean and comfortable.
I enjoyed my stay here. Great value for money!! Was clean and comfortable, close to downtown in a nice area and great service from staff. The best coffee I have had in Vancouver is right downstairs next to the lobby! Yes the hospital is just across the road and every now and again you might hear a siren, but it didn't bother me. No Aircon, but they have a great fan and in winter no Aircon is needed anyway. So I was still very comfortable. I will definitely be staying here again! :)
Reviewed February 24, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Damien from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Amazing staff, great location, cool”
Staff, location, free bikes
Perfect
Reviewed February 22, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Brendan from Canada
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Modern Retro”
The coffee shop downstairs serves beer and wine (and free popcorn!), it's walking distance to everything,
Very central and cool place to stay at. Smells like freshly brewed coffee when you walk in the front door, and an interesting california hotel-style garden/patio area in the middle. Not a lot of food selections in house, but lets be honest here - you're in the middle of downtown Van. Love it, would stay here again.
Reviewed February 17, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Bradley from South Africa
Business traveler
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Good hotel”
good location, nice and clean
Reviewed January 31, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Bradley from South Africa
Business traveler
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Good hotel”
nice hotel, good location
Reviewed January 31, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Rick from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Perfect for a short stay”
Location location location
Very Pleasant stay. Nice room, staff was friendly and always professional.
Reviewed November 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Christopher from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Great stay, a real find.”
Clean comfortable rooms, great location, great rates
Reviewed November 09, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Milada from Bulgaria
Family with teens
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Verry good location”
Location,room, internet
Reviewed October 31, 2014
5.3
Yuk from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Below average hotel”
Location
The hotel location is very well located to walk to Downtown Robson etc but being a single traveler felt it abit unsafe with all the homeless people around the hotel at night. The reviews regarding no air con in rooms is true and the fan that was given was not enough to cool down the room, making the room very humid and unbearable at night. You cant open the window either as the way the rooms are designed, you can hear people walk by and people can easily access your room. Very basic rooms and definitely not worth the CAD100+ per room.
Reviewed September 24, 2014
7.7
Very good
Kevin from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in August 2014
A kiwi review”
Location, staff helpfulness, rooms comfort
Thank you for making our stay so pleasant. The only thing that wasn't up to par was no air conditioning. However this was overcome by providing us with two fans to circulate the air! Your staff couldn't do enough to help us and point us in the right direction for each day! The location was brilliant, central to everything and great for walking to and from. Your cleaning staff did a wonderful job and the room was always pleasant to come home to!
Reviewed September 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
david from Canada
Family with teens
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
very cool place,without being pretentious”
value, style, free bikes
all good, parking lot a bit tight. The room this time was great as peer normal, but on the noisy side
Reviewed August 31, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Ronald from Germany
Couple
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
good location, super service, nice stay”
good location, super service, unique atmosphere
We had a great time, the hotel is well designed and very hip.The hotel is within walking distance to many shops and restuarants. Very good Service and friendly staff. Everytime again....
Reviewed August 16, 2014
6.7
Good
Yihan from China
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
room is too small”
装修
Reviewed July 27, 2014
7.7
Very good
Brigitte from Canada
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Best location for St.Pauls ”
Free breakfast, free phone calls across North America, free WiFi
Little dusty, and walls were dirty
Reviewed July 24, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Stephanie from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Comfortable and good location”
Location, room comfort and borrowing bikes
The room was very nice and the staff were very helpful. My partner and I borrowed a couple of the hotel's bikes and with the assistance of the friendly staff planned a route around town to ride around and sightsee. The hotel is located relatively close to the main part of town and close to Granville island which has lovely markets to visit.
Reviewed July 23, 2014
7.7
Very good
Clayton from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Great budget hotel”
Price, location, friendly staff
Good quality budget hotel only a short walk down Burrard St to an abundance of restaurants and shopping. Quiet location, close to public transport. Rooms were clean, free wifi, friendly staff.
Reviewed June 22, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Andrew from South Africa
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014
Great location friendly staff small room”
Free bicycle rentals, nespresso in the room location
Staff esp. James were very helpful and good manner. Always smiling and attentive. We rented free bicycles and discovered the city. Room is small but has got beautiful common garden, however hotel is opposite the hospital so be prepared for sirens on every nights. Right corner of the famous Davie str. If you are in to gay scene, do not bother to go to any clubs other than fountain head bar on the afternoons. Granville island, grouse mountain and Stanley park are must to visit. Ask James and he will be happy to assist you for the direction. Cardero's is an amazing restaurant by the waterfront.
Reviewed June 03, 2014
6.0
Christian from Germany
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Good for a night or two”
Location, Staff, WLan
We stayed for just a night before moving on. Well, the hotel is clean and really good located. However, we couln't imagine staying for several nights.
Reviewed June 02, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ni from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in April 2014
A good choice”
good location, friendly staff, free wi-fi
The hotel is within walking distance to many shops and restuarants. We easily found a nice Greek place and enjoyed a happy dinner. The package didn't include breakfast but they had a lovely cafe connected to the hotel. The staff was very friendly.
Reviewed May 07, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Great find, great price”
Price, location, staff
We had a great time, the hotel is older in design but totally remodeled and very hip. It has a great wine bar/coffee bar attached.
Reviewed March 05, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Andrew from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Great, clean hotel in a great location”
Clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, free bikes!
This is a great hotel in a great part of town, and the free bikes are great for cycling around nearby Stanley park. The room we had looked brand new - clean, new amenities and no foul odors. The hotel has free wi-fi throughout and full cable which is great when it's raining outside (as it often is in Vancouver). No breakfast, but there are places nearby to grab a bite to eat. Only negatives were that one of the bikes had a flat tire, and the tap in the bathroom was a little loose. Other than that, it was an overall great experience and would be happy to stay there again.
Reviewed February 23, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Stephen from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Nice hotel in good location with friendly staff”
Location, value/price, comfort
Very pleasant stay from checkin to checkout. Good location downtown Vancouver. Very friendly and helpful staff. Parking extra but good value for downtown Vancouver and staff encouraged me to leave my car there after I checked out. It's kind of an old motel-style building but the rooms are nicely decorated and very modern and comfortable.
Reviewed February 20, 2014
8.7
Excellent
KHANH from Vietnam
Group
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Awesome”
Valuable , friendly staff , near central
It was so very good . The hotel is located in central , easy to walk or take public transportation . The price is good . Room is clean . I like this hotel !
Reviewed February 19, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Monica from Hong Kong
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Great value for money”
close to shopping, clean rooms, great staffs
perfect location, car park available upon request at 25 overnight parking. close to shopping areas
Reviewed January 30, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Yvonne from Canada
Group
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Great hotel! Love the theme and staff.”
Location, staff, theme.
Wonderful stay at the hotel! Love the retro theme and the cheeky little comments they have hidden throughout their welcome cards, free HD TV, and wonderful staff. There's a cafe and corner store right beside the hotel so you can get food and a day pass before heading out for the day. There's a bus stop 1 block away and the skytrain is about 5 blocks away. It's also 2 blocks away from the main shopping street. Felt really safe at night alone, great restaurants near by as well! Definitely going to stay here again during our next trip to Vancouver.
Reviewed January 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Peng from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
A destination in itself: Modern and Retro”
Design, Location, Facilities
The Burrard is one of those places that you always read about in magazines but maybe don't expect to stay in. We had a Queen Plus room - as we were staying for 4 days we wanted a room that had a bit more space but didn't opt for twin beds. However the bed for us was the real disappointment for us - it was just too soft. Although the hotel makes the point on its website that "Having extra people in your room is fun. Also just, $30/night + tax. No judgement." the mattress was quite soft to start off with and was exhibiting a saggy middle, perhaps too many extras in this bed previously? We raised this with reception after the first night and asked if they had any other rooms with firmer mattresses but they stated that there was little that they could do to improve matters and all the mattresses were the same throughout the hotel. The staff are very approachable and accommodating. In the room there was desk, luggage stand, wardrobe, two bedside tables with big table lamps, and a 32" flat panel TV with a very good selection of local, international and a few premium movie channels. The desk had a nespresso machine on it (you could get extra coffee capsules from reception if you needed them) and table top power sockets. The wifi was available throughout the hotel, and was stable, strong signal and quick. The decor and furniture (predominately white) continues to blend the modern and retro theme. In the bathroom which was small but adequate there was a toilet, washbasin and bath with shower over, and ample towels and toiletries. Being winter guests, we were more concerned with the heating rather than aircon, and the heating was effective. We really did enjoy the free use of the bikes. The hotel is a destination in itself in Vancouver and comes highly recommended. We would have scored it higher if it hadn't been for the soft and saggy bed, and if you're a light sleeper ask for a quieter room.
Reviewed January 19, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Barry from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Nice little boutique hotel in a good location”
Location, cost, parking
The staff was friendly, the room was clean, the theme/decor was cute. It also had affordable parking for a hotel so close to downtown. Our only complaint was that the pillows were all too firm.
Reviewed December 19, 2013
7.7
Very good
Cynthia from Canada
Business traveler
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Positive experience”
close to the hospital, clean, loved the indoor courtyard.
very comfortable. staff friendly and efficient. rooms clean. Very quaint and pleasant atmosphere. enjoyed. will return.
Reviewed December 14, 2013
8.7
Excellent
POON from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
Chic, boutique, good internet”
Chic, boutique, good internet
The Burrard is very convenient. It is also a hidden gem in Downtown Vancouver. Though it does not have swimming pool or a nice restaurant, the cafe downstairs was pretty good for breakfast and there are a lot of good local restaurants round the corner. I believe this boutique-sized design hotel is good enough in terms of providing a clean and spacious room with a small garden (palm trees in a hotel!) within the hotel (which is what most of the downtown lack of).
Reviewed November 23, 2013
8.3
Excellent
diane from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
good central location great helpful staff”
Great location with friendly helpfuls staff
Would stay here again, the access to everything required for tourists is great
Reviewed November 01, 2013
7.7
Very good
Joseph from United States
Group
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
The hotel was located centrally ”
location, room size, cleanliness
Our Stay at the hotel was very pleasant, the rooms were comfortable and very clean. It was easy to access the major shopping area (Robson) and the gay area (Davies). Everything was within easy walking distance.
Reviewed October 30, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Julie from France
Family with teens
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Great location, very helpful staff”
Excellent location, nice large rooms, great value for the money
This was a great find. The staff were extremely nice and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed October 28, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Cynthia from Canada
Business traveler
King Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Comfortable but noisy”
Great design with lovely, delightful quirks, luxurious bedding, high-speed internet
Reviewed June 25, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Bari from United States
Couple
King Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
trying hard to be hip”
great location , friendly staff
We enjoyed the clean hotel, friendly staff and great location.
Reviewed December 03, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Rose from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Quiet,clean, comfortable bed and pillows .”
clean room
Wished the coffee shop had better things for breakfast. Even a peice of cheese with a good, healthy muffin.
Reviewed November 25, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Alison
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Perfectly adequate hotel, clean and quirky!”
Friendly staff, very clean, good location
A good base for any trip to Vancouver. Nice and quiet and very central for shopping, sightseeing and relaxing. The staff couldn't have been friendlier.
Reviewed October 10, 2012
7.7
Very good
James from Australia
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in August 2012
Great location but no air con”
Close to downtown
The room was good, the location was great, the amenities were good for the price and the staff were friendly. However, there is no air con and the room can get really hot in summer.
Reviewed September 11, 2012
7.3
Very good
Philip from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Good location”
Free bikes and nice patio courtyard
Basically a decent hotel in a good location. The rooms are clean and well kept. The hotel has recently been renovated. Main complaint is the noise. The walls are paper thin which means you can basically hear everything going on in the next room. There was also a lot of construction going on around the hotel (August 2012) which meant that there was also a lot of noise from outside, starting around 7:30 in the morning.
Reviewed August 22, 2012
7.7
Very good
Sean from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Great location with new rooms”
Newly Renovated
From the appearance of the outside of the hotel, you would assume that the rooms are going to be fairly old and dingy; however, I was pleasantly surprised that the room I was in was very new, up to date and spacious. The location is great and practically on the corner of Burrard and Davie streets in down town vancouver. Very easy access to all of the sites downtown and close to lost of restaurants. The only drawback was that the AC didn't work very well. They have a machine that is supposed to cool the room, but I don't think it was working (that or I just may not have figured out how to work it properly).
Reviewed August 11, 2012
7.7
Very good
michael from United States
Couple
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Great location; clean but small rooms”
Location; friendly helpful staff; good wifi
this hotel is well located for walking to many fine restaurants and other attractions, such as granville island. we are foodies so we thoroughly enjoyed granville island markets, le crocdile (classic french), cactus club and hawksworth. i was attending a conference next door at the sheraton wall center, so i was able to get a good savings and be almost as close to the meetings (less than 2 minute walk) as some of the rooms in the sheraton!
Reviewed August 06, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Michael from Canada
Business traveler
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
trendy and pleasant”
location, design, comfort
Cool spot in a convenient location in downtown Vancouver. The place was clearly a former motor inn that the owners had the clever idea to turn into a trendy hotel with a vaguely mid-century modern design sense. Does not have the amenities of a full-service hotel.
Reviewed August 06, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Vincent from United States
Family with teens
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
Nice, cost-effective place, but noisy location”
Fun urban chic motif, helpful courteous staff, comfortable bed
We booked the hotel on short notice for the Celebration of Light fireworks competition. It was a great location for the event, only a 15 minute walk from English Bay. The hotel is fun and stylish, but for a summer evening where it was warm enough to want the window open, the traffic noise all night long was sleep disruptive. If you are used to urban noise, I would recommend it. If you need a quieter, more insulated environment, I would look elsewhere.
Reviewed August 05, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Kathleen from United States
Family with teens
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Awesome location and quirky charm”
Great front desk staff, charming garden, funny signs and notices that make you laugh and a retro funky style that was fantastic.
It was our first time to Vancouver and we had no idea where to stay but we lucked out when we found the Burrard. It has recently had a facelift and has a mid century modern/ hipster vibe now. From the postcards instead of hotel binder to the silver ottomans and acrylic tables and charming signage with eco friendly tips we couldn't have loved it more. The location is smack dab in the middle of downtown and we were able to walk easily with out luggage from the downtown hotel buss drop off and to the skytrain station to the airport . Chinatown and the science center were easy walks and there are free bikes available that made exploring Stanley park and Granville Island easy. The free North American phone calls were a lovely surprise and we followed their advice and "called our moms". I realize that I am gushing but this was my favorite hotel, ever. Well done Burrard.
Reviewed August 03, 2012
7.3
Very good
Margaret from Australia
Couple
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
great location but very small rooms”
close to city
The room was too small and stuffy. There wasn't good value for the money it cost.
Reviewed July 29, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Thorsten from Germany
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Stylish retro hotel with nice details”
lovely backyard garden, design furniture
I stayed at the Burrard for four nice and had a great stay. It's a nice design hotel with a retro-touch. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff friendly. Only the café was under construction, so no breakfast.
Reviewed July 23, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Shadhiya from Oman
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 7 nights in June 2012
Clean hotel, nice location”
Quite, very corporative and excellent reception staff, clean
The hotel is clean,an looks new. Its on Burrad street,in front othe Sant Paul Hospital. Loated in walking dstance to the main atractions of the downtown vancouver.
Reviewed July 07, 2012
7.7
Very good
SUNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Small but nice hotel”
Very kind and good service
There are no smoking room in this hotel so if you are smoker, you have to smoke outside of hotel. But excetp this, I was very satisfied with this hotel. Please try this hotel!
Reviewed June 26, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Patricia from Canada
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2012
Excellent hotel moderately priced”
A great bed, modernized bathroom, flat screen TV, very clean, helpful desk people.
An excellent place to book into for a hospital procedure. (directly across the street)if you are from out of town and need a room. Was pleasantly surprised at the updated room and bathroom although small. Appreciated the free wifi. The biggest con was the $26 fee to park overnight but we were allowed to leave out car there past the noon checkout time waiting for my husband to be released from the hospital.
Reviewed June 16, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Blake from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
A little funky, but a great location in downtown”
Location, clean rooms, courtyard
The Burrard is a great hotel in the heart of downtown Vancouver. Its location and funky style make it perfect for young couples or adventurous travelers looking for an affordable hotel in downtown Vancouver.
Reviewed June 12, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Samantha from Canada
Group
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Neat Place. Really clean.”
Location
cool hotel- it has a lounge area in the middle where you can chill on a sun chair or play some giant jenga
Reviewed May 29, 2012